Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Fast Food Nightmares: McDonald’s Big Mac Snack Wrap

The fast-food designers are at it again. And The Golden Arches are at the top of the list with their newest creation, the Big Mac Snack Wrap, a burrito-style version of a Big Mac.mcdonalds big mac snack wrap

As if the Angus Burger bombs, KFC’s Double Down Chicken Sandwich, and Hardee’s Fried Bologna Biscuit Sandwich weren’t enough to empower anyone to lose all hope in fast-food restaurants, McDonald’s adds insult to injury with this disastrous sandwich.

While the name “snack wrap” makes you think this is just a harmless little snack-sized sandwich that you might munch on as a small afternoon pick-me-up, think again. This is a burrito, folks. It’s name, “Big Mac Snack Wrap,” is just a sneaky marketing maneuver to get you to think that what you are eating is akin to a half of a turkey sandwich a few crackers and cheese. And even if you’re watching your carbs, don’t be fooled by this seemingly lower carb version of a nutritional nightmare: White flour is white flour and a Big Mac is a Big Mac.

As its name does imply, the Big Mac Snack Wrap is a Big Mac with all of the signature fixings – sliced burger patty, special sauce, lettuce, onions, cheese, pickle but no sesame seed bun. The sandwich was test-marketed in Canada and has slowly made its way across the border to the U.S. where it has hit Chicago and Houston.

The nutrition information of the Big Mac Snack Wrap is mysteriously absent from McDonald’s website even though I did find one source that reported that each wrap contains 350 calories and 21 grams of fat. (A traditional Big Mac sandwich is 540 calories and 29 grams of fat.)

The wrap sells for less than $2 and is slated to be making its way to a McDonald’s near you. Consider yourself warned.

September 10th, 2009

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 12 total comments)

nick

ldw2j how's working for McDonalds going for ya? Good benefits?

posted Jan 2nd, 2012 1:02 am


ldw2j

Can I just tell you, I'm not a nutritional expert however I am a fast food consumer. I also do a good amount of exercise. I'm a black belt in Tae Kwon Do and do that 2-3 days a weeks, I also do yoga 2 nights a week. I eat fast food on a pretty consistent basis, developed this habit when I was in college and working retail and only had a few minutes to eat lunch.

However, I'm proud to say that I just visited the doctor and I am healthy as a horse. Doctor says if he didn't know my diet he would guess I eat nothing but salad, boiled chicken breast, etc. all day long. I like the snack wrap, including the big mac one and I'm healthy as can be.

To all those snob that are like "it looks disgusting...blah blah blah" don't eat it!!! To me guacomole looks disgusting and don't eat it even though I'm sure it's healthy and health nuts swear buy it. Just don't eat it...but stop trying to make people like me who enjoy it and know that in order to eat it, I have to work out and take care of my body, feel guilty about eating it by calling us disgusting. It's rude and snobbish.

posted Nov 4th, 2010 6:29 pm


corinne

Of course it`s not "healthy", but considering I can now have the delicious big mac taste in something that`s not nearly as bad as the real thing- I'm impressed! Yummm..

posted Oct 17th, 2010 1:40 am


kiori

how can the mcsnack wrap be 350 calories dude its only half of 1 burger when a big mac is 2 whole burgers you do the math i think its way more healthier than a big mac and i love it

posted Oct 7th, 2010 3:12 am


deedee

I had one. I liked it. As for the 350 cal? I can burn that off. The 29g fat? What kind of fats? Breakdown please. What is that in % RDA saturated/trans because that's what I'm concerned with.
But really, have you eaten a Dairy Queen Dilly Bar lately? They tout it's made with skim milk - very little I'd say. One Dilly is 220 cal. with 50% of the RDA of saturated fat. Heck, a simple, small cone is 230 cal and 22% RDA saturated fat.
Heather, take aim at Dairy Queen. Not only do their treats contribute to obesity, they don't put nutritional info on any of their packaging for their carry-out treats, not individually or on the bulk boxes. How can intelligent choices be made without information?

posted Aug 18th, 2010 11:49 am


Ed hands

350 calories are a "nightmare"? Seriously? I think notch hit it right on the head. It may not be the best choice, but at 190 calories less than a Big Mac, it offers a little better alternative.

posted Apr 21st, 2010 10:28 pm


Dan Hamel

Overall 350 calories is not much when it comes to the overall picture here. If you are in the habit of working out and eating right, and you feel the urge for something like a Big Mac, then this is really for you. I just had one tonight, and they're great! I'll take 350 caloires over 540 calories any day. I burn 350 calories within the first 10 minutes of my work out as it is, so I think I'll continue to eat these in moderation, when the urge should arise. This is definitely not a drive through nightmare.

posted Apr 4th, 2010 11:26 pm


Nooch

It's 350 friggin' calories! "Fast Food Nightmare?" I guess the blogosphere - and the hits=paypal riches mirage - will spawn this sort of crap.

BTW, the next time you go to the market calculate how much 350 calories gets in a meal. It isn't much.

Despite what the Diet Nazi's will tell you, it's never about what you do here and there (so, have a pizza and LOVE it!). It's what you do in the long-term. Patterns of behavior are everything.

I lost 65 pounds, have 10% body fat, and have whatever I want - in moderation. So, if I wanted a damn Big Mac, I'd have it. Or the somewhat lesser version of it - and not think it was "nightmare".

posted Feb 15th, 2010 4:44 am


guest

Taste it before you judge it. If you crave Big Macs, but want the "lighter" version I say, "Go for it." And pickles taste just fine on the tortilla!

posted Feb 1st, 2010 12:07 pm


IKnowItAll

Brad, the *only* reason they introduced the wrap is the lower calorie and nutritional content.
350 calories isn't bad, but 21 grams of fat? Not much of an improvement, and you can have a lot more food for that calorie count for a third or quarter of the fat.

posted Jan 9th, 2010 5:32 pm


Brad

I saw the commercial for this thing and immediately hit the internet to see what people were saying about it. I could not believe my eyes when I saw McDonald's show this burrito in their commercial.

First of all, I don't care about the nutrition content in this meal, I am only interested in it's edibility. This "wrap" looks TERRIBLE! I couldn't imagine eating it, the dry, tasteless quality of the tortilla, (Which is what a tortilla is supposed to be) would immediately mingle with the pickles. can you imagine the flavor of pickles on tortilla? I can, it's a sweet and salty disaster.

The patty's should be like the sausage that McDonald's uses in their breakfast burritos, no confirmation on what the patty's are made of yet. If they did manage using the real Big Mac patty then god save American food.

The tortilla originated in Mexico. Now Mexicans may have put pickles on tortillas, if they had any cucumbers. Cucumbers don't grow in Mexico, vinegar however can be made anywhere in the world from fruit juices or wine that is left to ferment for a specific amount of time. Still. No cucumbers means no pickles which means no sweet and sour burritos.

There is a reason why you don't find pickles in tortillas.

Anyway I have probably brought some of my own opinions about how you should like tortillas, of course it is up to the consumer what to like and not like.

On my scale of food from 1 being the best and 100 being the worst in accordance to taste, this food earns a rather high 87. AND THIS IS ONLY BASED ON THE LOOK OF IT! I have rated a lot of foods, this is the first time I have rated a food without tasting it, and trust me, I don't plan on tasting this tongue bitter anytime soon.

Oh, and good luck on your diet, if that is why you are reading this.

posted Jan 9th, 2010 1:57 am


Lisa Cain

It is really scary that 350 calories is considered a snack - though it is only a little more than some candy bars.
Thanks for the review.
Lisa

posted Sep 10th, 2009 1:55 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account