Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

87%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 15 reviews

Subway Diet

Sandwiches helped Jared keep off the weight for 10 years. Can you?

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Jared Fogle achieved fame and fortune as a college student who lived in a dorm room above a Subway sandwich shop. He simply consumed a 6-inch Subway sandwich at every meal and went on to lose a reported 245 pounds.

Now he's back, 10 years later and still maintaining his weight loss. He's also teamed up with the likes of Michael Strahan of the New York Giants, as he retires his "giant pants" in the "tour de pants" (an ode to Tour de France) to promote once again how Subway sandwiches can help a person lose weight.

Complete with a book tour, video log and interactive website, Jared has partnered with Subway to convey the important message of making good food choices for health and vitality.

Out of all this has born the Subway Fresh Fit menu, which includes a multitude of healthy sandwiches served with Dannon yogurt and diet soda. The Biggest Loser team has also paired up with Subway to promote the idea of healthy food choices as a cornerstone to weight loss.

PRO
  • Subway sandwich shops in most markets
  • Healthier fast food option
  • Baked chips, yogurt and diet sodas are heavily promoted as a healthier choice
  • The company does a good job of revealing nutritional values of all foods
  • Relatively inexpensive
  • Vegetarian friendly
  • Kosher options available in some locations
CON
  • You have to ignore the smell of fresh baked cookies
  • No full-plan support, must maintain on your own
DIET and NUTRITION

Subway sandwiches are overall good tasting and satisfying. Even kids will enjoy their new Fresh Fit Kids meals which include a mini sub, raisins, and low fat milk.

Put together while you watch, Subway sandwich "artists are usually good about adding extra vegetables, and leaving out the fatty spreads upon request.

The 6-inch Veggie Delite sub with no mayo and and extra lettuce, tomato, and bell peppers is less than 250 calories at only 3 grams of fat. For a man over 5'10" with a daily calorie requirement of 2100 calories, he could swap a sub for a daily pastry and still lose weight.

Broad menu selections are available, including:

  • Hot and Cold sandwiches
  • Traditional turkey, ham and roast beef
  • Chicken Club
  • Chicken Teriyaki
  • Veggie Delite
EXERCISE

Jared promotes that he maintained a walking program, and the website has an add-on for teachers and parents to promote increased activity in children.

CONCLUSION

Jared's book, "Jared the Subway Guy: Winning through Losing", is as much a motivational book as any. With tips like "don't skip breakfast" and "wait 20 minutes to register fullness", the average dieter will take comfort in the lessons they have heard many times before.

By positioning themselves as a healthy dining option, Subway is bound to achieve success, and Jared's weight-loss maintenance is an inspiration.

Common Misspellings

Subways diet, subway deit, Jared fogle diet, fresh fit diet


Related Diets: The Biggest Loser At Home Program, Fast Food Diet, McDonalds Diet, Eat This Not That


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 30 total comments)

renders

Mon - Fri, each work day I eat for lunch 12 inch on wheat, ham or turkey - no dressing except buffalo sauce which is Franks medium buffalo hot sauce (o calorie). With american cheese....this is approx 640 cals, and even in a conservative 1800 calorie a day diet for a male - that's certainly not too much in one sitting if its your biggest meal of the day. Baked chips is a another 140 calories which I also do. Diet soda (diet coke) to prove I will lose weight with it (plus it is my only caffeine intake). I was 290 March 9th 2010, and as of 30 days later I am at 274. Subway, with the right options is good ole calorie control. I have failed in many diets over the last 10 years, this one is sticking as its easy, cheap (show me another daily healthy option at $5-6 bucks with this much veggies) with locations everywhere.

posted Apr 10th, 2012 5:21 am


tami

good place to eat i eat there all the time lost 15 pounds

posted Sep 7th, 2011 12:34 pm


enigma

Subway offers the veggie delight, but they make fun of you for ordering a sandwhich without meat.

posted Jan 25th, 2011 7:48 pm


kendra

if you look at how the LA weight loss diet works, they basically portion out starches, dairy, fats, veggies, and fruit. so all these things are found in subways subs . on the la weight loss diet i lost like 25 pounds in one month. for the bread, only wheat. and no soda or sugary juices.

posted Jan 15th, 2011 3:06 am


Jake

This diet does work and its relatively cheap. Just order a $5 footlong and eat half of it for lunch and the other half for dinner. I get all the veggies except jalapeƱos so its fully loaded. This ensures you get the most food for your money. So its only 2.50 per meal. THATS NOT EXPENSIVE PEOPLE. You also have to work out everyday for at least 30 min. I didn't lose any weight because I was working out and gaining muscle but my stomache flab was erased in 2 weeks. This diet does work and its delicious

posted Dec 15th, 2010 4:30 pm


Lorelei

I suggest getting a 6" turkey sub, add extra turkey and veggies, no mayo of course. That way you get the extra protein withgut having the extra half-loaf of bread and/or the extra cheese.

posted Nov 18th, 2010 10:24 pm


c polski

Subway is delicious, fresh bread, veggies, meats. Awesome (huge) salads. How anyone can say it's expensive is nut's. Figure it out, where can you get such healthy eats for $5.00 (foot long) sub.

posted Oct 17th, 2010 8:32 am


sarah

When i lost weight before I ate subway everyday. I would get the turkey or ham on the oat bread. with pepperjack cheese, all veggies and hot peppers, and my sauce was vinegar. Now vinegar is a weight loss agent. whenever i eat one of these subs i feel like the fat is melting away. The acid in the vinegar actually helps your bowels to move along food and waste so you dont absorb fat. Anwyays I lost 35 in 3 months. But i didnt only eat subway. i did treat myself to pastas and yummy meals. its all portion control..and if you stop drinking soda's you will for sure lose it. I lost 10 pounds in 3 weeks by not drinking soda's. I didnt even exercise. the calories add...OH YEAH AND DONT WORRY ABOUT THE FRUCTOSE SUGAR IN THE BREAD...ITS JUST SUGAR THATS BEEN MELTED. ITS NOT LIKE ITS SOME HIGHER CALORIE FORM OF IT. ONE SUB A DAY IS NOT GONNA HURT. vINEGAR ADDS A NICE OVERALL FLAVOR. ANYWAYS THATS IT, GOOD LUCK. IM DOING THE SUBWAY DIET BUT ITS MIXED IN WITH WEIGHT WATCHERS. :)

posted Sep 12th, 2010 3:17 pm


Maureen Burns

Try going Subway without the bread. It contains high fructose corn syrup, which not only causes weight gain, but is not good for diabetics.

posted Jun 29th, 2010 8:19 pm


Travis Morgan

As long as you choose your sandwich wisely, subway can be a healthy choice. For one, you should only get a 6inch. A 12inch has too many calories. Two, choose something relatively low in calories and fat like turkey, roast-beef, veggie, or roasted chicken. Or you can have it made into a salad. You drop 200 calories by losing the bread. Substitute mayo for mustard. Say "no" to cheese. Eating like this plus exercising, and you can lose weight. Just choose wisely and exercise and it is a good plan. Those who say it doesn't work are not either choosing their sandwiches wisely, not exercising, not staying with it, or are splurging later.

posted May 3rd, 2010 12:32 pm


thomas

another day and still haven't lost weight and all hope in subway is going way down. but i will be still trying to lose weight but i still think that it isn't going to work and jared is really lucky

posted Apr 16th, 2010 10:44 am


garrett

it doesn't work i have been eating subway for 5 weeks and still haven't lost weight

posted Apr 15th, 2010 8:32 am


Shaun

I think that the Subway Diet can work for some people, however the whole issue of dieting is an area that attracts a lot of debate. I believe that the Subway franchise chain is doing a good thing in promoting healthy eating in the fast food industry but there is still a lot that needs to change.

posted Mar 25th, 2010 8:56 am


curt

I did the Jared diet for 6 months and lost 62 lbs. I ate a 6 inch turkey loaded with veggies and only yellow mustard a bag of baked lays and a diet soda for lunch, a 12" veggie with only mustard and diet soda for dinner.

posted Dec 8th, 2009 6:13 pm


schoolkid

subway is erally good after a 420 when jared buys it

posted Oct 13th, 2009 10:16 am


vanna

i ve been eating nothing but subway in the morning and at night .. and ionly eat the grill chicken or the turley with lett..tom.. onion.and lite mayo

posted Oct 7th, 2009 9:36 am


res

lost 10 pounds in 3 weeks

posted Oct 2nd, 2009 8:31 pm


nitacilf

how can anyone say subway is expensive??? $5.00 footlong who can beat that price??
I have been on a new life plan for a month and lost 10 pounds and ate at subway at least 4-5 times.
i love the veggie delite. I love that they have a calorie count on their napkins it makes ordering so easy and the bread is always fresh and so are the veggies.

posted Jun 20th, 2009 4:28 pm


MIKA

Dosen't Work

posted Mar 10th, 2009 6:00 am


Dietarian

This diet is probably a marketing trick by Subway, which is also one of the most expensive fast food chains. I like eating at Subway, but not all the time.

posted Mar 6th, 2009 12:59 pm



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account