Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

74%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 334 reviews

Quick Weight Loss Centers

A diet plan catching the eye of celebrities.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2001
  • Headquarters: Florida
  • Accessibility: In-person or online private counseling via email or phone
  • Diet Type: Low-carbohydrate, low-calorie, supplements and prepackaged meals
  • Gender: Male, female, children
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Rush Limbaugh
BACKGROUND

Quick Weight Loss, founded in Florida, provides individualized weight loss therapy. The program boasts no exercise and you eat the foods you love including the diet program's own line of diet foods and herbal and thermogenic supplements.

Made popular by Rush Limbaugh who in 2009 lost a remarkable amount of weight in a short period of time following a Quick Weight Loss created just for him, this southern Florida company has helped many lose weight.

Currently, the only bricks and mortar Quick Weight Loss Centers are scattered around southern Florida but there is an online program that you can join from anywhere in the country. This home-based program is a six-week program in which you receive support and counseling via email and phone from Quick Weight Loss Center specialists.

Once you have signed up for either program, you work individually with a Quick Weight Loss Center expert in order to create your own customized diet plan.

In general, the Quick Weight Loss plan provides participants a diet that is low calorie (up to 1,500 calories/day). You buy the foods you like to make and supplement with Quick Weight Loss brand's bars, beverages, soups as well as supplement s that are intended to facilitate weight loss.

You can expect to lose three to seven pounds each week while following the Quick Weight Loss Center programs.

PRO
  • Doctor clearance shows they are being responsible
  • Helped Rush Limbaugh lose 80 pounds in 2009

  • Offers an individualized program to weight loss

  • One-on-one support provides motivation and accountability

CON
  • Weight loss claims may be exaggerated
  • Required to buy program's special line of foods increases costs
  • Herbal supplements and other stimulants are required
  • Supplements do not require FDA approval; check with your doctor before taking
  • Brick and mortar locations are limited to southern Florida and Texas
  • Low calorie diet plan may lead to rebound weight gain
  • Diet program rules are not scientifically founded
DIET and NUTRITION

While all Quick Weight Loss Center diets are custom-designed, there are a few benchmark features that are applied to every participant's diet.

Most diet plans include a low-calorie and low-fat daily eating plan that is comprised of about 1,500 calories a day.

And while the company remains pretty hush-hush about what their diet looks like, a few secrets slipped through the cracks thanks to Rush's public discussion about his experience with Quick Weight Loss Centers.

There are a host of other food rules that you must abide by while following the program such as eating green peppers but not red bell peppers and not combining two different kinds of proteins in one meal. For instance you can have seven ounces of grilled chicken breast but not three ounces of white fish and four ounces of turkey breast in one meal. In addition, alcohol, sugar, refined flours and fried foods are not allowed.

You can also supplement with Quick Weight Loss Centers proprietary foods which can be purchased online or at one of the Center's Florida locations. Such foods include special puddings, shake mixes, nutrition bars, soups and oatmeal.

In addition, you are also encouraged to take Quick Weight Loss Centers own line of dietary supplements like essential fatty acids, herbs and carb blockers, all of which are supposed to facilitate speedy weight loss.

EXERCISE

You can engage in moderate exercise while following the Quick Weight Loss Center diet but hard-core exercise is not a strong feature of this plan.

CONCLUSION

Made popular almost overnight by conservative radio-host Rush Limbaugh who lost 80 pounds in just a few months, Quick Weight Loss Centers is a Florida-based customized diet plan that helps you lose weight quickly with its low-calorie and highly structured eating plan. But it is exactly this stringent plan that lands this diet in the category of countless other plans that take off a lot of weight in a short amount of time and then risks gaining it all back once you are no longer on the plan.

But with this rather mysterious diet plan filled with specific eating rules and special supplements that contain hoodia and ephedra-like stimulants, you might want to think twice about spending the money on Quick Weight Loss Center and instead think about incorporating more natural, practical and long-term strategies for successful weight loss.

Common Misspellings

quick weight lose, quick wieght loss plan, quick weight loss paln, qwlc, quik weight loss centers, quick weight loss program, rush limbaugh diet


Related Diets: Low-Carb Diet, Jenny Craig, 24 Hour Fitness, Curves, Elements for Women, Lucille Roberts


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 31, 615 total comments)


earbender

The center is quite sly about the sign up and does not disclose all the $ involved in the entire diet upfront or make it easy for an MBA grad to even calculate. They do not answer the questions you need or disclose the info before signing or even until they need to. I lost weight but barely 3lbs a week and that started on my 4th week. Never cheated either. Weight watcher would be better. Also very depressed starting this diet, not sure if its the supplements or expense. I was very aware of it and couldn't shake it.

posted Jun 12th, 2015 8:41 pm


Chanse

I am in my 3rd week and I am so turned off that l have decided not to go there again. I paid $698 plus another $689 to be platinum member. They pressure you into buying more stuff every time u go for a weigh in. I told them I do not see any difference in my appetite with suppressant I bought then they want you to buy more but they told me platinum members get 20% off whatever u buy and then when l wanted the other suppressant they told me l can not get the 20% off unless I buy it paired with another pill. That did it for me. Now l feel like I wasted my money because the diet salad and chicken breast day in day out is really boring and I did not need to go there to know that. The last counselor I saw did not know crap she was lost for words when l kept telling her the suppressant not doing anything at all to help my appetite I have to still be crippling for will power after paying so much of my hard worked money. I think they take disadvantage of ppls weakness looking to lose weight. FRUSTRATED......

posted Apr 28th, 2015 1:57 am


Unhappy

I went to the program and was told that the price would be one price but they didn't tell me that it didn't include supplements. The "eat what you love" is bogus. The Ads also are bogus. I lost 3/4 of my weight in the time I should have lost all and then the counselor asked if I wanted to go on to the stabilization phase. Why would I want to stabilize at a weight that was not what I signed up for. When I bought their poppers (in lieu of chips), my fingers became so swollen. They said I was "salt sensitive". Regular chips do not contain so much salt. Each time I visited, I saw a different counselor who gave different advice. I was never so miserable on a diet. I finally went to a certified dietician ($100) and was given a diet. Then I put Sparkpeople.com, a free app on my phone and have not began losing the weight but am enjoying it as well. SAVE YOUR MONEY

posted Apr 14th, 2015 7:40 pm


Lynn Wolf

I feel this is a total rip off and false advertisement. The program is nothing more then a high pressure sales tactic to push supplements and their snack food to extremely obese people. The program is not at all effective if you are needing to loose 5 to 30 pounds.

posted Apr 13th, 2015 12:55 pm


Jonathan

Been on the program for 12 weeks and have already lost 80 pounds.

posted Apr 13th, 2015 12:00 am


robinson

Excellent article, not only celebrity people are benefited we also !!
I and my wife are waiting for weight loss product long time.we have
been trying many products but nothing satisfied us, finally we got
African mango, Its really awesome. now we are 10 lbs less than previous
just in one weeks. Thanks A mango.

posted Feb 3rd, 2015 7:38 pm


Alice

This are very good methods of losing weight . Using one of this methods and adding weight loss pills : http://myfitdiet.com/weightloss/weight-loss-pills/ , you can lose about 11-15 lbs in a month , gain energy and eliminate lots of body toxins .

posted Jan 15th, 2015 6:21 pm


Linda

In 1999, I lost 150 lbs. on QWL. I paid for the program, etc. Over the years, I have managed to put back some of the weight, but never that 100 lb. limit. That is where I draw the line in the sand, so to speak! I am now on the last day of my 4 day prep, and I will weigh tomorrow! I do it a bit differently. I buy the omega 3's, but I forego the other drugs. I also use Quest bars as my snack, in proportion to what the program allows. It is easy for me to follow this diet, because I love salads, etc. I eat mostly fresh everything. Very few cooked vegetables. No frozen fruit. This is my second time to do this, and I lost 2 lbs per week every week. This time I am going to be more strict with my eating and drinking to see if I can lose it faster. I would love some input on menus for mainly breakfast. I consider my self more of an expert on this diet than the people that work in the centers. Thanks for letting me share. I will keep you informed on how I am progressing.

posted Nov 17th, 2014 3:38 pm


Tiffy

I started with the QWL program about 4 weeks ago. I'm really excited to finally speak to some real people about their own personal experiences, outside of the center to avoid biases.

My thoughts so far on the plan:

It does work. How could it not? You are eliminating sugars, starches and processed foods while sticking to a low-fat, low-calorie diet. It's just common sense that it works.

It is also extremely overpriced. I believe that it's priced so high because once you learn the very simple strategy, it renders the "professional/coaches" obsolete. What you learn, you take and keep with you forever. What you choose to do with that knowledge is totally up to you. So, there is a lasting value to the program that it would be hard to quantify. Assuming most people are intelligent enough to learn the program and become able to manage on their own, purchasing more than a few months just doesn't make good financial sense. This is the only way rational explanation that I can come up with for the pricing model.

On the regular visits—I understand that some people really need that accountability for whatever their reasons might be. However, I personally hate the visits--I usually only go once a week. I have issues with the staff as I find them to be more sales people than weight loss coaches. When you ask real questions, they have some scripted answer and can’t deviate from that. For the price you pay, it is expected that you have knowledgeable professionals to staff your centers. This is my biggest gripe. I look at the staff and I just see people working a job and though I have no tangible proof, you can tell that they are not really paid much. I don’t know many people that are happy with low paying, high maintenance jobs. Again, this is my personal opinion.

I purchased a 5 week plan, which includes an additional 6 weeks of stabilization/maintenance and all the supplements and whatnot that I would need for the entire 11 weeks. As of today, I’m ahead of plan towards my short term goal of losing 15 pounds in 5 weeks. I have 3-4 more pounds to lose in the next week and a half. On my last visit, they offered to add 4-5 weeks for $120. My hubby thinks I should, just to give me more time to learn anything more, before going out on my own. I’m a bit skeptical.
On the supplements—I have been able to fine EVERYTHING that they offer in the centers online for significantly lower prices. I will not be purchasing anything else from them.

posted Nov 12th, 2014 8:33 pm


Viola

I like the program, it works. I lost 6.5 lbs in the first week. I resent the 'bait-N-switch' (a $99 program is really a $600 program plus supplements), but I am seeing results. I'm using MyFitnessPal online food tracking. I plan to find alternative (cheaper) supplements. Look me up on MyFitnessPal -- lets start a QWLC forum! My online name is Viola3500.

posted Oct 31st, 2014 1:32 pm


LAUREN

STARTED THE DIET 2 WEEKS AGO, LOST 8.2 POUNDS S0 FAR. HASBEEN A GOOD JUMPSTART FOR ME BUT I AGREE WITH OTHERS, HIGH PRESSURE AND NO SUCH THING AS 99LBS FOR $99.00. AFTER $599.00 THOUGHT THAT WAS IT, YES THEY DID REVIEW THE COST OF ADDITIONAL SUPPLIES RECOMENDED AFTER YOU HAVE ALREADY PAID THE 599.00 ANDSIGNED WITH NO RETURN. THEY ALSO TELL YOU THEY CAN CUSTOMIZE YOUR SUPPLIES ACORDING TO WHAT YOU CAN AFORD BUT THEN 3 DAYS LATER TELL YOU, YOU WILL NOT LOSE TH WEIGTH INTENDED IF YOU DON'T BUY THE SUPPLIMENTS AND CAN'T GT THOSE SPECIALLY FORMULATED PROTIENS AND VITAMINS BY EATING NORMAL HEALTHY FOODS. IT WAS AS STRESSFUL AS BUYING A CAR.TOO LATE FOR ME, SO GOING TO GIVE IT MY BEST SHOT. DON'T THINK I WOULD DO IT AGAIN. OH BY THE WAY, STICKING TO THE DIET WITHOUT CHEATING AND APPARENTLY GAINED A LITTLE OVER A POUND BACK. VERY DISCOURAGING. I'M NOT BUYING ANYMORE SUPPS THOUGH.

posted Oct 7th, 2014 2:17 am


Bill

Quick weight-loss system They rip you off on the diet supplements go to GNC and get the same diet supplements for one third the cost

posted Oct 2nd, 2014 7:24 pm


Melanie

Hi (formerly BIG) JOHN, please update your story, it's so inspiring!!! HOpe you won't miss going to England even if you "ONLY" lost 60 or 70 pounds....
I'm a QWLC customer. I had a bad feeling when they pressured me into signing up for a year's worth of counseling and some products for just under $600. I should have bargained with them! But of course they tell you that it's normally $3,000, and only today you get a super sale... just like buying a car. - Anyhow, I "only" have 20 pounds to lose, but my husband needs to lose 40. It doesnt sound so bad - I had lost 51 pounds exactly twenty years ago with Herbalife over 10 months.... Gained back 6 pounds the first year because they changed their thermogenetic formula. It's been up and down ever since, and when I was up 20 pounds recently I knew I had to do something. Tried Weight Watchers in between: lost 4 pound over two months, it cost me $80, and I gained it back in six months. -

Back to AWLC: First four days all you can eat meat and veggies, made me sick to my stomach, didn't lose anything. Then the first week of real dieting with all the trimmings: Appetite suppressant, carb blocker, fish oil capsules, protein supplement, fiber supplement, and a list of allowed foods. It's like a part time job to read, shop, weigh and prepare everything! Fortunately I'm retired and have the time to do it.... Lost 6.4 lbs. over ten days, not too shabby, and feel ok.

Meanwhile I'm shopping for equivalent products. I'm not going to spend $109 on another appetitie suppressant, or $18 on 7 tiny packages of (15g) protein supplement. Found 2 pounds of great tasting whey protein at Walmart. Just take half of their scoop - about 1/4 cup worth - and you have 15 g of protein, with very little fat and carbs......Fiber therapy - same story.... The "diet counselors" are of course just sales people who try to sell you more and more at every turn. "Platinum Package", today only, very special, just under $1,000! Well, I found an offer on their website for Labor Day week: $550 for the same package! I figure I spend at most around $100 for the equivalent products, on and off the internet. It takes some time, you gotta read labels, but it seems to work... My husband uses these since day 1 and lost a little more than I did.

I guess the $600 are well spent if you consider their advice their "trade secrets". It's also an incentive to stick with the diet. Can't wait for the "stab" - stabilization phase, after you reach your goal. I don't ever want to gain this weight back. It's harder and harder to lose the older you get, trust me.

posted Sep 11th, 2014 7:21 pm


John

Doing the diet on my own has been quite successful. Having dropped 65 pounds in 4 months, using calorie count online to keep track of foods eaten each day, staying at 1000-1200 cal per day, High Protein, low carb - found a pre-mixed shake at Kroger for a meal replacement every once in awhile - EAS AdvantEdge Carb has 17g protein and 100 calories, Mostly eat chicken white meat (6oz), fish (5-6oz) or beef (4oz) with salad & low cal dressing, fresh veg or frozen veg with no additives and fresh fruit. Keeping 40-cal bread in freezer keeps it good and then I just toast a slice or 2 when wanted for a sandwich,

posted Aug 20th, 2014 4:20 pm


John (was Big John)

Staying pretty close to plan and still losing, but not as much as the first 5-6 weeks. In the 12th week now and down 48 lbs., with a goal to lose another 32 (for a total of 80) by Oct.
Glad I like white meat chicken, as that's easy to fix and keeps me on plan, along with veggies and limited fruits. Also fish once in awhile and 4 oz of beef, like for dinner last night with 2 slices of my 40-cal bread for a nice burger. There are some interesting substitutions, like using shredded zucchini instead of pasta with marinara on top and a dash of parmesan cheese. Made the sauce with some chicken in it for protein & it was not bad, although not spaghetti & meatballs.
Wish me luck - 3 months, 12 more weeks to lose 3.25 lbs. a week. Cutting down to 1200 calories a day may help, but already quite a noticeable diff.
Oh yeah, got my international drivers license, as that trip to Europe will be coming up as soon as I go on maintenance. Here's something everybody may not know - my credit card provides insurance for the rental car, neat eh? Well, Tally Ho for now, as I'm about to eat my dessert - 10 grapes, Yum!

posted Jul 3rd, 2014 12:46 am


John

I started my program back on my own too after 3 years and gaining part of my weight loss of over 100 lbs. back after eating all the junk food again.
This time I am taking the essential oils, from Kroger, a multiple vitamin - no added salt, but using Morton Lite, Mrs Dash, etc.
So far, down 25 lbs. in 5 weeks, with about 50 more to go to my goal.
Calorie Count online has been a big help in keeping track of my food and weight - but most of what has helped is what I learned from QWL during my year on the program.
Now - to continue losing, changing lifestyle eating patterns and keeping on maintenance when I reach my goal in October, go to Europe and survive driving on the wrong side of the road and a cruise back to the states.

posted May 18th, 2014 12:26 am


Bianca

What is the brand name of the diet light bread sticks? I can not find any anywhere.
Thank you

posted May 11th, 2014 8:06 pm


John

My new restart after 3 years has worked well so far - a few protein supplements, but on my own. Essential oils & multi vitamin from Kroger. Using Calorie Count & own chart.
Lost 18 lbs in 5 weeks, even with a few cheat days, Easter dinner and restaurant foods I could not yet resist.
My plan is to eat real foods, no artificial or fake processed foods. Chicken, fish, 4 0z steak once in awhile. Had 6 oz filet mignon at Humble Saltgrass on my birthday, but just salad and broccoli with it + 1/2 slice bread.
Of course water in my drink of choice, but I did drink 1/2 bottle of Asti Spumante when painting one evening with the group.
My own weigh ins - Own measuring by size of clothing, own pace, but target Oct 1 to be down another 82 lbs. to put me on a normal weight for age and height.
Then, my reward will be the trip to England and cruise back to Houston, still eating only real food.
Motivation of peer reviews is enough for me this time, instead of the quasi health people to sell all the supplements they can or as long as possible.
Nashua Nutrition has the same supplements online for far less cost, but not sure they are really of much need if one steers to high protein, low carb natural foods and keeps track of what they eat for each meal, yup including the off plan stuff for total intake. Remember it takes a reduction of 3500 cal from weight needed to maintain to lose 1 lb.
Charts online will show what is needed to maintain current weight. So, just subtract 1000 cal per day to lose 2 lb. per week, 52 in half a year or 104 per year. It's doable!!!

posted May 4th, 2014 7:46 pm


John

First - I did it before - see my post on
(posted Feb 1st, 2010 3:13 pm)

Not easy to stay on maintenance living a "Normal" life. So I will need to lose it all again, started a week ago and have lost 6 lb so far, with about 100 to go. This time, no pills, but some bars and protein shakes to go with high protein, low carb diet of 1500 cal. This needs to be cut down to about 1100 as the weight drops to continue to lose over 100.
Then, starting in Oct 2014, the dreaded maintenance. I'll let y'all know how it is progressing, in anyone cares.

posted Apr 12th, 2014 9:18 pm


dilzyn

Advice on QWLC supplements I just Signed up for QWLC today and start on Monday. I Paid $559.000 which included a month of fat burner, month of multivitamin,1 pack of boost, 6 pack of shack, package of tea, a month of sugar and starch blocker, fatty acid supplement, 2 boxes of snacks, & herbal supplement. The price incluedes 26 weeks a visits as well. The fat burner is my biggest concern when it runs out in a month. Does anyone know where to get it cheaper? I am also going to be cooking my own foods so that will help in cost. Also, does anyone have a few glasses of wine a week or totally have to cut that out? My goal is 100 lbs and I would really like some feed back. I understand it is costly but I am ready!

posted Mar 18th, 2014 8:02 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account