Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

40%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 10 reviews

Oprah Diet

Learn more about Oprah's favorite diets.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

For most people, the trials and tribulations of dieting and weight loss are worked out behind the scenes, in the comfort of their own home. There are few people you have to answer to, and rarely does anyone talk about it. However, for Oprah Winfrey, she has had to play out the battle with her weight on an international stage for more than two decades. It has served as an inspiration to many, but also given her the motivation to triumph over her weight once and for all.

Over the years, Oprah has tried a number of weight loss programs, and thus made these brands very popular.

Over the past few decades, Oprah Winfrey has been the voice of our struggles, fears, celebrations and milestones. With her own very public battle with her weight, she has also inspired us to become more healthy - physically, mentally and spiritually.

With her pulse on the latest in health news and her connection to the nation's premiere health and weight loss experts, Oprah continues to inform and motivate us to be the healthiest we can be.

Here are Oprah's main health gurus and the plans that they endorse:

Bob Greene's Best Life Diet: Oprah's fitness guru and dear friend has stood by her side through all of her weight ups and downs. This no-gimmich health coach discusses the importance of developing a healthy relationship with food and exercise, two benchmarks for a happy and healthy lifestyle. Creator of The Best Life and The Total Body Makeover, Greene's philosophy is a lifestyle approach that includes sound eating, positive thinking and consistent and enjoyable exercise.

Dr. Oz's YOU On a Diet: One of the most recognizable doctors, Dr. Oz and his partner, Dr. David Roizen, have co-authored the bestsellers: YOU on a Diet and The RealAge diet. Dr. Oz's approach combines the best of Western medicine with the mind-body approach of the East. He focuses on a whole-foods diet, a regular exercise program and yoga. Dr. Oz's female-tailored health recommendations discuss the latest in beauty trends and anti-aging secrets.

Quantum Wellness: Oprah followed this vegan eating and lifestyle program for 21 days as a way to detox and impart less harm on the earth. Created by Kathy Freston, a New York Times bestselling author, Quantum Wellness encourages you to tackle the eight pillars of wellness in order to improve your quality of life. These eight pillars are: meditation, visualization, self-work, conscious eating, exercise, service, fun and spiritual practice. The result is a healthier and more centered you and a happier planet.

PRO
  • Oprah's popularity lets her message be seen and heard by millions
  • All diets are grounded in sound health practices
  • All programs are long-term solutions to health
  • Takes into account the emotionality of our relationship to food and exercise
CON
  • Give up tempting and favored foods
  • Oprah tends to yo-yo diet like so many others
  • Oprah always seems to be chasing the next big diet
DIET and NUTRITION

While all of the specific diets that Oprah endorses are different, they share commonality in their approach to eating more whole-foods, amd a balanced and less-processed diet. Greene and Dr. Oz's eating plans include lean meats, while Quantum Wellness is a meat and dairy-free eating plan.

Recipes are given, as well as nutrition information on which foods you should be eating more of and which foods you should stay away from in each book.

EXERCISE

Exercise is an integral component to any of these healthy lifestyle program, and one that Oprah embraces. Since Bob Greene is a fitness trainer, his programs tend to feature more detailed information on the specific kinds of exercise such as cardio workouts and resistance-training routines.

While many popular diets don't endorse yoga as a form of cardiovascular and muscle-building workout, Dr. Oz's programs do. Dr. Oz supports practicing yoga as a form of comprehensive physical activity and as a way to reduce stress.

CONCLUSION

As Oprah has traveled the road to health with her many public ups and downs, she has also inspired us to be honest with ourselves about our own battles with our weight and motivated us to make the necessary long-term changes to yield a healthy body, mind and spirit. Dr. Oz, Bob Greene and Kathy Freston are three health experts who, over the years, Oprah has turned to for the latest in diet, health, and wellness news and research. Although all three of these experts vary in their styles and programs they all endorse a long-term plan for health that includes physical, mental and spiritual health.

Common Misspellings

Oprah's Deit, Bob Green Diet, Oprah's Best Life, Oprah Diets, Best Life Diet, Quantum Wellness, Dr. Oz Diet


Related Diets: Bob Greene's Bestlife, Dr. Oz YOU On A Diet, Quantum Wellness, Total Body Makeover, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, Rachael Ray Diet, The Whole Foods Diet, Dr. Phils Ultimate Weight Solution, FitFlops


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 25 total comments)

karz

I have actually taken this "diet" I normally don't do diets and took it as a way to think about food and as a "best life" way of eating. This helped me rethink the portions and types of foods I was eating as well as made me feel I was "not" depriving myself as most diets do, but focused on being healthier. If you actually do the diet and take it to heart, I can help you improve, lose weight and get healthier, it's all up to you and your own attitude.

posted Sep 18th, 2011 2:15 pm


YTB

To many people look at Oprah as if she is a god. She exagerates, she lies and she is not always nice. People, she is a human being, stop acting like her word is gospel. She is a master at what she does. Deceit and ratings figure into her agenda. Stop acting like she is the answer lady. She is however well branded and makes people rich who have an opportunity to be on her show. She is the pop star and everyone who becomes part of her band benefits from the O' brand loyalty.

posted Oct 14th, 2010 5:47 pm


Lara

Bob Greene...ugh. This does not work. That Barilla pasta he recommends is DISGUSTING.

posted Oct 15th, 2009 2:57 pm


Gail

HORRIBLE. WHAT A WASTE OF TIME.

posted Sep 28th, 2009 5:34 pm


jen c

this guy is nothing more than another pop name put into place like dr. phil. waste of time.

posted Sep 5th, 2009 2:09 pm


angela

the diet is a joke and oprah is as big as a whale. this diet is a waste of time. no new information. he just has oprah as a friend. and she pays him for that!

posted Jun 19th, 2009 4:22 pm


fair

I m a psychologist for negativist rationalization by diets. Insstead of nonsucceded diet when you re fat again
you ll have a post diet weight

stabilizing calendary vitalizing the power diet. YOu ll get a pre dier period joule

record to connfront the food amount

real to diet period.

Medications like
1} dehydratating
2} lactating

3} diggesting
4} fat bloosting

5} organizm cleansing

and weight stabilizing after diet programm scientific diary.

posted Feb 4th, 2009 3:49 am


Linda

I liked it. i found the accountablity helped alot. and the meal plans were flexible. however I had stopped my membership and i am now trying to rejoin and am not having any luck with them answering my emails. I have sent them 3 so far.... we'll see.

posted Jan 5th, 2009 12:00 pm


sunday peters

i wish you could do more for people in nigeria. i'm on the big side and so, would need some help.

posted Dec 7th, 2008 11:28 am


sunday peters

i will like to have a full explanation on the issues involved. thanks.

posted Dec 7th, 2008 11:14 am


Katie

The thing to remember is that Oprah is human like the rest of us....it's like we promulgate the idea of perfection with these super-skinny models and see them as perfect when in fact half of them have eating disorders or are drug addicts but becasue Oprah has struggled with her weight she is ostracized...why is that? Why is it more accepted to starve yourself or do drugs then it is to gain weight or struggle with food? Food addiction is a real disease just like alcoholism,,,we need to start taking it seriously and celebrate famous people like Oprah for trying to overcome her food addiction, and it is not easy...the diets always work people, it's maintaining that is the hard part, and food addiction is more difficult then drugs or alcohol becasue you HAVE to eat...what I'm trying to say is the public needs to be more aware and understanding toward overweight people as they have the same struggle as any other addict, ostracizing them only diminishes the power of their addiction and encourages relapse, Oprah is role model for all of us that have this disease in that she has never given up and continues to progress in living a healthier life

posted Oct 7th, 2008 1:16 am


Deli C

Weight loss and gain is for me the most difficult thing, i'm 5ft 5 and was for many years a tiny uk size 8 i couldn't put weight on for trying, but after the birth of my son i put on 4stone i was then uk size 14 but shortly i got postnatal depression and found myself to have an eating order. I then put on a further three stone i was now an unhealthy uk size 18/20 i felt terrible. After carring the weight for nearly 2years i decided to do something about it i lost nearly 4stone. My weight is still unstable depending on my moods but its not easy at all, but thats life gould be worse could of put on another 3-4 stone..............lol

posted Sep 25th, 2008 9:06 am


Sammy

Sad for Bob Greene but why would anyone follow his diet after seeing Oprah. She is obese. Thyroid can be an issue but not an excuse for obesity. I am Oprah's age, also take medication to control thyroid but it requires eating less and physical activity to prevent weight gain. I no longer watch Oprah because she seems to want to tell everyone else how to live but she doesn't follow her own advice. Just don't believe her anymore.

posted Sep 25th, 2008 9:06 am


darlene

Oprah has her own issues so leave it alone. Mine are that I'm 71, have no thyroid function but on medication for my entire life, had lung cancer, on oxygen at 4.5 every day, all day and cannot exercise anymore. Very active life before with tennis and racket ball etc. Help!! How do I lose w/o excecise?? Bob, where are you????

posted Jun 14th, 2008 8:34 am


Nhova85

Holly & Nicole hate is such a strong word! If you dislike her thats a different story, but if you actually hate her, I feel bad for you because it takes a lot of energy to hate someone! Maybe u should use that energy towards excercising...

posted Jun 7th, 2008 1:50 pm


hOLLY AND NICOLE

we hate oprah.

posted May 28th, 2008 12:19 pm


Jenny

I think Oprah has unresolved emotional issues related to her weight problems. Now she is going vegan or trying to, which probably won't work either. Calories in and out and exercise are obviously the key along with maintaining appropriate calories and exercise FOREVER, not just until you hit your goal weight. I think it has to be a DAILY focus. After a life-long struggle I mastered my weight issues by having a fear of being unhealthy and having to have medical care that I can't afford. I've seen too many people as they age spend more and more time with doctors and medicines and an overall poor quality of life. The best cure for me was seeing people in a nursing home hunched over in wheel chairs and parked in a hallway. I don't want to end up that way by letting my health and activity level deteriorate. We all need to re-program our brains to eat for health and well-being instead of pleasure and celebration. It's a choice.

posted May 24th, 2008 9:20 pm


Winter Peg

I have a friend who went through the same experience as Jersey Girl. He is on meds but his thyroid is unstable due to removing too much of it. He has gone from a stick man to a balloon man. He does the diet but the meds have to be continually adjusted. I guess not all situations are black & white. She is human and obviously tries hard to help herself and others. Food is addictive!!

posted May 15th, 2008 9:44 am


Jersey Girl

I also have a thyroid condition where I had 90% taken out in 1970 but I take meds to take the place of it so Oprahs thyroid is not her issue. She falls off the wagon just like we all do. The woman is human and that's why I can relate to her!

posted May 7th, 2008 9:39 am


oprah_lover

I love Oprah! Bob Greene is the best as well. I have all his books!

posted Apr 3rd, 2008 9:25 pm



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account