Home > Diets > Jenny Craig Diet Navigation
User Rating

95%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 53 reviews
Jenny Craig

Jenny Craig Review (UPDATED 2018): Don't Buy Before You Read This!

Start the Jenny Craig
with 40% OFF
What is it?

Jenny Craig is a weight loss program that offers consultations, prepacked foods, and motivation to support users. It’s claimed to be an all-encompassing weight loss solution that can promote real change.

It’s made to reduce up to 16 pounds of weight loss in 12 weeks. A standard diet plan will limit calories from 1,200 to 2,300 calories depending on height, gender, and weight loss goals. There’s also a version for people with type 2 diabetes. In reviewing weight loss diets our experts found this diet is a cost-effective and reliable solution. It offers appetite suppression, great variety, and low-calorie meals for lasting weight loss. If you’d like to get good savings on Jenny Craig and also learn about what it has to offer, we suggest clicking on this link.

EDITOR’S TIP: Click here to sign up with Jenny Craig.

Jenny Craig Ingredients and Side Effects

Here are some select ingredients used in the prepackaged foods:

Enriched Flour

Corn Syrup

Soybean Oil

Dextrose

Guar Gum

Carrageenan

Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein

Caramel Color

Sugar

Modified Food Starch

Pea Protein

Oat Fiber

Milk Protein Concentrate

Whole  Grain Oats

Textured Wheat Protein

Corn Syrup: This extracted food syrup is taken from corn and is used as sweetener in foods. This is a cost effective sweetener which is able to provide a pleasant taste without being too expensive to produce.

Carrageenan: Thickener and binder which is extracted from red edible seaweed.  This helps provide a stabilizing effect to make surrounding ingredients easier to control.

Guar Gum: This fiber extract is taken from the guar plant. It’s often added as a thickener and binder which also can aid appetite suppression. It’s typically easy to absorb and may help with digestion. This can aid weight loss since it can fill the stomach up, making a person less likely to want to continue eating. 

Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein: This gluten source is added to foods to provide a unique taste as well as protein. It also provides a pleasant flavor profile, making foods more palatable. There is often some glutamic acid present, which is an important amino acid that can help improve metabolism.

Modified Food Starch: This form of starch is often added to increase viscosity and to create a certain texture.

Our experts have concluded that Jenny Craig can offer effective weight loss support; learn more about it by clicking here.

The full Jenny Craig package has over 100 different kinds of low calorie foods, consultations available in person, on the internet or on the phone, and personal consultations.

It’s advised to choose 5 different menu items and to select a snack of one’s choosing. This is intended to make it easy to eat foods without worrying about calorie counting as each meal is delivered.

It’s claimed that this is a way to lose weight up to 3 times more than if one were to do it on their own. A clinical study into weight loss diets reviewed Jenny Craig and found it:

“Resulted in at least 4.9% greater weight loss at 12 months than control/education and counseling”

So a person weighing 200 pounds would lose on average of 9.8 pounds in a year. This is compared to a plan that would educate a person about weight loss, while also helping guide them in their results. What this shows is that with Jenny Craig there’s even better counseling, weight loss tools, and variety of foods to help users gain noticeable results.

This is also of course an older study which may only show what minimal results are possible, as even more weight loss progress can result if the user follows the plan directly.

Jenny Craig Quality of Ingredients

There are many ingredients we didn’t mention in the above section due to the fact it’s all known ingredients that don’t require much of an explanation. For example in their turkey burgers they add a mixture of vegetables, real turkey, seasoning, and added vitamins and minerals. All of this is wholesome and good enough to satisfy as a full meal.

Their chicken fettuccine is low in calories, high in protein, and it’s made with real Romano cheese, seasoning, milk, macaroni, and of course natural chicken. 

There is also additional support offered by this plan through counseling, which is a great way to optimize your overall commitment to the plan.

Here’s a great promotion being offered on Jenny Craig as well as more useful information you can read about.

The Price and Quality of Jenny Craig

It’s offered at an initial $50 enrollment fee and a $19.99 charge for 3 consultations. For weeklong consultations it’s $39.99 a month without the enrollment fee. This can vary depending on the current promotion, or depending on what kind of things you mix and match.

For the full experience there is a charge for pre-packaged foods which can average $15 to $23

Considering the fact that the whole system is shown to have great weight loss potential that rivals other forms of consultations, this may be a great way for people to see significant weight loss progress. The benefit of having ready to go pre-packaged meals limits the possibility of seeking junk food, and the company offers a great meal plan which has enough variety to prevent boredom.

The additional counseling by the support staff also can keep a person motivated to continue with their weight loss goals. There’s also the customization offered which allows you to take advantage of the parts of the plan which most benefit you. With support offered all over the US Canada and Australia, there are enough locations to help support potential dieters.

Learn about Jenny Craig and what it can offer for weight loss by clicking on this provided link.

Business of Jenny Craig

The name of the company is Jenny Craig, Inc. and their contact information is listed as:

Address: 5770 Fleet Street

                   Carlsbad, California 92008

Phone Number: (866) 706-4042

Email: PR@jennycraig.com

They currently have a great A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, meaning that they haven’t had any outstanding customer related problems. They have only closed complaints which mean that they took care of any customers who had things that needed to be corrected. It highlights that the company has taken the time to reach out to customers and help solve any pending issues.

The company has been around since 1983 and they have over 700 different facilities which all aim to serve those looking to lose weight. 

Research what Jenny Craig has to offer and take advantage of their current promotional offer to get even deeper discounts.

EDITOR’S TIP: Click here to sign up with Jenny Craig.

Customer Opinions of Jenny Craig

Here are some reviews from users of the Jenny Craig system:

“Good assortment for the kinds of foods offered, this was enough to satisfy my appetite”

“Jenny Craig offered me great results and I think it will work for you as long as you stick with it”

“I liked the food even the frozen stuff doesn’t actually taste like it’s frozen”

“Variety was good and I enjoyed the fact that I wasn’t hungry after each meal”

People often said that the foods offered were of a good enough variety, that it was pleasant to eat, and that it helped support their weight loss results. There was also praise for the actual support offered by the counselors, and people felt that they were given dedicated support as well as details about how to carry their new lifestyle goals into practice.

All together people frequently said that they not just were better able to keep the weight off, but that they learned practical advice to help them make better decisions in the future.

Some stories people shared showed how they lost a lot of weight by simply following the plan as described, which many felt didn’t require any difficult effort.

You can take advantage of the great discount offer provided by Jenny Craig when you visit the link here.

Conclusion - Does Jenny Craig Work?

Jenny Craig offers low calorie prepackaged foods as well as counseling for people looking to lose weight. While reducing calories will help with weight loss, it’s important to consider cost. People often had the same praise for it, stating that the variety of foods was good enough and that the results and tips were good enough to pay the asking price. Many had a noticeable improvement in their weight loss, and people commented on how the counseling made it easy to keep off. There is also the great wide availability which allows people to find centers all over the US, Canada, and Australia.

Our review experts have analyzed many kinds of diets, and they found that Jenny Craig offered great reliable support. It offers many easy to make pre-packaged meals which reduce the chance of overeating, and the dedicated counseling offers useful suggestions on how to continue with your weight loss goals.  The suggestions it has for weight loss are practical and don’t rely on crash dieting or fads, its all science based without having to starve customers. If you’d like to take advantage if the current promotion offered by Jenny Craig, then we suggest clicking on this link.



> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 7, 126 total comments)

sheila

awesome food, bit expensive but so worth it !

posted Aug 19th, 2011 6:22 pm


tinamiller1

-

I cannot believe it. I am not a sweet eater but snacker if salty or cheesey. I am not a bread for breakfast eater like pancakes or muffins. I like eggs. So I contact JC and do my plan over the phone only to have my 28 days at $641.34. I am like WHAT??? I do a menu for my husband and myself and spend at the most $50 per person per week. That is $400 a month in food. If I add my spouse on this plan you are talking my mortgage payment. What the hell? For just the food???? So the rep says well you have all these special meals due to you needs and wants. If you do more cereals it is cheaper. I am like I do not eat that stuff. I am not going to eat what I do not like. So I contact Nutrisystem and they have a 28 day plan with meals I like such as egg omlets and vege omlets and tons of great stuff and even salty and cheesey snacks, did not do desserts cuz I cannot have sugar and the plan is $243.06. Ok, I can justify that one. It will be $43.06 more per month per person. I can handle that. So I try the Nutri right and the food is good. JC tried to say well Nutri food is not as good as ours. Really??? Well I find their food pretty tasty. I have been in Nutri now for 3 months and have lost 42lbs. And get this, I do not exercise like treadmill, bike, walk. I do my normal fishing, camping and hunting and activities that I enjoy. I am not an exercise equipment person. It is boring beyond belief. Doctors keep coming up with drugs to make people lose weight and think they need to spend their time and energy on a way to make your brain think you are doing something enjoyable. Wouldn't it be cool to walk on a treadmill but think you are shopping for shoes instead? Everyone would be exercising then. Anyway, JC needs to lower their pricing cuz they are way expensive and I don't care if my friend did them and lost 20 more lbs in the same time period. She spent $478 per 28 days on food. And she is an exercise nut. So I think I got the better deal. If JC was more inline price wise with Nutri I would have done them cuz I did taste one of my friends meals and it is a little tastier than Nutri. But for the price and being on a budget, forget it.

posted Jul 12th, 2011 10:18 am


Diamond

+

Jenny Craig was awesome! I had lost about 66lbs over a year ago... the 30lbs came off the first three months WITHOUT EXCERSIZE!. The other 36lbs I had too exersize off. Laughing out loud. It was three months before my 19th birthday that I had decided to join it! I wish while I was a teen, my mother would've made me go to JENNY. I regret not trying it sooner. It would of saved me years of embarrasment and starvation and a lot of money on phentermine pills!!!! Jenny craig works without a doubt! You have to be really determined and motivated! If you crave something have a piece of it to satisfy yourself! GAIN CONTROL OVER YOUR MIND! IT ALL HAS TO DO WITH HOW YOU WANT TO FEEL MAKE YOURSELF FEEL. IT IS ALL IN THE MIND! I feel anything can work if you PUT YOUR MIND TO IT AND STICK TO IT! IT does not come off overnight however if you do it right you will loose at the bare min 1-3lbs a week! at LEAST 2 LBS FOR SURE, multiply 2lbs a week by 4 weeks in a month is a loss of 8lbs a month!!! that is do able!

posted Apr 4th, 2011 6:41 pm


Mo Rashlid

+

I loved Jenny. She was very helpful to my conquest of my obesity!

posted Apr 1st, 2011 9:50 am


deeoika

-

good at cheating you and getting your money.

posted Mar 19th, 2011 6:51 pm


sid

-

more interested in getting your money by miss guiding you. I lost $ 400 with then what a waste of time money.

posted Mar 19th, 2011 6:46 pm


Katrina

+

The food is great! Ediets is disgusting. Portions are small but your stomach does shrink so you don't really need more. Not all foods were wonderful but some I would eat even when not dieting. The food seems expensive but at the end of 6 weeks, I had actually saved money. I ate less, enjoyed my meals, and lost weight.

posted Jan 9th, 2011 2:25 pm


Hunter Cauthron

+

It's great.

posted Nov 29th, 2010 7:26 pm


Sandy

-

I tried the program for a few weeks and was disappointed in the lack of support from the councelors. They didnt seem to have any "real"training. They said I could tell them things I dont like and they would make sure they werent included in the foods I bought (I hate raisins and mushrooms). They assured me nothing I bought had those 2 things in them, but lots actually did. They obviously didnt know their product. Way too expensive also.

posted Nov 29th, 2010 10:56 am


Tina

-

I and my husband tried to do Jenny Craig together. Since the cost of their frozen meals is outragious and you have to go to the grocery to get fresh fruit and veggies anyway, I got recipes off their website and started making our own meals per their plan. We were told we could no longer use the local center for counceling and weigh in because we weren't purchased the food. It didn't matter that we paid hundreds of dollars to join the program. I am so disgusted with the lack of service from this group, I won't recommend them to anyone who seriously wants help to lose weight.

posted Nov 16th, 2010 5:16 am


K.

The food is good. But I have a huge sweet tooth and they took away all the really fresh tasting baked goods. The muffins, the lemon cake and the chocolate cake ( which delightfully looked just like the one from fast food restaurant Carl's Jr)

Well since it's been replaced by bland tasting mini loaves and "Hostess" like cup cakes that lack that restaurant quality, and 2 of the 3 cheesecakes are tasteless....

I just signed up for Nutrasystem. I've eaten their food before and it is much better for the price.

posted Nov 16th, 2010 12:06 am


val

-

It is not a good program, my consultant was not very supportive. Also received frozen food which gave me food poisoning. There was no return call , They are just in it for the money!

posted Aug 9th, 2010 8:16 am


moo goo

I like it but when you are down do the last ten pounds its ridiculously slow and they counselors dont have any suggestions, other than saying its slower when you dont implement the jenny food as if their food has some magical qualities. You should be able to use your own food and it should works, so I really dont buy the plateau explanation. Also they dont offer a lot of choices for vegetarians, as I was eating pizza and pasta all week when i only used their food.

posted Jul 16th, 2010 11:13 am


Nina

+

I've maintained my weight loss, fluctuating about 7 pounds, but still well below my goal weight for a year today! Great program, great food and awesome consultants.

posted Jul 12th, 2010 8:20 am


shauna

+

i just started jc and i lost 10 lbs. in one week!

it's easy, the work is done for you. just eat the

great food, exercise, and drink your water! it works!

posted May 23rd, 2010 7:02 pm


melanie tabb

never try'd it

posted Jan 26th, 2010 5:08 pm


Carol Ann

+

Easiest diet I ever followed. Where I have always fallen off the wagon before is when I get stressed and am too busy to cook or just don't feel like it. With Jenny when I am stressed I just make a point of following the plan even better at those times. I don't do meals on my own, I just eat the Jenny food and know that way I am on track.

posted Jan 17th, 2010 12:48 pm


Romayne

+


After reading all the comments I'm considering Anne Bartee's suggestion and Jenny Craigin' it on my own. If all else fails & I don't get the results I want I can then pay Jennifer money to show me how to eat to lose weight.

posted Jan 6th, 2010 8:21 pm


se

+

The plan works! I lost 43 lbs over 2 years ago, and I've kept the weight off. I might gain a few pounds here or there, but now that I know how it works, it's easy to bounce back to my goal.

posted Jan 1st, 2010 12:40 pm


A.C. Teeple

+

I lost about 40 pounds on Jenny Craig and, with the exception of playing with 5 pounds here and there, have kept it off. I like that they first teach you portion control through their meals and then gradually reintroduce store-bought food into your diet. The one-on-one interaction with a counselor also helped keep me on track and did not allow me to hide in the back of a meeting.

posted Dec 29th, 2009 8:57 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTSQUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1983
  • Founder: Jenny and Sid Craig
  • Headquarters: Carlsbad, California
  • Stock Symbol: NESN
  • Accessibility: Online, Centers
  • Diet Type: Prepackaged Meals, Portion Control, Low-Calorie, Low-Fat
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Valerie Bertinelli, Jason Alexander, Sarah Rue, Carrie Fisher

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2018?

BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND

With more than 600 centers around the globe and thousands of female followers, Jenny Craig has established itself as a leader in the weight-loss industry since 1983.

The Jenny Craig approach is built on three tenets: food, body and mind. The food element focuses on healthy eating and portion control and also teaches you how to eat the foods you love in moderation, the body element focuses on exercise and overcoming barriers to being physically active. The mind element focuses on positive thinking and getting the support you need to reach your weight loss goals.

The program is most known for its pre-packaged and portion-controlled meals. But Jenny Craig sets itself apart from other meal-delivery diets because as you reach your goal weight, you work closely with Jenny Craig counselors to learn about portion control, healthy cooking and eating at home or while dining out.

With over 2,500 consultants, you have access to one-on-one support in person, online or over the phone to help you eat right, exercise, change habits and overcome obstacles that keep you from your goals.

After an in-depth interview with a Jenny Craig representative, you are given a personalized meal and fitness plan. The two basic programs are the In-Person Support and Jenny Direct programs. With the former, you attend weekly meetings, consultations and food pick-up at your local Jenny Craig center and the latter gives you the same support over the phone and delivers food to your door.

In addition, there are five Jenny Craig plans under the Standard program: Jenny Craig for Women, Jenny Craig for Men, Jenny Craig for Teens, Jenny Craig for Spouses and Jenny Craig for Seniors.

Famous Jenny Craig Spokeswomen include Kirstie Alley, Valerie Bertinelli, Phylicia Rashad, Queen Latifah, Nicole Sullivan and Sara Rue.

Other Jenny Craig plans include:

Jenny Craig at Home: A plan that allows you to complete the Jenny Craig plan from the privacy of your own home.

Jenny Direct: The Jenny Craig program delivered straight to your door.

Jenny Craig for Men: The Jenny Craig plan specifically designed to meet the nutritional needs of men who want to lose weight.

Jenny Craig Silver: The Jenny Craig plan for older adults who want to improve their health.

JENNY CRAIG VIDEOSJENNY CRAIG VIDEOS

Jenny Craig YouTube Channel

Consumer Reports Jenny Craig vs. NutriSystem Taste Test

Flashmob Surprises Jenny Craig Celebrities

PROPRO
  • Features a one-on-one relationship with counselor
  • Menu includes a wide-variety of foods
  • Program has a long history and is a trusted brand in weight loss programs
  • Prepackaged foods offer convenience
  • No food groups are off limits
  • Named #2 in the Best Commercial Diets by US News, 2011
CONCON
  • May be a challenge to transition from the company's prepackaged meals to "real" food
  • Low-calorie diet may be too strict
  • Weekly in-person meetings can sometimes be inconvenient
  • Financial responsibility of prepacked meals may not be a long-term healthy eating solution
USER REVIEWSUSER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

The food is great! Ediets is disgusting. Portions are small but your stomach does shrink so you don't really need more. Not all foods were wonderful but some I would eat even when not dieting. The food seems expensive but at the end of 6 weeks, I had actually saved money. I ate less, enjoyed my meals, and lost weight. - Katrina 1/9/11

I tried the program for a few weeks and was disappointed in the lack of support from the counselors. They didnt seem to have any "real" training. They said I could tell them things I dont like and they would make sure they werent included in the foods I bought (I hate raisins and mushrooms). They assured me nothing I bought had those 2 things in them, but lots actually did. They obviously didnt know their product. Way too expensive also. - Sandy 11/29/10

I've maintained my weight loss, fluctuating about 7 pounds, but still well below my goal weight for a year today! Great program, great food and awesome consultants. - Nina 7/12/10

Easiest diet I ever followed. Where I have always fallen off the wagon before is when I get stressed and am too busy to cook or just don't feel like it. With Jenny when I am stressed I just make a point of following the plan even better at those times. I don't do meals on my own, I just eat the Jenny food and know that way I am on track. - Carol Ann 1/17/10

I lost about 40 pounds on Jenny Craig and, with the exception of playing with 5 pounds here and there, have kept it off. I like that they first teach you portion control through their meals and then gradually reintroduce store-bought food into your diet. The one-on-one interaction with a counselor also helped keep me on track and did not allow me to hide in the back of a meeting. - A.C. 12/29/09

DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

The program's success is in the Jenny Craig food, which offers convenience with portioned and calorie-controlled pre-packaged meals. The Jenny Craig plan has a daily caloric intake of 1,200-1,300 and contains 50% to 60% carbohydrate, 20% to 25% protein, and 20% to 25% fat.

Dieters eat 6 times a day, which includes 3 meals and 3 snacks.

Meals are either picked up at Jenny Craig centers or delivered straight to your door. There are four different menu options with Jenny Craig. You can customize your own meals, order pre-planned meals, enjoy an all-vegetarian menu or select a menu specifically designed for adolescents.

Eating on the Jenny Craig program can be easy because most of your meal is provided for you. Jenny Craig foods are paired with your own grocery foods like fruits, vegetables, low-fat dairy, whole grains and heart-healthy fats. Low glycemic veggies can eaten in limitless portions. Although the meals are prepackaged, the makeup of the foods you eat will set you up for how you should eat to maintain a balanced diet.

Jenny Craig uses the Volumetrics® approach which encourages consuming low-calorie, nutrient dense foods high in water, fiber and protein to help dieters feel fuller longer.

A dining out guide is also included so that you can eat out without sabotaging your weight loss goals. No foods are off limits on the Jenny Craig program. You work with a counselor to learn how to safely incorporate your favorite foods into your healthy eating plan.

In 2015, Jenny Craig's packaging was redesigned to help members make more informed nutrition decisions and encourage members to get creative with their meals and make their own unique recipes.

EXERCISEEXERCISE

On Jenny Craig you are given a personalized activity and motivational plan to get you moving more. When you meet with your consultant in the Jenny Craig office, they will help you personalize your fitness plan. This can also be done online for those that are doing the at-home delivery program. You will work to develop an approach to fitness that starts where you are now and builds on that. You will also be identifying personal barriers to your physical activity so that you can work to remove those and stay focused on the benefits of exercise.

Consultants work with members to achieve 10,000 steps a day through habit change and intentional exercise.

The Jenny Craig activity plan centers around three kinds of activities. The first are natural activities like house cleaning, shopping and gardening. Next are planned activities such as doing cardio at the gym or taking a yoga or aerobics class. Last are playful activities like taking a dance class or playing football with your kids.

Over time you gradually increase your activity through these three elements and you learn how to incorporate more movement into your day.

Your planned exercises will include a combination of cardio, resistance and stretching activities. The Jenny Craig program strongly recommends exercise while on the program so that you can have an established habit to maintain your weight loss after you’ve reached your goal weight. Some of the outlined planned exercise options as well as the playful options are listed below:

  • Weightlifting
  • Walking
  • Yoga
  • Kickboxing
  • Aerobic Dance
  • Dancing
  • Bicycling
  • Playing Basketball
  • Playing Tag with the Kids
JENNY CRAIG FAQJENNY CRAIG FAQ

Common questions asked about the Jenny Craig program by our community. Click to see the full answer.

Is the Jenny Craig food frozen or freeze-dried? - Celia 6/18/11

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

With its focus on food, body and mind, Jenny Craig is a well-rounded weight loss program that offers the training and support you need to achieve your weight loss goals. Its varied programs and pre-packaged meals and snacks offers the convenience of healthy eating in combination with a personalized plan that fits your lifestyle.

While most pre-packaged meal weight loss programs don't provide you with any information on how to prepare and eat healthy meals on your own, Jenny Craig offers support that educates you on healthy cooking and eating.

See the Official Jenny Craig Web Site

JENNY CRAIG SLIDESHOWSJENNY CRAIG SLIDESHOWS

View About Jenny Craig Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Jenny Craig

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

JENNY CRAIG RESOURCESJENNY CRAIG RESOURCES

Jenny Craig on Facebook

Jenny Craig on Twitter

Jenny Craig on IMDB

Jenny Craig Good Morning America Statement

Jenny Craig at Wikipedia

Jenny Craig Contact InformationJenny Craig Contact Information
Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

JennyCraig, Jenny Criag, Jennie Craig, Jenny Craig deit, Jenny Craig diet, Jennie Craig diet, Jennie Craig deit, jennycraig.com

Sign up with Jenny Craig
and get 40% OFF