Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Coleen’s Biggest Loser Recap 7-17

[poll id="9"]

Ali takes the contestants on a trip down memory lane to remind them of how far they’ve come in 17 weeks on the ranch. After seeing themselves at the start of this journey, the contestants find out that this is the last week they will all be on the ranch. At the end of the week, they’ll all be heading home. Tara, Helen and Mike take a spin in their goal outfits and acknowledge their hard work to this point.

At a check up with Dr. Huizenga, the contestants find out how losing the extra weight has changed their bodies for the better. Seeing the physical difference between pictures and medical stats from week one to now, the changes are amazing. By losing more than 100 pounds, Helen has taken 10 years off of her biological age!biggest-loser-final-five

This week’s challenge had the contestants carrying their weight all over again. There were 16 hills to represent each week they’ve all been on the ranch. At each hill, the players will be able to “lose” the amount of weight they lost that week until they get to the final hill and they will symbolically “let go” of their weight by throwing it over the edge. First place winner has the choice between $10,000 and a one pound advantage. Lucky for the second place winner because they get the prize first place doesn’t take. Tara fought her way to first place as Mike brought it in at second place.

During the last chance workout, the trainers were surprised with “Train the Trainer Day,” where the contestants got to give Jillian and Bob a little of their own medicine. But it didn’t last long before Jillian and Bob had everyone on the floor sweating buckets.

This week’s weigh-in will determine who the final four in this game will be. Everyone had an amazing week, but even with his 10 pound loss, Filipe fell below the yellow line. Joining him was Ron who lost 9 pounds. The teams voted to send Filipe home, leaving Ron as part of the final four.

Filipe, who is not only inspiring a nation, he’s inspiring his family and culture to make healthy changes. Since being eliminated Filipe has been paying it forward to family, friends and anyone who wants to join in his backyard exercise group. With Filipe losing more than 140 pounds, he’s going to be tough competition for the at-home prize.

April 29th, 2009

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 0 of 1, 0 total comments)

There is no user feedback yet, leave yours below!


   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




10 Responses to “Coleen’s Biggest Loser Recap 7-17”


Susan
Apr 29th, 2009
4:56 pm

Coleen,

They are all winners just like you guys were. I’m fond of both Tara and Mike. Tara was the first BL contestant to win all the challenges. She came a long way into believing in herself. Kristen made BL history for the woman who lost the most on the ranch. What winner. She only got eliminated because of the eliminator. That was the only thing that I didn’t like about Ron. He did good in taking off his weight and getting healthier though.

Mike, I thought came a long way since the beginning of the season. For a young man his age, he was terrific in this. Plus he did this for his health and well being. A very sincere young man and now athlete. I really believe that he will help his brother at home and take this a long way. I think that he is going to be the winner of season 7 having lost 153 so for b4 he left the ranch. Also both he and Tara are cuties.

Susan


webgoddess
Apr 29th, 2009
9:06 pm

Hey Colleen,

Thanks for another great recap.

I’m sad to see Filipe not make it to the final 4. But I’m okay with the contestants who did. Filipe lost double digits, I’m blown away that double digits wouldn’t earn him a spot in the final four. I’m really glad that he has no regrets because he did do fantastic.

I wish that Tara had taken the 10k, she’d have still been above the yellow line. But I can understand why she didn’t, because doing so would have given Mike the 1-pound advantage, so really she made the right call given the circumstances. Plus I’m okay with them giving it to Mike, I always cringe a bit when players pass up money and it just stays in NBC’s pocket.

Tara is amazing. She has won how many challenges? Probably 80 to 90 percent of them, she even would have won the half marathon had Helen not eaten cookies to handicap her. Tara is my favorite for winning this thing, she’s been my favorite since day one and hasn’t let me down yet.

The at-home prize could really go to anyone. But I’d think that Kristin, Carla, Sione, and Nicole are probably the front-runners along with Filipe.

I guess that Ron’s gameplay has panned out for him, here he is in the final four. I didn’t like him lying to Bob about telling Mike to send Kristin home last week. But I can’t really fault him for playing the game. I also can’t help but admire how far he’s come given his serious health problems and injuries.

Mike is just on fire…his results are really impressive. If Tara doesn’t win this thing, I will be just fine with Mike winning even though I favor Tara. I was very touched by him coaching his brother. I do believe that his journey will inspire his brother’s weight loss and possibly save his brother’s life as well.

Train the trainers was pretty funny. But both Bob and Jill proved that they could take what they dish out.


Jamie
Apr 30th, 2009
10:31 am

Hi Coleen!

I’m really happy to see Mike and Tara in the finale, even though everyone one is a winner for making these dramatic lifestyle changes. It is really something to be proud of. I think it is going to be really interesting to see how it pans out between the finalists. Tara and Helen are already very close to what would be an ideal weight for them. I’m not sure the time-frame between episodes so, it is kind of hard to gauge.

On the other hand Mike is young. Nobody can touch Tara when it comes to drive and motivation, but Mike has his youth and gender on his side. My brother was formerly Mike’s size and lost 100 lbs in 3 months by merely eliminating soda and fried food, and exercising 1 hour daily at age 19. So really I think it is anyone’s game.

For the at home contestants, its so hard to say. I want to root for Daniel because he is from the area that I’m from and I think it would be great if he started as the biggest contestant in history and finished by winning the at-home prize.

I think Nicole, Kristin, and Sione will be very hard to beat. They have proved that they have undergone life changes and want to commit to this new lifestyle. Some of the other at-home contestants will not pose any threats (one in particular who eats at my family’s restaurant, I won’t even tell you what he has).

I’m excited to see the finale! I remember last year watching, wondering who would win the at-home prize…and everyone time someone new is introduced you think it could be them because everyone looks sooo good and has worked sooo hard! Again–regardless of the winner, everyone should be proud of their accomplishments and how they have inspired countless people in our country to make a change in their life.


sue
Apr 30th, 2009
8:23 pm

I surely would love Mikey to kick BL Butt!! I think he is kind, sweet and a inspiration to all!! GO MIKEY!!! Coleen you are beautiful and look amazing!


Melanie
May 5th, 2009
12:56 am

Coleen,

Like you, they are all winners. Here’s my overview on the final four:

1. Tara Costa- She has the determination and willpower to win. I see the drive through her eyes. Tara has won almost every challenge this season. Not to mention, she gives it all at every last chance workout.

2. Mike Morelli- He’s a young guy with a great heart wanting to change his life. Mike’s an inspiration to many teenagers and college students struggling with obesity, including his brother, Max.

3. Ron Morelli- Ron’s a positive role model for all 50-something year old person trying to combat obesity that has plagued most of his life. He has tried every diet, but failed. By being a contestant, Ron has proved to all morbid obese person that the only way to get out of their situation is through diet and exercise.

4. Helen Phillips- An inspirational mother setting an example to her daughter. Like Tara, she gives her heart at every last chance workout.

Before I give my prediction on who will be the next Biggest Loser, I see all of them going the extra mile after the show. Many of them will commit to doing an endurance event such as a triathlon, double century, Ironman, marathon, or century. (btw, I’m training for my 4th triathlon and 6th century over the summer… It was because of you, your father, Jerry, and Michelle that I’ve got the bug! I think you should do one too!)… So, here’s who I think will be this season’s Biggest Loser:

Biggest Surprise: Helen Phillips
Who may win: Mike Morelli
Who will win: Tara Costa!!!!!


JOnathan
May 7th, 2009
1:18 am

Thanks


Lisa
May 7th, 2009
2:16 pm

Wow, all i can say is all of the Biggest loser contestants and Bob and Jilllian are such role models, give us hope that we to can do This too.
That is such a releif to see that there are some caring people in this world and here to make a difference in so many lives.
If it were possible i think Bob and Jill would reach out to everyone and give us that chance to regain our lives and self confidence back .
I hope they know how special and admired they are. I sit home watching the shows and you just can not help but feel close to them, each show has so many heart tugging moments that really make a difference in our lives.
I am so amazed in the before and after of everyone on the show. Also to see Ali come through some battles with weight as well. I truly love her have been watching days since i was little.
I think Tara is going to win
but will not be shocked if Mike wins either.
I just hope Kristin or Carla gets the $100.000.
Way to go, everyone looks so great and are shining stars.
xoxoxo


joan spears
May 7th, 2009
3:43 pm

I hope Ron makes the final. I need him for my weight lost. And I need his inspiration to the weight lost game.

I hope Helen win if he doesn’t.

Joan Spears


sue
May 9th, 2009
7:38 pm

You sure are a great asset to diets in review will you continue? I have a son that is in love with you. I would love to see you marry him!


Amanda
May 10th, 2009
7:53 am

Coleen, you are so impresive.I HOPE TARA COSTA WINS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!