Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Dr. Mike Moreno Introduces the 17 Day Diet [Win a Copy of the Book!]

We see a lot of diet-related news, obviously, but we haven’t seen anything take off with this much enthusiasm in a long time. The 17 Day Diet, released last month via appearances on Dr. Phil and The Doctors, is a new weight loss book that promises rapid results via a four-cycle plan.

The author, Dr. Mike Moreno, spoke with us about The 17 Day Diet and explained what it is, why the up-to 12 pounds in 17 days is in fact a healthy rate of weight loss, and why the 17-minute fitness recommendation is a “safe way to get started.”

He also confronts critics who say the book proposes nothing new. To that he says, “you’re right,” and argues that what The 17 Day Diet does do is present that information in a new way that helps people make changes.

 

Dr. Mike tells us that if you’ve followed a diet that has left you bored or at a plateau, you won’t find that in The 17 Day Diet. He calls other diets “psychologically draining” and it’s that aspect that makes it “difficult to stay on a diet.” The three brief 17-day cycles will retrain the way you eat, exercise and live so that by the time you reach the fourth and final cycle you’ll be ready to follow it as the maintenance phase. However, if you ever slip and feel like you need to refresh, like many of us often do, you can always go back and start at any of the previous three cycles.

The 17 Day Diet eating plan focuses on clean eating – that means no processed foods, no sugar, and no junk. He also says there’s no need for all those supplements that can cost hundreds of dollars. Instead, the well-rounded diet of lean proteins, fresh vegetables and fruit, and healthy carbs like whole grains, will provide your body with all the nutrients and energy it needs. The book outlines meal plans for each day of the week for each phase. Soon enough, those eating behaviors will be second nature.

At first glance, the 17-minute workout seems a bit lacking, considering most experts will recommend no less than 30 minutes a day, five days a week. Dr. Mike tells us that point is “100-percent right,” but backs up his express workout by saying it’s “a safe way to get started” since “a lot of people can’t walk around the block.” This will gradually encourage you to take on longer, more strenuous workouts. A great tip: Dr. Mike encourages his patients, as he’s a family practice physician, to exercise for 10 minutes after each meal.

View What is the 17 Day Diet? Slideshow

The book is available only from the book’s site. For those of you who’ve ordered a copy and haven’t received it yet, Dr. Mike asks that you let them know. He said as of 12/20, all orders had been shipped, and that the delay is because they just didn’t expect the sizable response that they received.

Also Read:

17 Day Diet Meal Plan Review

(WINNER SELECTED: “LESLIE”) WIN A COPY of The 17 Day Diet! Just leave a comment here telling us why you’re ready to make a serious change for the sake of your health. One winner will be drawn January 7, 2011.

*DISCLAIMER: Only residents of the U.S. are eligible to win. DietsInReview.com will draw one winner January 7, 2011 and will notify winners via the email used in the comment form. Winners have three business days to respond and claim prize or forfeit prize. DietsInReview.com is not responsible for lost or stolen packages, nor failed shipments due to user providing incorrect address. DietsInReview.com may replace the prize with one of equal value if prize is not available. Prize value is $27.00; not redeemable for cash.

December 22nd, 2010

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 126 total comments)

Rosann

I just turned 60. My waistline has increased to the point where I am worried about getting diabetes. I have a bad knee and used to be able to get the weight off by speed walking 2 times a day. This program sounds so wonderful I would be a willing candidate to follow to get my health back in check. My husband would do it too!!

posted Jan 7th, 2011 10:23 pm


Regina

I lost my husband a few months ago. The last thing I said to him was I am going to regain my health. This starts losing 90 pounds and getting active. I've tried so many things in the past that haven't worked. During his year-long illness my health really faltered and now I am dealing with bad knees that ache at night. I know I could do 17 minutes of exercise to start. At this point I just don't have the money to purchase the book and DVD.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 5:24 pm


Rose Whittle

Would like try this along with my mother as a join venture in weight loss and a healthy eating lifestyle.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 4:31 pm


djgroz

If I lose weight, I'll be able to walk a lot better with a walker

posted Jan 7th, 2011 4:16 pm


janice agranoff

Hello everyone. I really need to make a change in my life with this new year of 2011 for my own health reasons and to be around for my family to help and nurture them as well. My asthma does not help when I try to take walks with my husband and the family dog. Our neighboring area has hills and flat streets to climb and it sure makes me mad that my health is not at it's best. I know that I only have myself to blame and it will take myself to get back in shape and health. Right now with the job market not hiring a 60 year old, loyal and devoted employee to another company, does not help either. If I could only lose this weight I know that I could get back in the workforce and nail an interview with confidence. Who knows...maybe they look at me and say to themselves that I'm a health risk and don't want to hire me. I don't know, but I sure would feel good for myself when ( not if) I lose this heavy baggage on my body. Please help me with my goal and My family and I will forever be grateful for it. Thank you for listening, Janice Agranoff

posted Jan 7th, 2011 3:43 pm


Annette Olson

I saw info about the diet on Dr. Phil. I have been one that has troubles with traditional diets. I have been overweight for most of my adult life and I would like to be able to learn to eat healthy and help my family with their weight issues. It sounds almost too good to be true and I'm ready to find out.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 3:05 pm


Dwayne Thompson

I plan on making a change for sure this time. It is a medical necesity, I am starting to stop breathing at night and have other medical problems and the dr told me so, plus I feel I have the support of others to keep me on track. I will do what it takes so I can be energetic and be able to be a higher level basketball official which I so much desire but can not complete my dream because my body limits my ability to run as fast at my current weight of 313. This book would give me the knowledge and jump start to make this change and share information with the support group I am also in.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 1:57 pm


Doris Peterson

Educated in nutrition, eat healthy, still don't loose any weight, now I find out I'm diabetic, help me, I NEED TO WIN.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 1:49 pm


Angela

My husband and I need to lose weight.... he wants to do South Beach, I want to do this... may the best man or woman win!!

posted Jan 7th, 2011 12:22 pm


cnormington

57 years old - quit smoking 1 1/2 years ago and husband out of work so I can't really justify spending the extra money on the book right now. Sounds like a great idea!

posted Jan 7th, 2011 11:23 am


Ashley Bradley

I need some motivation in my life to become healthier. About 2 years ago my father had a Heart Attack and the main reason he had it was because of his diet. I am asking for a free copy because not only will I Benefit but my entire family will. Thank you soo much and have a Great Day!!!!

posted Jan 7th, 2011 6:04 am


Gretchen Ramos

I loved watching the dr. phil show just the other day when the teams were picked and 17 day diet is on!!! I have recently done what is said, for the most part, in the 17 day diet. I have lost 20lbs in 38 days so far. This really works and I want more information to continue my journey and Dr. Moreno really hits the button with information of how it helps you body inside out!! I believe and am watching the results go! I want more!! I am helping my husband to lose also. He told me though that right now we don't have the money. We have a lot going of for short and 4 kids. I would love to win a book!! Thanks so much for bringing on the 17 day diet and so much TRUE information.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 5:53 am


filomena Filice

I am very interested in this program. I am a registered nurse and have gained some unwanted weight since having two children and would love to go back to work feeling energetic and having enough energy left over when I come home to take care of my beautiful and very energetic children!! This program is very intriguing to me!!

posted Jan 7th, 2011 5:13 am


heather c

I don't want to keep buying bigger clothes each year. Plus, I live in a place where shorts are worn almost year 'round!

posted Jan 7th, 2011 4:32 am


Judy

I feel that I am ready and determined to change my lifestyle and be more healthy. I am looking forward to seeing myself healthier and slimmer of course. Thanks.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 4:24 am


Pamela McRae

I must say that I just started this diet plan and have been very happy with the program. I would like to win this book to give to my aunt who just lost her mother and has been very depressed. I told her how the book has helped me to lose 6lbs in 3 days and she was so excited.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 4:23 am


Tahani

I would love a free copy of the 17 Day Diet - as a mother of 5, with little time and little budget to spend - I have let myself go! I can't wait for a shot to work at being me again...

posted Jan 7th, 2011 4:21 am


Gin

In October 2009 some of my coworkers were talking about the HCG diet. I knew there was no way I could afford it. Thinking this couldn't be very healthy. It only made seemed logical if you are eating only 500 calories a day you are going to lose weight. I had picked up a magazine about the Eat Clean Diet. I did what the article said and lost 22 pounds from October through May. I went a bought the book. I have done very well. The first week I lost another seven pounds. I have had several set backs with a biopsy, surgery, and radiation treatments. Not to mentions my husband also having surgery. As of today I have lost a total of 68 pounds. The last two weeks I have hit a plateau and can't seem to break it. I thought the 17 Day Diet might be the answer. From what I have been able to gather it is a lot of what I have been doing but it seems like this book is laid out better than the one I have been using. The couple of receipes I have seen look delicious. I would really love to try this.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 4:11 am


Teresa

I watched the videos and I am very interested in getting your book. It seems like it will be very easy to follow. All the other diets I have been on I always stop losing, then I get discouraged and then I start eating the other foods again, and of course I gain all the weight back. I would like to live the rest of my life without taking medications everyday for something that can be controled by the foods I eat. Please help me! Let me win the book.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 4:03 am


ELVERIE IVES

i HAVE SEVERE SPINAL; STENOSIS , HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE, AND ARTHRITIS IN ALL MY JOINTS. i WEIGHT 168LBS. AND AM 5FT TALL. i NEED TO LOOSE SOME WEIGHT TO HELP ALL MY MEDICAL PROBLEMS. mY HUSBAND IS IN A NURSING HOM AMD i NEED TO LOOSE WEIGHT SO IT WONT BE SO HARD FOR ME TO GO VISIT HIM EVERY DAY. MY JOINT HURT SO BAD WHEN I GET UP IN THE MORNINGS IT TAKES ME ALMOST UNTIL NOON BEFORE I CAN GET MOVING ANY GOOD PLEASE LET ME WIN ONE OF YOU BOOKS.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 3:55 am


wonderwoman

i would love to win this book because i have lost a total of 123lbs and from a size 24-26 to a sze 6! i want to compete in a figure compitition by the time i hit 45. i am 34 (backwards) lol now...43.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 3:52 am


Angela

I am a single mom with two children...One who will be graduating from high school this year and a 8 yr old that I adopted shortly after being diagnosed 7 years ago with Stage II breast cancer. I went through aggressive treatment which included chemotherapy. Since that time, I have not been able to lose weight. The more I try to lose, the more I gain. I have reached a new high of 172 lbs. I am 5'0" with a small frame. I need to lose atleast 45-50 lbs to help lower my high blood pressure. Losing the weight will help with other health issues that cou;d potentially escalate. Please consider me for the free 17 day diet book.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 3:29 am


amy

I am ready to make a change in my life, i am 35 yrs old and am so unhappy with my self and the way I look, i have no mirrors in my house because I hate the way I look. I am hoping that the 17 day diet can help me get a new start in life..

posted Jan 7th, 2011 3:24 am


James Coyne

I'm overweight with high blood pressure and cholesterol . I need to do something before i have a heart attack

posted Jan 7th, 2011 3:23 am


Connie Keller

I am hopeful that I will win the 17-day diet book! I hear people claim to have "tried everything", but I must be honest and say that I have attempted very few diets or plans because I have trouble with motivation to initiate something I know will be difficult and probably won't finish. I am the type of person who usually finishes what I start and I guess I never wanted to begin a diet because I was afraid I would fail and not finish....so why start? I am now 80 lbs. overweight and recently purchased a controversial diet that uses sublingual drops combined with a very low calorie diet. I lasted 5 days, but the food choices were so limited and boring that I'm not really surprised that I stopped. After watching "The Doctors" tonight, I am really pumped to try this plan and give it a fair shot. Since I lasted 5 days on the other "impossible" diet, I feel I can last as long as it takes to achieve a healthy weight on this one. I'm sure it won't be easy, but it will be worth the effort I plan to put into this in order to improve my health and quality of life!

posted Jan 7th, 2011 3:19 am


Elizabeth N

Maintaining my weight is draining - I get so sick of counting calories. It's mentally exhausting. I'd love a new way to motivate myself - and this sounds like it'd get results and keep me going!

posted Jan 7th, 2011 3:17 am


D Selig

I've tried Atkins and found it hard to stay with. The 17-day diet sounds a lot easier to follow as far as what you are allowed to eat. I need to change my eating habits and this sounds like the best way to do it.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 3:17 am


Lori b

I want to healthy and happy again I have high cholesterol and and an overactive thyroid most meds. make me sick., so I would love to be able have healthy diet so I don't have to depend on medications.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 3:04 am


Rita Small

It gives hope to us that may be older and feeling hopeless after so many years of failing. At an age when the body parts have been taxed from raising our families and starting to fail us and many of us are alone now, we need this encouragement and hope that we can do it and be healthy again.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 2:28 am


Evelyn S

I am ready to make a real change. I am 44 and have been heavy for the last 20 years. I weight well over 200 lbs. I am borderline type 2 diabetic. I have problems with my joints and have back problems. I have trouble sleeping due to the extra weight. I have tried all types of diets and every time have gained the weight back.

I have 2 grandchildren and would like to be able to run and play with them. It is so hard to see the look on my grandson's face when I tell him that grandma is too tired to play right now. He gets so disappointed. This really hurts.

The added weight is keeping me from doing the things I want to do. I don't have the energy I once had. I would like to get this back. I want to feel healthy again. The long term effect of the extra weight has made me so depressed and withdrawn.

I think this diet & exercise program would be something that I can stick to and lose the weight for good.

Thanks so much.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 2:00 am



Jennifer Falbo

I would love to win the17daydiet book.
I was diagnosed in 2005 with Multiple Sclerosis and found myself in a depression and gaining over 70 pounds. I have been watching The Doctors and I am so excited for the challengers. I am now 4'11" and 177 pounds and am ready to eat healthier, exercise and lose this weight!! I want to look and feel good about myself and I think The 17 Day Diet is the way!!
Thank you Dr Moreno!!
Jennifer

posted Jan 7th, 2011 1:52 am


Arleta Kimberly

I really need to lose weight and can not do it on my own and feel that this way of life plan can help both my husband and myself. Thank You

posted Jan 7th, 2011 1:34 am


Glennis Jordan

Ire ei Ed my book and read it cover to cover! Excited? Absolutely !! I quit smoking January 12, 2010 and have gained 29 pounds. This is the first time I've ever dieted and decided to prepare to begin Jan. 12, 2011! I have now recruited my daughter and grandson to join me in getting healthy! I'm 58 years old and and so thankful to have made this commitment!

posted Jan 7th, 2011 1:20 am


Rose Kostyniuk

I am 58 yrs old and would love to learn all about a healthy diet and exercise so that I may be healthy and into a routine of daily excercise without it costing beyond my financial means. I suffer with chronic pain and it would be so much easier to do the program in my home..

posted Jan 7th, 2011 12:46 am


Karen

It is time!!! I have been carrying my 60 pounds put on during pregnancy for 18 years now!!! time to say goodbye!

posted Jan 7th, 2011 12:39 am


Olive

I am a mother of three. I was up late last night thinking about losing weight and trying to figure out a plan on what to do and when to do it. I weigh 200 lbs and have been at this weight consistently for the past 2 yrs. Since I had my daughter 5 yrs ago it seems the weight has been always going up. I would really like to change this for myself. I want to wake up and feel good again about me and I also want to have a healthy life for my children. I am tired of getting these cardio diet plans and spending money on these things that I lose the momentum and eagerness of losing the weight. I was watching the doctors show when I came across the 17 day diet!! I have never been more excited about anything!! I am hoping to get the book asap but I guess the boundary of this contest doesnt include canadians... Wish me luck on my journey of finding this book and I wish you all luck in your journey

posted Jan 7th, 2011 12:23 am


Jaime

I would love to get this book. My mom and I are going to be on a team, and want to lose weight together. My goal is 20 lbs, her goal is much more. But, with this book, I think we could really be successful.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 12:07 am


Terasa

I am excited to try the 17 day diet. I graduated in June with my Masters degree and managed to put on 50 lbs during my 2 year program. Between school and working as a substitute teacher, I didn't have the time or energy to take care of myself and my family. So I gave my family all my extra time. I have been looking for something that I can do, while still being a mother and a wife. This program sounded great on the Doctors today and I'd love to try it. I know I can do anything for 17 days, and that I will feel so much better after the weight is lost!

posted Jan 6th, 2011 11:57 pm


Kim P.

I am really wanting to get pregnant again, but I wish I had gotten rid of my other pregnancy weight that I had gained. This seems like a diet that I could really stick to and shed those extra pounds before getting pregnant.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 11:57 pm


Jan

I need to loose 40 lbs . I had a new valve put in and to hip replacements & gallballder replaced all in one year. 76 years old. I need help to loose this weight. On a fixed income so getting a free book would be great.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 11:50 pm


jabarfuss

I would love a free copy of this book! I really need to lose weight. After having four kids and then two miscarriages right in a row I have packed on the pounds and turned into somewhat of an emotional eater. I think faster results will help me stay motivated to lose the weight.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 11:46 pm


Marlyn P

I desperately need to lose weight. Recently I've had low, low glucose readings (48) which scares me. I've failed at other diets (for years) but I'm ready-set-to go. And I'd like to get my 3 sisters (all diabetics) involved. That would be fun!

posted Jan 6th, 2011 11:46 pm


Christine Cangialosi

Wow! What a brilliant idea!
I need a new life style. I am unfortunately obese, and although I love fruits and veggies, I was recently excessed out of my teaching position, and dont get around to much. I also take care of my child with cp who's movement is limited, so we don't run around too much together.
I have become quite out of shape.
I need to get myself and my family on track to a healthier lifestyle.
I need to get physically and mentally stronger. My son is going for hip surgery and will be depending on me to lift and carry him. (He is over 50 lbs.)
Winning the 17 day diet would not only give me the tools I need, but will give me further inspiration because you believe We are worthy of the opportunity to start 2011 off on the right foot.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 11:42 pm


kathy pease

i got a treadmill for christmas and have been walking 2.7 miles a day.i have been doing this for a little over a week and am feeling better already.I want to dive in full force with healthy eating and exercise so I can have a rockin body by summer and go places and have fun not just want to sit in the house :)

posted Jan 6th, 2011 11:33 pm


Amber

I just turned 30 this past year, and have 2 children since i had them i have gained about 50lbs. I don't feel motivated to do anything with my family i feel too fat to go to amusement parks, to the pool, etc... i need this to jump start my weight loss which will hopefully jump start my self esteem as well

posted Jan 6th, 2011 11:25 pm



Jeannie McAlpine

I am sick of loosing and gaining the same 10-15 pounds every 6 months to a year. I am ready for it to be just gone!!!

posted Jan 6th, 2011 11:23 pm


Renee Richardson

I am ready for a change because as the mother of 3 children I know the way I treat myself directly effects my children and the way they feel about me and themselves. Thanks for the great giveaway :)

mrsjohnson1982 at yahoo dot com

posted Jan 6th, 2011 11:14 pm


Karyn

I am actually doing this for my mom. She has never been a "thin" person as she claims, however four years ago she was diagnosed with MS. Due to it effecting mostly her legs and her balance, she isn't as active as she use to be because she gets tried a lot easier, and trust me she ins't happy about that especially with having a new grandson:)
After reading some reviews and watching you on "The Doctors", I believe this will help give her the jump start she needs.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 11:03 pm


Ty Williams

I am incredibly ready to shed some pounds. I currently have 21 month old daughter so it makes my job quite hard to eat well and lose weight and exercise. I want her to grow up with a healthy momma and I want her to want to stay healthy and in shape. Basically I'd like to drop some weight so I can be a better role model for my daughter. My husband and I are also ready to try to have another child, so I think if I can shed some pounds before I get pregnant, the pregnancy will be much healthier! Thanks so much! :)

posted Jan 6th, 2011 11:02 pm


Bonnie

I would like the opportunity to regain some control of my eating habits and live longer. I am a single parent and full--time college student at the age of 44, took a lot of guts to go back to school and i sure could use a boost for my own personal satisfaction and to be able to gain more energy through out the day. I want to make a lifestyle change and if i win the book that is what i intend to do.
Sincerely,
Bonnie

posted Jan 6th, 2011 10:39 pm


Ed Nemmers

This intrigues me.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 10:35 pm


Lyn

I really want to give this a try. I have always been heavy but after the birth of my children I really packed it on. Well it has been 11 years since the youngest was born and I have run out of excuses, I know that I need to get off my bottom and make the changes needed hopefully this will help. I always seem to do better if I know there is a change or end in sight so this 17 Day Diet will hopefully be the motivation I need.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 10:17 pm


Mom to C & L

I'm tired of not wanting to be in our family pictures. I don't want my children to grow up and ask why Mom is never in any of our family and vacation pictures.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 10:04 pm


userfile
Eva Denny

I really would like to start this diet. I think it could be the next step to a healthier lifestyle for me. I rally want to have another child and loosing wieght is key to helping resolve my fertility issues. It will also help me be more active and involved with my child I have already.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 10:04 pm


Beverlee

You know, sometimes you just have to say to yourself - could this one be "the one"??? So, yes, I am going to purchase the book and exercise video. I mean, what can I lose -- except weight, right? Look forward to receiving materials and losing my "fluff" and looking forward to "fun" again. YOU go Dr. Mike and blessings to you.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 9:42 pm


rick schrader

I'mmm 56 years old and have found that in the last five years I've gone from a 29" waist to 33 and approaching 34 and know that if I don't do something now, it will just become harder and I'll never be able to lose the weight, so I'm more than ready to do something to ge myself started.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 9:38 pm


Kristen

I have done/tried everything to loose weight starting as far back as 7th grade.. I did the old nutri-system, weight watchers and so on.. In 2002, I had a grastric-bypass and was able to loose 110lbs and I was very happy even tho I still needed to loose another 65lbs. I got busy and was working a lot and didn't make time to keep walking then hurt my back and ended up putting 55lbs back on.. Now I feel like I have failed yet again.. I have been looking for new answers and haven't found anything that seemed like it will work.. Even by watching "The Doctors" and "Dr Oz" I still feel overwhelemed.. I truly want to try the 17 Day Diet B/c even I could handle a diet for just 17 days.. I want my whole family to do this for better health and to get away from processed foods.. I will keep my fingers crossed..

posted Jan 6th, 2011 9:32 pm


Scottye Anne Bryant

I would really love to win this plan. I am 58 years old. I was forced to retire over a year ago and the depression added 50 pounds to my already 200. I have been yo-yo dieting all my life. My counselor says that I may have a fear of success. I just can't commit to long term. WIth this plan and my counselor's help I may finally be able to have the healthy body I have dreamed of. If not I will die before my time. I have multiple health issues. Please let me win this plan. I really can't afford to purchase it for myself. Thank you.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 9:26 pm


Samantha

I am 17 years old and have been unhappy with my size since I was little except two years out of my life. I would loveeeeee this book because my grandma and I have made a deal to do it together. She has rhuematoid arthritis and loosing weight would help with her pain in her joints. In high school, kids are mean and cruel and I have been asked many, many times if i was pregnant, even in public!! It's just so hurtful and makes me feel so bad about myself. I would just like to feel good about myself when I go to prom this year and have a great year senior year!! It would be great to feel good about getting into my dress comfortably and when I go to london next year for my senior trip, looking great!!! I have felt like over and over again I won't be able to lose weight because when a doctor says something is going to work and it doesn't, i have given up most hope. I would love for something to work and for me to feel good about reaching my dream of looking and feeling great! I hope you would take me into consideration when you read these comments and know that I would be extremely appreciative if you would pick me!! Thanks and God Bless!!!!

posted Jan 6th, 2011 8:57 pm


Michelle

I am a almost 32 year old mother of 3. I have always put my kids, husband and work first. This year, is my year. I want to lose the unwanted weight. I work in the health field and see what people struggle through and their stories, and it is heartbreaking to hear. I want to get on the right path, I am not obese, but can lose 40 pounds and ultimate goal is to stay healthy for my family as much as myself. I want to start now...

posted Jan 6th, 2011 8:48 pm


cathy

I am 40 years old and 100 lbs over weight. I am borderline hypertensive now and do not want to go on medication. I have a 5 year old that I can not even keep up wwith because I am always tired after work and do not feel like doing anything,
I heard of the 17 day diet on the doctors show and really would like top try it and make a lifysyle change.
My husband of 8 years is also 100 lbs over weight and is on many hypertenive medication and choleateral medication.
It would be nice to try this new diet program to loose the weight and feel good and spend that extra time with my 5 yr old.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 8:23 pm


Dianne

i would like to do this to make me feel better mentally and physically.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 8:19 pm


Lisa

I have recently had some issues with my ankle and am not able to do any kind of cardiovascular workout so i would love to have this book so I can maintain and even lose weight by controlling my eating while I am unable to workout.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 8:19 pm


susan smoaks

I am ready to get healthy. It's time, I am almost 31 and I want to live a long healthy life!

posted Jan 6th, 2011 8:13 pm



Donna Jorden

I heard about this book on the Doctors and seems doable. I would like to give a try as I have 100 lbs to lose

posted Jan 6th, 2011 8:09 pm


Carolyn Tuccio

Am metabolically challenged and would like to try this as it seems to affect you metabolically.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 8:01 pm


Esther P.

I'm 24 years old and unfortunately have been overweight since I can remember. I can't stand thinking that my younger years are about to pass me by and I still feel and see myself in an unattractive manner because I am overweight. A year ago I finally started doing something to change this, thankfully I lost 35 lbs but the past four months I haven't lost a single pound. I feel that I reached a point where I need extra help to finish off what I started and finally get to a healthy place emotionally and physically, and if the diet is as good as it says it is I think I can accomplish this.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 7:21 pm


Christy

I am a 35 year old mother of 5 kids. I want to make this new year a great one. The first thing I want to do is to lose weight for the benefit of my kids.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 7:19 pm


Catherine

I am a Type I diabetic with a 2 yr. old and a 2 month old. I want to get in shape and get my sugar under control #1 to avoid complications from this disease, and #2 to be around to raise my children and be an active participate in their lives.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 7:15 pm


Katie

I'd love to win this. I'm trying to get healthy so that I can be around for my family and my young son. I've been obese for the better part of 10 years and I'm ready for a lifestyle change

posted Jan 6th, 2011 7:04 pm


Danielle

I am 33 years old and almost a year ago I found out that I am a type 2 diabetic ni have been on numerous medications trying to lower my blood sugar. They do not seem to be working as well as I hoped they would. I don't want to be on insulin, but I would like to try to balancer sugars with diet and exercise. My hopes are that thus book would help me kick start that process.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 3:52 pm


D.

I would love to win "The 17 Day Diet" book. I am 42 years old and over 75 pounds overweight. I am sick of being fat and tired. I want to get out of size 20 and back into size 8. This sounds very promising for acheiving my goal.



posted Jan 6th, 2011 3:41 pm


Jim Stecklow

I am turning 40 this year, I had a severe accident almost 5 years ago. I almost lost my life and or my left hand. During my recovery time I have gained over 55 lbs and I cannot get it off. I try to be active but having a disability to my dominant hand makes things very diificult. I would like to look like a new man for my 40th Birthday, so please consider me for the free book, thank you.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 3:03 pm


Charlotte

I hope to have my name drawn. I'm needing to drop half my body weight and have surgery. Such a blessing if this gift could come my way!

posted Jan 6th, 2011 2:53 pm


Theresa Hosking

I would love to win a 17 day diet book not only for myself but for my grown children to read also.. My parents died at a young age from heart failure and they were way overweight...Now I am heavy, my husband and children and grandchild. I have great concern on there health as well as my own... I know it all started with wrong choices of food. from way back...Just listening to Dr Phil show has me thinking that my family can start becoming a team and working to achieve weight loss... Thank You...

posted Jan 6th, 2011 2:53 pm


maryann westhouse

i saw the dr phil show with all of the peoplle who are loosing weight on this book i like to win it

posted Jan 6th, 2011 2:37 pm


Carol

I would, as so many others, love to win the "17 Day Diet" book. I am 56 and am 80 lbs. overweight. I am beginning to have health issues due to the excess weight and generally have a lot less energy than I should. I am terrified of working out to the level required but I really really want to lose this weight. I can't afford the book right now but I really can't afford not to participate in this program as soon as possible. Please consider me a candidate for the free book so I can get started today!

posted Jan 6th, 2011 7:15 am


Mark Henderson

I would love to receive the 17day diet book my father passed away last year and part of the reasons for his illness was his weight and lack of concern for his health. I do not wish repeat my fathers mistakes and wish to set a better example for my teenage son who is following in his fathers bad habits...

posted Jan 6th, 2011 5:42 am


Candice

I would love to win this book. i need it after the year I had. I lost my mother in May and since then i have been packing on the pounds. With this extra weight, it is stopping me from being active and healthy. i need something to jumpstart my goal. Its a new year and I want to change

posted Jan 6th, 2011 3:30 am



Karen Lange

Looking forward to getting startedwith the 17 day diet plan A new year and want to get going. I feel this can work for me---if I work it!

posted Jan 6th, 2011 3:26 am


annie

I'd love to win this! I like that it has an easy and common sense approach to the diet. I saw it reviewed on TV and am really interested in trying it out!

posted Jan 6th, 2011 2:31 am



ValandWes Jernigan

When I went to the Doctor my blood pressure was 177/112 and I am pre-Diabetic. I want to be off meds, lean, strong and meet my grandchildren one day :)

posted Jan 6th, 2011 1:34 am


Annie

I am a new mom and once a personal trainer. I am so discusted with myself. I am 5'3 and 183 lbs. I have review all of the buzz about the book and have watched dr. phil. I would love to have a free copy of the book, not only because I believe in it, but to be completely honest with you... I cannot afford it. I have never felt this way about a weight loss program before and I believe in my heart of hearts this program would fit me perfectly. Please give me a chance to try it out and I will pay it forward and tell everyone that crosses my path to buy it, when I am done with the program!!!!!!!

posted Jan 5th, 2011 11:55 pm


Ricky Hankins

Im a retired crane operator,who had to retire becauce of a work accident! Now I am somewhat dissabled. and have to have my left fused and a rod put in my leg. ive had this operation 2 times now. Im limited in what I do and how I do it. Ive gain alot of weight and would love to try something that would help me and would try anything once! I really could use some help?

posted Jan 5th, 2011 10:38 pm


Barbara Reiter

I am 47 and weigh 160. I have severe back pain from being overweight. However, I eat to mask the pain and in doing so I add more weight which leads to more pain. This cycle needs to stop and I need help. I also have Multiple Sclerosis so I have to watch my stress and cannot over exert myself. To top that off I am unemployed and a single mom. Please help!

posted Jan 5th, 2011 10:35 pm



Susan Marie Schoch

Plans for 2011 are to get rid of 75-100 lbs which I regained over 3 years. Want to get back into running 5K's and half marathons but need to lose the weight in a safe, healthy manner. That is why I would love to win a free copy of this book.

posted Jan 5th, 2011 10:35 pm


pam j.

I'm anxious to see what this diet includes. after watching dr.phil today it seems like a great plan!
pam

posted Jan 5th, 2011 10:31 pm


pam

After watching Dr. Phil it looks like this could really work. I'm interested to see what the plan includes

posted Jan 5th, 2011 10:28 pm


parkerozgood

I feel like I am lacking a lot of energy lately and I would love to change that

posted Jan 5th, 2011 10:08 pm


marilyn

17 days with fast results is just what i need to kick start my journey to lose 130 pounds. I feel so over welmed and watching Dr. Phil was such an encouragement.

posted Jan 5th, 2011 10:01 pm


Monica

A work related injury has caused me not to be able to maintain the healthy weight that I was able to for most of my life. I have gained over 70 lbs and I want it off. Diagnosed with RSD, I am not able to get around as I use to. Being able to lose my weight by eating properly would be so awesome and life changing! This book seems like it would be a great guide in helping me get the weight off.

posted Jan 5th, 2011 9:54 pm


Sonsy Doney

I am an older mom who adopted an 8 yo child. I worry a lot that he could loose his family twice so I really want to be healthier and be here for him.

posted Jan 5th, 2011 8:47 pm


DANIELLE

I need to lose body fat in order to advance in my career and give myself more confidence.

posted Jan 5th, 2011 8:31 pm


Naji

I am from Arabic Country
I too much hear about this Doctor and his Book
I hope find it but I try without useful
I try with FedEx but they not delivery till now
please if can give me copy .
thanks
Naji

posted Jan 5th, 2011 8:14 pm


Rachel

I need to make a change so that I can be healthy and lose the baby weight before I get pregnant again.

posted Jan 5th, 2011 2:39 am


Chris

I'm ready for a Life Style change, not another four letter word (DIET)
If Doctor Phil says it is a healthy plan, I will support that as well.

Chris - age 62

posted Jan 4th, 2011 5:56 pm


amy richman

I was watching Dr. Phil yesterday when he gave your book, a trainer and food for this beautiful girl whos husband was awlful to her regarding her weight. When Dr. phil offered her this gift with your help I was so inspired for her and saw the look on her face with the hope she could change and loose her weight. I said to myself,ok,it's a new year and you need to lose 30-40 lbs. I am 52 and a late stage baby. 4 children ranging from 28 to 8. I need to stay healthy so I can live a long life with energy to see my 8 yr old walk down the isle and raise my future grandchildren. this extra weight is weighing me down and its time to do something about it. I would LOVE to win a copy of your book which woulfd truley motivate mr e to get started. money is tight (2 kids in college)and it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for the oppurutunity to get myself where i need to be. I also need to lower my cholesterol and I know this would help too!!

posted Jan 4th, 2011 2:46 pm


Tricia

Happy New Year! I am so excited to have a chance to win the 17 Day Diet. Not only am I 60 lbs overweight, I have two bad knees and one bad hip. I'm trying to lose weight before having knee replacement surgery because I understand that losing weight will help with my knee problems before and after the surgery. I need to lose weight desperately. looked into lapband surgery but don't qualify. I am in a vicious cycle, I can't exercise because of the pain and I can't lose weight because I can't exercise. I don't have any other medical problems and not on any type of drugs except over the counter pain medication. If I win this prize, I will be a role model and self-proclaimed spokesperson promoting this product to everyone I know. Thank you for this opportunity!

posted Jan 4th, 2011 1:46 am


Orla

I used to have a very high metabolism until my thyroid stopped working at age 37. In the 3 years it took the idiot doctors to figure out what was wrong with me, I doubled my weight. I went from 120 to 245 pounds. I felt sick all the time. I was exhausted and had no drive to do anything. In the 20 years I have and this thyroid problem, with my meds, I have been able to maintain the weight but not loose anything. I have tried many things to no avail. Now I am 60, was just diagnosed with type 2 diabetes in Dec. of 2009 and both my knees need to be replaced. I so desperately not only need but want to loose this weight. Because of my knees, I can't even do swimming as kicking is very painful. I know at 60 it is a difficult battle to try to loose weight especially without being able to do a lot of exercises but I have recently started to try to do some cardio from a sitting position but I don't think I'm doing very well, but I'm going to stick to it. I am trying to figure out a way to retrain my metabolism to start working better if that's possible. This book sounds like it could help a lot. I need something that is straight forward, simple and easy to follow and that's what this sounds like.

posted Jan 4th, 2011 1:09 am


Bev

Diabetes has made me think seriously about my unhealthy life style and I need to make the change so I can feel healthier. Thanks for the chance.

posted Jan 4th, 2011 12:26 am


Kathy A

I'm 52yrs. old overweight, and have high blood pressure. I would like to get heathy to live long enough to enjoy my family.

posted Jan 4th, 2011 12:12 am


Leslie

I am a 26 year old mom of 3 young kids. I was 140 before I had 3 kids in 3 years and now I am 215 lbs. I would love to have this diet and start feeling good about myself again. I have tried everything even got my thyroid checked and I can't seem to lose weight. I want to be able to interact with my kids. Please help! 1/10/11 - GIVEAWAY WINNER SELECTED

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 9:54 pm


userfile
Carolyn Dunne

My biggest problem is overeating. Hopefully something new every couple of weeks would help me avoid that rut I fall into too often, which slows my results.

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 9:44 pm


April

I am a 26 year old mother to a 2 year old boy and I am extremely obese. I was over weight when I got pregnant with my son, and it all just went down hill even more since then. I am 5ft4in and pushing 350lbs. I want and need to get healthy for me and my son. I don't want to end up, God forbid, dying before my son is an adult due to something I should have control over. I am SOOOO ready to make the committment to a better life style and become proud of myself again. I have watched so much about this book on Dr. Phil and want to do this. The new year is here and I am ready to change! Thank you! God Bless!

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 8:58 pm


Karen Polk

Need to eat healthier and feel better about myself this year.

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 2:22 pm


Brian Turner

I need to make a change in my life NOW. This would be great.

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 4:07 am


Barbara Scheib

I am an overweigh 57 year old with a healthy 92 year old Dad and I want to amke it at least that far in life.

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 3:01 pm


Marlene B.

Had surgery a few weeks ago and my best friend has been my TV so I watched Dr. Moreno on the Drs. show. Sitting down for so long plus the holidays, I've gained some weight. I need to get back on track and I think this will help me.:)

posted Dec 31st, 2010 4:05 am


Melissa M.

I need to be able to keep up with my kids.

posted Dec 31st, 2010 1:59 am


Ria

My son passed away at the age of 6 years old in 2006. He was such a sweet little loving boy. And ever since I have had his brother (who was 4 at the time of his brother's death) who was born in 2001, I have been overweight, I have tried everything from Weight Watchers to Nutrisystem. I have even been walking 2 miles every day on the treadmill. and haven;t dropped a pound. Please consider me for you book. I need help!! For my 9 year old boy I need to be around to watch him grow up. Thank you very much!

posted Dec 30th, 2010 4:04 am


Angela Martini

I'm tired of feeling sick and fat

posted Dec 28th, 2010 9:09 pm


Michele

I would be very interested in trying the 17 Day Diet. I have been up and down with my weight for the past 7 years. I have tryed other diets that my friends have succeded at but I always would fail. I know we all are different but I would love to find the one right for me. I have four girls who I always encourage to exercise and eat right. I would appreciate this offer to help me find that right diet for me to succeded at too. Thnak You

posted Dec 27th, 2010 8:22 pm


Linda C

My sister-in-law just lost her husband to cancer. Gained several pounds during the 2 yrs of dealing with helping him fight for his life. I had my thyroid removed and have put on the pounds as well. I would like to have a copy for her so we can do this together. It would be a gift of an new life for her as well as for myself. Together we can beat this weight problem and go forward with a new healthier life.

posted Dec 26th, 2010 10:00 pm


Violet

I watched the Doctor Show and this Diet really seem to work *easy to use. I have tried other Diet and it like Starving myself. and I don't seem to be able to stay on them. would love to try this.

posted Dec 26th, 2010 4:25 pm


Wendy Huether

would love to read this book. Need the weight loss due to heart condition. and many failed attempts to lose weight

posted Dec 25th, 2010 11:58 pm


Sue Darling

I am so interested in starting the new program. I am 74 years old and for health sake I need to loose 40 lbs. I was so impressed with the interview. Please, I need help and I am sure this will work for me. and my husband.

posted Dec 24th, 2010 12:13 pm


Lauren M.

I'm preparing to graduate after being in school for seven years and would like to start a fresh diet and exercise plan.

posted Dec 23rd, 2010 8:58 pm


Karan

I was on this for 3 days. On the morning of the 4th day I awoke so weak I was unable to raise my arms and my heart was beating out of my chest. I have no medical issues and did follow the diet to the letter. After I resumed my balanced eating diet I recovered fast..
Also, I take an anti depressant which was impaired as I was cashing. I started to fall apart.
I am so mad that I wasted my money on this dangerous diet book.

posted Dec 23rd, 2010 3:31 pm


dee

need to lose weight but dont seem to eat the right foods

posted Dec 23rd, 2010 1:19 pm


sa

need to get firm in my effort to change- too much stress and don't take care of myself

posted Dec 23rd, 2010 4:33 am


Kelly F.

I would appreciate a free copy of this book. I am a mom, wife and a student.
I am only about 10 pounds overweight but more importantly I would love to adapt new and more healthy eating habits for my family My family has gone through troubling
financial times and could really use a free
copy.
Please please chose a struggling student and mom!
Thank you for your consideration.

posted Dec 23rd, 2010 12:38 am


Chanda Jackson

I have always been the off and on dieter and I love it when I sheaded the pounds but i hate when I gain them back! I am 33 years old and
i weight 285lbs and I've always been the biggest out of my sister and my mom, therefore my mom kept me on diets. So i'm just ready to try almost anything to keep the weight off(even lapband) however, I wanted to make sure I have tried everything before I result to that. So I would love to try the 17 Day Diet by Dr. Mike Moreno! I feel that I could have that motovation that I lack by reading his book and add this to my everyday living! So I think I am a GREAT canadaite for the book! I look forward to this new journey in my life!
Sincerly,
Ms.ArkLaTex Diva

posted Dec 22nd, 2010 9:05 pm


Vicky Walcott

I would love to win "The 17 Day Diet" book. I am 53 years old and 30 pounds overweight. I am sick of being fat and tired. I want to get out of size 12 and back into size 8. This sounds very promising for acheiving my goal.

posted Dec 22nd, 2010 8:59 pm


Dena Clark

I would like to start the new year out happy and healthy!!! I think this might be the answer I am looking for!!! Thanks and Happy Holidays!!!

posted Dec 22nd, 2010 8:54 pm


Taylor Peterson

Im 18 years old and I really want to learn good eating habits now. Im ready to make a change and to be a healthy person. I have seen this diet on the doctors and the dr.phil show and they both say that it is a good and healthy diet.

posted Dec 22nd, 2010 8:12 pm


olga stojanovski

I watched the Doctor's show today & was really impressed with all the information on your 17 day diet....your diet is healthy with lot's of common sense. I am a Mom to 5 children and 7 grandchildren & would like to change my lifestyle and also my family's lifestyle to a healthy diet. I lost my Dad at the age of 53 and my brother at the age of 43 attributed to heart failure. Both me and my husband need to loose some weight and would like to go the safe & heathy way of loosing the weight. I am 53 years of age and my husband is 58.
Thank You very much for sharing all your knowledge in helping America get back on the right track of staying healthy and stoping obesity! Our children and grand children are at high risk to obesity.
Olga

posted Dec 22nd, 2010 7:19 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account