Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Food and Diet Products Diet Navigation    
User Rating

100%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 15 reviews

LAP-BAND

A less extreme surgical weight loss solution.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The LAP-BAND System is an adjustable gastric band designed to help you lose weight. It works by reducing the stomach’s capacity, therefore restricting the amount of food that can be consumed at one time. The band itself is a silicone ring filled with saline. Like a wristwatch, the band attaches on to the upper portion of the stomach and creates a new sack where only a small amount of food can be stored. The idea behind the LAP-BAND procedure is that you’ll eat less and feel full more quickly because food will travel more slowly through the digestive tract.

The procedure is done laparoscopically so it’s minimally invasive. The surgeon can loosen or tighten the LAP-BAND depending upon the rate of weight loss. Adding more saline will tighten the band thereby further restricting the stomach’s capacity to hold food. If it’s too tight, the surgeon can loosen it allowing more food into the newly-created pouch.

The individual can expect to lose one pound each week during the first year of having the device implanted. After one year, patients on average lose 18 percent of their starting body weight.

The LAP-BAND is FDA-approved for people for anyone with a Body Mass Index (BMI) of 40 or higher, or anyone who with a BMI of 30 or higher who also has an obesity-related health condition, such a hypertension or diabetes.

PRO
  • The procedure involves minimal scarring
  • Hospital stay is 24 hours or less
  • Fewer risks and side effects are associated with the LAP-BAND System than with gastric bypass
  • The LAP-BAND System is adjustable and reversible
  • Long-term weight loss can occur
  • Some insurance companies cover the cost
  • Procedure is reversible
  • On average, people lose 18 percent of their body weight after one year
CON
  • There are many risks in undergoing a surgical procedure of this nature
  • Side effects can be very debilitating
  • Once the LAP-BAND System is removed, the individual is then left to control how and what he/she eats
DIET and NUTRITION

Following the specific diet and nutrition guidelines is absolutely necessary to ensure the effectiveness of the LAP-BAND System and to prevent complications. Foods high in sugar and fat are to be avoided because of their negative effects, which include nausea, vomiting or diarrhea. Since food can only be eaten in small portions, food must be nutrient-dense. After having the procedure, your doctor may recommend taking dietary supplements of vitamin B12, folic acid, and iron if you are not getting enough of these nutrients.

EXERCISE

After safely healing from surgery, the individual should follow a regular exercise routine that has been discussed and approved by their physician.

CONCLUSION

This surgical procedure, which involves admission to the hospital, anesthesia and lifestyle changes, has a host of side effects and risks associated with it. It is up to the individual to determine if the benefit of losing weight outweighs these risks. Furthermore, once the LAP-BAND System is removed and the individual’s stomach capacity resumes its normal size, maintaining weight and learning to eat moderately is then the responsibility of the individual. It is necessary with a procedure as serious and as life-altering as this, that the individual seeks a highly qualified medical doctor who has performed numerous LAP-BAND System procedures.

Common Misspellings

lapp bend, lapbend, bind


Related Diets: Realize Band, Bariatric Surgery, Star Jones Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 2, 32 total comments)

Donna Davidson

I just had the lap band put in on October 1st, 2008. The surgery went very smoothly! I went in with the t5hinking that itwas just going to be a tool for me to help me out on my weight loss journey. I wouldn't cure my cravings I had to find a way to do that on my own. If you let it help you and really want to doi it there is no reason you won't be a success.

posted Oct 8th, 2008 10:53 am


Kim

I am having the lap band done on Sept. 30. My daughter had it done two days ago and is doing well. I am looking forward to eating more healthy and feeling good. Most people I have spoken with are VERY happy with the results. Please don't let anyone discourage you from getting it done. I am ready to be in control of my health and life! Good luck to anyone who has had this done or is still looking into it.

posted Sep 28th, 2008 9:51 am


Lynn

I am having by surgery in less than a wk. Last week, I had lost 13 lbs pre op. I probably have lost substantially more this week because I was required to do 2 weeks liquid pre op. You definitely have to commit to a lifestyle change. My question is why would you want to continue to eat the stuff that caused you to be obese anyway? Get your mind right & the rest will follow. Proper nutrition, portion size & exercise.... Nothing magic about it. Some days are harder than others. Just make a conscious effort not to give up. We fall, but we get back up! God Bless

posted Sep 8th, 2008 7:25 am


Theresa

I had the lap band done in May of this year. As of today 9/3 I have lost 46 lbs. It is a TOOL not a magic wand. You have to follow the rules, eat right and it's there to help. Yes I COULD eat ice cream all day, but why blame that on the band? At the end of the day, it's about choices. By the way, you don't have to have the band removed, you can control the "fill" and if you loose and want to maintain, you can have some of the fill removed to maintain the weight. The key is to EAT SLOW, EAT RIGHT AND DON"T EXPECT TO EAT JUNK AND LOSE WEIGHT>

posted Sep 4th, 2008 8:23 am


koolaid

I have lost over 50 lbs since my November 07 surgery. My hair was falling out at first, because the vitamins were so expensive, I wasn't taking them right. I decided my hair was worth the expense, & it's grown back. I throw up when I eat too fast or don't chew well enough. My fault! I can eat whatever I want, but if I fill up on junk, I stop losing weight. The band helps a lot, but it doesn't do all the work. I have to make healthy choices in what I eat, & I have to exercise. Not only have I lost over 50 pounds, but I've lost 4 dress sizes!

posted Aug 20th, 2008 5:10 pm


Donna

I had the lap band surgery May 2008 and so far am VERY happy with it. I have lost almost 30 lbs. The point I would like to make for those of you who have not lost what you want it that the key is the lap band is a TOOL for you to use. As with any tool if you do not use it correctly it will NOT work for you, You control the band, the band does not control you. You must eat heathly, smaller portions, chew your food, excersize and take your vitimans. You can fight the band and not change your eating habits so therefore you will not loose enough weight. Besides having the band you need to have your mind in the same mode of weight loss. You will not loose the weight if you do not change from your old habits. I know I have a long way to go to get to my goal but I WILL do it with the help of my new tool. I am in control of my weight loss. I wish you all the best with you reaching your goal. Give it the time you need to loose it since it did take you a long time to gain it. Good luck to all of you.

posted Aug 17th, 2008 11:11 pm


sue

Had the lap surgery and have lost 38 pounds and cut out lots of unhealthy food--still work on small portions but vomiting is a great deterant. My goal is to lose 50 and I am only 10 pounds away. I feel the surgery will keep me from yo-yoing which is bad.

posted Aug 7th, 2008 5:48 pm


Kathy

I had the lap band surgery one year. I have lost 85 pounds and need to lose 35 more. I am very happy with it. I tried many diets and gain weight. This was for me. I go though platos but work though them.

posted Jul 29th, 2008 8:34 am


b frank

I'm very unhappy with this lap band .I've lost 23 pounds in one year and 20 pounds of it was the first three weeks .my hair has fallen out and I'm so embrassed by that and the lack of weight loss .I choke on healthy foods but the junk just goes right down .There has been no diet support or program at all .Any one else having the same problems ?

posted Jul 17th, 2008 8:14 am


Banded

I LOVE LOVE, LOVE my "band".

Before I get to the good stuff, let me say that, the Lap-Band is a tool for life. You will not be a candidate for the surgery if you plan to have it removed after you've reached your goal. It is adjustable so that it can help you maintain your goal. This is not a major procedure such as the Gastric Bypass. The procedure is done laproscopically so recovery time is only 3 days! And there is no "dumping sydrome" from foods you eat as with a bypass. You basically have a belt that can be tightened or loosened (without surgery) around your stomach.

Watch the procedure @ lapband.com HERE

I got the lap-band 4 yrs ago. In two years I lost 60 of the 95 pounds I had to lose. That was without lifestyle changes. I still ate everything I wanted; just smaller portions. When I felt pain while eating/drinking I simply went to the doctor who removed solution to a comfortable level. Now when I feel pain while eating; I know I need to slow down.

Thought I've had a positive experience with my band; as Eva said, it is not a "magic wand". It is a weight loss TOOL. I could have lost more in a shorter period of time, but as I said, I did not make any lifestyle changes. After two years and 30lbs from my goal I hit a plateau. Due to the lack of my lifestle change. I began to gain 2lbs. a month. After two years of no personal adjustments I am now 65 pounds away from my goal! So I have made the commitment to "work with" my band and not wait for it to "work for me".

Despite my setback; I have complete confidence in my band and I'm grateful to have it's aid in reaching my goal.

posted Jun 10th, 2008 8:58 am


D.Powell

Not everyone has a hard time,it is about 1% and most people do well loosing as much as 100lb the first year

posted May 13th, 2008 9:25 pm


Eva

I would not recommend the lap-band. I really thought it would be like a magic wand to weight loss. Until I had the procedure done, somebody at the doctor's office told me, "oh, but it's not a magic wand." I was misinformed. I've lost a total of 32 lbs. What I REALLY wanted to lose was 76 lbs. I am now back on good old Weight Watchers. Not only that, I was an unusual case. I had consistent pain in my chest and complications for the first month. I even had difficulty swallowing water!! Vomiting 2 or 3 times a week became pretty normal yet extremely frustrating. I was so fed up with it, I had it loosened in December so I can eat more normally, Healthy foods like broccoli, strawberries, or salad would clog me up, yet, ice cream or chocolate would just glide right through. I have had a very hard experience eating a balanced diet with the lap-band. I recently saw a friend who also had the procedure done. They were honest with her, and told her that since she didn't have a tremendous amount of weight to lose, that she would lose 35 lbs (and she's Ok with that); turns out that's what I've lost. I've been on a plateau for two years. I had the procedure done in Oct/05. I'm glad the insurance covered it because those $15 K would be hurting a lot!!! There are healthier more balanced options. Don't alter what God intended!!

posted May 2nd, 2008 10:16 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account