Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

100%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 4 reviews

Perricone Prescription

Most suggestions are sound, but lots of supplementation may be too costly.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

In just a brief 28 days, the Perricone Prescription can help reduce many unwanted health conditions and diseases. This program is supported by science. When you reduce inflammation at the cellular level, you're able to affect heart disease, arthritis, aging, cancer, diabetes and obesity. Who knew you could fight off fat, disease and even wrinkles with one shot?

The Perricone Prescription, developed by dermatologist Nicholas Perricone, has found that cells always showing signs of inflammation when disease is present. His anti-inflammatory diet is effective because he shows how everything you eat is a contributing factor to your unwanted health issues.

Inflammation is the result of increased blood sugar that causes chemical reactions in the body. Sugar and high glycemic carbs will quickly fuel these reactions. The Perricone Rx states that protein will work to repair these damaged cells. But he warns that not all proteins are beneficial. Some actually promote inflammatory conditions. Dr. Perricone suggests removing pork, veal, lamb and beef from your diet will help you avoid these harmful proteins, and additionally, lose some unwanted pounds.

PRO
  • Author is medical professional
  • Better looking skin
  • Correct some health problems
  • Vegetarian friendly
  • Diabetic friendly
CON
  • Critics say the program is "unproven"
  • Strict dietary rules
  • Requires removal of most meat from diet
DIET and NUTRITION

On the Perricone Rx plan, you'll consume three meals a day, a mid-day and after-dinner snack, as well as drink no less than 8-10 glasses of water each day. Meals and snacks are required to offer a balanced mix of protein, fat (like omega-3 and -6) and carbs.

EXERCISE

The Perricone Rx recommends consistent physical exercise and an anti-inflammatory supplement to establish a healthy lifestyle.

CONCLUSION

Eating more fish, fruits, and vegetables and having frequent sensible meals are all good suggestions. But it's heavy on supplementation and seems to make assertions that many nutritionists disagree with.

Common Misspellings

Pericone Diet, Perricon Diet, Pearicone Diet, Perricone Deit


Related Diets: eDiets, AHA No-Fad Diet, Diabetes Diet, Glycemic Index



Wikipedia

Nicholas Perricone (), MD, is a dermatologist who has written several books, primarily on the subjects of weight loss and maintaining the appearance of youth. He is an Adjunct Professor of Medicine at Michigan State University’s College of Human Medicine, from which he received his MD. He has appeared in two special programs on PBS. He sells his own line of skin care products.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 11 total comments)

Traci

I read Dr. Perricone's book 6 years ago and then followed the diet he recommended, and I was amazed at the results. Not only did I lose 20 pounds, but I rid myself of depression and unhealthy living. I think he really knows what he's talking about because his diet plan really helped me to see how my body responds to certain foods and how to climb out of the "rut" I was in with the cycle of losing and gaining weight without a real clue of what worked for my body.

posted Dec 21st, 2011 5:04 pm


VICKI

THE PERRICONE DIET IS THE BEST EVER. IT IS VERY EASY TO FOLLOW AND ALTHOUGH I AM NOT A FISH FAN, I HAVE FOUND OTHER WAYS TO MAKE ADJUSTMENTS WITH TUNA AND CHICKEN.
UNLIKE MANY OTHER EATING PLANS, ITS PRIMARY GOAL IS NOT JUST WEIGHT LOSS. THE GOAL IS HEALTH THROUGH AVOIDING FOODS THAT CAUSE INFLAMATION BUT THEY SEEM TO GO HAND IN HAND. NOT ONLY DID I DROP OVER 20 POUNDS WITHOUT EVEN TRYING, MY SKIN SHOWED SIGNS OF NOTICABLE IMPROVEMENTS IN THE FIRST 3 DAYS. FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO ARE WORRIED ABOUT ALL THE SUPPLIMENTS, THEY ARE GREAT. I DO FEEL A DIFFERENCE WHEN I DON??T HAVE THEM. HOWEVER, WHEN HE FIRST CAME OUT WITH HIS 28 DAY PLAN 6 OR 7 YEARS AGO, HE DID NOT EVEN HAVE A LINE OF SUPPLIMENTS YET, SO I USED STORE BOUGHT ONES.
SO HERE IS MY OPPIINION, UNLESS YOU HAVE READ HIS BOOK WHICH EXPLAINS IN GREAT DETAIL THE NUTRITIONAL VALUE OF EACH FOOD AND HOW AND WHY OUR BODY NEEDS THEM AND WHY WE SHOULD BE EATING THE PERRICONE WAY, IT WOULD BE HARD TO UNDERSTAND WHAT IT??S ALL ABOUT. 7 YEARS LATER , I AM STILL A PERRICONE FAN AND WANT YOU TO HAVE THAT JOY OF FEELING YOUR BEST AS WELL. JUST GIVE IT A 3 DAY TRIAL RUN AND TAKE BEFORE AND AFTER PICS OF YOUR FACE, YOU WILL BE AMAZED. V.Z.F.

posted Nov 1st, 2010 5:04 pm


robyn

This diet is not very vegetarian friendly. I've been a vegetarian most of my life, but I'd really like to try his program to see the benefits. Vegetarian means eating only vegetables, eggs and dairy. He is very against this lifestyle, encouraging the use of "high quality" protein from seafood and poultry. I know I won't eat birds, but I may try to eat the fish as he extols salmon extensively. Please remove the "veg friendly" statement - he's really not!

posted May 12th, 2010 10:06 am


Bonnie Rosenblatt

With this diet and lots of exercise (e.g. yoga, elliptical, weight training, rock climbing) I went from 155 lbs to 118 lbs. I am a 5 foot 2 inch tall female.

I cut out almost all sugar - having very small snacks of chocolate chips now and again. Lots of blueberries and yogurt, salmon, almonds, salads with parmesan cheese and little to no salad dressing. My skin looked great - i had adult acne. My back problems were a lot better (I have a bulged disk in my lower back). I took some of the supplements - yeah, they are expensive - like alpha lipoic acid, CoQ10, omega fatty acids among others.

I very much think it improved my life. It is hard to stay on if other people in your life want to eat cookies, but it was really great for me when I was doing it. I still keep sugar intake very low, and that helps a ton for my skin.

posted Apr 6th, 2010 8:03 pm


MB

I'm going to gush. I can swear by this diet. When it first came out, my parents both went on this plan for the full 28 days. My father, who is a diabetic, noticed an immediate improvement in his ability to control his glucose levels and he felt more healthy than he ever had. My mom also experienced the same results. Both of them also lost 30 lbs. in 28 days. They loved this diet so much they stuck to it as a regular meal plan. After their sucess, I tried it. I started seeing results within a week and others around me also saw the change. They didn't know I was on a diet. They just noticed I was looking and feeling better. I felt more energetic, clear-headed, and I also lost 45 lbs in 2 months. All of my family has now tried this program and have all experienced great results. It did improve our skin, but its bonuses of weight loss (which I credit to its "common sense" meal plan), increased metabolism (more energy), and increased brain function rank it high on my list of the many plans out there that really do work.

posted Nov 7th, 2009 8:28 pm


Trimmer

The Perricone Prescription is sensible, healthy eating, and I have definitely noticed an improvement in my skin. As for the supplements, i don't think they're necessary and they have gotten some questionable reviews -- I say stick to the eating plan and exercize, the results will come with patience and determination. Happy Eating and good luck for beautiful skin.

posted Nov 19th, 2008 11:04 am


Roberta Mora

I have seen Dr Parricone seminar on PBS from time to time. The information received was good. However I can not remember the suppliments that should be taken

posted Oct 19th, 2008 1:23 am


love

The perricone diet is the best diet out!! my skin went from atrophic to perfect and iget compliments all the time. But, you must follow the diet plan for the 30 days and more in order to get great results like mine!!!

posted May 7th, 2008 10:32 pm


Gma Clara

I'd say the exercise is assumed. That should be a part of any diet and it says that "consistent Phys exer" is recommende. My gym offers a free consult w/ a trainer for signing up- that's what i did and it's a greaet plan just for me.


Heidi41

I really loved the way my skin also really cleared up and how good I felt with following the Perricone diet but felt it lacked recommendations and motivation for exercise, anyone else feel that way?


apple-a-day

My skin is GLOWING!! Its true about the salmon, thank you Dr. Perricone!



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account