Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Dr. Mike Moreno is the Man Behind the 17 Day Diet

Diets come and diets go. And while some of them are crazy fads that disappear a lot faster than the pounds do, some new diets are rooted in sound nutrition… and the public picks up on it.

The 17 Day Diet was originally intended as a holiday diet plan, created by Dr. Mike Moreno, which makes it all the more pertinent at the moment. But the plan can be done at any time. The main attraction to the 17 Day Diet is the “body confusion” approach. That means that you keep your body guessing, so to speak, by changing up what you eat. This keeps your metabolism from getting stuck in a rut.

While the name 17 Day Diet may sound like a fad diet, because your first impression is that it’s only 17 days until you get to your goal weight, that actually refers to the period of each eating cycle.

Part of the reason the 17 Day Diet is on the rise is its high-profile featuring on Dr. Phil and The Doctors. For more details on how the diet plan works, check out our 17 Day Diet review and 17 Day Diet meal plan review. In this post, I want to look into who is behind this rising star in the diet industry.

Who is Behind The 17 Day Diet?

The 17 Day Diet was created by one Dr. Mike Moreno. More commonly known as simply Dr. Mike, he graduated from the University of California at Irvine and Hahnemann Medical School (now Drexel University).

Dr. Moreno looks back to an early family tragedy as the starting point of knowing what he wanted to do with his life. When he was just in the sixth grade, his brother died in a tragic motorcycle accident. This led him to the strong conviction of wanting to help people live a long and healthy life.

In 2008, Dr. Mike launched a program called “Walk with Your Doc.” Every Tuesday and Thursday morning before his workday begins, he walks with his patients. The idea began simply as an offer to walk with a patient to motivate her to exercise. It has now involved into as many as 70 patients walking with him on a weekly basis. Besides motivating his patients to exercise, this is a great opportunity for the doctor to connect with his patients in a more personal way outside of the exam room.

Other passions in Dr. Moreno’s life include music (he plays drums) and wine. He currently practices family medicine at Kaiser Permanente in San Diego, California.

View What is the 17 Day Diet? Slideshow

December 1st, 2010

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 17 total comments)

diane

Est-ce que le livre est disponible en français.



posted Feb 3rd, 2012 12:14 am


sarah

i have a question , can you eat a little throgh the day

posted Oct 11th, 2011 1:17 pm


Barbara

Please explain the "no carbs after 2:00 pm" rule on the 17 day diet? Re 17 Day Diet. I'm confused re no carbs after 2:00 p.m. You say no carbs but your snacks say fruit, that's a carb. My evening meal will have carbs (veggies). Please explain.

posted Aug 10th, 2011 11:46 pm


Maria Marrufo

I have lost 24 pounds so far but I still get carb cravings. Please address how we can curb those cravings.

posted Jul 13th, 2011 6:25 pm


Ray

I am from Australia...what is Kefir and is there a repolacement

posted Jun 1st, 2011 6:22 pm


Elaine Bryant

Dr. Moreno,
So far I have completed the first two cycles. I love it! I've lost close to 20lbs.(which would have been more if I hadn't cheated a few times). My dilema is I like the first two cycles without carbs because I think carbs are my problem. But I'm concerned about adding the carbs back in 3rd cycle.

posted May 31st, 2011 10:36 pm


Deborah

how do I do phase one of 17 day diet and avaoid lettuce? Since gall bladder surgery lettuce makes me ill. Since gall bladder surgery I have been unable to eat lettuce. I noticed that everyday of the first phase eating a salad is suggested. How can I do that and avoid lettuce? I want to start the 17 Day Diet as soon as possible.

posted May 25th, 2011 11:43 am


Star Fields

It works! I lost 11lbs in the 1st. 17 days. I'm truly on my way! Thank you Dr. Mike Moreno.

Star

posted May 17th, 2011 9:43 am


barb brant

can i order the diet book?

posted Apr 25th, 2011 11:33 pm


sue

very nice

posted Apr 7th, 2011 11:40 am


Jen

Is there a resting period before starting a new cycle or do we jump in from one to another?

posted Apr 5th, 2011 9:15 pm


Jen

Can we eat tofu in the cycles?

posted Apr 5th, 2011 9:13 pm


Patsy Upchurch

I an allergic to 9 fruits. If I eat them I will break out and itch. They are: apples, peaches, pears,plums, pineapple, oranges, lemons, grapefruit, and limes. Beside berries what can I eat in the place of these fruits?

posted Apr 3rd, 2011 12:12 pm


dottie epperson

Why are we told to eat all fruit before 2 pm, but all of your meal plans have fruit as a snack at the end of the day?

posted Mar 20th, 2011 11:59 am


Thomas Turner

started yesterday and so far so good. One ? I could find it in the book, can you eat different kinds of cheese ( Colby, Swiss, Colby Jack, etc)

posted Mar 1st, 2011 6:29 pm


Kandi

Great newsletter. Very informative!!

posted Jan 4th, 2011 8:51 pm


Kandi

Great newsletter. Very informative!!

posted Jan 4th, 2011 8:51 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account