Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

76%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 301 reviews

Quick Weight Loss Centers

A diet plan catching the eye of celebrities.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2001
  • Headquarters: Florida
  • Accessibility: In-person or online private counseling via email or phone
  • Diet Type: Low-carbohydrate, low-calorie, supplements and prepackaged meals
  • Gender: Male, female, children
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Rush Limbaugh
BACKGROUND

Quick Weight Loss, founded in Florida, provides individualized weight loss therapy. The program boasts no exercise and you eat the foods you love including the diet program's own line of diet foods and herbal and thermogenic supplements.

Made popular by Rush Limbaugh who in 2009 lost a remarkable amount of weight in a short period of time following a Quick Weight Loss created just for him, this southern Florida company has helped many lose weight.

Currently, the only bricks and mortar Quick Weight Loss Centers are scattered around southern Florida but there is an online program that you can join from anywhere in the country. This home-based program is a six-week program in which you receive support and counseling via email and phone from Quick Weight Loss Center specialists.

Once you have signed up for either program, you work individually with a Quick Weight Loss Center expert in order to create your own customized diet plan.

In general, the Quick Weight Loss plan provides participants a diet that is low calorie (up to 1,500 calories/day). You buy the foods you like to make and supplement with Quick Weight Loss brand's bars, beverages, soups as well as supplement s that are intended to facilitate weight loss.

You can expect to lose three to seven pounds each week while following the Quick Weight Loss Center programs.

PRO
  • Doctor clearance shows they are being responsible
  • Helped Rush Limbaugh lose 80 pounds in 2009

  • Offers an individualized program to weight loss

  • One-on-one support provides motivation and accountability

CON
  • Weight loss claims may be exaggerated
  • Required to buy program's special line of foods increases costs
  • Herbal supplements and other stimulants are required
  • Supplements do not require FDA approval; check with your doctor before taking
  • Brick and mortar locations are limited to southern Florida and Texas
  • Low calorie diet plan may lead to rebound weight gain
  • Diet program rules are not scientifically founded
DIET and NUTRITION

While all Quick Weight Loss Center diets are custom-designed, there are a few benchmark features that are applied to every participant's diet.

Most diet plans include a low-calorie and low-fat daily eating plan that is comprised of about 1,500 calories a day.

And while the company remains pretty hush-hush about what their diet looks like, a few secrets slipped through the cracks thanks to Rush's public discussion about his experience with Quick Weight Loss Centers.

There are a host of other food rules that you must abide by while following the program such as eating green peppers but not red bell peppers and not combining two different kinds of proteins in one meal. For instance you can have seven ounces of grilled chicken breast but not three ounces of white fish and four ounces of turkey breast in one meal. In addition, alcohol, sugar, refined flours and fried foods are not allowed.

You can also supplement with Quick Weight Loss Centers proprietary foods which can be purchased online or at one of the Center's Florida locations. Such foods include special puddings, shake mixes, nutrition bars, soups and oatmeal.

In addition, you are also encouraged to take Quick Weight Loss Centers own line of dietary supplements like essential fatty acids, herbs and carb blockers, all of which are supposed to facilitate speedy weight loss.

EXERCISE

You can engage in moderate exercise while following the Quick Weight Loss Center diet but hard-core exercise is not a strong feature of this plan.

CONCLUSION

Made popular almost overnight by conservative radio-host Rush Limbaugh who lost 80 pounds in just a few months, Quick Weight Loss Centers is a Florida-based customized diet plan that helps you lose weight quickly with its low-calorie and highly structured eating plan. But it is exactly this stringent plan that lands this diet in the category of countless other plans that take off a lot of weight in a short amount of time and then risks gaining it all back once you are no longer on the plan.

But with this rather mysterious diet plan filled with specific eating rules and special supplements that contain hoodia and ephedra-like stimulants, you might want to think twice about spending the money on Quick Weight Loss Center and instead think about incorporating more natural, practical and long-term strategies for successful weight loss.

Common Misspellings

quick weight lose, quick wieght loss plan, quick weight loss paln, qwlc, quik weight loss centers, quick weight loss program, rush limbaugh diet


Related Diets: Low-Carb Diet, Jenny Craig, 24 Hour Fitness, Curves, Elements for Women, Lucille Roberts


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 31, 601 total comments)

John (was Big John)

Staying pretty close to plan and still losing, but not as much as the first 5-6 weeks. In the 12th week now and down 48 lbs., with a goal to lose another 32 (for a total of 80) by Oct.
Glad I like white meat chicken, as that's easy to fix and keeps me on plan, along with veggies and limited fruits. Also fish once in awhile and 4 oz of beef, like for dinner last night with 2 slices of my 40-cal bread for a nice burger. There are some interesting substitutions, like using shredded zucchini instead of pasta with marinara on top and a dash of parmesan cheese. Made the sauce with some chicken in it for protein & it was not bad, although not spaghetti & meatballs.
Wish me luck - 3 months, 12 more weeks to lose 3.25 lbs. a week. Cutting down to 1200 calories a day may help, but already quite a noticeable diff.
Oh yeah, got my international drivers license, as that trip to Europe will be coming up as soon as I go on maintenance. Here's something everybody may not know - my credit card provides insurance for the rental car, neat eh? Well, Tally Ho for now, as I'm about to eat my dessert - 10 grapes, Yum!

posted Jul 3rd, 2014 12:46 am


John

I started my program back on my own too after 3 years and gaining part of my weight loss of over 100 lbs. back after eating all the junk food again.
This time I am taking the essential oils, from Kroger, a multiple vitamin - no added salt, but using Morton Lite, Mrs Dash, etc.
So far, down 25 lbs. in 5 weeks, with about 50 more to go to my goal.
Calorie Count online has been a big help in keeping track of my food and weight - but most of what has helped is what I learned from QWL during my year on the program.
Now - to continue losing, changing lifestyle eating patterns and keeping on maintenance when I reach my goal in October, go to Europe and survive driving on the wrong side of the road and a cruise back to the states.

posted May 18th, 2014 12:26 am


Bianca

What is the brand name of the diet light bread sticks? I can not find any anywhere.
Thank you

posted May 11th, 2014 8:06 pm


John

My new restart after 3 years has worked well so far - a few protein supplements, but on my own. Essential oils & multi vitamin from Kroger. Using Calorie Count & own chart.
Lost 18 lbs in 5 weeks, even with a few cheat days, Easter dinner and restaurant foods I could not yet resist.
My plan is to eat real foods, no artificial or fake processed foods. Chicken, fish, 4 0z steak once in awhile. Had 6 oz filet mignon at Humble Saltgrass on my birthday, but just salad and broccoli with it + 1/2 slice bread.
Of course water in my drink of choice, but I did drink 1/2 bottle of Asti Spumante when painting one evening with the group.
My own weigh ins - Own measuring by size of clothing, own pace, but target Oct 1 to be down another 82 lbs. to put me on a normal weight for age and height.
Then, my reward will be the trip to England and cruise back to Houston, still eating only real food.
Motivation of peer reviews is enough for me this time, instead of the quasi health people to sell all the supplements they can or as long as possible.
Nashua Nutrition has the same supplements online for far less cost, but not sure they are really of much need if one steers to high protein, low carb natural foods and keeps track of what they eat for each meal, yup including the off plan stuff for total intake. Remember it takes a reduction of 3500 cal from weight needed to maintain to lose 1 lb.
Charts online will show what is needed to maintain current weight. So, just subtract 1000 cal per day to lose 2 lb. per week, 52 in half a year or 104 per year. It's doable!!!

posted May 4th, 2014 7:46 pm


John

First - I did it before - see my post on
(posted Feb 1st, 2010 3:13 pm)

Not easy to stay on maintenance living a "Normal" life. So I will need to lose it all again, started a week ago and have lost 6 lb so far, with about 100 to go. This time, no pills, but some bars and protein shakes to go with high protein, low carb diet of 1500 cal. This needs to be cut down to about 1100 as the weight drops to continue to lose over 100.
Then, starting in Oct 2014, the dreaded maintenance. I'll let y'all know how it is progressing, in anyone cares.

posted Apr 12th, 2014 9:18 pm


dilzyn

Advice on QWLC supplements I just Signed up for QWLC today and start on Monday. I Paid $559.000 which included a month of fat burner, month of multivitamin,1 pack of boost, 6 pack of shack, package of tea, a month of sugar and starch blocker, fatty acid supplement, 2 boxes of snacks, & herbal supplement. The price incluedes 26 weeks a visits as well. The fat burner is my biggest concern when it runs out in a month. Does anyone know where to get it cheaper? I am also going to be cooking my own foods so that will help in cost. Also, does anyone have a few glasses of wine a week or totally have to cut that out? My goal is 100 lbs and I would really like some feed back. I understand it is costly but I am ready!

posted Mar 18th, 2014 8:02 pm


Beth

I lost 50 lbs on this diet in about 3 months. I LOVED it! In fact, despite the 1500 calorie max, I found it difficult at first to eat ALL that I needed to eat in a day. I guess I was eating BAD foods, but not much in a days time. I was determined to lose all but 10 lbs before I started any kind of exercising, which I did. But before I even started exercising, I looked as though I was. The high protein factor in this diet, creates lean muscle mass and in fact makes you appear as though you have been working out, by shaping your body as you lose weight. They pay special attention to your skin elasticity, which is a HUGE problem if you have a large amount of weight to lose. I had done other programs where I lost a good amount of weight, only to have saggy everything without having exercised. I did go out on my own and find protein supplements that were less expensive, a little higher in protein and tasted great. (not that some of their protein bars aren't fantastic). I found the Pure Protein chocolate powder shake mix to be GREAT and lower in calories/higher in protein than some supplements, and they have some bars that are like eating a chocolate bar. I have 4 kids and I am 45 years old, and battle with my weight on a daily basis. I have lost 50 lbs 5 times in my life and this diet was easy to lose the weight with, and fairly easy to step back into when a few pounds creep up on you. I highly recommend the program.

posted Oct 1st, 2013 12:16 am


TMac

1st of all, DONT BUY THE SUPPMENTS!
YOU WILL STILL LOSE!

I lost 30lbls after my second baby, only using the bars and she shakes! I came to this forum and found this website http://www.nashuanutrition.com and was able to get the bars and shakes cheaper. Without this site I couldn’t have done the diet, too expensive.
I had another child and I am back on the program hoping to lose 40! I have been on it a week and already lost 4lbs and 1.5 inches in my waste.
Lastly it is very heard to each chicken breast all the time 
Good Luck

posted Sep 9th, 2013 7:17 pm


marcia

I lost 18 lbs but could not keep up with the chicken, turkey, fish diet. It is basically a very low carb diet. I can not STAND the commercials on every 5 minutes. That's where all your money goes! It is extremely expensive. I spent over $4000. on this stupid diet. RIPOFF....

posted Jul 17th, 2013 1:55 am


dissapointed

I regretted my decision after just two weeks in the program....not too many options of food (at least for me that I don't eat seafood or fish and not too many of the vegetables in the program either) I got bored of the menu really fast. I felt the only thing I could eat for breakfast was egg...not healthy at all!!!

posted Jun 30th, 2013 11:46 pm


wanda

What over the counter supplements can replace the QWL supplements? I have been on QWL for 2 months and am 35 pounds down. I don't ever want to go through this again. The program works - but it is difficult on my stomach.

posted Jun 24th, 2013 4:38 pm


Bess

Quick Weight Loss is one of the biggest mistakes I've made in a very long time. It doesn't filter in real life experiences.

posted Jun 19th, 2013 4:57 pm


size 6 on my own

I have been on every diet known to man. My entire family is obese, while I am not, I am still larger than I want to be. Before I went on the Quick Weight Loss program I logged my food each day and had pretty healthy eating habits. I also tried to exercise (usually running 3 miles) about 3-4 times per week. I could never lose even a pound! And what happened over time were vacations or holidays where I would put on a pound or two and never take them off. Since I started with a relatively healthy BMI (25.5, which is just mildly overweight) I was very skeptical of this program. The impression that I had was that this was a good program for people who are too large to exercise, have a serious health issue, or need surgery and have to lose a lot of excess weight very quickly. The center representatives assured me that this was a program for everyone. In the goal weight section I put down what I weighed in high school which would mean a 25 pound weight loss. I only weighed what I did in high school because I heavily restricted calories - ie. I rarely ate.
After I got over the sticker shock of the $700.00/6 week program I was told that this was the easiest program, that I could eat out, and that I would never have to exercise. This was attractive to me because I work and have young kids and it's not always easy for me to find time to exercise or to cook dinner. I went ahead and committed partially because I felt desperate, and partially because I figured with the guarantee that they gave me that I had nothing to lose. The "prep" phase of this program was painful however I did lose 4 pounds in 4 days. I was amazed! The main idea is that you increase your vegetable and protein intake, partially restrict fruit intake, and heavily restrict carb intake. The portions of protein that you're required to consume are very large. One serving of chicken is 8 ounces. You're required to have 2 servings of protein per day - so yeah, that's a pound of chicken a day... I don’t even like meat that much so this was a real challenge for me. Also, the list of foods that you are allowed to eat is not very broad so, as another rip off report indicated, it gets boring very quickly. In addition to the program cost you are required to buy supplements in both pill and food form. These are also very costly – I would say on average $68.00 for the food supplements per month and $220.00 per month for the pill supplements per month.
Over the course of the next 4 weeks I continued to lose the weight pretty consistently. Once I was down 14 pounds though that was pretty much it. I would teeter-totter up and down a pound or two. They said, "Eliminate your protein bar and fruit for a few days"(these being the only things that kept me sane with all this meat and vegetables I had to consume). That didn't work. I had stopped exercising because they told me that sometimes it can make you retain water and the last thing I wanted was any added frustration. So when I stopped losing, I specifically asked if I should start exercising again. They said, “No, no, you shouldn’t have to exercise on this program”.
After the 6 weeks came to an end and I hadn’t lost all the weight I was promised, they said, "You know, coming in with a very low BMI like you did sometimes makes it harder to lose the weight." Seriously? Why make promises at all then? I was told that they would “give” me three more weeks. I guess that was their consolation for not keeping their end of the program. At this point I already had so much time and money invested so I kept going. 2 more pounds down during those freebie 3 weeks – a far cry from the 2-3 pound a week weight loss they promise. So at the end of 9 weeks I was down 16 pounds which, don’t get me wrong, was quite an accomplishment.
The main issue that I have starts here… A representative told me that they recommend going on stabilization at that point because it’s a really important part of the maintenance process but that if I wanted to just keep eating like I had been until the rest of the weight came off that I could do that. So I figured that I’d give it a go “on my own”. I did ok for a couple of weeks then went away with my kids for a few days. Not being so much in control of what’s readily available for you to eat is quite challenging on this diet. I put on 3 pounds right away, even though I ate salads with meat on them and only had one slice of pizza – the first in over 3 months! I thought this time it would be different, that those vacation pounds would come right off. Nope, still on, and another 4 from just being normal and I suppose not following the stabilization program that I paid for and never used. Every day I pretty much still eat as if I’m on the program, just less protein and a few more carbs (I have Ezekiel bread instead of the measly corn tortilla the program wants you to have). I’ve even started exercising again and yet the scale never moves. The other really frustrating thing for me is that I recently had my cholesterol tested and it went from 173 last year to 237! I truly think this has to do with eliminating exercise and whole grains and from eating so much shellfish (7 ounces of shrimp is one serving of protein). I have completely abandoned the program now and feel like I’ve spent a lot of money and somewhat compromised my health and am right back where I started – albeit 9 pounds lighter.
Any, any, any diet program that is so high pressure sales based and so severely restricts a food group and does not encourage exercise should not be allowed to exist. I don’t know if I will ever get to the bottom of my issues with weight loss but I want people to know that this program, in my opinion, is not a good long-term solution for anybody. These people are not acting in your best interest!

posted May 23rd, 2013 8:00 pm


Bob C

Let's start with the bad news first. This is an expensive program with a very high pressure sales pitch. After said pitch you'll have a meeting with yet another high pressure sales pitch. You'll then purchase some very expensive supplements after you purchased a very expensive program.

Now that we have that out of the way, the program is EXTREMELY easy to follow. Everything is spelled out for you. There is nothing left to chance. You'll also check in to have your progress monitored closely.

If the money isn't a problem for you (or better yet is a motivator) this is by far the best program I've used.

posted May 21st, 2013 6:35 pm


wanda

What supplements do you replace the QWL supplements with afterwards? I don't plan on being on QWL forever. What supplements did you replace the QWL supplements with afterwards?

posted May 8th, 2013 5:49 pm


wanda

Just starting this diet. Can you ever eat avocados or any red or orange vegetables on this diet?

posted Apr 24th, 2013 10:03 pm


Michelle R

I saw the add, "Lose all the weight you want for $99." WRONG and a LIE! As soon as you get behind the closed door, the scheme for money and pressure sale begins. You see all the before and after photos of clients before you that were able to lose their weight and looked great. Before I knew it, I was sucked in and had dished out $671.00 to lose all the weight (60lbs) I needed. I was told over and over that all the supplements that I needed for my entire program were included with what I had paid. WRONG and another LIE! Then you go in after your 3 day cleanse, which makes you feel horribly sick, to participate in a class and receive your Nutritional Plan Guide book and an offer to purchase food at a discounted price only for that day. Yet again another pressure sale. I told the lady I wasn't sure if I'd be able to use the products since it has soy and I have a Thyroid disease. But, I was pressured to buy anyway (almost $300 worth). I started feeling extremely nauseated all the time, and then my throat tightened up almost immediately after eating their soy chips, I knew this was not the program for me. I called QWL the very next day and told them how sick I was and that I almost had to go to the hospital. I suggested I bring the food back for a refund, but was told I couldn't since it was their policy. The lady actually had the nerve to say to me, "I'm sorry you won't be able to use/buy our products." Also, one final note, when I first met with QWL I also gave them a long list of my illnesses, medication list and doctor's contact information. To me, it's all about the sale, even if it means taking advantage of someone for a huge profit; The perfect scheme for those without a conscience who prey on the desperate, the hopeful and ailing victims.

posted Apr 24th, 2013 6:44 am


Pamela

I lost 85 lbs. in 8 months. The plan is easy to follow but supplements are expensive...mine averaged $260 for 6 weeks worth of supplements. But, they work. I did gain about 10 lbs. back when I stopped taking the supplements so I am back on plan...on my own, using similar supplements found in any health food store at a fraction of the cost...and losing the weight I gained quickly. The trick is to portion, stick to the food plan and drink 80 oz. of water daily, as the plan requires. Once you do this and add daily moderate exercise you will maintain your loss. I recommend QWLC for a jumpstart and education to what should be a lifestyle.

posted Mar 17th, 2013 12:48 pm


Susie Lopez

If you enjoy popping pills and being overcharged for products, then this diet is for you! At one time I was taking 23 pills per day, plus drinking two "energy" drinks, taking fiber, drinking a special tea, and eating two protein supplements. Whew. Too much work, unrealistic, and WAY too expensive. What a gimmick!!

posted Feb 18th, 2013 9:21 pm


Rick Long

Some things you should consider before signing up with Quick Weight Loss Centers
1. It is very expensive! I was charged $1,600 for program fees and diet supplements. This was to lose 40 pounds over three months.
2. Next, it is very restrictive. This is a high protein, low fat, low carbohydrate, low salt diet. This means no pasta, no alcohol, no cheese, no pork and virtually no bread. (Only two very thin slices of diet bread per day, which is restricted even further if you drift off-plan.) One may “enjoy” half of a baked potato or a tiny portion of brown rice twice per week. The only desserts you’ll see are the protein bars. (No more than one per day.) There are no off-days, no breaks, until you get to your goal weight. Also, the amount of food, even including vegetables, is limited to very small portions. You are required to use a specific brand of light butter and salt. You will have to take supplements; lots of them. Some are shaken into bottles of water, others are capsules. These are used to raise your body temperature and stoke up your metabolism. Also, certain essential fats are supplied not by food, but by capsule.
3. You will find it virtually impossible to eat out. Don’t believe QWLC’s radio advertising to the contrary. Most restaurants do not grill meat in the required manner and nearly all use way more salt that the plan allows. You will not be allowed anywhere near an Italian, Mexican or Chinese restaurant. Forget fast food outlets, even their salads don’t meet plan requirements.
4. You will need to stay near a restroom. The plan calls for 64 ounces of water per day minimum.
5. It is a constant bother. You must eat at the specified times, including mid-morning and mid-afternoon snacks. The pills, the packets of powders, the constant monitoring of every little thing will consume your life.
6. Although the young ladies wear nursing attire, they aren’t nurses. The program has no medical supervision. If you have problems or a concern, there is no physician available for consultation.
7. YOU WILL LOSE WEIGHT. The plan does work to take the weight off; but you might also lose your mind, your will to live or both.

posted Jan 14th, 2013 9:10 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account