Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

We Love Chobani Greek Yogurt

Not just love – but possibly obsessed! You’re probably thinking “Greek yogurt’s Greek yogurt.” Sure, for the most part you could probably line them all up next to one another and not tell a big difference. Until you put Chobani in the line-up. chobani pomegranate

Chobani is different because they are a fruit on the bottom Greek yogurt.

I first tried the 0% Pomegranate Chobani, and I was instantly hooked. Unlike those other fruit on the bottom yogurts, this wasn’t a big, syrupy mess. The flavor was light, and it’s full of those sweet and crunchy arils, the pomegranate seeds. As if the arils didn’t pack enough antioxidants, for a filling afternoon snack I added a handful of fresh blueberries. Pomegranate nutrition facts for a single-serving six-ounce cup:

  • 140 Calories
  • 0g Fat
  • 14g Protein

Next, I tried the 2% Pineapple Chobani. I was reluctant on this one, I wasn’t sure how that would translate into the yogurt. I was pleasantly surprised and devoured the entire cup. The pinapple flavor is mild and just sweet enough to cut the bitter bite of plain Greek yogurt. Plus, there are juicy chunks of pineapple mixed in. Toss in a little granola to make a filling snack and pretend you’re enjoying a slice of grandma’s pinapple-upside-down cake!

Pineapple nutrition facts for a single-serving six-ounce cup:

  • 160 Calories
  • 2.5g Fat
  • 13g Protein

chobani greek yogurtNeed more? Every cup of Chobani has 20 percent of the daily calcium requirements, five live and active cultures (including probiotics), and twice the protein of other yogurts. The ingredients are all-natural, gluten-free, Kosher, and made with hormone-free milk. You won’t find any added colors either. Instead, the flavorful spice turmeric is used to enhance the color of the pineapple flavor. For sweetner, they use evaporated cane juice, with an average of 18g of sugar for the fruit flavors. This healthy sugar alternative is not processed and retains much of its natural nutrition.

Some of the other flavors I’m dying to try are honey, blueberry and strawberry. There are also low-fat and non-fat choices for the plain Greek yogurt, which you can use as a smoothie base, toss in your own fruit, or even make Rebecca’s Healthy Tuna Salad.

If you’re looking for Chobani in your area, they are available nationwide at Whole Foods, Costco, Sam’s and other regional grocers like:

  • Giant
  • Piggly Wiggly
  • Publix
  • Local health food stores

Read here to learn more about why we love Greek yogurt, and think you will too!

Thanks to Chobani for sharing some of their delicious flavors. While they provided samples, this review was in no way influenced and is Brandi’s own opinion.

July 30th, 2009

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 23 total comments)

hailee

Are you supposed to eat the seeds in the pomegranate Chobani greek yogurt?

posted Oct 28th, 2011 11:50 pm


Marina Castillo

A wonderful discovery after years of eating dannon, I finally decided to purchase chobani yogurt and fell in love!! Good texture,just enough fruit on the bottom not too sweet......hope to see more flavors and will recommend it to all my friends and family..................

posted Oct 16th, 2011 3:10 am


bucky nickau

send me everything

posted Oct 12th, 2011 2:06 pm


Tomi Kean

Many, many of the cartons have not passed the expiration date but are LOADED with mold. Not buying anymore until this problem is over.

posted Aug 18th, 2011 2:44 pm


Cathe

I love the plain in my diet... i am obscessed.

posted Aug 16th, 2011 2:51 pm


Shimmee

I have been trying to incorporate yogurt into my diet for a variety of reasons but didn't want to add additional grams of fat, sugar and calories with it. Plain yogurt gives me the heebie jeebies but most fruit on the bottom yogurts are loaded with sugar so i am VERY HAPPY to find a delicious yogurt that offers a bit of sweetness without maxing out my daily sugar intake.

I <3 Chobani (p.s. I am eating some right now)

posted Jun 29th, 2011 12:24 pm


Sandy

great taste love it but make my own now.

posted Feb 20th, 2011 5:56 pm


chris

Is Chobani Gluten Free??? I am Celiac and need gluten free yogurt. Please reply..

posted Feb 18th, 2011 9:57 am


Tyler

You can buy a 12 pack from Costco for $10

posted Feb 15th, 2011 10:49 am


dawn

hate fruit on the bottom yogurt!! however, LOVE, LOVE this brand!! Its not the syrupy yuk that is in others! the pineapple is great, as the raspberry!! a great yogurt!! Def worth the money!

posted Feb 7th, 2011 8:22 pm


JULIA

It is great, filling. But it costs quite a bit. But I amm worth it. Just wish the sugram were less.
But is sure tasts great

posted Oct 28th, 2010 9:00 pm


Lala

I stopped eating yogurt years ago because I find them too sweet and artificial tasting. A couple of months ago I decided to try Chobani. My frige is now stocked full of these fabulous yogurts. I love that they don't have too much fruit or are too sweet. I also love the dense, tart, creamy yogurt. Reminds me very much of those I ate in Greece. Super delicious!

posted Sep 29th, 2010 6:35 pm


Dottie

Chobani Yogurt is AWESOME...Thick and creamy tart and twice the protein! my favorite is Blueberry!!!

posted Aug 23rd, 2010 7:00 am


Cathy

Where have all the seeds gone? I have been hooked on the Pomegranate Chobani, but the last several containers that I've had contained hardly had any Pomegranate seeds whatsoever. Hoping this is just coincidence because the tart seeds are what I love most about this yogurt. Bring back the seeds, Chobani!!!

posted Aug 16th, 2010 10:34 am


Gina

Definitely obsessed, like one of the comments above I was unsure about buying the Pinapple, but so far that's my favorite, the blueberry was great, just tryed the strawberry but to be honest think it's a little too sweet for me... I used to eat La Yogart and when I seen this yogurt on sale at pathmark I figured I'd give it a try, that night I went back to purchase more for the sale price. I love that they are high in protein and very nutritious!

posted Jul 21st, 2010 10:05 pm


kathy

I tell you this...I have been a yogurt lover for years but this chobani outsurpasses any other in taste, flavor, texture & total satisfaction...in my opinion it is in the highest echelon...I eat it every day & pass the word on to others all the time
I guess I am obsessed but at least it is with something so very packed with nutrition...I am so happy I found it
Thank you chobani

posted Jun 21st, 2010 12:30 pm


Jen

It is amazing that this yogurt is nonfat. It is as thick and rich as sour cream with twice the protein of regular yogurt and probiotics. I highly recommend it!

posted May 31st, 2010 2:06 am


Debbie

Chobani is the best yogurt I ever had. I eat at least 2 per day of yogurt others are okay but Chobani is "# 1. Flavors I wouldn't dare try in other brands also taste wonderful.

posted May 24th, 2010 10:41 am


stephanie

"like it" is such an understatement. i seriously eat chobani almost every day and im just absolutely in love with it. my favorite flavors are strawberry, pomegranate, and plain. i love to have plain mixed up with some granola or cheerios. yumm!! i will definitely try it as a smoothie base once the weather warms up. (:

posted Mar 16th, 2010 11:46 pm


Gloria

I recently tried the Chobani yogurt for the 1st time with some coworkers. The strawberry is definitely my favorite. The peach good but I didn't like the blueberry. Yes, it is a little pricy but very good.

posted Nov 10th, 2009 9:51 am


mark

Chobani greek style yogurt is incredible. I love the blueberry and strawberry flavors. This yogurt is loaded with protein too for a high protein low carb diet. The downside is that the price is high. I bought one for 1.50 USD.

posted Aug 27th, 2009 9:24 pm


kjc

I initally bought it because I was behind a family in the check out line and they had about 15 containers of it in their cart. I generally eat yogurt anyway. I suspected that it must be good if they bought so many, I did try this brand and really enjoy it. The ingredients are very healthful and it is not too sweet. Thanks great product.

posted Aug 15th, 2009 11:47 pm



Molly

I usually don't like yogurt, but that sounds really good!!

posted Jul 30th, 2009 7:32 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account