Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

29%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 218 reviews
Cabbage Soup Diet

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

Top Rated Diets of 2017
What is it?

Cabbage Soup Diet is a weight loss plan said to be a short term solution for 10 pounds of weight loss in a week. It emphasizes eating an unlimited amount of cabbage soup, and many different websites offer different variations.

Generally, one is allowed to eat certain added fruits and vegetables depending on the day of the diet. It’s unknown who came up it with this plan, but it’s believed to have started in the 1980’s. It’s considered a crash diet, and much like other similar diets is advised only for a few days with no guarantee of long term weight loss. Our experts reviewed many diets and found the 18Shake Diet to be the best solution for weight loss. Discover more about the 18Shake Diet by clicking on the link found here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2017?

Cabbage Soup Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The Cabbage Soup Diet dies not rely on diet pills or pre-packaged foods, all the food eaten have to be prepared. One website that promotes the Cabbage Soup Diet says:

“not suitable for long-term weight loss”

It’s instead intended:

“If you have a special occasion coming up or you simply need to lose weight fast”

Often it will be advised that in order to maintain the diet one should follow these rules:

  • Drink a minimum of 4 glasses of water.
  • Take a multivitamin.
  • Eating as much soup as possible, not starving oneself.
  • Introducing different recipes to avoid boredom.

A 2 week break is recommended for people who want to restart the diet. Cabbage isn’t the only produce allowed; one can also add things like onions, celery, asparagus, zucchini, squash, barley, some meats, and many different seasonings.

Though this can be healthy, relying on it solely can potentially lead to nutritional deficiencies. Web MD also adds:

“this crash diet won’t help you in the long run, and it doesn’t give your body the nutrients it needs to stay healthy”

Furthermore, they add:

“Health experts don’t recommend following very low-calorie diets unless you’re under a doctor’s care”

This is due to there being numerous damaging health effects that the diet can have. A list of the highest rated diet plans is found in the link provided here.

The results of this diet are not likely to continue, as Web MD confirms:

“you’ll like regain any weight that you lose”

“It will likely leave you feeling hungry, weak, and bored. You might even feel sick”

This is because there’s a lack of adequate food options. It’s not offered as a long term solution, and instead is said to be a quick weight loss solution. There’s one Cabbage Soup Diet website that admits:

“A lot of people quit because the soup can be a bit bland, and they quickly tire of eating it every day”

There are several considerations to keep in mind. It’s not recommended for long-term use, and it’s believed the only reason one might lose weight is due to water weight and not fat. Live Strong.com adds:

“It’s possible to lose as much as 20 pounds of body weight during one week, most of which is water”

This is likely the reason why one sees any weight loss from this diet, since it’s low in carbohydrates and high in fluids, most water weight is flushed out of the body. As you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Cabbage Soup Diet”, many customers regained their weight as soon as they stopped the diet.

One popular variation of the diet allows for the following:

  • Day one: Unlimited fruit except for bananas alongside water, tea, and coffee.
  • Day two: No fruit, only raw vegetables and one baked potato
  • Day three: Unlimited fruits and vegetables except for potatoes and bananas.
  • Day four: 8 bananas and unlimited skimmed milk.
  • Day five: 6 tomatoes and 565g of beef
  • Day six: Unlimited vegetables and beef but no potatoes.
  • Day seven: Some brown rice and sugar free fruit juice.

A comprehensive list of the top 10 diet plans is offered in the link provided here.       

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Cabbage Soup Diet Quality of Ingredients

Many of the ingredients are healthy as it relies on fresh produce and grains. However, there is an issue with boredom as the same basic good groups have to be eaten repeatedly.

Also, there’s no science that eating only cabbage soup is healthy and safe. A Dr. Melinda Ratini says:

“You’ll likely get less than 1,000 calories a day on the limited menu. That’s far fewer than the 2,000 daily calories recommended for most adults”

“The pounds come off quickly, but mostly you’ll lose water weight”

“chances are, you’ll regain it all back as soon as you start eating a normal diet again”

The diet was made to help one with weight loss in a one week period, but this does not mean it will help with long term weight loss. Health experts also agree it’s likely not a quality solution for weight loss due to its limited food options. A top 10 list of the highest ranked diet plans is offered in the link provided here.

The Price and Quality of Cabbage Soup Diet

The price depends on where one gets their grocery from, as no prepackaged foods are needed.

The diet does advise to get a multivitamin, due to the lack of food options that are high in nutrients. It’s also necessary to eat unlimited amounts of cabbage soup. This means one will have to cook for the full 7 days, as the diet also limits the kinds of seasonings through reducing sodium provided from salt.

Due to the lack of clinical studies proving that this is an effective and safe weight loss solution, it’s a very poor diet. A comprehensive top 10 list features the highest rated diet pills.

The Mayo Clinic also had this to say:

“Fad diets like this one may be tempting, but keep in mind that long-term weight loss depends on making lasting healthy changes”

The changes needed in this diet are too short term to truly be a quality solution for weight loss.

Business of Cabbage Soup Diet

It’s unknown who created this diet, though many websites offer books and tips. Each group offers slightly different advice, with the only key thing being that you can only eat cabbage soup alongside some fruits and vegetables for a total of 7 days.

The diet will often be presented in either a free format via a PDF, or through a book. There are no claims that anyone made this diet, though each book claims it has the optimal guide. There are often recipe books offered as well as tips.

No studies or proof that this diet actually works and is safe is available anywhere. This makes it impossible to determine why the diet was created and suggested in the way it’s displayed. It also allows many different groups to make claims about what to add to the diet, without providing any proof. Our experts compiled a list of the highest rated diet plans in the list featured here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Cabbage Soup Diet

Here are some reviews from users who have used this diet:

“Cabbage soup is not a filler upper”

“I see no real physical weight loss”

“have quite a headache”

“worst heart burn I have ever had”

People did mention they lost weight, but that they often gained it all back one they resumed eating. This makes sense as it’s likely the only reason one is losing weight is due to water weight.

Some also experienced side effects such as gas, bloating, and nausea. There were also concerns from people that they quickly became bored of it, and that they often felt like quitting. A list of the highest ranked diet plans is available in the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Cabbage Soup Diet Work?

There are many things to consider about the Cabbage Soup Diet. There’s no science or proof that this diet actually works, and that’s why there’s many different variations on it. Many people who tried it say they regained all their weight loss, which is common for crash diets that serve to reduce water weight instead of fat. Health experts on the Mayo Clinic and Web MD website also confirm its likely not safe or effective for real weight loss.

The highest rated diet plan of 2016 was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It combines a high protein, appetite suppressing meal replacement as well as a natural stimulant free metabolism booster. Many customers say it’s effective for weight loss, and that it’s easy to use. There are no added filler ingredients, stimulants, or processed additives. It contains only natural extracts and ingredients clinically shown to help with weight loss. Many users have left glowing testimonials and positive reviews on their website.

The 18Shake Diet offers its supplements with a full 30 day money back guarantee. Returns are allowed within these 30 days with no risk and no questions asked. Learn more about the 18Shake Diet by clicking the link provided here.

How Does Cabbage Soup Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Cabbage Soup Diet
  • 29 /100
  • .
  • .



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 17 of 37, 725 total comments)

Vanessa

+

I love the soup! I feel great and know that it works because I have already lost 8lbs in just 5 days. Keep with it and the reward will be seen at the end of your weight loss journey! Be sure to have your healthy eating plan already in place after you lose all of the weight that you want to lose. That is key; to making this a permanent solution!

posted Mar 12th, 2010 1:09 pm


nadz

-

doesnt work i passed out and had a consion... beacuse i was sooo tired. It lacks nutrition. STOP the crazyness just eat healthy meaning...stop eating meat, suger, and salt, DUHHH. AAND EXCERSIE

posted Mar 12th, 2010 9:05 am


Maya

I started on Monday and today was my 3rd day; I lost only 1 lb. I was wondering to know if I am doing something wrong or I have to wait until the last day to see how much I lose? any comment?

posted Mar 11th, 2010 2:25 am


nicole

+

I started this diet on Monday today is day two and i have lost 3.1 lbs. It is very hard and yesterday I was so grummy and I was so hungry I had to bring myself to eat a very light salad because I was getting a headache from not eating much of anything. It is a great way to lose weight just have to have teh will power.

posted Mar 9th, 2010 1:49 pm


Lee

I did the CSD late 2008 for 4 weeks and lost 36 pounds. I am 5'6" and went from 148 pounds to 112 pounds. Afterwards I stuck to a low fat, low sugar eating plan.

It's now Mar 2010 and I've only gained 4 pounds back but will do the CSD again for 1-2 weeks. I add more cabbage than recommended, puree the soup and add some chilli. We don't have Lipton in Australia so I just add a lentil soup mix. It's very thick and very filling.

posted Mar 9th, 2010 9:46 am


Stephanie

Very effective soup. Should see results immediately. However not healthy to continue for a long period of time. Should consider what to eat after you finish the plan, or else you will regain weight. I am in day 4 :) almost finished.



Good luck ;)



posted Mar 9th, 2010 5:07 am


lisa

My friend that lost the 25lbs in 1 week didnt do any exercise or anything. He just ate whatever the diet required. But he did drink a ton of water.

As for myself, I weighed myself on day 5, and I had lost 11lbs already!!! I'm on my last day today. But I think I'll weigh myself in the morning. But I do plan on continuing the program. I'm just sure if I'm gonna take 1 day off in between weeks. I have a cruise to go on in April, so i must get this weigh off as much as possible.

posted Mar 6th, 2010 8:43 pm


brandi

+

I tried this diet 3 years ago when i was thin but didnt have the will power...I had my daughter a yr ago and gained a god bit of weight and I need to lose alot of weight I know i can do this i went out and bought 60$ worth or fruits and veggies and soup ingredients....I hope to lose a good 10 lbs ....as of right now and start back up and keep at it till im down to 150.... SO TOMORROW IS DAY 1.....we will see also i plan on A HR of EXERSIZE A DAY..>>ILL KEEP YOU UPDATED

posted Mar 5th, 2010 7:20 pm


darkstar13

+

I started this diet yesterday and so far i have lost 1 pound in a day so that is great. i feel awesome and have had no bad side effects to speak of. the one thing that is hard is that i am craving bread and cheese sooooo bad. I also am a avid wine drinker, i had 2 glasses of red wine last night with my soup dinner. i will continue to do so for the rest of this diet, i love red wine and think that it has good health benifits.



for breakfast on the vegetable day i had butternut squash, it is so yummy like a big yam, i cut it in half and baked it at 400°F for 50 mins. when it comes out of the oven just put pumpkin pie spices on top and it is delish!!



day 2 has been eaiser just because i can think of more things to do with veges than fruit, and the soup is still good to me. for my luch today i made a gigantic salad loaded with chick peas for the protien, i used the "wishbone salad spritzer" on it because there is hardly any calories in it and it just was not a salad with out the dressing. I am excited for my baked potato tonight!! i think i might actually get full from it!

for a lo-cal tasty snack try some edamame.



i will post other tips i find. thanks and good luck to you fellow dieters!

posted Mar 2nd, 2010 12:58 pm


tyann

I am reading some comments and see some ppl saying they lost like 20 to 25 ponds in one week. I am wondering what else did y'all do besides eat the soup

posted Mar 2nd, 2010 12:34 pm


tyann

I just started today and omg I need some snacks it is even harder because I have kids. I mean I am cooking chiken nuggets 4 lunch as we speak but imma get thru this so wish me luck. I will be back in 6 days.

posted Mar 2nd, 2010 12:26 pm


Lisa

+

My friend lost 25lbs the first week. He went from 350lbs to 325lbs. I'm on day 2. I'm 274lbs. I think I will stay on it for 6 months. I've never weighed this much before.

posted Mar 1st, 2010 8:41 pm


Lisa

+

I'm on day 2

posted Mar 1st, 2010 8:31 pm


HelloYa

I am doing research on this diet and do have some question in mind. I am looking to start it this coming Saturday because my friend's anniversary on Friday and I don't want to break it too soon.



Question is when you eat your vegetables, can you add season? Can it be chicken bouillon, fish sauce or soy sauce something like that?



I am hoping to loose my 15lbs postpartum plus 10 additional if possible.



Thanks in advance.

posted Feb 9th, 2010 4:33 pm


Steve

+

25 years ago when I did this it was called the "Dolly Parton Diet". Leave it to Oprah to stick her name on a re-born fad.
Maybe if I re-did it now she would give me a Pontiac.

posted Feb 5th, 2010 5:39 pm


Karin

-

I stuck to it like a mad woman, in fact, ate only 1 bowl of soup each day because I couldn't stand it, And didn't eat the steak, But only lost less than 3 lbs. Not worth the suffering you go through for a week. Vegan diet is the way to go!

posted Feb 4th, 2010 10:57 am


Jen

why do ppl talk bad about it saying you DEF cant stay on it for long periods of time..well OB VS. the book even says it. 7 days max..then take 2 weeks off if you want to start again..so that you DO get your other nutrients. (and thats not mcds or tb)... i had SO much energy on this diet... i loved the structure..i felt amazing knowing i could do something i thought I couldnt and it jumpstarted my healthy eating plan. This is the best diet ever!! I lost about 7 lbs..but on day 5 had a party at my place so quit on day 5..im excited to start back up again thou!

posted Jan 26th, 2010 2:16 am


Becky1234

+

I finished the diet yesterday and I lost about 9 pounds. On day 3 I was REALLY discouraged, lightheaded and grumpy, and didn't see any weight loss yet. Also you get so sick of the soup, that you end up not eating anything much. I stuck to it to a tee except every morning I had a cup of coffee with fat free creamer in it, and I always use sweetener (Truvia) in my iced or hot tea. I also used alittle bit of olive oil when I sauteed some veggies to go with my baked potato (heavenly!) and when I finally was able to have the chicken. I used mushrooms in my soup and when I had other veggies, which I really liked.

I snacked on Apples a couple of times in the evening, and salted raw carrots one night when my boyfriend was eating chips. It did teach me that snacking on fruits and veggies was not so bad after all, so I hope to keep those habits.

It gets really hard and discouraging, but knowing it is only for 7 days really helps to stick to it. It was worth it for me, at the end, I lost the "pregnant" belly look so I feel alot better about my figure now.

posted Jan 18th, 2010 4:43 pm


Adrienne

+

I did this diet a couple of years back and lost 9/10 lbs in the one week. I haven't put the weight back on but I could still afford to lose 10 or so more lbs so I think I'm going to do it again soon. I subbed sauerkraut for the soup because after all, it is just cabbage and I love it so I knew it would be easier to pull through the diet. You could add elements of the soup recipe to the sauerkraut also. I highly recommend this diet. It takes will power but it's only a week - you can do it!

posted Jan 18th, 2010 2:00 pm


Becky1234

I'm starting it today - I just have to let you know though, don't use the Lipton Soup! I went to buy it, and it is FULL of Sodium and MSG! No wonder people complain of headaches and light-headedness. I used a bunch of veggies, broths, and some V8 juice. You can add salt and seasonings, but don't use that soup mix, it is so unhealthy.

posted Jan 11th, 2010 2:30 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2017?

PROPRO
  • You will lose weight
CONCON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISEEXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet

Whats better than
Cabbage Soup Diet?