Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Books Diet Navigation    
User Rating

94%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 17 reviews

5 Day Miracle Diet

Adele Puhn says the secret to dieting is timing.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The philosophy of the 5 Day Miracle Diet is to curb cravings by managing blood sugar levels. Once you're able to level-out the blood sugar in your body, you'll no longer have to worry about those energy spikes and lulls - which all too often leave you eating junky food.

The two major contributors to blood sugar spikes are the time of day that you eat and the kind of food you eat. The 5 Day Miracle Diet shows you how to reign in your cravings for unhealthy foods like starch, sugar, caffeine and alcohol. As you eliminate these things from your diet, and frequent trips to the vending machine, you'll start to see fat fade away.

PRO
  • You will probably lose weight on this plan.
CON
  • You will most likely gain the weight back when you return to foods forbidden by the plan
  • Does not promote exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

On the 5 Day Miracle Diet, a typical day might looks like this:

Breakfast - One serving each of protein and starch, followed two hours later by a hard chew snack. This can be crunchy fruits and vegetables like celery or apples.

Lunch - One serving each of protein and vegetables. Or, two hours after your first snack, enjoy another hard chew snack. You should follow lunch with a hard or soft chew snack, like a high-sugar fruit.

Dinner - Enjoy a serving of protein and vegetables. Every other day you may add a small portion of whole grains, starchy vegetables, potatoes, or beans to your meal.

Adele Puhn, creator of the 5 Day Miracle Diet, outlines hard and fast rules to help achieve your goal. For instance, plan to eat breakfast within 30 minutes of waking, and have lunch no later than 1 p.m. Switch between hard and soft chew snacks at the same time each day. Plan to finish dinner by 7 p.m. at the latest. At no time should you consume yogurt, bananas or bagels. Puhn says the 5 Day Miracle Diet doesn't come easy, but that it is a miracle; worker if you follow the plan.

EXERCISE

There is a chapter called Shake That Body that gives you some exercise guidance. Exercise may not be the primary focus of the book, but it is mentioned as a crucial part of any diet program. The 5-Day Miracle Diet does mention that having balanced blood sugar levels will help you feel energized enough to workout. Some of the benefits of exercising with the 5-Day Miracle Diet listed include:

  • Jump-start your metabolism
  • Keep a steady weight loss
  • Helps slow down osteoporosis
  • Tone your muscles
  • Increases good cholesterol

One of the main recommendations for incorporating exercise into the diet is to do something you love. For those just getting started, walking is a simple recommendation to get you used to exercising. Another possibility is an exercise machine like a treadmill or elliptical. These machines allow you to do other things like watch TV or read while getting your workout in. Also recommended are workout videos which allow you the ultimate level of variety. Additionally, the 5-Day Miracle Diet suggests you mix your toning exercises with aerobic exercises. There are several helpful tips surrounding exercise available in this book. Some of the toning exercises offered include:

  • Ballet classes
  • Yoga
  • Weight resistance machines
  • Weight lifting
  • T’ai chi
  • Stretch classes and exercises
CONCLUSION

The key to lifelong health is adapting to a lifestyle that you will live with forever. By its very title, you know this is more about short-term goals. It’s overly calorie restrictive, and unnecessarily restricts some foods.

Common Misspellings

5Day Diet, 5 Day Miracel Diet, 5 Day Deit, Miracle Diet, Five Day Miracle Diet


Related Diets:


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 29 total comments)

Sito

This diet helped me lose weight when nothing else could. I found that sugar and flour were addictive for me. I had heard of this many times, as we all have, but didn't believe it until I followed this program. I had no cravings whatsoever. I was able to eat everything I loved: just not all at the same time. If all the other diets didn't work for you, try this one. You owe it to yourself. I learned that I can eat everything I enjoy if I am honest. The blood sugar balance is where it's at for me. I think we all know exercise is healthy for us: the use it or lose it philosophy is as real as blood sugar.

posted Feb 25th, 2013 11:35 pm


NRJO

I've had this book for over 10 years. The first time I picked it up, I never put it down until I was finished. As the title states, I lost 5 lbs in the first week. After that, I continued to lose, and it was so easy to follow. We americans in general, eat too much, and don't know what we're eating most of the time. This book gets you thinking about how food effects your mind, and body. The results are stunning.

posted Jul 10th, 2012 3:49 pm


ANGELA COLASANTI

THE HCG DIET HAS BEEN AROUND FOR 40 YR AND WORKS THE BEST IS THE INJECTABLE HCG AND A CALORIE CONSUMPTION OF ONLY 500 PER DAY VERY RESTRICTIVE YOU ARE NOT HUNGRY

posted Jun 10th, 2012 12:30 am


Louann Bell

I used this diet many years ago and it really worked. I eventually went off of it and worked on maintaining my weight with eating high fiber, portion controlled meals along with exercise. While I did not stay on this diet "for life" it did give me the boost I needed.

posted Mar 27th, 2012 12:33 pm


Amy Burgess

How do i buy the real deal HCG? hi, im hoping to start the HCG diet but i live in the UK and i know that it can not be bought over here. i want the real deal not crap that doesnt have HCG init. please can you help and advise me of the best sights to but from as there are hundreds claiming to have the real deal. i have tried every diet under the sun and ever diet pill that claims fat loss but i am finding my self getting depressed that nothing has helped. im 22 and 5ft but weigh 200lps, im not far off turning 23 and i want to be sexy like every other woman. please help

posted Feb 14th, 2012 4:05 pm


Myra

Cinch by Cynthia Sass...the 5 day detox menu Is dry roasted almonds okay to eat in the 5day detox? How many is 2tbs. almonds? I could not find fat-free organic yogurt. I got 0 % fat organic plain yogurt is that the same? I could not find organic eggs so purchase egg white substitute is that alright?

posted Feb 4th, 2012 9:03 am


Smckay

I was just wondering is there any way to get just the book for the P.i.n.k method? P.i.n.k method

posted Jul 12th, 2011 3:13 pm


Precious demyers

How long will it take Im 5'3 and i weigh 150 pounds i want to lose 20-40 pounds. I want to know how long it would take to lose tht much. I can keep the weight off if i lose it but i dont want to take anymore than what i need.

posted Mar 2nd, 2011 1:03 am


Michelle

This is an amazing diet that promotes whole foods, lean proteins, lots of vegetables, and plenty of water. I exercise A LOT. I have never had a weight problem, but I call myself the Whale Inside, because I have always craved sweets, and sugar, and potatoes, and pasta. I don't allow myself to indulge because when I do, I cannot stop. There are times the cravings have overwhelmed me so horribly that I have ended up eating a whole 1/2 gallon of ice cream by myself. I am filled with so much self-loathing wondering, why can't I control myself. In the meantime, I bike, I run, I lift. I am all of 120 lbs of lean muscle mass. If you looked at me, you would think I didn't have any problem with overeating. So, this book has changed my life by helping me to curb my cravings, stop feeling so tired, and helped me completely lose all the processed foods out of my life. I don't eat a lot of processed foods, but now I eat none. So, I disagree with Sean. Yes, exercise is huge in maintaining that lean muscle mass, but if you are not a person with the Metabolic Mix-Up, you cannot even understand where Adele is coming from. She is the only person who has ever addressed ME, and understood ME. I am a 46 year old Metabolic Mix Up who has felt like the Whale Inside for all these years, while wearing a size 2. So there. It doesn't matter what you look like on the outside if on the inside you know your chemistry is screwed up. I want to feel good, inside and out.

posted Sep 6th, 2010 12:02 pm


Nicole

I did this diet after my son was born 12 years ago. I worked like magic, and I was never hungry. After I fell "off the wagon" it took me over 5 years to start gaining weight again, probably due to the fact that I had learned to eat well doing this plan. No hunger at all after the first 5 days. Now...I am going to start again. Need to lose just 20 pounds and I know that this plan will refocus me and put the emphasis again on healthy eating. I hope to lose the 20 pounds in a healthy 2 months. I will post again then.

posted Jul 13th, 2010 3:58 pm


Katherine Shevelev

I have tried this diet a few years back, and loved the way it works and the way I felt. I made it my lifestyle, and have been sticking to it from now on. I managed to shed those annoying last 5 kg and keep it off! I think it's the only sound diet plan that humanity have thought of.

There is a good section on exercise, although it's a bit general. But let's not forget this book mostly is about eating right, and if you need a good fitness plan, you should get professional advice or read on fitness.

What no one mentioned in this review, is the section on phychology and emotional eating. This chapter helped me understand the emotions behind my overeating and eating junk.

posted May 19th, 2010 8:59 pm


Cindy

I loved this diet. This is the only diet book I have ever bought that I tried and it worked. Folks who are negative against it failed to mention that a couple of times a week you get to eat a food you absolutely love. For me this was huge! It is not true that she doesn't mention exercise; there is a whole section of the book on exercise. I walked every day. Also, the year I strayed off, two tragic events happned to me within one year. I started feeding my emotions and simply didn't stop. But I will say this. It took me 2 years to even begin to gain the weight back because this diet was such a good diet metabolically. I am on day 1 now, after 13 years, and really looking forward again to the great energetic feeling I had before.

posted May 10th, 2010 12:27 pm


Barry Morris

I started this eating plan the day after my birthday (March 7) when I weighed 221 lbs. I weighed myself on May 2 and I weighed 190 lbs!! This is a fabulous loss of 31 lbs. I feel great, and I have more energy. The hardest part will now be to try and find my maintenance level so I don't gain the weight back, and so I don't lose more weight. I want to stay at 190 lbs.

posted May 3rd, 2010 11:32 am


Sean

I almost could not finish reading this article because it was bothering me so much. I am no diet expert or anything, but it doesn't take one to realize that this diet is a terrible thing to promote to the public. We Americans have become obsessed with getting results without hard work.

This diet will no doubt cause you to lose wieght, but its not a diet that the human body can last with. Eventually you will break and gain the wieght on twice as fast. Additionally, this diet does not promote exercise, which is the number one way to lose weight. Having no time to work out is not a good excuse. I am a member of a crossfit affiliate and I workout 3 intense hours a week, thats it. The average american watches 3 hours of TV per day. How messed up is that? haha

I follow two rules to keep myself in shape and healthy. 1) Excercise. I recommend joining a local crossfit gym. Being a crossfitter I am biased, but I say it is the best bang for your buck. It is fun too. 2) Eat! Do not starve yourself. Eat fats and carbs and proteins. Your body needs them all to work right. The key is good fats and carbs. Eat nuts instead of chips, and eggs instead of a bagel with cream cheese. There are many ways to keep your apetite satisfied and body healthy. Google the "primal diet" and take in some of the valuable info it has to offer.

These 2 rules will lead to a very healthy and energized lifestyle. Where as this 5 day "miracle diet" will only leave you hungary and disappointed in the long run.

Also, drink as much water as you can! A hydrated body is a happy body!

posted Apr 8th, 2010 10:57 am


Shar

Let's see I started the program July 13 2009 My brother had bought me the book and wanted me to read it didn't want me to do the plan but read the book. Once I read the book I decided I could do it. I was obese out of shape and couldn't breathe. In 4 months I had lost 38 Lbs felt wonderful and enjoyed my grandchildren immensely.could actually play with them. Now here it is 6 months in and I have lost a total of 67 lbs. Still on maintenence but much easier than the first 3 months. Everything just comes naturally now as far as eating. I do eat the things I love 1 or 2 times a week, but its great. All of my friends want my book, but I won't give it up, its like a lifesaver to me. With any eating program you have to be ready and you have to want to lose the weight. In 6 months I've only gained 1 Lb during thanksgiving and 3 lbs over Christmas, but they are already gone again. I recommend this program wholeheartedly. Thank You Adele for such a good program. As far as exercise I walked 2 miles a day also. Since November though I am unable to walk from planters facitis, but I bicycle 20 minutes a day now.

posted Jan 23rd, 2010 11:45 am


TQ

For all of you who gave this plan a thumbs down...IT REALLY WORKS!!!! I started the plan and lost 4 lbs the first week and 3 the next. I lost on average 10 lbs per month...I reached my goal in 3 months...sure the 1st 5 daysare a little hard but it is worth it. If I carved anything in the 1st 5 days I chewed sugar free gum. By the 6th day I was in good blood sugar and smooth sailing from then on. I would recommend this to anyone who really wants to lose weight!

posted Oct 15th, 2009 7:08 pm


Heather

I used this diet about 12 years ago after I'd put on an extra 10-15 lbs. I was dating a new guy and wow could he eat! I tried keeping up with him and I succeeded! A friend recommended Adele's diet and I jumped on it. I loaned the book to someone and never got it back. Here I am 12 years later and need to take off another 10-15 pounds I've recently gained. This time I think I'm eating out of boredom. The diet worked great for me back then. I'm hoping to have the same result. It was a little difficult in the beginning to manage my portions and to eat bland food, but I was able to eat what I liked (meat, potatoes, cheese) with a treat at the end of the week. I live alone, so it's easy for me to follow the recipes in the book. I'm sure some things have change in 12 years. I'll soon find out.

I highly recommend this diet.

posted Sep 28th, 2009 10:35 am


Karol

I tried it 4 years ago and it changed my life for the better. I came off it due to a major change in my life and haven't gone back to it... until now.

posted Sep 10th, 2009 1:27 am


diane

i started the diet plan jus' a week and feel great so i will continue following u

posted Jul 6th, 2009 2:55 pm


userfile
winniep09

I have had this book since May 1996. I have diabetes in my family. I really need to commit myself to this way of eating.

posted Jan 30th, 2009 7:51 am



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account