Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

400 Calorie Fix Diet Perfect for Your Resolution

It’s hard to find a practical diet that you can fit into your daily life. Oh, they’re out there but it can be difficult to sift through all the bad ones. Prevention Magazine has re-released its 400 Calorie Diet, which debuted January 2010. The book aims to provide effective weight loss in a manner that can be sustained long-term.

The 400 Calorie Diet is pretty clear-cut. Consume four meals a day, each containing about 400 calories. By practicing portion control, the diet advocates eating whatever you want, within reason. With 400 tips and recipes for 400-calorie meals, you’re bound to find something in there for you. Included are tips for dining out, drive-thru and coffee shop meals that, let’s face it, everyone encounters on occasion.

This is a diet that can be used regardless of your eating habits, simply reduce the number of calories you consume and eat consistently throughout the day. The responsibility of choosing those calories wisely is left to you – fresh meals prepared at home versus fast-food.

If you’re looking for more immediate results, The 400 Calorie Diet features a two-week Quick Slim. The Quick Slim jump-starts your diet by reducing your caloric intake to 1,200 calories per day. It also places greater emphasis on exercise. The classic 400 Calorie Fix also encourages exercise but it doesn’t provide samples or specific routines. You can find great fitness routines on the Prevention site Find a Workout.

(WINNER SELECTED: “PALOMA”) Win a copy of The 400 Calorie Fix! Leave a comment on this page with your New Year’s Resolution and what you’re doing to achieve it. We’ll draw one winner on January 7, 2011.

*DISCLAIMER: Only residents of the U.S. are eligible to win. DietsInReview.com will draw one winner January 7, 2011 and will notify winner via the email used in the comment form. Winner has three business days to respond and claim prize or forfeit prize. DietsInReview.com is not responsible for lost or stolen packages, nor failed shipments due to user providing incorrect address. DietsInReview.com may replace the prize with one of equal value if prize is not available. Prize value is $31.95; not redeemable for cash. Prize provided by Rodale.

Other Diets by Prevention Magazine:

400 Calorie Diet Re-Released on December 21st

Flat Belly Diet Boasts a 91 Percent Success Rate

Biggest Loser Club Gives You the Ranch Experience at Home

December 27th, 2010

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 26 total comments)

Veronica Garrett

My New Year's Resolution is to eat healthier. I am eating more natural and organic foods. I am also eating more fruits and vegetables.

posted Jan 8th, 2011 3:01 am


Jaime

I just NEED to find something that will work for me!

posted Jan 7th, 2011 4:49 pm


djgroz

To forgive people when they do something wrong

posted Jan 7th, 2011 4:14 pm


Jessica B

To learn how to be more motivated!

posted Jan 7th, 2011 3:00 pm


Trish

My New Year's resolution is to be fit and fabulous in 2011! I am starting slowly with workouts and will work out more often, and with greater duration, throughout the year.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 2:40 am


Danielle

My New Year's Resolution is to focus on my overall health. I'm tired of crash diets; they just don't work. So, I'm going to eat what's healthy (all in moderation) and exercise reasonably.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 1:57 am



Donna Jorden

Eat more fruits and veggies

posted Jan 6th, 2011 8:11 pm


Nessa

I am going to eat more fruits and vegetables in my journey to lose over 75 pounds

posted Jan 6th, 2011 4:28 am


Samantha M

My NYR is to get in shape by losing 50lbs. I have a desk job at a recreation center and am making my way to the gym instead of the office.

posted Jan 5th, 2011 3:18 am


Jackie Colwell

I am 62 years old. I weigh 180 lbs. I wear a size 14. I can't afford to buy all new clothes. My fibromyalgia (which has been in remission for 10 years ) is returning. My GERD is getting worse. I already watch what I eat and don't eat junk. I have signed up for Zumba and Fusion. I need to sensibly reduce calories. I need to lose weight!

posted Jan 4th, 2011 7:50 pm


Paloma

WINNER SELECTED 1/10/11 My New Year resolution is to learn to plan healthier meals for myself and my family, personally lose 20-30lbs and keep it off! I am learning what to eat and when to eat it, searching for activities where my daughter can join me for exercise and I am keeping a positive outlook that I can make this happen in 2011!

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 9:31 pm


Nancy

I would like to lose 25 lbs this year as a start to my weight loss. I need to lose about 80lbs to be at a healthy weight. I want to start small and I think this book will help with different things that I can eat and keep me in line with keeping 1200 calories a day and eat the meals in small doses throughout the day.

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 7:09 pm



Carolyn Dunne

My two-pronged resolution is to lose 17 pounds to get within a healthy range (I know research has shown that people who are 10 pounds overweight live the longest, but going 7 pounds under the maximum "health" line leads to a strong, toned body) and to complete a half marathon.

I've never done anything more than a 5k, and my times are crappy at that, so I'm trying to train for a 5k every other month and a sprint triathlon sometime in the spring or summer in an effort to prepare for my second goal.

This book would be a great way for me to feel as if I'm splurging on treats without the guilt, since I would be making healthier choices.

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 6:41 am


karen

I need to lose weight and I need to do it in an organized, healthy way. This book sounds like just the thing.

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 5:15 am


Brian Turner

My resolution is to do the right things for me and others. This would help.

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 4:08 am


Angela M.

One of my goals is to run a half-marathon in early May.

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 7:07 pm


Sheri

My resolution is to have more fun in 2011, and to enjoy my body by loosing weight!

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 4:25 pm


anne

I need to regulate my food intake

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 1:24 pm


robin kennedy

I am diabetic, have high blood pressure and GERD. My inactivity and poor eating habits are slowly killing me.
I want to take back my life. I have joined a gym and a weight loss support group. Now I just need some new ideas for meals. I want 2011 to be the year I finally get healthy.

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 8:52 am


dawn

My resolution I will continue to work out regularly

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 4:15 am



willitara

I didn't accomplish my resolution for 2010 and that just shows me that I didn't apply enough willpower. This year I am determined to follow through. I need to lose 40 pounds and I'm going to do it the right way.

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 2:54 am


Lindsey

My New Year's Resolution (one of them anyway) is to lose 30 pounds. I've already started my diet plan and lost of the original 35 I want to lose total. I plan to achieve this goal by eating 1200 calories a day, exercising 4-5 times a week, and drinking lots of water. On special occasions when I go over on calories (like Christmas), I'm exercising more to make up for it. I'm using a fitness app on my phone to track everything, and I just do the math. If I eat an extra 300 calories in pumpkin pie, I burn off an exra 300 calories through exercise. It feels sustainable, and I feel better all ready even though I'm just going into my fourth week. I believe this is one resolution I'll actually be able to keep!

posted Dec 27th, 2010 9:45 pm



Allison

My New Year resolution is to get healthy and lose 75-100lbs this year! I want back what I know is inside me to feel good, wanting to exercise and eat right! My 30th high school reunion is in 2012 for another incentive to lose this weight now!! I have a range of weight loss goal because it will depend on how I feel once I get there as to what weight 'feels' right for me!!! I would love the 3months on BL site to kick start it! I am going to do this the old fashioned way...eat right, the right amounts..and exercise!!

posted Dec 27th, 2010 9:40 pm


MissNuckles

I made my new years resolution months ago. I vowed to make realistic health/weight goals. The first one was that I would loose 10 lbs by a certain date. That date came and went and I had only lost 5 but I felt so awesome! I ignored any frustration that I was feeling and just pushed on. I now go to the gym a minimum of 5 days a week and I eat much healthier. I have only lost 7 lbs but I'm totally ok with that. I know as long as I continue on with my dedication that I will eventually get to the 10 lb mark but that's not really whats important. I feel good and that's what I find to be the best result.

posted Dec 27th, 2010 9:40 pm



Angela Snipes

The only New Year Resolution I ever kept was six years ago when I quit smoking. Now 50 lbs heavier, I need to take that same willpower and make another resolution stick ... the one where I get healthy and lose some weight.

What I am doing to achieve that goal is a membership to the YMCA and we are going to get a treadmill for the house. This book would help tremendously as well!

posted Dec 27th, 2010 9:26 pm



Diane Stokes

My 2010 resolution was to run a half marathon...Did it! This year it will be to train for and complete a full marathon!

Two years ago, these resolutions would have been a laughable goal because I was so unfit and had never been a runner.

I will continue to work out regularly because I've seen what I am capable of doing.

posted Dec 27th, 2010 9:19 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account