Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

The Low-Down on 5-Hour Energy Shots

With entire beverage cases filled with energy drinks, there is no disputing that we are a well-caffeinated culture. Maybe even too caffeinated.

5-hour energy shots

One such drink that has found its way in every gas station, every convenience store, millions of  websites and even health food stores are 5-Hour Energy shots. Since many drinks contain sugar and a lot of it, they are also steeped in calories. But 5-Hour Energy shots bill themselves as the carb-conscious solution for anyone looking for a boost of energy without the calories of sugar. In addition, these small pocket-sized bottles of caffeine don’t contain any herbal stimulants and sport just four calories per two-ounce serving. They also contain Vitamin B6, B12, folic acid, amino acids and niacin.

The regular strength 5-Hour Energy shots contain about 80 mg of caffeine per two-ounce serving, which is about the equivalent of an eight-ounce cup of coffee. But the brand has also created an Extra Strength which contains as much caffeine as a 12-ounce cup of joe.

While energy drinks like 5-Hour Energy shots are popular among teenagers and young adults, many health advocates have highly criticized the potential danger of these super-charged beverages. Even the FDA cannot attest for the safety of many of the ingredients of these caffeine bombs. Possible side effects are irregular heart beats, dizziness, insomnia, jitteriness, irritability and reduced concentration.

The primary concern among the medical community is that the the effects of caffeine on the developing brains of children, teenagers and young adults has not been studied. We do know that caffeine use poses risk for the developing fetus during pregnancy and can also cause sleeping and psychological problems.

In addition, the caffeine content does not have to be disclosed on the label just as long as what is included on it is suffice enough to comply with the current labeling regulations.

So the take-home message is to exercise caution. If you’re brave enough to try one of these heart-thumping drinks, do yourself a favor and read the instructions. The 5-Hour Energy shots for both Regular and Extra Strength only recommend that you drink half of a bottle (or one ounce) to start with for a moderate energy boost. In addition, the label strongly discourages consuming two bottles in a 24-hour period. Unless of course, you enjoy bouncing off walls and visibly seeing your ticker thump through your chest.

August 28th, 2009

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 55 total comments)

Shelly

I'm 13 years old and I had a 5 hour energy this morning at 7 on empty stomach before school. The first hour was ok but I had the jitters but that was fine. I got into second hour and I started feeling queasy and my biggest fear is throwing up so anxiety kicked in witch lead to increase of heart rate. I had no appitite at lunch. I thought it would end at the end of 5 hours boy was I wrong I finally said "I'm done" and got taken home. It lasted a while longer than was done.

posted Nov 11th, 2014 11:23 pm


Randy

Quite frankly, I'm highly skeptical of many of the postings here where people complain of severe reactions to just one bottle of 5HE. Most are drama queens, and a few may have pre-existing, underlying health problems.

The people complaining of less severe 5HE reactions such as rapid heartbeat, jitters etc. - are virtually always the ones who are consuming an entire bottle at one time on an empty stomach.

If you drink an entire bottle at one time, do so immediately after a meal, on a full stomach. If you must take 5HE on an empty stomach, drink only half a bottle.

I've NEVER had a rapid heartbeat or jitters after taking 5HE on a full stomach.

posted Jan 12th, 2013 11:24 pm


darla

Today was my first time trying 5HE. It smells like dog piss, but I drank it any way. It made me feel horrible - not jittery or focused, just not myself. I gave my other bottle away and am drinking water like crazy to get it out of my system.
I won't be drinking it ever again. Maybe it's OK for some people, but for me, I'll stick with Diet Coke.

posted Jul 6th, 2012 8:58 pm


Marcus

For those of you out there that take 5-Hour and don't like the taste, you should take a look at Jeff Foxworthy's Full Force Energy Shot. It has essentially the same ingredients as 5-Hour but tastes SOOOO much better! Give it a "shot" and you'll never go back!

posted May 8th, 2012 6:52 pm


Bren

This sent me to the hospital, and I had what seemed like a severe seziure.. I couldnt move my entire upper body.. everything contracted in on itself and I was struggling to breathe. The only good thing was that I was right across the street from a hospital. And I have NO health problems, im healthy and just took one to stay awake for class.

def will NEVER take it again.

posted Mar 31st, 2012 5:20 am


RD

When doing long drives I often begin to get very stiff after a couple of hours of driving. 5HE does seem to moderate the stiffness while helping alertness. It also seems to be beneficial when I am short on sleep and trying to avoid the 1:30 nods at work. I take it 10 to 30 minutes after eating lunch.

posted Mar 5th, 2012 6:47 pm


Tay P

I love 5 hour energy. It's my go to when schools starting up again and i have to get in the swing of things, or when I'm about to go out to a party (you're probably not supposed to do that) I took it before a volleyball game in high school once and that was the only time the side effects were a little iffy. i was jittery and had the most energy I ever had on 5HE. It made me feel uncoordinated as well. So athletes do NOT take it before you are about to exercise or really exert yourself when it counts. But if you need a boost for work or school I say go for it. But alll in moderation. and do not take it too late in the day. Obviously it reacts to everyone differently.

posted Jan 4th, 2012 11:34 pm


DrGinPgh

I use 5he occasionally and with no side effects at all--it really helps me. My husband used it for the first time yesterday and I actually debated rushing him to the hospital. He felt ok, but jittery, but what transpired next--I actually could not believe my eyes. His stomach, which is a little chubby, was actually JUMPING! I mean, it was like you would grab your stomach fat and start jiggling it like you were being silly. I quickly gave him water and a banana hoping that the problem was that he was dehydrated and the caffeine was really kicking in. Within 10 minutes his stomach stopped doing that and he felt much better. His comment after that was that he felt like he wanted to rake the leaves by picking up one leaf at a time and running it to the back of the backyard. I'm just glad it resolved itself, but holy crap, I have never seen anything like that in my life. I will never suggest that anyone take this now that I have seen his reaction.

posted Nov 14th, 2011 2:20 am


Randy

I've been using 5HE for over a year now, with no adverse side effects. I've never experienced nausea, headaches, dizziness, jitters, insomnia, flushed skin etc. I have not found them to be addictive or habit forming. I rarely drink more than one a day, and have never had more than 8 in a 7-day period. They definitely improve my alertness and concentration, and give me a steady flow of extra energy over a period of several hours. Some of my colleagues at work have noticed that I'm more productive after taking one.

Just follow the instructions and start out with half a bottle. Never drink more than two bottles a day, and be sure to space them several hours apart. Ignore naysayers who talk about "potential" adverse effects of 5HE. Virtually everything is bad for you if over consumed - vitamins, water etc. I've seen scientific studies claiming that coffee is bad for your kidneys, bowels etc. I buy 10-packs of 5HE at Walmart, so the price per bottle is only $1.93, tax included. No having to wash coffee cups, coffee makers, thermoses etc. Definitely safer to consume in a moving vehicle than a hot cup of coffee. A bottle can be easily and safely stored in your pocket, purse etc.


posted Nov 8th, 2011 10:56 pm


evelyn

I use 5HE before my morning workouts at the Y and never had a problem until this week. Did my usualy 4 mine run, and felt fine. Then suddenly felt like I was going to pass out. I had to actually lie down on a mat in the gym for 5 min. Never happend to me before. Now, I'm scared to use them....

posted Sep 1st, 2011 11:01 am


Scott

Clearly, 5HE is not for everyone. I have used it pretty regularly for a few years and have never had any bad reactions or side effects. I try NOT to use it daily, only when I am very sleepy or low on energy. I have never taken more than two in a single day and then only spaced several hours apart. You should drink plenty of water with 5HE to help your body shed the unabsorbed B vitamins. And when all else fails, read the instructions, people... they are there for good reason. Proceed with caution until you're sure how your body chemistry will tolerate it.

posted Aug 31st, 2011 10:50 am


jitter bug

Just took this product for the first time. It keeps my eyes open but mentally i still feel tired. I took the whole bottle of regular strength. No jitters. Not yet. I do feel hot in my ears and in my face. Maybe its just that my face is burning in hell. Like with satan ("whats up, fool?"). The thing that is funny about this website, or any website where people are allowed to express their opinion (and think their opinion is the ONLY and SMARTEST way) they come off angry and dim. You can tell in the other comments here who is actually ON the 5hr energy because they have forgotten how to spell and say fuck a lot.

posted Jul 29th, 2011 12:53 am


Daiz

this stuff is f***ing fantastic. works fast, etc, if u take the whole bottle at whole can make u a little jiettery n anxious. but half a bottle is fantastic. its a fucking stimulant, if u dont like it dont take it. its not a substitute for sleep 0r food either for those of u complaining.

posted Jul 23rd, 2011 12:04 pm


Sneedle

I have been drinking 5-hour Energy for a few years on and off. My medical doctors and many friends get very upset and tell me to stop drinking this product right away.
I get sick when I take Vitamin B, but am ok when I drink this product.
I drink 1/2 bottle M-F to get me going since I don't like coffee.
The past week I have been seeing those black tracers in my vision, they have come and gone the past few years. I also have had headaches. I have puked once. I have been very foggy. I am groggy in the day and have troubles falling asleep at night. But, what has concerned me the most is I have been very light-headed I have felt like I am on the verge of passing out. Scary! I had no idea what was going on with me and after reading all these comments I realize it is from this product.
I love the caffeine I get from 5-hour Energy, but need to stop taking it for what it is doing to my body. :/

posted Jul 13th, 2011 5:55 pm


Dave

For the morons who can't figure out that labels are written for EVERYONE and individual results may vary....

This product works great. If you're too stupid to figure out how to digest a stimulant then perhaps you should back away and just go to bed where you hopefully will not hurt anyone and not write any stupid mindless reviews about your matress.

posted Jun 24th, 2011 7:33 pm


gniob

5HE is ok, but a bit of a ripoff. Caffeine pills are way cheaper and just as effective. Get uncoated ones though or they'll take several hours to kick in. Remember to eat. I could live on 3 200 mg pills and 3 graham crackers a day and not feel hungry, but I'd probably pass out after a couple of days. After a while, my stomach starts to feel empty, but no mental urge to eat. But yeah, 80-100 mg for $2.49 is a total ripoff. When you can get 28 200 mg pills for $5.00--5600/5=1120, 100/2.5=40, 1120/40=28. 5HE is 28 times as expensive as pills. Maybe I'll have a 5HE for special occasions, but pills are best for everyday.

posted May 30th, 2011 12:02 pm


Shelly

I have never had any bad side effects from this. I did read the instructions and went with an even lower amount then recommended. At first I just had one swallow to get a boost and so one bottle lasted 3 days so that's not much at all and it really worked well. I now drink half a bottle in the morning to get my butt out of bed. I drink it while I'm still in bed and it wakes me up so I am actually willing to get up. I only have a half a bottle a day and that's it. I also drink tea a little later in the day for another caffeine boost just one cup and I never get jittery. It's all in moderation just as with everything. Only start out with a very small amount of this. One swallow and see how it goes. If you drink the whole bottle the first time well no wonder you are having problems. I have never drank a whole bottle and have been drinking this for 6 months.

posted May 26th, 2011 8:09 pm


Cyndi

I used this before my workout for extra energy.. It made me feel like I was uncoordinated and I even had some trouble thinking quickly. I was studderring a little which was really weird! I am also writing this at almost 4am because I can't sleep and I drank it at 6:30pm .. About 9.5 hrs ago!!! I want some sleep but am still jittery :(
Do ur research... I just read before posting this that the ingredients in this drink can cause mental problems even permanently... SCARY stuff

posted May 19th, 2011 9:32 am


Alex

I have had no trouble with the regular strength shot, however the extra strength product left me feeling jittery and uncomfortable. Know your limits and start with half a bottle. I have never experienced pains or nausea, and I assume that most people who do either ignore the recommendation of only taking 2 in a 24 hour period (too much in my opinion) or have an underlying condition. Use common sense and you will be fine.

posted Apr 25th, 2011 1:29 pm


jason

ok people. as we all know this product is not made for everyone out there. i have been taking theses shots for a while and had have had no probs at all. some people have and sorry for the bad things that have happened to you. but now u know not to take it :)

posted Apr 9th, 2011 8:45 am


C.Skelly

I'm a junior in college and have tested so many energy drinks on the market, from amp to monster, sugar free (ugh) and even up to NOS (that stuff is scary as shit) and coffee and coffee energy drinks.

Of course this stuff will give you stomach pain if you take too much (and for some people half the bottle will be too much). Any sort of caffeine will give you stomach pain if you have absolutely no food on your stomach. I've spent plenty of all nighters up and the main thing besides caffeine is EAT. It is also probably because you are dehydrated. That amount of caffeine plunging into your system will dehydrate you, rev your metabolism and burn the food you ate and make you want more.

I have always taken only half sips of energy drinks and felt their effects. NOS can get those scary heart palpitations and nervousness, and hand shaking.

I take itty bitty sips of the Extra strength to get concentrated energy but make a $3 bottle last much longer. Taking part of it once or twice a day I can usually make it last 5 days.

It gives me focus without jitters, and people should not be so dumb as to take the maximum amount their first try. You don't run 26 miles the first time you start training for a marathon do you? No. Test the waters and if you need more, build yourself up son.

posted Apr 8th, 2011 7:19 pm


Karl Childers

Anyone claiming this stuff doesn't work, or hell, that it's going to kill you, are oblivious to sanity. There's nothing wrong with this stuff, and for me, there's no placebo, either. This stuff will boot you in the butt so you can get to the get-go. Sure, you can't chug down more than two unless you want to be stuck awake forever, but I just had one to finish some major homework assignments, and if anything, it helps me increase the usage of my brain capacity. Sounds like BS I know, but earlier, I was tired and droned out from a hard first day back to school. I took this stuff, and I can actually manage to do the homework, as well as multitask again, as if I'd just woke up well-rested (almost.).

This stuff is a lifesaver, but I can't say it would be for everyone. Some of the stuff it's made out of may hurt people who drink it if their bodies react abnormally, or if someone's a moron and they chug 4-6, then sure, they're going to have ADHD for an extended period. Fact of the matter is, there's only one thing bad about this stuff: The ignorant individuals who bash it yet they've never tried it the way the instructions say to. In all honesty, if you get sent to the hospital after drinking any of this, it's probably because you just drank your first one, and you're either allergic, or taking WAY too much.

posted Apr 4th, 2011 10:47 pm


Lisa

Has anyone taken this while preggo?

posted Apr 1st, 2011 3:54 pm


Gigi

I occasionally work double shifts and my position definitely requires mental clarity. I have not experienced any palpatations, nausea or "trips to the bathroom" as a result of 5HE. I have recommended it to people and trust that they have the common sense to know how well they tolerate caffeine. The product works if used according to the label. Even tylenol will kill you if not taken as directed....DUH!!!!!!

posted Mar 11th, 2011 6:13 am


skrawli

I had my thyroid taken out 2 years ago and still trying to get my meds right. I take this when I know i have stuff to do because otherwise I am laying around the house. This puts me at normal not jittery or shaky. I am good with it once or twice a week.

posted Mar 8th, 2011 12:25 pm


Nilrem

I have to agree with Dante. Also to the people that had to go to the hospital or spend a day in the bathroom I'll take 1-10 odds that it was purely psychological and created more of a placebo affect then anything. If not then you probably have underlying conditions that meant you shouldn't have been drinking it in the first place which you should have realized when you read the label, if you didn't read the label before use, then you are stupid

posted Mar 7th, 2011 10:32 am


Dante

First of all, most of you leaving comments are SEVERELY misinformed. Do your research before you post stupid things.
Secondly, it's an inexact science to measure caffeine content if you use "a cup of coffee" as the measurement. How many different types of coffee bean are available? How many different ways are there to prepare coffee? Both of these factors affect the caffeine content, hence the phrase "as much caffeine as an average cup of coffee." It is a rough estimate.
Third, no wonder several people posted regarding stomach problems. If you take this or any other supplement on an empty stomach then you should expect to have issues. You would be best served taking this after a meal although my entire digestive system does not work too well and I've been fine after taking it on an empty stomach. Just FYI, B vitamins in and of themselves do not provide energy. B vitamins unlock the energy in the food you eat. The caffeine is a catalyst for the B vitamins and the amino acids found in the drink. This is not bad for you and not physically addictive. It can be psychologically addictive but not physically. All the amino acids in the ingredients list are used to synthesize proteins in your body. Your body already makes them. 5th grade science, anyone?
I have generalized anxiety disorder and a sleep disorder called hypersomnia. I need stimulants to help me through my day. It's either this drink or methamphetamines and I'm not a fan of the addictive drugs. Consuming this drink does not make my anxiety worse. I am not on any medication for it either. Actually, it calms you down if anything because that is a side effect of the amino acids. This is also why (along with lower caffeine content) it provides a much smoother kick than the carbonated family of energy drinks. I take one of these every single day and it keeps me focused and energized. I must also say for the record that I work in the IT field and not for 5HE. There, I think I've covered everything that I wanted to. Why is our country so ignorant sometimes?

posted Mar 6th, 2011 1:44 am


Lou

I use it a few times a week in the afternoon when driving because I am in sales. It is GREAT! I have NEVER had a racing heart, stomach issue, headache etc. I guess some people have weak constitutions. It is easy, quick and effective. Coffee does not always work, makes your breath stink and darkens your teeth ?? no thanks! Like most things in like, in moderation it is fine!

posted Feb 24th, 2011 10:04 am


Robin

I've never used energy drinks, but last nite, my sister said to try it, it's all vitamins so my husband and I shared one. All was fine til 2 1/2 hours later I got a pain in the back of my head and starting feeling hot and dizzy and eventually passed out. I was in and out for about 10-15 minutes. The rest of the night I was naseous. Would never recommend this to anyone.

posted Feb 20th, 2011 8:56 pm


shayna

I had drunk half of a 5 hour energy drink, because I was working the night shift. I was trying to stay alert, and about 5 am, I thought I was going to die. My heart was pounding like crazy, I was dizzy, fainty, and jittery. By 9am, I was going to the hospital. I couldn't breathe right, and I started having symptoms of an panic attack. I never had a panic attack in my life. I thought I was either having a heart attack, stroke, or some sort of seizure. I now can only have a very low dose of caffeine...about 2 to 3 cups of coffee a day. I have had 2 panic attacks since. I just want to say be careful, use caution, when drinking these drinks. One can for one day maybe good, but the next could land you in the hospital.

posted Feb 20th, 2011 2:09 pm


shy girl

I took this crap this morning and thinking it will help me stay awake so I won't fall asleep studying. OMG first I found myself in the bathroom constantly and my heart was racing and I felt like I was going to go into cardiac arrest. I had major anxiety and had to find ways to calm me down. I wasted my whole day trying to cope with this thing and now that I don't feel like I am on cocaine I have to spend the rest of the night studying for my exam tomorrow!!!! Thanks alot 5 hour energy I have enough vitamin B for my whole life.!!!

posted Jan 26th, 2011 1:17 am


Vetty

I'm not a big fan of caffeine and I am very skeptical about energy drinks. On average I consume caffeine once a week (soda, tea, or coffee). Four days ago, someone gave me a bottle of 5 hour energy berry flavor. I was feeling a bit tired so I decided to drink only 1/2 of the bottle. I didn't feel any difference so I left it at. Today, with my busy schedule and only having 4 hours of sleep, I decided to try 5 hour energy again. I drank 1/2 of the bottle at 11am and the other 1/2 at 12pm. I was feeling energized but I did notice that my hands were a bit shaky. Didn't think much of it because I was happy that I wasn't tired any more. Everything was going great up until 4pm. That is when it all went downhills for me. I started feeling stomach pain while I was driving home but I thought it was because I was hungry. I ate when I got home and it got worse. I felt nauseous, really bad stomach cramps, and jittery. At 7pm I felt this heavy urge to sleep but I couldn't because I was wired! When I concentrated on sleeping I would feel this jolt all over my body. It was no fun. Finally, I got an hour of sleep. I woke up to eat something and the cramps continued. I hope the cramps stop soon. I will never have energy drinks again!

posted Jan 13th, 2011 6:48 am


stephanie

don't take 5 hours energy in made my boy go crazy i had to sign him in to a hospital cause he was taking more then one in a 24 hour period

posted Dec 31st, 2010 1:27 am


sandy

5 hr energy drink almost kill me. please don't buy this poison. I spent Christmas day in ER.

posted Dec 26th, 2010 2:17 pm


Andrea

I have been taking a 1/2 to 1 energy drink almost every day for over 3 years now, before everybody else caught on. This little shot gets me through some rough growling days. When it's time to clean I take a 1/2 to start and another 1/2 about 5 hours later and will have everything super clean, laundry done, and still have energy left over to go do something fun with my daughter and husband... I eat healthy and drink a lot of water with the shot (6-8 cups) I once laid in my bed for almost a year and gained over 50lbs, 5 hr changed all of that I am now at 125lbs at age 28. I'm healthy and feel great never posed any health risk, I would suggest only limit 1 a day at the most, and don't take it if you plan on just laying around the house take it when you have something that needs to be done!!! :) Enjoy!!!!

posted Dec 11th, 2010 2:55 pm


steve

I drink this stuff on a daily basis but not much at all, just when i need a little boost i take a sip, one bottle lasts me at least two days. I have found that lb per lb this gives me more energy than any other energy drink out there and doesnt make me crash once its done. Great product in moderation.

posted Nov 11th, 2010 8:51 pm


Fede

If it is not NATURAL it's most likely bad for you in the short run and definitely on the LONG run. This should not be part of a humans daily intake. If you are having energy problems try eating right, sleeping enough and implementing some sort of physical activity. USE YOUR COMMON SENSE and INTUITION! We all have it but it??s easier to follow the heard. My intuition tells me this is garbage.

posted Oct 8th, 2010 11:42 am


AndrewS

Adam - You say yourself "The FDA doesn't "approve" dietary supplements like 5 hour energy"

Ergo the "FDA cannot attest for the safety . Duh.

What, do you sell this stuff?

posted Oct 7th, 2010 1:49 pm



Jim Britt

This is nothing but DOPE, no different then heroin or any other dope.

This is a ripoff and anybody drinking this stuff is a fool just begging for a heart attack.

It should not be allowed to be sold.

posted Aug 26th, 2010 8:36 pm


john

a 12oz cup of starbucks coffee has ~300mg of caffeine. around 225 in 8oz... not 80

posted Aug 24th, 2010 11:28 pm


Adam

The FDA doesn't "approve" dietary supplements like 5 hour energy the say way they do for pharmaceuticals. The FDA does monitor safety claims, and they do permit 5 hour energy to keep manufacturing and selling the product.

Saying that the "FDA cannot attest for the safety ..." is ignorant at best but is still blatantly misleading. It is not the FDA's job to "attest to the safety" of dietary supplements. Check your facts next time.

http://www.fda.gov/food/dietarysupplements/default.htm

posted Aug 15th, 2010 2:39 pm


Old_Man

I quit coffee a couple of months ago, but needed something in the morning to get me going. I finally tried 5-Hour Energy on a whim, and am a convert. This stuff works for me, as I almost instantly (within 5 mins) feel much more "awake, alive, attentive" whatever you want to call it, and it does last most of the day. Being a diabetic, I can't handle the other "energy" drinks that are carb loaded and make you crash like eating a candy bar! Thought the price is a little steep, the cost is minor if it saves you a 1/2 or full day of getting things done that you need to do, because you DO have more energy, at least I do. I am 55, diabetic with heart disease, and this stuff is great for me!

posted Aug 8th, 2010 9:52 am


Horace Smith

5 hour energy doesn't taste good and didn't give me any real energy.

posted Aug 2nd, 2010 12:11 am


Smash

i used to drink them all of the time and 2 a day. at first i was drinking 3 a day and ended up in the hospital with a very bad kidney infectionand a 104 digree fever. my husband thinks that 5he shots are very adicting. now that i no longer drink them i think so as well. i defenetly believe that they are very adictive. i would say if someone has a heart condition or even panic atacks or anxiety problems do not drink these 5he shots. i personaly wish i had never heard of them

posted Jul 13th, 2010 4:01 am


Jimi_Jones

I drink one five hour energy drink a day on my work week. I work the night shift and I have found the product to be good at what it does. I have noticed that my heart rate accellorates quickly and that some times durning my 30 min run it hits irregular. I dont know if it is the product but I have seen a differance when I stop taking the product.

posted Jul 11th, 2010 4:40 am


Gary

Hi. Can someone quote the source of the stated quantity of 80mg caffeine per bottle? The manufacturer's reluctance to disclose caffeine content is telling to me. If they are willing to state "caffeine comparable to a cup of the leading premium coffee", why not quantify it? Is it comparable to 32-oz cup of coffee?! I wouldn't touch this stuff until I'm sure what's in it.

posted Jul 8th, 2010 9:49 am


Will

You talk about how it only has as much caffeine as one cup of coffee, go on to talk about "caffeine-bomb" energy drinks, and the "primary concern ... amount of caffeine".

Certainly does not follow, did you just cut and paste from another energy drink review?

posted Jul 6th, 2010 1:07 pm


C. Vaughan

I use 5HE sometimes 5 times per week depending upon what my schedule will be for the day. Most times I drink it an hour after I wake up. It takes about 15 minutes to work but it definately gives the boost I want without feeling the guilt of high calories. I've never experienced any negative side effects. I do not drink coffee or tea but do drink an occasional Coke. I guess not everyone can drink 5HE and have great results but all you can do is try it and see. I've reserched each ingredient and none of them, as I could see, are bad for your body, except for the caffeine, and only if you overabuse that ingredient (ie: coffee, tea, caffeinated soft drinks in multiples).

posted Jun 17th, 2010 11:56 pm


Bill

To the author: You say things like "hasn't been tested" and "cannot attest to safety" and use these as reasons to proceeed with caution. However, statements like these are statements declaring ignorance and ignorance cannot be used to give reason for any point. Your conclusion does not follow and the content of the article does not support its title.

posted Jun 1st, 2010 1:18 pm


Heather Ashare

Hi JT. Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad to know that you have had a good experience with 5-Hour Energy. I have not personally tested the products that were cited in this article. This article is based off the administration guidelines on the product's label as the cautionary advice of many medical experts who are concerned over the potential for misuse of these drinks, particularly for young kids. Thank you again for your comments.

posted May 6th, 2010 8:13 pm


JT

I use these on rare occasions and they work just fine. This article is kind of crappy lumping 5HE with the other energy drinks and doing a piss poort job of informing the reader about the product at all.

The caffiene in 5HE is very low for an energy drink and achieves an energy lift with netural vatiins and compound found in regular foods. I will do more research than the author with a single link...

http://www.5hourenergy.com/ingredients.asp

posted May 6th, 2010 4:52 pm


Kenny

The most you get out of the energy drink is a 30 min rush, the drink taste nasty and I learned at http://5-hour-energy-review.com that it can also be unhealthy and not rated by the FDA...

posted Mar 31st, 2010 5:38 pm


sabu

I don't drink it all in one go, but sip it slowly over 2-3 hours. It keeps me feeling awake that way, without the sometimes unpleasant buzz.

posted Mar 9th, 2010 7:37 pm


Melissa

I personally really like the 5-Hour Energy shots, not so much because of the taste, but because they are so small and I definitely feel the energy. I like that I can keep them in my gym bag and take one before a workout when I need to, without feeling guilty about all the sugar and calories!

posted Sep 24th, 2009 2:55 pm


edjunkie

Compare the caffeine content in you average energy drink to a regular starbucks brewed coffee. The coffee hands down has way more caffeine and provides no vitamins. The shots and drinks at least give you vitamins and some even more than others. There are tons of no sugar and also naturally sweetened low cal energy drinks available. Most energy shots have no sugar. Of course kids drink the fancy starbucks coffees anyway and those have the caffeine and a ton of sugar and fat. 1/2 of a 5 hour energy is like 40 mg caffeine and that is on par with 1/2 cup of home brewed coffee. Do a little more research and you will see there are healthy option for energy drinks out there.

posted Aug 28th, 2009 8:35 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account