Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Books Diet Navigation    
User Rating

80%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 15 reviews

21 Pounds in 21 Days

The popular Martha's Vineyard Diet Detox.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

“21 pounds in 21 days: The Martha’s Vineyard Diet Detox” is a book which outlines a fasting program as directed by author Dr. Roni DeLuz. As a naturopath, registered nurse and certified hypnotherapist, she runs a pricey holistic retreat in the posh Martha’s Vineyard in Massachusetts.

Her detox program fell into prominence in June of 2007, when Robin Quivers of the “Howard Stern Show” used her media clout to promote the detox, and share with the Sirius satellite listeners, as well as with Larry King Live, how she lost 20 pounds in just 10 days.

At its core, the detox is a fruit and vegetable fast, with the addition of enzymes and colonics. Dr. DeLuz maintains that our world is “full of toxins” and only by ridding ourselves once a year of these toxins, can we put our metabolism back in order.

Following the June ’07 media blitz, including a very entertaining spot on “The View” in July, the book debuted at #3 on the New York Times Bestseller List.

PRO
  • A 100% all-natural detox that also allows the user to lose weight
  • The fast is more satisfying than other detox programs, such as the Maple Syrup Diet, in that with the Martha’s Vineyard Detox the participant is drinking a myriad of flavorful juices and tonics that provide maximum nutrition
  • The combination of colonics/enemas allows the user to cleanse more quickly and feel lighter, which for many increases their motivation to stay with a program
  • Author is a doctor
  • New York Times Bestseller
CON
  • User must juice every two hours, and follow the detox recipes exactly as prescribed
  • Extreme willpower would be required if the detoxer was attempting to do this detox while still sharing a home with non-detoxers
  • Dining out is not an option
  • Most users complain of severe flu-like symptoms in the first week as they detoxify their bodies
DIET and NUTRITION

Detailed recipes for the various juice diet concoctions are explained in the companion book, 21 pounds in 21 days. In addition, the program features a website with forums and blog entries, complete with FAQs.

The website has a terrific video of Robin Quivers grocery shopping with Dr. DeLuz, and it’s evident that the core ingredients of organic, nutrient-dense fruits and vegetables would be delicious and good for the body.

EXERCISE

It’s curious that the program recommends “jumping on trampolines” for “lymphatic drainage”, as there is little to no evidence to support that this is effective. But it is fun, and as long as you have one handy, go for it. Otherwise, consider jump rope, or yoga, or walking with a pedometer for concrete, tangible activity that works.

CONCLUSION

21 pounds in 21 days is a familiar concept to dieters and detoxers alike. Interestingly, most who detox regularly typically do not need to lose weight, as the strictness of their daily regimen allows for little fat or animal product. There is, however, argument that limiting protein and fat is unhealthy, and most doctors and nutritionists would agree. This being said, a fad is a fad, and as long as the media keeps saying we are being poisoned by our environment, people will keep looking externally for that quick fix to rid their bodies of toxins as a cure-all for everything from weight issues to acne and depression.

Common Misspellings

Martha’s Vineyard Diet, 21 lbs/21 days, 21 day, marthasvineyarddiet.com, 21 Pounds 21 Days, 21 Pounds in 21 Days Diet, Marthas Vineyard Diet, Martha's Vineyard Detox Diet  


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, Hollywood Miracle Diet, Martha's Vineyard Diet, Detox Body Wrap


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 24 total comments)

userfile
melanie80

This seems like a tough one to get through. I don't know if I am in the position to juice every two hours. I guess I could do enough at one time to get me through the day. I really like juicing and all, but this seems like a bit much. I saw some other good diets on another site: http://10rate.com/best-diet-reviews/ . I didn't see any fasts like this one. I'll be it is fantastic at getting some weight off fast though.

posted May 28th, 2013 8:25 pm


mare

This is the best eating program ever-and what a bonus to lose weight while enjoying wonderful fruits and veggies! We all go through times when we are stressed to our limits and our bodies show it. This will truly help you when you need it.

posted Aug 29th, 2011 2:00 pm


CC

I've been on the detox for 6 days now and I'm doing great!

posted Apr 9th, 2011 11:08 am


Crystal

I'm on day two and I'm MISERABLE!!!! For some reason I can't keep the "green drink" down! I've tried adding lemon and a little stevia but it didn't really help me. I found an alternative in capsule form but it leaves me hungry!! My first soup was not so bad. I'm having a terrible headache today.

I do feel much less bloated today so I think i'll try to keep it up! We shall see!

posted Sep 14th, 2010 12:13 pm


Mia

This is not a diet book !!!!!
It's about cleaning your body and eating health!!! Which of course will help you to lose weight . If your not willing to change your eating habits then.....No diet in the world will help you lose weight !!!

posted Apr 6th, 2009 8:47 am


MGraddy

I just want to say that everyone I have spoken to that has actually tried this detox has had good experiences. Yes, there can be side effects from the toxins releasing out of our system but they only last a few days and then you are fine. It is not calorie restrictive as this is NOT A DIET!! It is a detox program and it is very nutrient dense. It is not meant to be done over the 21 day period as specified in the book. Also, for those that talk about how our bodies detoxify themselves....yes, that is true. But if we put a lot of man-made chemicals such as preservatives and medications into our bodies then our bodies don't know what to do with those substances. Our bodies were meant to process and detoxify normal, pure foods...not synthetic substances. These substances can build up in our bodies because our bodies see them as foreign....not as waste or nutrients. That is why additional detoxifying procedures are necessary in this day and age. Also, most don't gain the weight back because the detox changes your tastes and preferences for eating and most of the weight lost is a side effect of removing all the sludge and build up in your system. This is not a DIET. Therefore, weight loss is not the ultimate goal. The reason for the title is to have a catchy phrase that is mostly true to grab people's attentions. It is not the ultimate goal of the detox. As for colon cleansing...it is not harmful as it is done using purified water and nothing else. It has been around for hundreds of years in Egypt. There are other ways to treat illnesses other than more medications. There are a lot of illnesses and aches and pains that can be cured in a natural way. Every negative comment I have read or seen so far are coming from people who haven't tried it, researched it, or even read the material in the book.

posted Apr 2nd, 2009 10:34 am


Elana

Why dont you all read up on the basic physiology of the kidney, liver, and lymph system. Your body detoxes itself for the amazing price of $0.00 and hello, how many of you followed this plan after hearing about it on the Howard Stern show? If that isn't any indication of its dubious scientific validity then I'd love to know what WOULD convince you.

posted Jan 26th, 2009 3:31 pm


Moemi

Right now I'm on my second turn. The first time I losed 20 pounds. As soon I started eating" normal" again I gained the weight back . This is to be expected when you stuff everything in your mounth, without being concience about how to feed your body correctly. This time around I'm planning to follow the maintains plan.

posted Jan 13th, 2009 6:22 pm


Moemi

Right now I'm on my second turn. The first time I losed 20 pounds. As soon I started eating" normal" again I gained the weight back . This is to be expected when you stuff everything in your mounth, without being concience about how to feed your body correctly. This time around I'm planning to follow the maintains plan.

posted Jan 13th, 2009 5:47 pm


healthy 34

I have done the lemonade diet. This seems like a great idea to get involved with fresh fruits and veggies. What better way to cleanse than that?

posted Jan 7th, 2009 1:23 pm


sameera

i tried it several times and it really works. For the people who hate the taste of the soup you can add maggi cubes along with black pepper.

posted Nov 26th, 2008 2:09 am


Ivana

People, don't forget that this is not a diet but a DETOX program. You can't go on on this over 21 days. So don't think of it as a diet, or use it as a diet. Use it as a regular seasonal detox for 3, 7 or 21 days or before you start a new diet that will help you lose weight. This will give you a nice start for that kind of stuff and will help you keep your body "cleaner" year around.



I did it once already this year, in January, for 7 days and it was very hard not to chew. BUT... I was not hungry, I lost 7 lbs in 7 days, I felt light and had great energy.



I am doing it again now with a plan to change my diet to vegetarian afterwards. I wish I can do it for 21 days but I am not ready for that now. I will prepare for that in Spring time ;-).



Happy Thanksgiving and good luck with your detox!!

posted Nov 25th, 2008 2:58 pm


gaby

well so far so good started in 175 and my scale aready say 173........i like this

posted Oct 9th, 2008 9:55 am


gaby

i started my diet today, my goal is 30 pounds i will try to workout....wish me good luck, ill let your guys know how is it going next week.......if i survive

posted Oct 8th, 2008 9:36 am


saraii

Yes you'll gain the weight back if you go back to eating the poor way you always had before. A cleanse like this is supposed to help you sort of jump start a healthier diet and exercise program. If you're not willing to change your entire lifestyle, like I did, then it's a waste of your time.

posted Oct 4th, 2008 6:32 pm


Melissa_Small

I gained all my weight back as soon as I stopped this diet after the 21 days. Same happened to me with all my fasting type diets but for quick fixes it will do. I also can say I lost more than 21 pounds so i was happy about that.

posted Oct 4th, 2008 5:17 pm


MarilynCT

Why do diets have to be so extreme? I want to chew my food, thats whey we were giving teeth I though. I tried this for a week and then decided to move on to something else

posted Oct 4th, 2008 5:14 pm


LL_Smith

I liked this type of fast way better than the lemonade drink fast that is pretty popular. I didn't get as hungry throughout the day and felt I was giving my body way more nutrients with all the fruits and vegetables.

posted Oct 4th, 2008 5:13 pm


Mercedes

Kelly's comment has convinced me not to try the diet. I'd really like to hear from Cheryl and get feedback on her experience.

posted Oct 1st, 2008 6:37 pm


JAMES

if she did goood for here but she should have stayed like she was

posted Sep 12th, 2008 7:36 am



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account