Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

43%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 17 reviews
Lindora

Lindora Review: Don’t Buy Before You Read This!

Lindora offers more than 30 years of weight loss results.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Lindora is a personalized weight loss program that offers in person clinics, pre-packed food, meal plans, fitness plans and more. Their system is offered at either 10 week or 6 week plans which can be repeated.

They claim that scientific methods are used to help optimize the physiology and psychology needed to achieve weight loss. Their clinics also offer blood work, a physical exam, and a specialized assessment upon starting. Our review experts rate and analyze many diets and they found the most effective one for weight loss was the 18Shake Diet. It offers an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning diet pill that customers have said helps support weight loss. For more information about the 18Shake Diet, click on the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Lindora Ingredients and Side Effects

Featured below are select ingredients added to their shakes, bars, soups, breakfast foods and more:

Fructose

Artificial Flavors

Corn Syrup Solids

Acesulfame-K

Sucralose

Cellulose Gum

Guar Gum

Red # 40

Monoglycerides

Soy Protein Isolate

Sodium Carboxymethylcellulose

High Maltose Corn Syrup

Konjac

Yellow # 5

Carrageenan

Fructose: Simple fruit sugar shown in clinical studies to promote weight gain and serious health risks. A study featured by the Beckman Institute found:

“Fructose increases body fat and decreases physical activity”

When compared to simple sweetener glucose, it showed a greater ability to store body fat and promote weight gain. It may also promote side effects such as:

• Gout, non-alcoholic fatty liver disease, and increased appetite.

• Insulin resistance, increased LDL cholesterol, and metabolism disorders.

• Irritable bowel syndrome, gas, and bloating.

This cheap sweetener has shown the potential for numerous serious side effects and is widely considered the worst sweetener for overall health.  It will often be added since it’s cheap to produce and provides a pleasant sweet taste.

Fructose may promote weight gain however.

Our review experts have compiled a list of the highest rated weight loss diets.

Acesulfame-K: Artificial sweetener that contains no calories. A study that gave this ingredient to lab rats which was featured in PLOS One found it lead to:

“metabolic dysregulation and neurosynaptic abnormalities”

This means it can lead to diseases related to genetics and the nervous system.

Sucralose: Alternative calorie free artificial sweetener which can be up to 1,000 times much sweeter than basic sugar. A study featured in the Journal of Toxicology and Environmental Health found that it caused severe side effects:

“exerted numerous adverse effects, including reduction in beneficial fecal microflora, increased fecal pH, and enhanced expression levels of P-gp”

This means long term it may lead to serious health issues. Gut bacteria is important for regulating the immune system and for stabilizing mood.

Red # 40: Artificial food coloring which gives a red tint to food. It can potentially cause ADHD and allergies in certain people.

Parts of Europe once banned this ingredient due to safety concerns. Food dyes provide no nutritional value and are only added to make food look a certain way.

Konjac: Tree extract which is used to thicken ingredients and provide fiber. It has shown the potential for side effects such as:

• Blockages in the throat, difficulty swallowing, and reduced vitamin and mineral; absorption.

• Indigestion, nausea, and increased bowel movements.

       • Diarrhea, vomiting, and difficulty breathing.

It’s often advised to drink enough water as it may promote serious side effects.

Carrageenan: Seaweed extract that is used to thicken and gel ingredients. Web MD has expressed concern by adding:

“POSSIBLY UNSAFE because there’s some evidence it might cause cancer”

It can also cause digestive issues especially when not taken with enough water.

For a comprehensive list of the highest rated weight loss diets, click on the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Lindora Quality of Ingredients

The Lindora branded foods offered often use cheap additives which may lead to side effects. It’s clear from looking at the ingredients that they have decided to add common additives that other unwholesome products have used.

They use artificial sweeteners, colors, flavors, cheap fructose, thickeners and potentially harmful GMO soy.

Their online programs are also questionable as they offer 4 phases:

Phase 1 Prep: You begin to take in more fatty acids which claim it will protect the gallbladder.

• Phase 2 Rapid Weight Loss: A state of ketosis is reached for fat burning. This means you’ll greatly reduce carbohydrates and increase fat intake.

• Phase 3 Metabolic Adjustment: Metabolism is reset and extra calories are allowed.

• Phase 4 Lifetime Maintenance: Provides techniques on how to maintain your weight.

A ketosis style diet has been shown to potentially cause side effects such as:

       • Headaches, nausea, and extreme hunger.

       • Blood sugar issues, fatigue, and flu like symptoms.

       • Insomnia, stomach pain, and difficulty relaxing.

News Medical.net has also found:

“Kidney stones… are a common complication”

“patients have an increased risk for bone fractures”

Therefore there’s a possibility for extreme side effects in both short term and long term use.  A major problem with a ketosis diet is that it requires people to significantly reduce carbohydrates, which mean many common foods cannot be eaten.

When on this style of diet it’s common for people to lose rapid water weight within the first week. This is not fat loss however and it’s often suggested by fad diets as a quick way to shed what appear to be pounds of fat.

Visit the link provided for a comprehensive list of the best weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Lindora

Different plans are offered as well as pre-packaged foods which sell separately. The online program costs:

• Lean for Life 6 weeks: Online counseling with a stress relief DVD costs $149 to $208.95.

• Lean for Life 10 week: Offers the same support as the 6 week and ranges from $175 to $244.90.

• Lean for life 10 week Customizable: Costs $249 to $308.95.

• Lean for Life Diabetic Prevention: $499 for support to diabetics.

The prepackaged foods are all individually bought and range in prices. A 6 serving back of their shakes sells between $15 to $18 depending on the flavor and style. Other prepackaged foods are sold at different prices.

The quality of ingredients is often poor and cheap since there are many processed ingredients added. This makes the food selection very poor. One can substitute many of these foods with common brands found in supermarkets for a reduced price.

The online support is questionable as the help does not come from certified nutritionists. Taking health advice from uncertified people can be potentially dangerous as it might not be good information. Click on the link here for a comprehensive review of the best weight loss diets.

Business of Lindora

The company behind Lindora has listed their contact information as:

Phone Number: (714) 557-1893

Address: 2975 Red Hill Avenue, #175

             Costa Mesa, 92626

Returns are only offered for like new products and this may come with a restocking fee. They fail to mention how expensive this fee might be.

Companies will often add high return fees in order to gain a return on their investment. As you’ll see in the next section, the high cost was a major issue customers had with Lindora.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Lindora

Here are select reviews from online users:

“weight loss is not happening like I thought it would”

“this is not cheap because each meal is like $12 to $15 and you have to eat 4 to 8 replacement meals”

“feel like I’m paying big money for a service that I’m not benefiting from”

“just save your money I lost $1300 on this program and gained nothing”

Many people had issues with the program as some described it as just another low carbohydrate fad. A common concern was that the price was incredibly high for the quality of service and food offered.

People often had to quit because of the rising high costs which made it unaffordable to continue. Discover which weight loss diets were rated as the best overall by clicking this link.

Conclusion - Does Lindora Work?

Lindora provides a comprehensive system that is made to take the guess work out of weight loss. It’s a low carbohydrate plan that adjusts to allow more calories and carbohydrates as it goes on. The prepackaged foods often use artificial and potentially harmful ingredients, and many customers agree it’s not worth it. Even the online counseling from uncertified people is highly priced. Though there is a money back guarantee, this is only on like new purchases and with a restocking fee applied.

Our review experts have found that the most effective weight loss solution is the 18Shake Diet. It offers a fat burning diet pill and an appetite suppressing meal replacement shake. Both are made with high quality ingredients made to boost metabolism, burn calories, improve overall health, and aid in significant weight loss.

Customers have left glowing testimonials and before and after photos to showcase their weight loss results. Each ingredient is also made free of stimulants, binders, fillers, colors, preservatives, or any artificial additives. Learn more about the 18Shake Diet by visiting the link here.  

How Does Lindora Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Lindora
  • 43 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 2, 39 total comments)

John

+

28 lbs in 8 weeks. It worked for me. 7 months later I've had no difficulty maintaining. The key for me is eating 6 times a day (lo cal hi-protein snacks between meals and late at night). My insurance paid half the costs (not the food). I recommend it, but you can do it by just getting th ebook. However, I've found it helpful to clinic every couple weeks to get weighed in (no cost after the program).

posted Feb 15th, 2009 12:27 pm


RayH

I tried the their diet as prescribed in the Lean For Life books. It works very well and I lost 30 lbs in the 10 weeks.
The key is to do a complete adjustment phase. As for the cost, it was only the cost of the book, very cheap on Amazon.
I only used what I could buy in the grocery store and probably saved money because I did not eat as much fast food in the process.

posted Feb 3rd, 2009 9:37 am


Yenmor

-

It was not the diet for me. I lost about 15 pounds. It cost close to 1K. I was only eating about 500 to 800 calories a day. I gained it all back. It was not a diet that is sustainable.

posted Jan 15th, 2009 11:35 pm


Billy Jackson

+

I love the fat farm!!!! I lost 30 lbs!!! Hurray for the fat farm!!!

posted Jan 13th, 2009 12:42 am


marlyn dineros

+

well,as far as i can say lindora lean for life is the easiest and safest to follow in terms of diet ,its very comprehensive diet,just basically normal diet,no operation,bno any medicine that will give you a side effect,just a vitamin supplements that can help to increase your energy and metabolism,second this is protien diet and low carbs in your meal ,you have your own choice of what and how many carbs your gonna take in your daily plan,i can say that many people dont like plan ahead for thier future in life like this diet,discipline.perseverance,focus on your goal are the best key to reach your weight goal...gud luck to all dieters,stay lean for life...........from jeddah saudi arabia but im filipina...proud to be a filipina!!!!!!!

posted Dec 15th, 2008 4:36 am


marlyn dineros cabuhat

+

i would like to be a member of your club,i am so eager to be connected of this famous lindora weight loss,actually i am a nurse here in jeddah,im working here as a clinic nurse in same clinic that you have w/c is lindora.hope you'll keep in touch about the diet

posted Dec 15th, 2008 4:24 am


Kathryn

+

I LOVE this diet. High protein/low carbs-it is worth every penny I spent. What price do you put on your health? Also-Blue Cross members get a discount. I have been on it for 8 weeks and lost 26 lbs. It is easy-but like any diet...if you are not ready to start-NO diet will work. I was ready-and the money I spent kept me focused! Highly recommend this for people that are committed to losing weight.

posted Dec 8th, 2008 4:38 pm


Suzi

-

I did the Lindora diet for the past 5 weeks. Can't stand their food or the plan. Lost 5 then gained 2. No flavor whatsoever.. none... I am sure if you follow the plan you will lose, but it is not easy and it is expensive and there are NO refunds. You need to be very committed and prepared to have dry food with no flavor. I am not big on meat and you have to eat protein every meal so that wasn't pleasant for me even though i could have shakes here and there and the bars (they get old quick). I only need to lose 15lbs and know i can do it by eating healthy and working out. I do NOT recommend this diet. I would also like to add that the vitamin B shots are not pleasant and I did not feel any different. The mulit vitamins are very strong and made me feel natious.

posted Oct 15th, 2008 7:36 pm


Jenny

I agree the diet has it's place. Most people that are over weight did not do so by eating a healthy diet. For some people being told what to do, and taking the guess work out of it works... for a while. As a person who worked with some of these products being used in these diets this is my take on the program.... The so called supplements or protein meal alternatives take the place of food. There is no guessing just eat the bars and you should lose. Having tried this diet I do not recommend it. It may help you lose weight for that time but it has one of the largest relapses in diet history. This is because of rapid loss, and the supplements do not change eating habits. Supplements will replace your candy bar with a high protein candy bar... And so does not change your eating habits, rather it just limits the amounts. The relapse also happens because of what we call "taste fatigue", which over time you will begin to hate the taste of the supplements. After this you go back to candy bars or what ever else you can get your hands on to. If you got accustom to liking sensible food and acquired healthy habits this would not happen. From losing 30 lbs by my self eating healthy whole foods and working out I know what it takes. I was dedicated to losing the weight and I know the reason 2 + years later I have kept it off is because slowly I began to change eating habits, kinds of foods I liked, I went from liking junk to eating a balanced diet. Working out if you like it or not is the way to keep of weight. Building muscle will increase the amount of calories your body burns and so if you choose to eat a high calorie meal every so often your body will burn the calories off. If you lose weight the Lindora way your losing muscle, and decreasing the capabilities of your metabolism, so when you eat a high calorie meal you put on what you ate your body simply pack on weight. Also, ketosis will make you starving as soon as you break it by eating. So good luck keeping the weight off if you choose this diet.

posted Sep 11th, 2008 6:18 pm


Allyson

Lindora can work if you follow it, but it is really only conducive to losing weight for those individuals who are not active and do not participate in much exercise. When you start losing weight and exercising more, your body changes. The more efficient your body becomes, the harder it is to lose weight. This is where I always got stuck when losing weight on my own. They offered me very little to overcome these plateaus. In two months, I lost 40 pounds. However, I lost 40lbs. in two months on my own before. I went to Lindora after having my daughter because I gained almost 50lbs. and was already 25lbs overweight prior. When dieting on my own, I often hit plateaus and have not successfully overcome them. Lindora touts being able to do this. Thus, I was drawn to their program. They state it is medically supervised. There is usually only one nurse on staff. Everyone else is simply ?staff? who have been taught the Lindora concept of dieting, which includes lowering carbs and calories. It does not focus on exercise. In fact, I was mostly successful because I run quite often (a minimum of 20 miles a week) and exercise at the gym at least 5 days a week. They had a hard time breaking through my plateaus. Right now, I am on a liquid diet with a one-protein-one-vegetable-and-one-fruit dinner. However, I ran 5 miles on the day I started, drank my liquids, had my dinner, and was ravenous come 8 p.m. This liquid diet might work for those who are sedentary, but I am actually very active (not to mention I also work full-time and move on my feet throughout the day). The second day I was also ravenous. Although I may drop pounds on the scale, as soon as I increase my carbs and/or calories to what it should normally be (still nixing high carb, high fat, processed foods), I will gain weight, even if it is only a portion of the lost weight. It is easy to lose weight by withholding food, but you will eventually gain some back when you eat what your body needs. Also, I do not feel that I was adequately supported at Lindora. I lost more than ten percent of my body weight, which is all they were hoping for in ten weeks with $1400 of my money. Thus, everyday I got weighed in, if I was disappointed by low or no weight loss, they shrugged and told me I was doing well because I had already lost ten percent of my body weight. (This would be the plateaus I was hitting with very little knowledge as to what to do.) Lindora is a diet for people who have no idea what they are doing health-wise. It is also for people who do not like exercise, or very little of it. Their lack of knowledge means that they cannot cater to people like me who may be overweight, but also know what healthy living looks like. (My brother is a fitness trainer, triathlete, and marathoner who has helped me quite often.) I will not be going to Lindora again. I will simply monitor my eating and activity myself and probably achieve the same results.

posted Jul 22nd, 2008 9:46 pm


Christine

I'm a 35 year old female who has tried every diet out there with little success. I was happy overweight, I liked food but ate as healthy as Dr Oz said to. I didn't have binges or lay around eating chips all day, I watched what I ate but steadily gained 5 pounds a year plus the pregnancy weight. I did Weight Watchers and I really tried. I had an excel chart on the fridge, but after a disappointing 5 pounds in 5 months-my husband lost 30 without trying-I gave up. I did fear diabetes though, it runs in my family. I joined Lindora after the bombardment of commercials and you know what? It's working great! Seriously, 7 months and 75 pounds-I haven't felt this good or looked this young in 15 years! Yes it's a lot of work, and willpower, but they encourage and offer training. It's expensive too, but for all of the work and money I"m putting in, I see great results and I'm going to stick with it even after. I didn't hate myself before, but I'm so happy now, clothes look better, it's easier to get up and down from the floor, and I trot up the stairs. Even if it is a common diet, I recommend it for their help, and I feel great!

posted Jul 22nd, 2008 11:26 am


Mindy

I did this program a few years ago. I peeled off 60 pounds in about 8 months. It was difficult at first, but I got used to it easily. I did not pay for anything. I got the book, read it, and went from there. I was able to do my own meal planning and used everything from my local supermarket. I did try the protein bars at first, but I didn't like them. I found string cheese to be just as effective. I did purchase the vitamins and still use them because I like them. A good multi vitamin will work. And let me add that vitamin supplements are important. I highly recommend this plan. But get the book and do it yourself.

posted Jun 29th, 2008 5:47 pm


Desiree

I happen to think this is the greatest diet in the world! I did it before i had my daughter and lost 50lbs in a month and a half!!!! Lindora has the only bars that are very high in protein and low in carbs! I am currently on this diet again not paying the money i did before! Because i learned everything before, i know how to do it now! This is my 4th day on it and i have already lost 9lbs! Its totally safe! Your just lowering your carb intake 80-100 a day. So that way your burning fat instead of carbs. Its a wonderful diet and i would recomment it to anyone who wants to lose weight fast and safely

posted Jun 19th, 2008 9:38 am


Nancy

This program is a huge price to pay, considering that it's basically teaching "control your food intake and exercise regularly". We know that already! Also - their protein supplements come from other manufacturers and the same products can be purchased less expensively elsewhere. Don't waste your money.

posted Jun 10th, 2008 8:37 pm


Mary

I went there to lose 15 pounds. I wanted something quick. I did get 10 pounds off but it didn't really start coming off until I had been on the program for about 4 weeks. I had to actually go on a liquid diet (made up of Lindora shakes and soups and bars) for 10 days to jumpstart the weight loss. After that I followed my own low-carb program and consumed less than 50 carbs per day and fewer than 800 calories on most days in order to get the weight off. Yes, it came off fast but I don't feel that the B vitamin shots that they gave me every day nor the products were helpful. The fact that I pretty much starved myself is what took the weight off. The cost for that 6 week and 10 pounds was a whopping $1,100 and guess what...I have put all the weight back on and more. As soon as you return to normal eating...as soon as you add Carbs back into your diet...the weight comes back. Oh, by the way, the $1,100 doesn't include all the product I bought from them thinking that it was magically helping me to lose weight. That stuff cost me several hundred more $$$$.


Anonymous

I started the Lindora Medical Loss Program,mid June of 2007.I went to an actual Lindora Clinic site (not a Rite Aide). I had to be the best money I have ever invested in my health and it was considerable. Occasionally they run promo and will give rewards for patients that refer. It does not come without it's risk. There is a reason why at the clinics allot of test are done prior to starting. It is a very severe program. I feel after having successfully loosing 55 pounds. I agree with Lois ,I will be working hard to maintain this loss. I reached my goal at 130 and a BMI of 20. This diet is difficult and not for everyone. The maintenance basically is calorie counting . No magic there !


Lois

I lost 82 pounds in 9 months on Lindora. It differs in the different phases of weight loss and they are honest with you that once you reach your goal weight it make take a year of hard work before your body will stabilize at that weight. The "booster" injections are a waste though.


Ingrid

35 years of experience can't be all wrong. this could work


Heather P

lindora lean for life seems like another low carb craze. and its wicked expensive



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

For more than three decades, Lindora has been helping overweight individuals get "Lean for Life." Dr. Marshall Stamper opened a weight loss clinic following the death of his mother. Her death was the result of obesity and related illnesses. Stamper developed a program that helps people lose weight in a supervised manner, and do so quickly.

In its 35 years, Lindora has grown to 35 clinics in Southern California, as well as a comprehensive Web program. There are clinics located inside Rite Aid pharmacies, the first retail-based clinic providing expert, personalized weight loss plans. It's this medically sound and clinically tested weight loss plan that has successfully helped thousands of women, men and even children.

Lindora targets mind, body and behavior for a well-rounded approach to weight loss that yields long-term benefits. It's a far cry from those rapid-loss fad diets. In fact, one Lindora proprietary finding is the VAP Test, an extensive cholesterol test heralded by the Wall Street Journal on its list of "five tests worth paying for, that can save your life."

You can visit the Lindora clinic for expert weight loss advice, as well as wellness exams, vaccinations and care for minor illnesses.

The website offers the usual fodder such as testimonials, company background and an extensive FAQ. But you can also subscribe to Lindora Online, where you can participate in your choice of several programs.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Lindora is recognized as being a leader in innovation and research
  • Medically supervised
  • In-person clinics and online programs
  • Promotes a well-rounded weight loss approach
CON
  • May be cost prohibitive for some
DIET and NUTRITION

You'll also have access to meal plans, expert advice, message boards, all from your own home.

Excercise

The Lindora website gives some basic recommendations for your exercise.

CONCLUSION

The staff at Lindora is recognized as being a leader in innovation and research in the health community. With that knowledge, you can go into the program with the confidence that you are starting a reputable plan.

Common Misspellings

Lindoa, Lindor, Lindoria

Related Diets: Duke Diet, Biggest Loser Resort

Whats better than
Lindora?