| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 33 reviews

Dr. Gott's No Flour No Sugar Diet

The doctor's in, and his prescription is restriction.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The name pretty much says it all - Dr. Gott's No Flour, No Sugar Diet is just that. Anything that has flour or sugar will be removed from your diet. This approach is supposed to remove all the empty calories from your diet and allow you to replace those food items with healthier, more nutrient-rich items.

Dr. Gott is a widely published medical doctor, contributing to hundreds of newspapers, medical publications, magazines and a few other books about health and wellness. He's been a general practice physician for more than 40 years.

  • Ideal for those with certain food allergies
  • Eliminate empty calories
  • No counting
  • Learn how to read food labels
  • Portion control
  • Very restrictive
  • Eliminates all flour and all sugar
  • Weigh yourself weekly
  • Journal everything you eat or drink
  • Discount value of exercise

Empty calories means that the nutrients of the food will not stay with you long. Your body burns and processes these quickly and often leave you feeling hungry again. Instead, you can eat foods that provide better nutrients, you'll digest them more slowly, and begin to feel healthier.

Focus less on what the No Sugar, No Flour diet won't let you have and more on what it does let you have. You should eat all things in moderation, which include:

  • Whole grains (not whole grain flour)
  • Fruits
  • Vegetables
  • Dairy
  • Poultry
  • Meat
  • Fish
  • Starches like potatoes and rice

The sugar restriction is quite broad, as it does not solely pertain to white sugar. You'll have to eliminate honey, brown sugar, maple syrup, molasses or anywhere else you find sugar. Look for flour alternatives like barley, corn and quinoa.

You'll also learn more about portion control. By eliminating flour and sugar, you're eliminating a lot of unhealthy calories from your diet. But you still have to manage the calories you're consuming from the permissible foods. To do this, you'll divide your plate in half:

  • Half with non-starchy vegetables or a split of fruit and non-starchy vegetables
  • The other half gets half protein (meat, chicken, etc.) and half whole grains (i.e. brown rice)

The No Flour, No Sugar Diet suggests you can lose weight without a dedicated exercise plan. However, it does make some recommendations to increase those results. Exercise shouldn't be a punishment, so find something that you'll look forward to doing and give that 30-60 minutes each day.


It seems that the No Flour, No Sugar Diet would be most ideal for individuals with food allergies who are looking for support to eat healthy. However, if you're looking for a low-carb plan, this one definitely takes it to the extreme. Some testimonials say it's hard to stick to because you're refusing yourself some of the foods you really enjoy, like sandwiches, pizza or pastries. The diet requires a lot of effort on the user's part, as there is daily journaling, measuring portions, detailed reading of food labels (searching for those hidden sugars) and a daily commitment to exercise.

Common Misspellings

No Flower, No Sugar Diet; No Flour, No Sugar Deit; No Flour and Sugar Diet; No Flour, No Suger Diet

Related Diets: Atkins Diet, Bob Greene's Bestlife, South Beach Diet, Low-Carb Diet, Gluten-Free Diet, Glycemic Index, The G-Free Diet

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 4, 66 total comments)


I am an addict... doing the no flour no sugar diet has helped with my clouded judgements and overeating. I love reading what people have wrote and only hope that thru you journey you will realize that if you are an addict you need rules structure and a strong support group FA is free but very strict I try to help people find that balance everything should be weighed and measured in our lives food exercise water sex tv computer etc an addict always wants more..... for me finding positive things to be addicted to helps staying out of the kitchen!!! asking for what you need at restaurants... living for life not for food... celebrating with other things not food.... its just fuel so you can function.... you have to want to change..... need to learn to love yourself in your own skin :) thanks for a great life without flour and sugar

posted Oct 30th, 2015 3:26 pm

Christine Herman

What are long term results? How about 2 years into it. The overeaters probably over eat. Calories count lNo sugar, no flour

posted Sep 8th, 2015 10:52 pm

Christine Herman

What are long term results? How about 2 years into it. The overeaters probably over eat. Calories count lNo sugar, no flour

posted Sep 8th, 2015 10:52 pm


I gave up flour and sugar, read every label,no bakery, no crackers, no cereal, no candy, no bread, no pasta, no chips, no pretzels no, corn chips, no frozen or canned soups or dinners already processed., And I did not lose any weight in a month.
. I guess you don't know how much corn on the cob, potatoes, cheese, popcorn , eggs, pork, beef, chicken and turkey all fresh-- meat;, lunch meats, (buddig) salads (lo cal ranch or raspberry vinagarette dresing), rice, and green peppers, carrots, green beans, peas, brussel sprouts, broccoli and cauliflower and cabbage (cooked with ham and raw in cole slaw with half and hlaf dressing), and melons, cherries and apples. that I can eat. Those are the major foods I ate.
I gave up soda back in the 1990's and still put on another 100 lbs. since then. I drink unsweeetened ice tea and 5 cal. a glass cranberry juice.
I also was taking 2 pills of raspberry ketones, and one measure of another Borshea daily, that is supposed to speed up your metabolism.
So now what do I have to do to lose weight? I am about 100 lbs overweight. and 70 years old and desperate to lose.

posted Jul 10th, 2015 7:35 pm

Connie Bradley

No sugar, no flour, no counting calories, no support group, no weekly weigh-ins.
I lost 100 pounds! No more medications
More important, I feel fantastic

posted Jan 10th, 2015 1:31 pm

aashiq hussain


posted Jan 5th, 2013 7:49 pm


This is the best diet ever and is very easy to follow. For those who resent giving up sugar and flour, without some sacrifice you will never get results. If you go off the diet for one meal, no problem, go right back on it the next meal. However, try not to fall off the diet more than one meal per week. You can eat all of fruit, vegetables and animal and vegetable proteins that are available. Just stop when you are full. So easy.

posted Apr 4th, 2012 4:51 am


I love the no flour no sugar diet. I have been on it for 28 days and have lost 15lbs. So happy. You can have anything on this diet that you want you just have to adjust your recipes. In the book there is a recipe for Pizza it is sooo good. I am addictied to pasta have been for my hole life...I was worried that I wouldn't be able to eat it and was bummed. However, I found Tinkyada pasta it is made with whole brown rice, There is absolutly NO flour or NO sugar in it. Thank you all and happy eating.

posted Mar 9th, 2012 10:23 pm


I have been on this diet for exactly 6 weeks at the time of this post. i started on January 1, 2012 and already lost 19Ibs. i have lupus and this diet has worked wonders on my sore swollen joints. my energy and stamina has improved tremenously. before i couldn't even walk a few blocks without feeling as if i've run a marathon. i'm a better mom now because i have more energy for my daughter. but what makes me the happiest is that i am no longer an over-eater. all those years of constantly craving food are over. to say that this diet has changed my life is an understatement. and it all began with Dr. Gott's book. i will post again when i hit the 4 month mark.

posted Feb 11th, 2012 5:47 am


Great book and great diet.

posted Jan 19th, 2012 9:54 pm


I still eat bread on the no sugar/no flour diet. As Susan mentioned above, Ezekiel bread has NO flour or sugar so I have sandwiches, toast, etc. 80 calories per slice. You can find it at most health food stores (in the freezer). They also make a no flour/no sugar hamberger bun which I take out to burger joints and swap out their sugar/flour bun for my Ezekiel bun...and I get to eat the french fries! (no ketchup though...sugar). Ezekiel also offers english muffins which I toast and put sugar-free strawberry jam on top. I drink Zevia diet sodas, made with Stevia (also found in health food stores). So I'm not deprived at all, my energy is up, I feel fantastic, and I'm getting rid of my extra 30 pounds. Buy the book, read the book and adapt to this new eating lifestyle. You won't regret it.

posted Sep 28th, 2011 8:27 pm


Skim milk has more sugar than whole milk. Which is actually better? Also can you eat potatoes? They don't have flour or sugar? Thank you.

posted May 30th, 2011 6:50 pm

Susan L

This is the only diet I have been able too stick to. It allows you to be creative about finding healthy substitutes. I feel so much better and am smarter about what I eat. It is simple to do and after a while the forbidden foods are no longer appealing. It is getting hard to eat it when I really need to eat some of somebody's birthday cake to be polite.

posted Mar 27th, 2011 9:54 pm


are nuts on the diet

posted Feb 15th, 2011 5:16 pm


Actually, you can eat sandwiches if they are made of sprouted grains rather than flour, i.e., Ezekiel or Food for Life bread in the freezer section at the grocery store. I am finding it easy to follow, but I still count calories and exercise. This is a fast no-nonsense way of removing the junk from your diet but isn't as extreme as many other food-restricting diets. You can also eat brown rice and potatoes so there are plenty of OK carbs. Just pass on the cake, cookies and donuts and the bread.

posted Feb 6th, 2011 3:19 am


I was looking for a diet that would be life changing and that could lose about 10 pounds a month

posted Feb 5th, 2011 10:35 pm

janice mcglaun

I have been on this diet for 5 weeks and I have lost 9 lbs. I have been trying to lose weigt for years and it would not come off but all of a sudden this is working and I feel great. Once I got very cold and I assumed it was because I was not eating enough fat, I ate a spoon full of peanut butter and was warm again within the hour.

posted Jan 30th, 2011 8:39 pm


Easiest diet to be on I've ever seen. More of a way of life. After 3 weeks, it changes the way you look at food. You have no desire to eat bread, flour or sugar, it seems to actually turn you off to the stuff. First 3 weeks, you loose a lot of weight, after that, it just slowly comes off.

posted Jan 14th, 2011 4:31 am

Judy Diehl

best diet in the world have lost 45 lbs in 6 months.

posted Jan 12th, 2011 6:37 pm


After losing a gall bladder in an accident i decided to take care of what was left in my insides. I am on a no white flour diet, no bread and very little if any sugar. I lost 30 extra lbs. I eat lots of meat and cheese wraps in lettuce, and have found large leaf lettuce is my "bread" for everything. I do not eat potatoes, they are good for nothing. Sometimes i even go to fast food restaurants, eat the cheeseburger, throw away the bread and even have something sweet and for over 1 yr i have maintained my weight. i am almost 40 and male. Amazing concept this diet

posted Jan 10th, 2011 10:19 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account