Advertisement

| |

Home > Recipes > Recipe Navigation    
User Rating

13%

of people who tried this recipe like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 32 reviews
Print this Recipe

Rocco's Brownies

From Now Eat This! come completely guilt-free, diet-friendly brownies.

Per Serving: 53 Calories, 1.6g Fat, 4g Protein, 8g Carbohydrates, 4mg Cholesterol, 3g Fiber, 94mg Sodium
Rocco's Brownies Photo
Yield: Serves 12

Ingredients

Yes, you are reading the ingredients list correctly: there are black beans in these brownies. You really have to taste the brownies to believe them. The beans add moisture and texture—not to mention fiber and protein. These brownies have such a great fudgy texture because the cocoa powder, and just a little espresso powder, are the only dry ingredients (besides a bit of Truvia). For an extra jolt of chocolate flavor and about 15 more calories, stir ¼ cup dark chocolate–covered cacao nibs (such as Kopali Organics) into the batter just before pouring it into the pan. These brownies are even better the next day. - Rocco DiSpirito

  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • 1½ cups canned black beans, rinsed and drained
  • ½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon espresso powder
  • ¾ cup egg substitute
  • 2 tablespoons low-calorie sugar-free chocolate syrup, such as Walden Farms
  • 2 tablespoons reduced-fat sour cream, such as Breakstone’s
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, melted
  • 24 packets (84 g) Truvia or 8 tablespoons granulated Splenda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350˚F. Spray an 8×8-inch glass baking dish with cooking spray.

  2. Combine the beans, cocoa powder, espresso powder, and egg substitute in the bowl of a food processor. Process until the mixture is smooth, about 2 minutes, scraping down the bowl halfway through.

  3. Add the chocolate syrup, sour cream, butter, Truvia, and vanilla. Process until all of the ingredients are combined, about 1 minute.

  4. Pour the batter into the prepared baking dish, and smooth the top with a spatula. Bake for 28 to 30 minutes, turning the dish halfway through the baking time. A toothpick inserted in the center will come out with soft batter clinging to it.

  5. Let the brownies cool completely in the baking dish on a wire rack. Then cut into 12 squares and serve. Refrigerate any leftovers.

Source: NOW EAT THIS! a Ballantine Trade Paperback Original by Rocco DiSpirito (c) 2010 Spirit Media, LLC

Also from Now Eat This!, try Rocco's Flash-Fried Finger-Lickin' Chicken.



> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 3, 48 total comments)

Ron

Absolutely awful. The book was given to me last Xmas as a gift and finally got around to looking through it and saw the pictures of the brownies. Rushed out to the local market to fetch the needed ingredients and made them to the T.

It is painfully obvious and incredibly disappointing that the picture used is from a regular recipe that includes flour and baking powder or baking soda. There is no way to get the same results with the ingredients listed. I had a lot of respect for Rocco up until now realizing that this really is a possible matter of misrepresentation. I'd like to see Rocco make the brownies in the picture used using his ingredient list. Will never happen.

On another note I also tried the Mac n cheese recipe and while the results don't come close to the stylish picture used, the end result was OK.... Not great and not terrible, just meh!

Now Eat This.... No thanks!

posted Jul 14th, 2013 5:41 pm


Angi Gordon

OMG! Blahhh. The picture is def NOT the real end result. These were disgusting!! Threw the whole pan out. The book rocks though! I've had it for a few years and the best recipe is the spicy shrimp po-boys!! To die for!!! :D

posted May 16th, 2012 4:59 pm


Job

I have tow of the Now Eat This books and like every recipe I have tried...except this brownie recipe. I have made it several times...being careful to follow exactly the recipe. I'm not thrilled, they don't look anything like the picture in the book, and they do not have a great flavor.

posted May 13th, 2012 6:26 am


CRISTIEDAX

YIKES!!!, these are terrible. There is no way the picture for the recipe was of the brownies this recipe makes. That said the book does have a lot of good ideas, tips and other recipes. The browies need to be deleted on the next reprinting

posted May 2nd, 2012 8:24 pm


Steve

Wow, I can not believe all the negative feedback.

My wife makes these and I like them better than real brownie's. I am sure she does not use that much Truvia/Stevia. I would never know that they had black beans in them. I can not even taste a hint of them. The coffee added, I can taste but I like that aspect.

We have his book and many of the recipe's are so good. Last time she made them we were out of sour cream so she just substituted Greek yogurt and they tasted the same. The only recipe in his book that I am not pleased with is his White bean cookies. they texture is so wrong for a cookie, flavor was good but texture was so wrong.

posted Apr 17th, 2012 2:56 pm


Kendra

I liked these but ONLY after I omitted the sugar free chocolate syrup (horrid!) and added a bit of peanut butter and walnuts. Much MUCH better!

posted Apr 12th, 2012 3:38 am


Jen

Absolutely terrible. What a waste of ingredients purchased. I ate one serving and the rest will go to the garbage disposal. I would be too ashamed to hand these to anyone else.

posted Jan 30th, 2012 12:53 am


Cory

I thought these brownies were pretty yummy. I did edit the recipe a little to fit my personal tastes. I added an extra tablespoon of sour cream to combat the bitterness that everyone has mentioned. I also added about half the coffee because I'm really not a coffee person ( I used the Starbucks instant coffee). I also sprinkled a few almond slivers on top because in my opinion brownies gotta have nuts (this also helped with any texture issue). I will say make sure that you stain the beans and rinse them completely (their canning liquid is awful).

posted Jan 8th, 2012 12:38 am



foodie819

I've tried this recipe several times and can't get my brownies to have a texture comparable to its fattening counterparts. What am I doing wrong? Also, the picture appears to show a teflon-like lined ceramic baking dish instead of the suggested glass baking dish. Can that make a difference in outcome? His pictured brownies have that same top-side appearance as regular brownies. How do I get that?

posted Sep 24th, 2011 8:08 am


Rick

I just made the brownies, when they cooled and I tired them I threw them away, they were terribly bitter, the worst thing I ever made, if I can't eat them thet can't be ate. Very disappointed

posted Apr 11th, 2011 6:18 pm



AnnieWinFL

I have read all of these horrible reviews and I just want to add that I like them! There are 2 recipes out there... the ones I made are the ones at the top of the page here... with no flour. And, no, they didn't look like the picture but they were sweet and good when made with Truvia. I didn't like them with Splenda because they became bitter. They aren't like brownies but they are fudgy and sure do cure a sweet tooth without going back for seconds. Rocco's other recipes are spot on! Way to go, Rocco!

posted Apr 9th, 2011 10:30 pm


Vicki

I didn't like this recipe at all

posted Apr 8th, 2011 11:13 am



LateenaQT

53 calories, or 157 calories ???So, I just made the brownies, and they aren't THAT bad...my question is this: I tried to configure all the nutritional information for these brownies, and the site i used (http://caloriecount.about.com/cc/recipe_analysis.php) gave me a COMPLETELY different analysis of the same ingredients. I don't understand why? It says that with this recipe that yields 12 brownies, each one has a value of 158 calories. What am I doing wrong? I needed to find out what the "points-plus" value was, and with the information i entered, it comes out to 3 plus-points. I thought it was only 53 calories??? I expected something totally different. Please let me know why the big discrepency...Thanx! P.S. - I <3 Rocco's pizza recipe! :0)

posted Mar 29th, 2011 9:02 pm


Mary B

These brownies were just awful. There are better low cal brownie recipes out there.

posted Feb 18th, 2011 10:41 am


Denise

This is the recipe from Dr Oz's website which is different than above:

Dr Oz: Black Bean Brownie Recipe
Ingredients:
15 oz canned black beans, rinsed and drained
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp expresso powder
3/4 cup liquid egg substitute
3 tbsp whole wheat pastry flour
3/4 cup agave nectar
1 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
1 tsp vanilla extract
Rocco & Dr Oz Brownie Recipe
Directions:
1.  Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
2.  Spray an 8?8 baking dish with non-stick spray.
3.  Place the black beans, cocoa powder, egg substitute, espresso powder and flour in a food processor.
4.  Blend until the mixture has no lumps at all.
5.  Add the vanilla, agave and butter.
6.  Blend again until everything is fully mixed.
7.  Pour the brownie mix into the greased 8?8 pan and bake for 20 minutes.
8.  Also, make sure to turn the 8?8 baking pan halfway through.
9.  Turn the temperature down to 300 degrees and bake for another 5-8 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Be careful not to overcook the brownies either though!
10.  Let the brownies cool completely until they reach room temperature.
11. Place the brownies in the fridge for 3 hours.
12.  Cut them into 12 squares and serve.
13.  Make sure to refrigerate any of your leftover Black Bean Brownies!

posted Feb 1st, 2011 3:24 am


Ali Baba

I was going to try the brownies but based on the reviews I think I will stick with mine. The following has 150 cals and 2.3g fiber. Easily tweakable (e.g. the chips adds 70 cals per brownie). Note: natural ingredients, applesauce is an oil and sugar substitute....



20 Dark Brownies

Ingredients

½ cu light brown sugar

½ cu raw sugar

1 cu unsweetened applesauce

1 tbs egg wt mixed with ¼ cup water

¼ cup soy milk

1 ½ tsp vanilla extract

1 ½ tsp apple cider vinegar

1 ½ cu whole wheat flour

¾ cu cocoa powder

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp sea salt

1 ½ cu chocolate chips (darker the better)



Directions

17 to 20 mins at 375°

9x13 inch dish

posted Jan 28th, 2011 8:24 pm


Michel

I baked these to the letter. Brownies didn't look like the picture and tasted like bitter chocolate

posted Jan 17th, 2011 1:54 am


Lynette

Just go for the real thing in moderation and do another lap around the block or something. I made these and they were TERRIBLE!!!! I tried one and then threw out the entire pan. I had to eat a fun-sized Three Musketeers bar to get rid of the nasty brownie aftertaste.

posted Oct 28th, 2010 2:30 pm


Debbie

I don't like the brownies, but maybe it's because I can't get past the black beans being in there. Knowing that, I can taste them. My daughter, an adult, thinks they're delicious, the most wonderful brownies ever, and wants the recipe.

The brownies pictured could not be from this recipe the way I made it. I thought maybe my pan was too big, 9" round. Or maybe because it wasn't glass. You didn't say why glass? Or maybe my oven is still cooking too hot. How many PACKETS of generic Splenda? Seems as much as the recipe called for would make it way too sweet.

Rocco, you need to make a comment somewhere about this issue. IS there a typo in the original printing? Can you explain the discrepancy between what we're taking out of our ovens and the brownies in the picture?? Otherwise, I fear, your book sales will suffer, even tho people are saying all the other recipes are great.

posted Oct 3rd, 2010 3:14 am


Liz

About the worst thing I've ever tasted... Disappointed:(
I wish Rocco would try to use this exact recepe and see if he still likes them...it's not possible...

posted Sep 23rd, 2010 9:14 am



  123
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 





Related Blog Posts

Related Recipes