Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

29%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 33 reviews
Dr. Gott's No Flour No Sugar Diet

Dr. Gotts No Flour, No Sugar Diet Review: Does it Work?

The doctor's in, and his prescription is restriction.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Dr. Gotts No Flour, No Sugar Diet is a weight loss diet that is intended to be an easy to follow solution to help keep weight off. It advises to stop eating certain foods without the need to count calories.

Once one reaches their targeted weight loss, you can then introduce the banned foods in limited portions. There are recipes, an FAQ section, meal plans, and more in the official book. It was created by a medical doctor who used to answer questions in a newspaper for how to deal with weight gain. There are many diet plans available and our experts have found the most effective to be the 18Shake Diet. It’s a combination of two all-natural diet products, a diet pill free of stimulants to help burn fat, and anappetite suppressing nutritionally balanced meal replacement. To learn more about what the 18Shake Diet has to offer click the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Dr. Gotts No Flour, No SugarDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The diet offers some recipes, but the main part of it is to stop using certain foods and following the listed advice:

• Read labels to see if there are any added sugars. This is seen in the nutrition facts label which shows how many sugar grams are added. There is no use of corn syrup, cane sugar, molasses, honey, maple syrup, and more. Splenda is recommended as a replacement for sugar. It’s also advised to keep any sugar for people who might visit one’s house in hard to reach areas.

The list of the highest rated diet plans can be found when you click the link provided here.

• No flours which in turn bans foods like donuts, pizza, pastries, bread, and other related foods.

         • No need to count calories or look at the food grams.

• Limit the amount of high fat foods, you can’t just eat foods like sausage and cheese in high quantities. There is no explanation as to what a standard limit should be however.

• Eating foods that rank low in the glycemic index. The glycemic index is a scale which shows how certain foods effect blood sugar. Complex carbohydrates like sweet potatoes and certain beans are known to help stave off appetite, and they also don’t spike blood sugar. Simple carbohydrates like potatoes and rice are therefore not recommended in large quantities.

• Adding vegetables fruits, whole grain carbohydrates every day.

The claim is that the banned foods create a higher glycemic response and are lacking in enough nutrients. Exercise is also advised with an hour a day recommended. It’s also said that one does not have to add strenuous exercise, but to instead do simple fitness regiments. The book mentions that low carbohydrate and fad diets cause failure, and that this specific diet is a proper solution for weight loss.

There isn’t much additional support added except a few recipes. The basic idea behind this is that by not using nutritionally weak, high carbohydratefoods that it will lead to weight loss benefits.

By not using flour and sugar you naturally reduce the amount of carbohydrates that one might eat. Around 80 pages of the 186 page book is devoted only to meal planning and recipes. Click the link cited here to see a top 10 ranked list of the best diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Dr. Gotts No Flour, No Sugar Diet Quality of Ingredients

The foods which are recommended are healthy, but it’s a very general diet plan. There is also a major emphasis on banning foods. Limiting sugar and flour is also healthy, as this not only reduces calories, but it saves room for foods which have more nutritional value.

There are also recipes offered which aren’t well described, it’s unknown to find out if the meals are easy to prepare. It also fails to offer any insight into whether or not the ingredients it advises are expensive to source or enough to provide many meals.

Overall the advice is very general. The suggestion to not eat flour and sugar is the main emphasis and this is already known common information. For a top 10 ranked diet plans list click the link provided here.

The Price and Quality of Dr. Gotts No Flour, No Sugar Diet

The price depends on the kinds of ingredients one uses to make the meals. The overall advice is useful, but this is common sense dieting recommendations. It suggests eating natural whole foods which are low in the glycemic index. These kinds of foods make it easier for weight loss, but without calorie countingits unknown if this is enough to help promote weight loss.

The few pages one can read online provide very general tips without any comprehensive or adjustable information.

The book sells for $11.19 on Amazon.com. Other than the meals made and the book there are no other costs. As you’ll read in the “Customer Opinions of Dr. Gotts No Flour, No Sugar Diet” people mention that the advice is far too general. This makes this a very poor quality diet plan. Our experts have compiled the top 10 ranked diet plans in the link provided.

Business of Dr. Gotts No Flour, No Sugar Diet

The creator is Dr. Peter H Gott, a now deceased physician that once wrote a news column in The Lakeville Journal. He would offer support for weight loss, and much of what he wrote was featured in the official book for this diet.

While the creator did give effective advice, what he offered was very general and is already known as common weight loss tips.

The diet itself is known to be healthy as flour and sugar is commonly empty and not high in vitamins and minerals, but the main theme of the book is summarized in the title.

The book has also not been updated and offers the same basic advice that was released on its initial publishing date,

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Dr. Gotts No Flour, No Sugar Diet

Here are direct quotes taken from users of the diet:

“I was really disappointed… You don’t need the boo, just eat no flour or sugar and it works”

“Don’t waste your time with this, just don’t eat flour and consume artificial sweeteners”

“This book is common sense and common sense only. There is nothing else to it”

“This is a very badly written and poorly organized “diet” book that, once you get past the title, doesn’t offer you much more advice”

The major issue was that all the information is common sense and that the only benefit is from not using flour and sugar. Many repeated the exact same compliant, that once you read the title you learn everything that’s needed.

People mentioned there wasn’t enough information to help provide well-rounded benefits. The recipes were also criticized with the complaint that there’s nothing unique offered. Follow the link cited to see a list of the highest rated diet plans.

While avoiding sugar and flour is effective for weight loss, many felt that this was not enough and that it did not help people reach their targeted weight. There was concern from people as well that the majority of the book focuses on the meals which some say were hard to prepare or not appetizing enough.

Conclusion - Does Dr. Gotts No Flour, No Sugar Diet Work?

Dr.  Gotts No Flour, No Sugar Diet provides both recipes and general advice for what foods to select. It emphasizes whole foods low on the glycemic index which doesn’t have added sugars or flour. This is useful advice as these kinds of foods are healthier, and flour and sugar is lacking in nutrients. However, many users felt that the diet failed to provide any comprehensive support, and that the recipes offered weren’t very tasty or easy to make. Many did not see the weight loss that they were hoping to achieve. There were also complaints that the advice is common sense and that they didn’t have to read the book since what's offered is already known. The most common issue was that the entire book did not have to be read, and that the basic summary is to avoid both flour and sugar in all forms.

Our experts have rated many different diet plans and they have discovered that the most effective one for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It offers a duo protein appetite suppressing meal replacement shake made with many vitamins and minerals. It also offers a stimulant free diet pill that is effective for fat burning. Testimonials and positive reviews are available on the official website from satisfied users. The combined benefit makes it easy to not want to eat more, while the body is supported with natural fat burning compounds.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. This allows for returns under any circumstances with no questions asked for the entire 30 days. More information about the 18Shake Diet can be found in the link here.

How Does Dr. Gott's No Flour No Sugar Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Dr. Gott's No Flour No Sugar Diet
  • 29 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 4, 66 total comments)

Sandy

I am an addict... doing the no flour no sugar diet has helped with my clouded judgements and overeating. I love reading what people have wrote and only hope that thru you journey you will realize that if you are an addict you need rules structure and a strong support group FA is free but very strict I try to help people find that balance everything should be weighed and measured in our lives food exercise water sex tv computer etc an addict always wants more..... for me finding positive things to be addicted to helps staying out of the kitchen!!! asking for what you need at restaurants... living for life not for food... celebrating with other things not food.... its just fuel so you can function.... you have to want to change..... need to learn to love yourself in your own skin :) thumbtasticspa.com thanks for a great life without flour and sugar

posted Oct 30th, 2015 3:26 pm


Christine Herman

?

What are long term results? How about 2 years into it. The overeaters probably over eat. Calories count lNo sugar, no flour

posted Sep 8th, 2015 10:52 pm


Christine Herman

?

What are long term results? How about 2 years into it. The overeaters probably over eat. Calories count lNo sugar, no flour

posted Sep 8th, 2015 10:52 pm


donna

-

I gave up flour and sugar, read every label,no bakery, no crackers, no cereal, no candy, no bread, no pasta, no chips, no pretzels no, corn chips, no frozen or canned soups or dinners already processed., And I did not lose any weight in a month.
. I guess you don't know how much corn on the cob, potatoes, cheese, popcorn , eggs, pork, beef, chicken and turkey all fresh-- meat;, lunch meats, (buddig) salads (lo cal ranch or raspberry vinagarette dresing), rice, and green peppers, carrots, green beans, peas, brussel sprouts, broccoli and cauliflower and cabbage (cooked with ham and raw in cole slaw with half and hlaf dressing), and melons, cherries and apples. that I can eat. Those are the major foods I ate.
I gave up soda back in the 1990's and still put on another 100 lbs. since then. I drink unsweeetened ice tea and 5 cal. a glass cranberry juice.
I also was taking 2 pills of raspberry ketones, and one measure of another Borshea daily, that is supposed to speed up your metabolism.
So now what do I have to do to lose weight? I am about 100 lbs overweight. and 70 years old and desperate to lose.

posted Jul 10th, 2015 7:35 pm


Connie Bradley

+

No sugar, no flour, no counting calories, no support group, no weekly weigh-ins.
I lost 100 pounds! No more medications
More important, I feel fantastic

posted Jan 10th, 2015 1:31 pm


aashiq hussain

ITS VERY EASY JUST REMOVE SUGER AND WHITE FLOUR .JUST ONE PROBLUM WHAT TO EAT ALTERNATIVE FLOUR BECAUSE WITHOUT BREAD FEEL SOMTHING EMPTY.

posted Jan 5th, 2013 7:49 pm


Helen

+

This is the best diet ever and is very easy to follow. For those who resent giving up sugar and flour, without some sacrifice you will never get results. If you go off the diet for one meal, no problem, go right back on it the next meal. However, try not to fall off the diet more than one meal per week. You can eat all of fruit, vegetables and animal and vegetable proteins that are available. Just stop when you are full. So easy.

posted Apr 4th, 2012 4:51 am


Dustie

+

I love the no flour no sugar diet. I have been on it for 28 days and have lost 15lbs. So happy. You can have anything on this diet that you want you just have to adjust your recipes. In the book there is a recipe for Pizza it is sooo good. I am addictied to pasta have been for my hole life...I was worried that I wouldn't be able to eat it and was bummed. However, I found Tinkyada pasta it is made with whole brown rice, There is absolutly NO flour or NO sugar in it. Thank you all and happy eating.

posted Mar 9th, 2012 10:23 pm


angela

I have been on this diet for exactly 6 weeks at the time of this post. i started on January 1, 2012 and already lost 19Ibs. i have lupus and this diet has worked wonders on my sore swollen joints. my energy and stamina has improved tremenously. before i couldn't even walk a few blocks without feeling as if i've run a marathon. i'm a better mom now because i have more energy for my daughter. but what makes me the happiest is that i am no longer an over-eater. all those years of constantly craving food are over. to say that this diet has changed my life is an understatement. and it all began with Dr. Gott's book. i will post again when i hit the 4 month mark.


posted Feb 11th, 2012 5:47 am


Mary

+

Great book and great diet.

posted Jan 19th, 2012 9:54 pm


Jama

I still eat bread on the no sugar/no flour diet. As Susan mentioned above, Ezekiel bread has NO flour or sugar so I have sandwiches, toast, etc. 80 calories per slice. You can find it at most health food stores (in the freezer). They also make a no flour/no sugar hamberger bun which I take out to burger joints and swap out their sugar/flour bun for my Ezekiel bun...and I get to eat the french fries! (no ketchup though...sugar). Ezekiel also offers english muffins which I toast and put sugar-free strawberry jam on top. I drink Zevia diet sodas, made with Stevia (also found in health food stores). So I'm not deprived at all, my energy is up, I feel fantastic, and I'm getting rid of my extra 30 pounds. Buy the book, read the book and adapt to this new eating lifestyle. You won't regret it.

posted Sep 28th, 2011 8:27 pm


deb

Skim milk has more sugar than whole milk. Which is actually better? Also can you eat potatoes? They don't have flour or sugar? Thank you.

posted May 30th, 2011 6:50 pm


Susan L

This is the only diet I have been able too stick to. It allows you to be creative about finding healthy substitutes. I feel so much better and am smarter about what I eat. It is simple to do and after a while the forbidden foods are no longer appealing. It is getting hard to eat it when I really need to eat some of somebody's birthday cake to be polite.

posted Mar 27th, 2011 9:54 pm


gate

+

are nuts on the diet

posted Feb 15th, 2011 5:16 pm


Susan

Actually, you can eat sandwiches if they are made of sprouted grains rather than flour, i.e., Ezekiel or Food for Life bread in the freezer section at the grocery store. I am finding it easy to follow, but I still count calories and exercise. This is a fast no-nonsense way of removing the junk from your diet but isn't as extreme as many other food-restricting diets. You can also eat brown rice and potatoes so there are plenty of OK carbs. Just pass on the cake, cookies and donuts and the bread.

posted Feb 6th, 2011 3:19 am


swiss43

I was looking for a diet that would be life changing and that could lose about 10 pounds a month

posted Feb 5th, 2011 10:35 pm


janice mcglaun

+

I have been on this diet for 5 weeks and I have lost 9 lbs. I have been trying to lose weigt for years and it would not come off but all of a sudden this is working and I feel great. Once I got very cold and I assumed it was because I was not eating enough fat, I ate a spoon full of peanut butter and was warm again within the hour.

posted Jan 30th, 2011 8:39 pm


Dan

+

Easiest diet to be on I've ever seen. More of a way of life. After 3 weeks, it changes the way you look at food. You have no desire to eat bread, flour or sugar, it seems to actually turn you off to the stuff. First 3 weeks, you loose a lot of weight, after that, it just slowly comes off.

posted Jan 14th, 2011 4:31 am



Judy Diehl

best diet in the world have lost 45 lbs in 6 months.

posted Jan 12th, 2011 6:37 pm


Rob

+

After losing a gall bladder in an accident i decided to take care of what was left in my insides. I am on a no white flour diet, no bread and very little if any sugar. I lost 30 extra lbs. I eat lots of meat and cheese wraps in lettuce, and have found large leaf lettuce is my "bread" for everything. I do not eat potatoes, they are good for nothing. Sometimes i even go to fast food restaurants, eat the cheeseburger, throw away the bread and even have something sweet and for over 1 yr i have maintained my weight. i am almost 40 and male. Amazing concept this diet

posted Jan 10th, 2011 10:19 pm



  1234
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The name pretty much says it all - Dr. Gott's No Flour, No Sugar Diet is just that. Anything that has flour or sugar will be removed from your diet. This approach is supposed to remove all the empty calories from your diet and allow you to replace those food items with healthier, more nutrient-rich items.

Dr. Gott is a widely published medical doctor, contributing to hundreds of newspapers, medical publications, magazines and a few other books about health and wellness. He's been a general practice physician for more than 40 years.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Ideal for those with certain food allergies
  • Eliminate empty calories
  • No counting
  • Learn how to read food labels
  • Portion control
CON
  • Very restrictive
  • Eliminates all flour and all sugar
  • Weigh yourself weekly
  • Journal everything you eat or drink
  • Discount value of exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

Empty calories means that the nutrients of the food will not stay with you long. Your body burns and processes these quickly and often leave you feeling hungry again. Instead, you can eat foods that provide better nutrients, you'll digest them more slowly, and begin to feel healthier.

Focus less on what the No Sugar, No Flour diet won't let you have and more on what it does let you have. You should eat all things in moderation, which include:

  • Whole grains (not whole grain flour)
  • Fruits
  • Vegetables
  • Dairy
  • Poultry
  • Meat
  • Fish
  • Starches like potatoes and rice

The sugar restriction is quite broad, as it does not solely pertain to white sugar. You'll have to eliminate honey, brown sugar, maple syrup, molasses or anywhere else you find sugar. Look for flour alternatives like barley, corn and quinoa.

You'll also learn more about portion control. By eliminating flour and sugar, you're eliminating a lot of unhealthy calories from your diet. But you still have to manage the calories you're consuming from the permissible foods. To do this, you'll divide your plate in half:

  • Half with non-starchy vegetables or a split of fruit and non-starchy vegetables
  • The other half gets half protein (meat, chicken, etc.) and half whole grains (i.e. brown rice)
EXERCISE

The No Flour, No Sugar Diet suggests you can lose weight without a dedicated exercise plan. However, it does make some recommendations to increase those results. Exercise shouldn't be a punishment, so find something that you'll look forward to doing and give that 30-60 minutes each day.

CONCLUSION

It seems that the No Flour, No Sugar Diet would be most ideal for individuals with food allergies who are looking for support to eat healthy. However, if you're looking for a low-carb plan, this one definitely takes it to the extreme. Some testimonials say it's hard to stick to because you're refusing yourself some of the foods you really enjoy, like sandwiches, pizza or pastries. The diet requires a lot of effort on the user's part, as there is daily journaling, measuring portions, detailed reading of food labels (searching for those hidden sugars) and a daily commitment to exercise.

Common Misspellings

No Flower, No Sugar Diet; No Flour, No Sugar Deit; No Flour and Sugar Diet; No Flour, No Suger Diet

Related Diets: Atkins Diet, South Beach Diet, Bob Greene's Bestlife, Low-Carb Diet, Gluten-Free Diet, Glycemic Index, The G-Free Diet

Whats better than
Dr. Gott's No Flour No Sugar Diet?