Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

88%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 8 reviews

Super Foods Rx

Certain foods stand above and beyond all others.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

One of the stand-out successes in published diet programs in the past decade is SuperFoods RX. Penned by Dr. Steven Pratt and Kathy Matthews, the book details more than 14 "Super Foods" that we should make a consistent part of our eating routine in an effort to enjoy a healthier, balanced lifestyle. Aside from losing weight, SuperFoods RX has shown to increase energy, better sleep and even suggests that followers can prevent diabetes and cancer.

The SuperFoods Rx Diet is not about eliminating foods but rather it's about incorporating these Super Foods into your diet so that you'll never feel deprived and so that you will appreciate how these foods make you look and feel so that they will become a mainstay of your diet.

The SuperFoods Rx Diet plan is divided into two phases: The SlimDown and The FlexPlan. The SlimDown is the initial weight loss part of the plan that lasts for two weeks or longer. The FlexPlan is your maintenance plan to keep your new weight for the rest of your life.

When you choose to follow the SuperFoods RX program, you're going to completely makeover the way you eat. The list of Super Foods contains items that are not common in most of our diets. It is suggested that you enlist the aid of a diet supplement like hoodia, an African herb known to help suppress cravings.

PRO
  • Emphasis is on whole foods
  • Super Foods pack a powerful nutritional punch
  • Will help to reduce weight and improve health
  • Can be a long-term approach to healthy eating
CON
  • Weight loss is gradual
DIET and NUTRITION

The Super Foods are as follows:

  1. Apples
  2. Avocados
  3. Beans
  4. Blueberries - strong antioxidants
  5. Broccoli - promotes healthy immune system
  6. Cinnamon
  7. Dark chocolate
  8. Dried SuperFruits
  9. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  10. Garlic
  11. Kiwi
  12. Honey
  13. Low fat yogurt
  14. Oats
  15. Onions
  16. Pomegranates
  17. Oranges
  18. Soy - protein source
  19. Turkey
  20. Spinach
  21. Tomatoes
  22. Walnuts
  23. Salmon
  24. Tea

The SuperFoods Diet is a whole foods eating plan that is simple and easy to prepare and follow because of its inclusion of the small number of ingredients that go in to each meal or snack. The foods outlined in the plan are nutrient and fiber rich and that will balance your brain function and encourage the feelings of energy and control that ensure good food choices.

The book, as well as the website, contains a number of recipes, all of which include one or more SuperFoods. Dishes include Pine Nut Stuffed Basil Tomatoes, Lime and Pecan Crusted Turkey Breast, Sweet Potatoes and Asparagus with Orange Glaze and Pumpkin Walnut Muffins.

EXERCISE

SFRx suggests choosing an exercise regimen that works for you and your lifestyle, and shows how sometimes the simplest method is the right answer. Following the SuperFoods Rx program will breathe new life into the way you eat, exercise and live.

CONCLUSION

The SuperFoods RX plan does not include any fat-burning sources, nor does it contain commonly popular appetite suppressants. However, the foods are readily available at most grocers and offers natural food choices. Picky eaters should review the list thoroughly as well as the somewhat limited meal options.

Common Misspellings

SuperFoodsRX, Super-Foods RX, Super foods, Super RX, SFRx, Super Foods Rx Diet, Super Foods Diet


Related Diets: Bob Greene's Bestlife, Dr. Oz YOU On A Diet, Perricone Prescription, The Whole Foods Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 19 total comments)

Awesome! Its in fact awesome post, I have got much clear idea regarding from this article.

Awesome! Its in fact awesome post, I have got much clear idea regarding from this article.

posted Dec 27th, 2013 9:21 pm


Barbara

I was overweight for years. I am 5' 2" and was 240 lbs! I went on this diet and lost 65 pounds in 6 months. I have now lost a total of 76 pounds. I went from a womens size 24 down to a size 10-12. No offense to anyone but I didn't want to be riding on of those scooters in Walmart putting more cupcakes in the basket. I was ready to lose the weight to be healthier, look better and feel better. Trust me, if I can do it anyone can do it. Don't give up. I wish I had known about this diet and done it years ago. I would love to be the Superfoods diet spokes person. I believe in it that much! I have told hundreds of people about this diet, mostly because they couldn't believe they're eyes! People I haven't seen in a couple of years don't even recognize me! That's a huge boost to stay motivated!

posted Jan 25th, 2011 3:58 am


Shannon

This diet is easy to follow, healthy, and the weight comes off quickly, especially in the belly area.

posted May 7th, 2010 3:17 pm


Jon

In the U.S. asthma kills 5,000 people per year...

But I don't have an asthma since taking SuperFoodsRx!! Thanks to SuperFoodsRx is an excellent product!!!

posted Apr 22nd, 2010 2:23 pm


Michael Foster

Hi, This Diet pill serves me more than any other pill, it helps in reducing the body weight and fat, this is an extraordinary one i have experienced in reducing the weight, it is simply superb and better

posted Feb 26th, 2010 12:35 pm


Donna

I just bought the book, and had some of the same questions. My understanding from reading it and from reading all the comments is that you add these superfoods to your diet, which a lot I already eat, and then it makes common sense to make sure the rest of your diet are healthy food choices as well. And exercise, and LOSE!!!

posted Jan 25th, 2010 5:29 pm


River

I bought all the books published by this author last summer and began my superfoods journey on August 2 2008. So far I have lost 70 pounds with the help of the food plans as well as running and other physical activity.

posted Jul 5th, 2009 3:08 pm


Staying thin

I lose 60 pounds in one year on this diet. It saved my life and shrank my stomach. I went from a size 20(horrible) to 12-14!(not bad) i went down 6 dress sizes! i swear it works, you just have to stick to it. I walked 30 minutes to an hr 4 days a week, I swam, and I did the biggest losers dvd! it works, I swear!

posted May 21st, 2009 8:10 pm


Sandra Peña

I was browsing through the internet and i found this product and i read about it and it seemed something I would want to purchase. Im 20 years old and im woundering if this would be a goos product for me to start using?

posted Mar 26th, 2009 10:39 am


Danielle

I have been on this diet for one week and LOVE it! I have lost 5 lbs and I have never felt better. I have so much more energy. I thought that this diet was going to lerave me hungry....and I was wrong. I actually can not finish the portion that they sugest to eat.

posted Feb 16th, 2009 2:56 pm


Robert Patraw

In 28 years of painful dieting I went from about 190 to 217.5. The first 2 weeks on this diet I went from 217.5 to 205 without the pain, constant hunger and blood sugar problems. Finally, a diet that promotes healthy weight loss without the pain and failure of all the others. i had given up hope but I am now on my way to getting my life back again.

posted Jan 20th, 2009 9:24 am


Clairblue

Great ideas. Nutritionally sound, but personally, I am finding it very difficult and extremely frustrating to pull together a meal plan because of the Category 1, 2 & 3 foods. In one place it says to eat 1 serving from Category 1 every day. In another place it says to eat 1 serving of EACH of the foods listed under Category 1 EVERY day. Which is it? I find I have to flip back and forth between several sections of the book to find all the necessary information to put together a meal plan that includes everything. Also, I'm not one to fix special recipes on diets. I prefer to eat simple and low on the food chain. Twice I've picked up this book and twice I've set it back down in sheer frustration after spending far too much time trying to decipher the instructions. What I've finally ended up doing is making a list of the superfoods with the intent to incorporate them into my daily diet. That's the best I can do.

posted Oct 12th, 2008 2:35 pm


Michele

I have been on the diet since the end of May and have lost 34 pounds and 6 inches on my waist. I have the most energy I've had in a long time. My husband saw my results and he has lost 15 pounds. We don't do it strictly 100% of the time but when we deviate too much the energy goes down. I have 2 questions. There was a green tea recipe in the May issue of a women's magazine and what do I do when I've been at a stand still for 4 weeks?

posted Aug 25th, 2008 10:24 pm


kim

Ive had this stinkin' book for almost a year! and ive read it before. i opened it again this morning and decided NOW is the time to do this! after reading those two reviews on here i am very motivated. the foods seem good and im ready to let go of the nastyness!!!

posted Aug 11th, 2008 11:36 am


jenny

how difficult is this book and is it worth getting for 10-15 lbs weight loss? I like to go out and eat is that possible on this diet?

posted Jun 9th, 2008 9:48 am


anne-marie pinsonneault

I've been following this diet for about a month now and I've already lost 13 lbs. and 3 inches. I have been a long time Weight Watchers fan but could never seem to stick with the diet. I've tried WW 4-5 times and haven't been able to maintain my weight loss. I decided to try the Superfood Rx diet and I absolutely love it. My cravings have been almost completely eliminated. I do not go hungry, in fact, some days, I feel as though I can't eat everything that I should. I've increased my activity level too. Whereas before I lacked the energy to do any activity, now I have a HUGE amount of energy and excercise is now a part of my daily routine. I have recieved compliments on my hair and my overall appearance. This is a life changing diet. The book is a little difficult to follow but I've placed tabs in the book to make it easier to find recipes and other important info. Good luck with dieting.. Thanks SuperFoods Rx!

posted Apr 21st, 2008 3:16 pm


shine

I've been on this diet for fourty five days. I will not ever go back to the way I ate before. I've lost 18 pounds so far. When I exercise more on this diet, the more I loose. It has never left me hungry. The further into the diet it seems like the incredibly less hungry I am. My focus has mostly been on high fiber and high protein with the calorie goal set for ultimate weight goal. Sometimes (several days) I have gone over on my calories, but focused primarily on fiber and protein on those days. Every day intake of Spectrum Organic Dry Roasted Flax Seeds (which are delicious) mixed with Oats, Quinoa, or sprinkled on top of Orowheat's Flax Bread with PeanutButter is a favored breakfast and can be topped with sliced bananas and/or walnuts. How delicious is that??? I love it. I have also incorporated Walnuts every day in exactly one serving measured out in sepatate bags weekly. Instead of Oats, sometimes I substitute Quinoa for breakfast. Also, for dinner, Quinoa is excellent cooked with Vegetable Broth instead of water and topped with black beans. The combination is tasty with sauteed red, yellow, and green peppers and complimented with either Kettle Black Bean chips or Mission Whole Grain tortillas. Smoothies are great for a substitute meal on this diet. Also, as a supplement, Goji Juice (100% Goji), by the tablespoon once daily is a nice helper and provides even more antioxidants. A great breakfast smoothie includes Silk Chocolate Soy milk (1 cup) with 1 serving of Cacao Nibs and a cup or two of ice. I've found that breakfast on this diet is a primary duty. For me, all the rest of the meals can be minor, but my breakfast is something to look forward to from the day before on! Good luck with your dieting! This particular diet is certainly a way of life and not a short term fix. It is a Life Diet. I'm fourty. I'm hoping for at least another fifty years. Best to you. Thanks, SuperFoods RX!!!!!

posted Apr 8th, 2008 10:19 pm


hoopnhottie

super foods rx seems like a good idea, I just don't know about eating the same foods over and over


jazzyjean

has anyone tried this? are you limited to just the listed foods



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account