Home > Diets > Diet-to-Go Diet Navigation
User Rating

92%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 163 reviews
Diet to Go

NEW Diet-to-Go Diet Review 2017 [MUST READ]: Does It Really Work?

A leading meal delivery diet with a new approach to its healthy menu offerings.

START THE DIET-TO-GO DIET WITH 40% OFF
What is it?

Diet-to-Go is a meal delivery service offering low calorie foods for weight loss. It provides personalized portion controlled foods that are claimed to be tasty and made according to one’s preferences.

There are 3 different menus offered which are dependent on if one is limiting carbohydrates, concerned about diabetes, or want the basic meal plan. It claims to be a convenient way to have foods prepared, and different locations are available for pickup as well as direct delivery. This diet plan was rated as being one of the best options for comprehensive weight loss support and nutritional guidance. To review Diet-To-Go from the official website, click on this link.

Learn more about this diet on official website

Diet-to-GoDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

Different food options are offered depending on what one’s specific needs are. The kinds of foods one will eat according to the standard meal plan can include:

         • Bistro chicken salad.

         • Barbecue chicken.

         • Turkey picadillo.

         • Orange roughy fish.

         • Whole wheat bagel.

         • Kale & swiss frittata.

There are several different food options, and they flash freeze meals to help preserve quality. This means that one can heat up their foods using a microwave where no other preparation is needed, simplifying the process of dieting. You can then minimize any prep time and have full meals ready to go by simply heating them.

There are also 4 different plans offered:

• Balance: This is the standard meal plan that the company has been using for over 20 years. It offers vegetarian and seafood free options. It’s said to be formulated with the guidance of chefs and nutritionists. According to the manufacturers, this is their most popular option.

• Balance Diabetes: This is made under the guidelines proposed by the American Diabetes Association. This is meant for those who have type-2 diabetes, or who are concerned about regulating their blood sugar. It has a balanced ratio of carbohydrates, and it’s made for people looking to lose between 5 to 10 pounds. It offers fewer carbohydrates than the Balance option.

• Carb30: Only 30 net carbohydrates are offered per meal. Net carbohydrates are calculated when one subtracts the carbohydrates from the fiber in a food. There’s no sugar, fruit, bread, or other carbohydrates offered. The kinds of meals are heavy on protein and it includes pork chip breakfast, beef short ribs, chicken alfredo, Indian turkey tenderloin, andouille sausage, and much more. It tends to be more meat based than the other plans.

• Vegetarian: For non-meat eaters this version offers heart healthy foods which are low in cholesterol, sodium, fats, and carbohydrates. The protein source comes foods such as beans, eggs, dairy, and a touch of soy.

The kinds of foods allowed range from protein rich meats to burgers, pastas, fruits, and egg based dishes. The premise of the diet is simple; introduce reduced calorie meals that only have to be heated. Since men and women’s options are available, the difference in calories can result in weight loss. This is because one is receiving less than the standard 2,000 calories a day as is often suggested in US based nutrition facts panels. To read reviews and to learn about what kinds of weight loss success you can achieve via the Diet-To-Go plan, click here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Get discount on this diet plan by clicking here.

Diet-to-GoDiet Quality of Ingredients

The company focuses on providing fresh and healthy foods including healthy grains, vegetables, lean protein, complex carbohydrates, and all via complete meals. You can review the kinds of meals offered and see what a sample week would look like for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

The official website does mention:

“you can order with confidence knowing there are no surprises; just fresh, healthy, delicious meals”

This is because they provide many kinds of whole foods which are nutrient dense, appetite soothing, and are well-rounded enough. They don’t focus on providing any fad diet kinds of foods, instead it’s meant to be balanced so you get the right amount of macronutrients that the body needs to stay healthy. Review this diet and see what kind of menu options you have available by visiting their official website linked here.

The Price and Quality of Diet-to-Go Diet

The price depends on the specific plan chosen. There’s a vegetarian, seafood free, and a men’s and women’s version. The men’s offers 1,600 calories; the women’s has 1,200 calories a day.

You can select either a weeks or 5 days’ worth of meals or even 3 to 2 meals daily.

The price for a total of 3 meals a day for a full week in the original “Balance” diet for men’s is $183.59 per week. This can be broken down into 51 meals for a cost of each meal being $3.59.

This is more than a fair price when you consider the kinds of foods you’ll be eating. There’s also the great benefit of the food being top quality, since they focus on providing natural foods which are balanced. The variety is sufficient enough where customers can expect that their taste buds will be satisfied. To find out about this diet plan and see what the food options are and how much weight loss is possible, click this link.

Business of Diet-to-Go Diet

The name of the company is also Diet-to-Go; they can be contacted via the following:

Phone Number: (800) 743-7546

Email: support@diettogo.com

The company offers a credit for any food that was spoiled, impaired, or damaged if it’s a result of shipping. They also provide a return of shipping costs. You can even make a return if for anyone reason you aren’t a fan of the foods or service provided.

The company has teamed up with certain gyms and convenience stores where one can pick up their foods. They also offer direct shipments nationwide via their frozen foods.

Provided on their official website is different successful weight loss stories, and they occasional offer discounts. They have been well-reviewed as far as their customer satisfaction rating and treatment of customers.

Review the Diet-To-Go plan further by reviewing great customer testimonials and much more via their website.

Customer Opinions of Diet-to-Go Diet

Here are some quotes from customers:

“After trying out just a few days worth of food I was very impressed. Really fresh tasting and its good enough to satisfy my appetite”

“My first run with this diet and I really love it. They make it easy to pick what you want as well”

“Been using it for a month and I lost a total of 18 lbs. So good for me no prep and it’s quick and painless”

“So happy with my results I ended up going down 6 lbs in just a week”

Overall many customers enjoyed the ease of preparation, the quality of foods, and people often said they were able to manage their weight easier. It was common to hear people say that unlike other diet plans, this one helped them lose weight. Many were impressed with the overall quality as they didn’t think flash frozen foods would be as good as a freshly cooked meal.

People also added that they could see themselves using this diet long term, as it offered enough variety and wholesome food to satisfy their taste buds. This is especially important as it ensures that this is not a crash or fad diet, instead it is made to help one regulate their weight long-term so there are no fluctuations or hunger pains.

It’s commonly seen by examining reviews online that with this diet there’s a potential for losing weight while still feeling energetic and healthy. So it’s made to be sustainable for repeat use.

Find out about what kinds of weight loss results you can achieve via this diet plan by clicking here.

Conclusion - Does Diet-to-Go Diet  Work?

The Diet-to-Go plan is made to help provide weight loss via a ready to heat series of directly delivered frozen and freshly made foods. If one lives near a center they even offer unfrozen foods, and support is offered for men, women, vegetarians, and those with carbohydrate limits or blood sugar concerns. Many users have said that they greatly enjoyed the overall quality that the food tasted great, and that weight loss came with ease. There are also success stories on the website which highlight some of the benefits users have experienced.

Because of all the positive things discovered about this diet plan and seeing how it promoted weight loss in many, our review experts have rated it as one of the best diets for weight loss. The variety and quality of foods was enough to satisfy people and it provides a wealth of nutrients to support the body when one is reducing calories. Best of all there are many food options that you can select from to help ensure you never get bored. Due to the overwhelming support from customers it’s clear that this is well-rounded enough to be usable long-term, while offering stable weight loss results.

Get a hold of Diet-To-Go, see what foods are offered, and check out glowing reviews by visiting their official website linked here.



> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 10 of 10, 198 total comments)

Irene

+

I have been on the low carb program for about 5 days. Overall I like it. I decided to try the full brkfst, lnch, din, until I lose my first 15 lbs. Then I will switch to lunch and dinners only.

I would say that so far, I like 85% of the food. The sauces are tasty. But like some people have complained, the vegetables can be watery. They use a lot of califlower and green/red bell peppers. The chicken and fish dishes are the best so far.

I have lost 3 lbs so far, but it could be water weight.

posted Dec 13th, 2008 10:47 am


Irene

+

Im going to try the program. Im nervous about whether or not I'll like the food. Ive seen mixed reviews here. The customer service guy was friendly but a little bit unprofessial....it made me concerned about giving a stranger my credit card number because it sounded like he was in his living room.

posted Dec 6th, 2008 11:21 pm


jill

+

In my 3rd week and so far I have been very impressed. The food is a lot better then I thought it would be and I love the convenience. The breakfasts are mostly bagels and muffins, wich is dissapointing. But the price is great and the other companies that offer more deluxe breakfasts with more snacks are pricier. I would recommend this plan without hesitation.

posted Nov 30th, 2008 10:19 pm


Donna

+

Excellent fresh food, very tasty!. I am on the 1200 cal VEG diet, losing weight slowly but steadily.
Really nice people to deal with, mine is mail order and has to travel 3000 miles to me and is always ice cold/frozen. Lots of variety, fresh made, and I am never hungry. Easy to take lunches to work: everyone is jealous!

posted Oct 29th, 2008 2:28 pm


CP Davis

+

I started Diet to Go over the summer, but due to financial constraints and work related travel, I stopped in early August. After gaining back the 10 lbs I lost in July using the program, and joining a gym, I decided I needed to get back with the program. The great thing is they automatically substitute for my food allergies and having done a complete 5 week cycle, I know what items I don't like. I highly recommend it to anyone who is not feeding a family as the cost for me equals what I spend trying to buy a healthy variety of food at the grocery.

posted Oct 22nd, 2008 10:30 pm


CJS

Followup to earlier comment. I've now been on Diet-to-Go (Low-Fat Plan, Mail-Order) for over three months, and have lost 16 pounds. Substituted the meals I didn't care for with meals I like. They've had a slight price increase plus I pay a bit more because I substitute many meals due to my personal taste, but now that I have the menu how I want it I look forward to meals, and feel like I have my own personal chef. Any errors with meals (at the beginning) or problems with shipping have been remedied immediately, and credit applied promptly. Definitely recommend DTG.

posted Sep 15th, 2008 9:00 am


Kathy

I love this diet "BUT" ..... I don't seem to be losing much weight. :( Has anyone else had this problem with this diet? Hints? Thanks & best of luck!

posted Aug 14th, 2008 10:04 am


Karyn

I just LOVE Diet To Go! It's so convenient and tastes wonderful! I've learned which meals are my favs and simply substitute them for ones that are excellent, but just not my favorite type of food. The Ham Salad, Ham & Cheese and Tuna Melt lunches are delicious! The dinners ...... Whitefish Parmesean, Barbecue Chicken, Spaghetti pie, Chicken Pizza ..... all DELICIOUS! This is the most convenient and tastiest diet I've EVER done in my 40+ years. I "have" to lose weight for health reasons and am so thankful that this service is available. Yes, it's costly, "but" if you factor in your time and the cost of gas to go grocery shopping and then cook ..... it's so worth it! :) Best of luck! You will LOVE this diet. :)

posted Jul 29th, 2008 10:34 pm


Mark

I've been on the program for a few weeks. It has been pretty good. I don't do the breakfasts, but the lunches and dinners have been great. Much better than a lean cuisine. You can get the program online or you can e-mail the guy I got it from if you're in the D.C./NOVA area. His name is Jeff and his e-mail is

posted Jun 29th, 2008 5:50 pm


CJS

Ending my third week on this plan. First week was great, second a little less so, this last week was tough. Not a fan of many of the seasonings and sauces so have requested several replacement meals for the future. Weight has dropped but many meals tossed this last week. Trying to hang in for one full menu cycle and then decide whether to continue.

posted Jun 26th, 2008 8:29 am


Angie

I've been on Diet 2 Go now for 15 days and so far I've lost 6 pounds. In my opinion the food is very tasty. You have to have an open mind on some of the dishes if you aren't used to gourmet food. It's perfect for my busy lifestyle having breakfast, lunch and dinner already prepared for me is wonderful.

posted Jun 17th, 2008 2:48 pm


Brin

We have been on this diet for 2 weeks. The first week, we tried to get through the flavorless and watery meals. The second week we began cheating more and more because we just couldn't stomach some of the entrees. Also, do not bother ordering breakfast unless you're so busy you can't toast a bagel. It's not worth the extra cost and the egg dishes are pretty nasty. The breakfast pizza was probably the best breakfast entree. Some things like the tuna melts were good for lunch. The dinners were just okay to bad. We actually think the food is worse than airline food. My husband has lost about 10 pounds, but that's because he basically threw away half of his meals. We ate salads in between with lemon juice just to have some substance. We're going to quit this week and eat Lean Quisine meals instead. This diet promises good food. We never felt like it was good. If you do go for Diets to Go, add salsa and tomato sauce to your grocery list. You'll need it.

posted May 13th, 2008 9:25 pm


Wandiki

The food is good, fresh and very well thought out. As always read the print and ask questions they tell you up front that your credit card will be charged weekly unless you call to stop the orders. I love it as a single woman with a very busy work and social schedule this is the answer for me. If I am going out to dinner I eat my dinner before I go and then only eat (pick) at a salade.

posted Apr 11th, 2008 3:19 pm


jenni

food is good, but be warned that they are repeat orders unless you cancel...i did not know and they charged my card over the limit and would not refund...difficult customer service


Anonymous

I have been using Diet to Go for about 4 months and love it. The food is pretty good (I have come to know things I don't like so I now put in substitution orders) and the convenience is the best. Portions are good - I do lunch and dinner 6 days a week and it costs $98 weekly.


Anonymous

medifast was the nastiest thing i have evr tried. the food is all soybased and it taste very gritty and chalky. if you can abandon your taste buds, go for it, but if not please don't. i stuck with it for 2 weeks and it was really depressing. the only thing that came close to being decent was the meal bars and you can only have one a day.


ael

I've been using Diet-to-go on and off for about two months. It's very convenient and the food is pretty tasty (especially the dinners.) Because of work and travel, I haven't been able to stick with the 7-day, three-meals-a-day plan so I go back and forth between the 5-day, two-meals-a-day Action Plan and just have the dinners. I am losing weight slowly (which is what I wanted) and feel a lot better too. I've learned a lot about portion sizes and eating better by being on this plan. The cost is reasonable for someone like me who is single and eats out a lot anyway. You do have to eat the food within about a week because it's all fresh, frozen food. I love to eat lots of different foods and I love gourmet and the Diet-to-go food is very tasty.


Jodie_P

Has anyone tried Diet to go? I was thinking of trying Medifast, Zone Diet or Nutrisystem. They are all rather expensive so I would like to get some feedback first.



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTSQUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1991
  • Founder: Hilton Davis
  • Headquarters: Lorton, VA
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Food delivery, low-fat, low-carb, vegetarian
  • Gender: Male and female

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2017?

BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND

It's no wonder we struggle to maintain our weight. With busy work, family and social commitments, our chaotic lifestyles leave us little time to plan and prepare healthy meals. As a result, weight loss and health become less of a priority. Diet to Go offers the solution to finding the balance between your hectic life and desire to eat nutritious meals. Diet to Go is a delivery service that offers delicious meals, either via a fresh delivery or frozen delivery.

With the Diet to Go meal delivery plans, there are three options to choose from. Whether you choose the low-fat, low-carbohydrate or vegetarian meal plan, there is a 100 percent guarantee that you will be satisfied with your food. Diet to Go has been helping people lose weight for over 20 years and the plans are customizable to fit your schedule and budget. The goal of Diet to Go is to provide fresh and healthy food in the proper portion sizes that is delicious and makes weight loss easy. Within the three different meal plans, you can also choose to do fresh local pickup if it is available in your area, or simply have it delivered via FedEx. The low-fat meal plan is the most popular of the meal plans while the low-carb plan is slightly more expensive.

PROPRO
  • Provides a structured eating plan for busy people
  • Meets broad nutritional standards
  • Supports efforts for weight loss
  • Offers convenience
  • Broad selection in menu choices, including vegetarian and low-carb
  • Shipping available nationwide for frozen meals
  • Competitively priced
  • Fresh service limits any need for grocery shopping
  • Variety of pricing structures to meet your schedule and budget
  • You won't feel hungry
CONCON
  • May not be cost effective for entire families
  • Must provide own fresh vegetables with the frozen delivery option
  • Fresh delivery not available in all areas
DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

This Virginia-based company has cut out all the usual diet work of counting calories and carbs and simply delivers meals to your home that meet your dietary needs, be it reduced-fat, low-calorie, low-carb or even vegetarian.

Diet to Go offers meals that meet the guidelines of the American Heart Association, American Cancer Society, American Diabetes Association and the American Dietetic Association, maintaining standards with low-fat, low-sodium and low-cholesterol meals.

Diet to Go works to help you lose weight without the complications of meal planning and cooking. The meal plans are based on research and eliminate the need to count calories. If you find there is a meal that you don’t care for, you can fill out a substitution form to have a different meal sent on your next order. For the low-fat menu option, you can choose from a meal plan that offers 1,200 or 1,600 calories daily. These meals are low in sodium and include all of your fruits, vegetables and condiments. Some of the low-fat menu items you can choose from include:

  • Harissa Salmon
  • BBQ Chicken
  • Chicken Parmesan
  • Curry Shrimp
  • Italian Meatballs

The low-fat vegetarian meal plan is great for those that prefer to leave meat out of their diet. This type of menu helps keep your eating healthy while being satisfying and giving you the essential protein your body needs. As with the low-fat meal plan, the vegetarian plan offers 1,200 and 1,600 calorie options. The vegetarian meal plan does contain dairy and eggs so it wouldn’t be suitable for those that eat a vegan diet. These meals are low in sodium and include fresh and natural ingredients. Some of the vegetarian meal options you have to choose from are:

  • Vegetarian Burrito
  • Black Bean Chili
  • Chana Masala
  • Eggplant Parmesan
  • Armenian Stew

The last meal plan option is the low-carb plan. This plan offers five weeks of menus of freshly prepared food with no additives. Instead of counting calories each day, these meals are measured by their level of net carbs. With this meal plan, you will consume 30 net carbs each day, receive all of the sides and condiments you need and be following an Atkins style low-carb program. Diet to Go takes all of the guess work out of losing weight. Some of your sample meals with the low-carb program are listed below.

  • Chicken Italiano
  • Herbed Catfish
  • Chicken Alfredo
  • Beef Pot Roast
  • Cod Loin with Lemon Herb Sauce

If you are receiving the fresh-prepared meal, you'll find little need to go to the grocery store, as the meals come accompanied by generous portions of fruits, vegetables, smoothies, bread or rice, and other sides.

If you are receiving the frozen meal service, you will want to compliment each meal with the healthy sides of your choosing.

EXERCISEEXERCISE

Diet to Go focuses on the meal portion of a healthy lifestyle so there are no specific exercise recommendations provided. There are some articles available through the Diet to Go blog that can help guide your fitness and exercise to work well with the meal plan for maximum results.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

As with any meal delivery service, it may be a financial extravagance for some. However, compared to its competitors and for the quality of the product, Diet to Go is reasonably priced.

Whether using Diet to Go to help you manage your own weight loss goals, or seeking it as a solution to provide your family more balanced and varied meals, this meal delivery program provides a well-structured, tasty, variety that supports your goals.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

diettogo, diet 2 go, diet-2-go, deit to go, diets to go

AuthorAuthor

by

USER REVIEWSUSER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

The food was way better than what I had anticipated. I’m really glad that DTG is very affordable. I can finally experience a meal replacement program that consists of real food. -- Jemay Cinco

I was not disappointed. I real like the meal selections. Works great for me. -- FITGURL

I have really enjoyed just about every single meal I have had this week … I lost 1.5 pounds in 3 days and I love the convenience. I would recommend to anyone sitting on the fence. -- Jenny

Well-balanced meals that are extremely convenient. I can't figure out how they manage to keep the vegetables so fresh, though they do. -- Lori Jo Vest

SIGN UP WITH DIET TO GO
AND GET 40% OFF