Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

90%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 29 reviews

Eat Right for Your Type

Could the answer to your diet prayer be hidden in your blood type?

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Eat Right for Your Type plan, developed by Dr. Peter D'Adamo, helps individuals eat properly according to their blood type. When eating according to your blood type, you're able build a defense to many diseases like cancer and heart disease, with losing weight being a welcomed side effect. For instance, protein molecules found in poultry interact poorly with Type B blood, but have no impact on others. When these protein molecules are present in the body of a Type B, it causes blood to join together and hinders processes like digestion, immunity and energy. Once you determine your blood type, the plan is easy to follow as it guides you toward foods that are perfect for your type and steers you away from foods you have no business eating. In just a few short weeks, you'll begin to see results. The plan does not promise that you will lose weight but most people who have followed the Eat Right for Your Type plan lose weight and report an improved sense of health like better digestion and more energy.

PRO
  • Eat Right for Your Type offers clear instruction for what to and not to eat
  • Encourages consistent exercise for all blood types
  • Promotes nutritious and wholesome eating irrespective of blood type
CON
  • Critics cite a lack of published evidence backing the blood type-based diet plan
  • May be too restrictive for some
DIET and NUTRITION

Dr. D'Adamo has classified food into three groups for the Eat Right for Your Type plan- Beneficial, Neutral, Avoid. For each blood type, different food rules apply. For example, those with Blood Type A, meat, tomatoes, peppers, citrus and whole-fat dairy should be avoided. The plan includes a concise plan of foods to eat and the Eat Right for Your Type website includes scores of recipes that are categorized according to blood type.

EXERCISE

The exercise recommendation on the Eat Right for Your Type plan are focused on improving total systemic health, mainly the functioning of the organs, glands, immune and circulatory systems of the body; as opposed to building muscle tissue. But building strength is a byproduct of following the recommended exercise plans. Each blood type will have certain exercise recommendations such as yoga for Blood Type A or aerobic exercise for Type B. The diet also includes information on the link between blood type, stress and exercise.

CONCLUSION

Experts have issues with the plan’s lack of scientific research to back Dr D’Adamo’s claims. But, they don't dispute that the food recommendations are healthy. For that reason, the Eat Right for Your Type diet plan may worth a shot if the idea intrigues you.

Common Misspellings

eat right, eat right for your body, body type diet, body type deit


Related Diets: Dr. Kushners Personality Diet, Blood Type diet, Food Combining, Beverly Hills Diet, Marilu Henner Total Health Makeover


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 2, 40 total comments)

hannah

This diet made me substantially sicker. I'd been a vegetarian my whole life. i'm blood type o so the institute recommended I include meat in my diet. I ended up with a whole series of digestive problems I didn't have before I went on the diet. The naturopath from the D'adamo institute kept insisting I cut out certain foods because they are fattening. I'm five foot five and I weigh one hundred pounds. I have trouble keeping my weight up. I lost weight on this diet and started to look and feel really unwell.

Then I researched blood type and the diet. There is no scientific research that supports D'adamo's claims. If you're feeling healthier being in the diet, I think it's because the diet is low-fat and cutting out junk food always makes people feel better.

My experience on it was negative.

posted Dec 4th, 2009 1:37 pm


mo

its so restrictive and difficult to follow if you love your food and love cooking

posted Nov 2nd, 2009 2:44 pm



BandGTD Aficionado

See my comment under "Blood Type Diet". It also applies here (Eat Right for Your Type IS the Blood Type Diet). In short: this diet RULES.

posted Feb 18th, 2009 2:54 pm


D'Adamo Fan

See my comment under the page/review for "Blood Type Diet", which is reviewing the same diet and book. To recap: the BTD RULES!

posted Feb 17th, 2009 2:44 pm


Bronwyn Toms

I'm 51 and was clinically diagnosed with IBS 3 years ago, after having quite severe symptoms for 4 years prior to this. Within 3 monthes of following this program precisely, I had not one single symtom. I am amazed, but it's true, It definitley works completly for me.

posted Dec 8th, 2008 7:41 pm


cheryl

What a simple concept! It takes all the guess work from the word 'diet' and changes it into eating lifestyle! It dropped my LDL. I love my new eating lifestyle! My food tastes significantly better knowing I'm eating what I should be! Thank you

posted Dec 5th, 2008 7:52 pm


Michelle

I was very skeptical but a lot of the problems he says Os have I do have and many of the high acid foods he listed I already knew I couldn't eat so I thought Maybe there is something to this. A Week and a half later IM IN I am sure that something is working here. I feel very different I'm sure avoiding Wheat is making a huge improvement also I'm trying to eat mostly HB so plums, prunes, Kale. Blueberrys I'm in all the way i would love to have my energy back!!

posted Nov 8th, 2008 3:27 am


sandie

for blood group O,i dont understand wat is meant by carbs are the issue.should they be avoided?

posted Sep 23rd, 2008 9:14 am


Aliza

I'm 'A positive' BUT I have polycystic ovarian syndrome - marked by insulin resistance, sensitivities to dairy, soy, sugar and grains in general (especially wheat) - and I am MEANT to eat meat - as long as it's grass fed (NOT GRAIN fed) and mostly fish. CAREFUL! Eat for your blood type always has exceptions to the rules.

posted Jul 25th, 2008 10:49 am


Ginger

I am a 36 yr.old type O with Arthritis, ADD and Hypothyroidism. In the first 2 weeks, I lost over 5 pounds and felt great! Foods that are on the "Avoid" list don't even taste good anymore.

posted Jul 20th, 2008 3:05 pm


ScienceRules

It's radically antiscientific abusively generalizing hogwash for soccer moms, New Age hippies and bodybuilding teenagers. Please try it. Lose your money.

posted Jun 17th, 2008 2:48 pm


ruth frantz

Im really happy now that I know what to eat and not to eat!I already lost 1 kilo in a week!

posted Apr 28th, 2008 8:31 am


Gina

Note for Type A: I've seen several places where is says A's are not to have citrus. According to the book it's just oranges and tangerines; you can still have grapefruit, lemon (and I guess whatever else).

posted Mar 31st, 2008 7:31 pm


MARY

Before I got married, I followed this diet. I felt great. I started this diet because I can't take cholesterol meds and it was high. My cholsterol points dropped. One thing though, I have A type blood and I could not do the exercises that Dr. D'Adamo said to do. When I workout, I really workout. With the food that I was allowed to eat and my own workout program, I lost about 50 pounds. However, I stopped the diet and need to go back on it because of my weight has creeped up there but again my cholestrol is on the raise again (a fact of me getting old I guess). And I feel bad too.


davel

I followed this diet like religion for 4 months, i lost 15 #'s, my cholesterol & triglyceride levels plummeted and my joints hurt much less. It really works if you follow it to the letter!


brina

I'm type A and I removed meat from my diet 7 years ago. For the most part I do feel better. When I do eat meat, even in small portions, my body is not happy and I feel bad. I still can eat lots of fish. I do hate leaving out tomatoes and citrus.


Emily

I'd like to try a plan that results in a healthier lifestyle, not just some fad diet. I'm a A positive blood type and when I read "remove meat" I got a little freaked out. I'm not sure I can be a mostly a vegetarian.


Grandma Sarah

I've been following this plan for a few months. I can say my cholesterol is improving and I've lost a few pounds. I'd say the benefits are worth learning your blood type and sticking by the foods that are better for you.


T-Man

Sounds interesting. You say it works, huh? I never would have thought of my blood type but I guess it could have some part to play.


MillaQt

This diet is so interesting, it actually based on your blood type tells you to eat either more or less of proteins and carbs. Blood type diet really changed my way of thinking about my food.



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account