Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

78%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 268 reviews
Contrave

Contrave Diet Pills Exposed [UPDATED 2018] - Does It Work?

A breakthrough diet pill that attacks cravings and appetite.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2018
What is it?

Contrave is a weight loss pill that claims it’s the #1 prescribed medication for weight loss. It’s made up of an antidepressant drug and an appetite reducing drug.

Diet and exercise are required, and the intended results are to help rewire brain chemistry to reduce eating. The company does admit it’s not sure how this brand can help with weight loss, but they state that it may help. Since it’s a prescription drug, it’s only offered if a doctor recommends it.  Contrave is only allowed for those with a BMI of 30 or higher, or those with a BMI of 27 or higher with an obesity related disease. You’ll learn in this review about what it can do for weight loss, how customers rate it, and other important facts.

In reviewing many weight loss diet pills, our review experts have found Sletrokor to be the most effective. It offers natural plant based extracts that are free of stimulants and made to help promote well rounded weight loss. For more information on Sletrokor click on the link cited here.  

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2017?


Contrave Ingredients and Side Effects

Naltrexone Hydrochloride

Bupropion Hydrochloride

Microcrystalline Cellulose

Hydroxypropryl Cellulose

Lactose Anhydrous

L-cysteine hydrochloride

Crospovidone

Magnesium Stearate

Hypromellose

Edetate Disodium

Lactose Monohydrate

Colloidal Silicon Dioxide

Opadry II Blue

FD&C Blue #2 Aluminum Lake

 

 

Naltrexone Hydrochloride: This drug is usually used to help give relief to those addicted to opioids. It blocks the absorption of opioid drugs such as heroin, pain pills, and more.

It is also used alongside therapy and support for helping relieve addictions.  Possible side effects are many and they include:

  • Nausea, anxiety, and dizziness.
  • Insomnia, abdominal pain, and restlessness.
  • Muscle aches, joint and bone pain, and runny nose.
  • Hallucinations, confusion, and withdrawal symptoms.
  • Serious allergic reactions, swelling, and hives.

Drugs.com also adds:

“Patients should be warned of the risk of hepatic injury”

“Depression, suicide, attempted suicide and suicidal ideation have been reported”

It may also negatively interactions with other medications and supplements. It’s advised to seek the support of a medical doctor, and to be aware of a potential for serious allergic effects.

This takes awareness of one’s own experience with medication, and to be aware of any symptoms that aren’t normal. Click on the link here for a list of the top ranked weight loss diet pills.

Bupropion Hydrochloride: Drug used to treat depression. It changes chemicals in the brain and is used to produce a good feeling. There’s also use of it for helping treat addiction, and to lower the risk of anxiety.

It’s advised not to take this if one has a history of heart, kidney, liver, or brain problems.  Possible side effects can include:

  • Insomnia, restlessness, and sweating.
  • Nausea, vomiting, and dizziness.
  • Ringing in the ears, headache, and dry mouth.
  • Increased blood pressure, irregular heartbeat, and memory loss.
  • Anxiety, agitation, and unusual weight loss or weight gain.
  • Difficulty concentrating, confusion, and erratic behavior.

There are several other possible side effects, and it’s advised to seek medical attention for certain symptoms. In some people this may cause a serious allergic reaction. According to the Annals of Internal Medicine:

“bupropion… promote modest weight loss when given along with recommendations for diet”

This effect was not seen in all people, and there’s still the risk for serious potential side effects.

Due to this ingredients effects on mood, boxed of Contrave come with a warning that it may increase the likelihood of suicide. That’s why it’s highly advised to monitor any mood changes, and to seek the continued support of a certified physician.

Opadry II Blue:  A patented form of food coloring. It’s used to help coat pills and to make them easier to absorb.

It’s unknown what possible side effects it may have.

FD&C Blue #2 Aluminum Lake: Artificial food dye often found in pill coatings. It has no nutritional value, and is only added to give the pills a blue color.

There’s a possibility for it causing allergic raections and hypearctiivy in certain people.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner such as Sletrokor for better results.

Contrave Quality of Ingredients

This brand is made with 2 active ingredients, a drug often used to block opioids and a drug that helps decrease appetite and reduce the risk of depression. There are several possible side effects to consider, and not everyone reacts to this combination the same.

There are also a lot of considerations asuch as avoiding high fat meals, starting with small amounts to start with then building up, and not mixing it alongside certan ingredints. It’s also recommended to avoid this if one has a history of certain illnesses, or if one is prone to seizure.

The ingredients added to this formula may produce a weight loss effect, but only certain peoole can even consider taking it. Still, a doctor needs to prescribe it and deem a person healthy , yet still obese enough to take it.

The manfacturers state this is only a short term solution, and that diet and exercise are necessary.  Due to all these issues, the quality of ingredients is very poor.  The list of top 10 diet pill supplements has the best weight loss solutions.


The Price and Quality of Contrave

Pricing can vary on Contrave, with estimates around $55 a month to $200 a month depending on location, dosing ,and whether or not insurance covers it.

Since only 2 of the ingredients are actually active, the majority are added to either stabilize the capsules, or to give them a unique color.  These inactive ingredients have no weight loss effect at all.

No long term study has been performed to show what kinds of cardiovascular effects it may have. So it’s unknown what the potential rate of heart damage might be.

This brand is particularly expensive, and the manufacturers admit they’re not certain how it works. There are other options for weight loss such as the top 10 diet pills featured when you click here.

Before being able to use this brand one has to consider several possivle inteactions.  There is also nio guarantee of safety or effecitvneess.  Still, evne with a doctors prescription, it’s unknown how this drug may affect you. You’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Contrave” section that many failed to experience any results, and that side effects were a major issue.

Business of Contrave

The owners go by the name of Takeda Pharmaceuticals U.S.A., Inc. They can be reached via the following:

Phone Number: (877) 825-3327

Address:  One Takeda Parkway

                   Deerfield, Illinois 60015

Since it’s a prescription drug, no returns are allowed on Contrave.

The company has had major lawsuits for creating harmful drugs. A $2.37 billion settlement was givne to 9,000 people who suffered from bladder cancer.

A $37 million dollar fine was also imposed for them hidng the risk of cancer in one of their drugs.  The company was going to conduct a long-term study on cardiovascular effects of Contrave, but they cut it short and did not release any of the findings.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results, our experts recommend using weight loss pills for at least 3 months. Save your money by buying a few bottles at once.

Customer Opinions of Contrave

Many reviews are avialble online, here’s what a few users had to say:

“I could not take this pill, I was physically drained”

“Garbage. I didn’t lose a pound”

“I’m rapidly gaining weight. I gained 8lbs in 30 days”

“I took it for 4 months and didn’t lose any weight”

Though some did lose weight, there were often common complaints that include anxiety, restlessness, extreme fatigue, headaches, and loss of sex drive, mood swings, and many other issues.

The most often listed side effect was fatigue. Many were unable to continue doing their regular routine, as they were often bedridden.

Drugs.com compiled a list of the ratings, and the average rating for weight loss was 5.9 out of 10. Many thought it was an unfavorable drug. Oddly enough, some people actually gained weight.

Nor everyone reacts to this drug the same, the major problem was a lack of consistency. Unlike supplements, this drug works deep within the brain to change how chemicals are sent. When dealing with drugs like this, it’s impossible for anyone to determine what a likely affect might be. Though as mentioned, no returns are offered.


Conclusion - Does Contrave Work?

When analyzing Contrave it’s important to look at the customer reviews, what considerations need to be made, and how the manufacturers operate. Not only are there several serious potential side effects, but the makers have no idea exactly how this drug works. Diet and exercise are required, and it’s not guaranteed for weight loss as no money back policy is offered. The manufacturers have also lost lawsuits for making drugs that caused cancer and organ damage. Contrave requires a lot of considerations, and may people failed to see any weight loss.

The 2017 best supplement of the year award was won by Sletrokor. It contains only natural ingredients, no stimulants, and it’s available without a prescription. This diet pill has helped people lose weight, and you can read real testimonials from satisfied customers on their website. Sletrokor has plant extracts which have been clinically studied. The benefits are numerous and they include improved mood, suppressed appetite, increased metabolism, regulated blood sugar levels, increased energy, and much more.

Sletrokor is also offered risk free; it’s backed by a full 30 day money back guarantee. Returns are allowed with no questions asked. To learn more about Sletrokor, click here.

How Does Contrave Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 10, 182 total comments)

Denise

?

Has anyone had itchy painful hands after taking the 2:2 dose? Contravw

posted Sep 25th, 2015 10:51 pm


Reese

+

I have just started this medication Like most in this post the 1st two days I did not like the way the medication made me feel but I was also taking it on an empty stomach. On the 3rd day I took with food & I feel a lot better. This medication is strong & it takes a few days for your body to adjust. I am on day 8 & I generally eat well I also work out 4 days a week 2 days cardio 2 days weights so I mix them up so I do not get bored. I started @ 175 & a week later I am still the same weight. This new week I am increasing the dosage as it says so I will do one in the am & one in the pm I will keep you posted on any results.

posted Sep 20th, 2015 1:11 pm


James

Did not stop my hunger or cravings, but allowed me to ignore them. I've been on this over 6 weeks and it kicked in about day 9. Since then I've been easily able to stick to a diet. I also do other compulsive behaviors less.

posted Sep 19th, 2015 12:21 am


Margaret

I just started week 3. 2 pills in the morning 1 at night. No weight loss. Severe constipation. Diminishes my craving for alcohol. If I have only 2 beers Im extremely tired. It also makes me sort of listless and not interested in anything. Definitely no extra energy. Works well to stop cravings. I only have 15-20 lbs to lose. I will try it for a coupke more weeks and see.

posted Sep 16th, 2015 6:23 pm


sheryl walters

I tried for one month. My Humana insurance won't cover and it is $170.00 a month. Lost only about three pounds. Very little published about this. Don't recommend.

posted Sep 13th, 2015 5:14 pm


S. B

I have been on Contrave for 3 months and have lost and gained the same 4 pounds. I have not been able to take more than the 1 in am and 1 in pm dose bc I feel way to sick when I take 2 pills at a time. I even tried spreading 3 pills out a few hours during the day. I get Car sick like nausea with dizziness. And the thing that bothers me is...If you look at the studies, people were on a 500 (!!) calorie diet which is nothing! Of course people will loose weight on nothing. AND the warnings say do not eat high fat or it will increase your risk of seizures...I was on Wellbutrin for years and never decreased my fat intake and never had a problem with any side effects or seizures, maybe it is the Naltrexone that is the problem with fat but there is no real explanation that I can find, so this makes me wonder if that too is just a ploy to get people to lose more weight while on this drug because they are not eating any fat. I really wanted to like this drug but being so sick I cannot even eat and then when the nausea wears off I eat maybe too much because I feel like I have to eat, like my blood sugar is low...it's just not worth it. And the weight loss has been nil.

posted Sep 12th, 2015 1:12 pm


Stephanie

+

I took it for 6 months and lost 20lbs. I thought it was great, but I lost the majority of the weight in the first 3 months. I would like to see if I can go on it again it=n the future to hopefully lose the rest I was hoping for.

posted Aug 31st, 2015 1:28 am


Louise

Day 2 and feeling great! No cravings and not hungry at all. I'm waiting for my scale and will keep you posted on how I do! 👍

posted Aug 30th, 2015 9:58 pm


Jodi

+

I started taking Contrave in February of this year 2015. I had reached 212 lbs. and I was concerned regarding my health. I had no medical problems yet, but both of my parents have high blood pressure and diabetes. Contrave for the most part for me curbs my appetite, but you still have to reduce calories and exercise. My weight lose was slow at first as I hit a plato several times. I was walking faithfully but could not get pass my plato mark. I have actually stopped walking and the weight started falling off me. I quit walking in May and I've dropped 12 pounds since but several inches. I went from a size 18/20 to a size12/14. I am pleased with the result and would recommend it to anyone. I did not and I have not set a goal because if I didn't reach it I didnt want to be disappointed and get discourage and give up. Starting out I wanted to at least lose the 30 pounds I had gained, but I have way exceeded that. My goal is pound per pound, one day at a time. Society would say that I'm over weight. But If I don't lose another pound, it's ok because I am perfectly happy right where I am. I would like to lose 40 more pounds, but that is not a goal I'm reaching for. My goal is to look better, feel better and live a healthy life. I no longer break out in a sweat to shower, or to shave my legs. I hope this helps anyone who is tired of the diets and fads. You don't have to starve your self or only eat a spoon of food. Start by reducing your calories, actually put a serving on your plate, when you feel full stop eating and put your food away. Dont pleasure eat, meaning just because it's there dont eat it, just because it's lunch you dont have to eat but opt for a health snack. I like fruit especially at work. On the days that the Contrave doesn't curb your appetite very well eat your meals sensibly, but drink water. If you dont like water add flavoring. Walmart has some really good water flavoring and not expensive. I wish I could post a pic to show the results. If your just starting don't give up. My daughter helped me so much. On days that I want a cookie or several, she would say 210, 211, 212. Which would remind me that what I was going to eat was not healthy and one was plenty but no more than 2. It's good to have support from family, especially if you have that one person that is brave enough to say dont eat that and start counting your weight back up. I had to tell my family that this was important to me, we always sit down together as a family to eat dinner, there are many evenings that I'm not hungry. So I will fix a glass of water and sit and talk. My family has got use to me not always eating dinner. I'm very satisfied with my results!!

posted Aug 20th, 2015 8:50 pm


Callea Farmer

+

Been on it for two months. I love it. No cravings. Feel full faster. Rarely exceed 1000 calories per day. Taking full dose. Only side effect is increased sweating but that helps weight loss. Increased activity when weight loss slowed down. That really helped. Gotta move your body. Lost 20 lbs and 4 sizes. First pill that's worked for me. Feel confident I will reach my goal over the next 8 months.

posted Aug 15th, 2015 2:29 pm


Myra Durand

?

I have been having a heavy metal taste in my mouth. Could this be a side effect? I've been on Contrave for 6 weeks and have lost 15 pounds. I'm so happy. However, I have been having a heavy metal taste in my mouth. Could this be a side effect?

posted Aug 12th, 2015 9:21 pm


MaxxFisher

+

I have been on it 4 weeks now. I am just not as hungry anymore. I used to be hungry all the time. And I mean that, all the time. I am eating less, not snacking. I am basically just having breakfast and dinner and have 2 or 3 pieces of fruit for the rest of the day. The only side effect I have felt is mild constipation and some stomach cramping between wks 2 & 3. Other than that I am fine. This has been amazing. Eating so much less but I'm not feeling sluggish or weak.

posted Aug 10th, 2015 7:58 pm


Aleah

+

So far so good! I am on week two and I am down 7 lbs. I have not exercised at all but I have been eating much less. I basically have to make myself eat! There have been a few headaches but nothing major. I am prone to headaches and ibuprofen has knocked them out. I'm looking forward to seeing the further results!

posted Aug 3rd, 2015 2:37 am


sheila

+

Contrave is working great for me. It does cause nausea for the first month or so but if you can hang in there it does get better. I am no longer craving sweets at all. Hello one bite and done.

posted Jul 24th, 2015 12:50 am


More2love

-

I'm on day 2 and feel like im floating. I feel shakey and not myself. I will not be taking this again.

posted Jul 23rd, 2015 7:09 pm


Sandra

I started Contrave on 6/15 and I have to say up until about 3 days ago my headaches were pretty bad. The headaches would last a day or two and then go away. One day it was a full blown migraine. I had read that this could be a side effect so I decided to plug on through. I had read somewhere that if you take Bonnie or Dramamine it will cure the headaches and any nausea if you are experiencing it and boy did that do the trick. I had fatigue pretty bad for a few days and now it has slowed down a bit. I get sleepy around 3. I have to say I do sleep very well. Nice peaceful and solid sleep. One thing I have noticed is that I am constipated. So after I pushed through the side effects I am finally feeling normal other than the constipation and occasional fatigue. I have lost 8.7 pounds in 3 weeks. I recommend that if you try Contrave, don't give up, work through the side effects if you can and the results are great. I feel FULL with very little food, I have no sugar cravings at all.

posted Jul 10th, 2015 9:53 pm


Tanya Testerman

?

Is there a big difference between the adipex and Contrave? been taking adipex for about 9 months now....i lost 12 pounds initially, but now i went to the Dr. today and told him that i get the energy boost from the adipex but no longer appetite suppressant....He prescribed Contrave today and i haven't gotten it yet from the pharmacy due to preauthorization from my insurance, but I was wondering about the side effects????

posted Jun 16th, 2015 1:57 am


John

+

I have been taking it for two weeks with today being the first day at 4 pills-lots of energy, drinking a lot of water and trips to the loo.. So far I have lost 12 pounds-real loss (5%). I have stepped up cardio and have been eating 5-6 times per day-very small portions.
First few days were strange but used to them now-my MD won't go beyond one 30 day prescription.
I thought I would never take diet pills but my doc said the results have been very good

posted Jun 15th, 2015 9:36 pm


Shelby

-

Everyday I took it I was getting very bad side effects like dizziness, vomiting, headaches, and it made me VERY tired, which before taking Contrave I never had any of this happening to me! Yes it did control my hunger only because I felt very sick everyday and it made it so even the smell of food had me running to the bathroom to vomit! As a result of taking Contrave and it making me sick all the time I ended up getting hospitalized because I was very sick and dehydrated. I don't recommend anyone take this medication because It is very dangerous if you ask me.

posted Jun 11th, 2015 5:38 pm


ROSE

-

i started Contrave on Friday, all day I was sick. Nausea, dizziness, headaches, weak. My husband started the same day, but he only felt shaky and "loopy". i dont think its worth the side effects. weight loss is probably from being sick and not being able to eat anything all day. I have had the same headache for 4 days now, and nausea has not subsided either.

posted Jun 9th, 2015 2:49 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

While most diet pills are a dime a dozen, once in awhile a promising weight loss pill hits the market that causes even the most skeptical of medical professionals to stop and listen. Contrave is one such product.

Developed by Orexigen Therapeutics, Contrave is actually the combination of two different drugs: The antidepressant medication, buproprion, or Wellbutrin, and the drug naltrexone, which is used to treat alcohol and opiate addiction.

Rather than working to block fat or starches like many prescribed diet pills do, Contrave unleashes its power on the brain, where it works to quell cravings in the brain's highly complex behavior-reward center, and also to temper appetite.

In late-stage clinical trials, Contrave has fared much better than the FDA's standards for improving weight loss, exceeding by five percent. Rather, those who took Contrave while also following a diet and exercise program lost between nine and 15 percent of their body weight while those who did not lost just about five percent of their body weight.

Contrave has also shown few side effects and notably absent are mental health and uncomfortable physical side effects that often come from taking weight loss pills. In fact, those studied showed an improved quality of life while taking the pill.

Contrave is being slated as a chronic diet pill; if you take it and lose weight you will have to continue to take it in order to maintain lost weight. One of the downfalls with most of the diet pills on the market, whether or not they require a prescription, is that once you stop taking them, weight is easily regained. Since Contrave specifically acts on the centers of the brain that govern overeating behaviors and craving desires, there is hope that its ability to suppress these processes will lead to long-term weight loss.

As of July 2009, Orexigen Therapeutics is seeking FDA approval. When and if Contrave is approved for consumer use, it will require a prescription from a medical professional.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2018?

PROPRO
  • Shows promise in late-stage clinical trials
  • Exceeding FDA standards in trials
  • Cocktail-like therapy may be the benchmark for future diet pills
  • Few side effects
  • Weight loss is greater than placebo alone
  • If approved, requires a prescription
CONCON
  • May need to take diet pill chronically
  • Weight loss advantage is not that significant
  • Not a magic solution to healthy eating behaviors and to a healthy weight
  • Still awaiting FDA approval
INGREDIENTSINGREDIENTS

Contrave is a breakthrough weight loss drug because it contains both buproprion and naltrexone.

Buprupion is also known as the branded prescription drug Wellbutrin, a quality anti-depressant.

Naltrexone is a prescription drug used to treat addiction, in cases such as smoking, alcohol or even opiates.

ADMINISTRATIONADMINISTRATION

Contrave will likely be taken daily. Since the drug is awaiting FDA approval, precise dosage instructions are not yet available.

DIET  and EXERCISEDIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet and regular exercise program is followed while taking Contrave. Since this drug does not act on the stomach, there are currently no specific foods that need to be avoided or a particular style of eating that needs to be followed while taking it.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

Contrave is a new weight loss pill that shows promise for being able to act on the brain's pathways that control cravings and appetite. This new kind of drug, which combines two different kinds of psychopharmaceuticals, is predicted to be the wave of the future for diet pills.

Contrave is still awaiting FDA approval.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

contrav, contreve, contrive, contrave diet, contrave diet pill, wellbutrin diet pill, crave diet pills, cuntrave, contreav

Whats better than
Contrave?