Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Ray Harding Avoids Jail Because He is Obese

What should the sentence be for a man who has stolen $800,000? You would think that it would be at least a few years in jail, but for former Liberal Party boss Ray Harding, there were no such consequences. In fact, the man got off completely scott free, supposedly because of his cooperation with the authorities and for the “family troubles” that caused him to make “a misguided grab for money.” Harding was accused of being involved in a pay-for-play scheme that involved the State of New York’s pension fund. He even admitted to being a fake intermediary between the the pension funds and the investment funds.

However, the real reason that Harding got such a light sentence is his poor health. Harding does not have a life-threatening illness like cancer or AIDS; instead, he is obese. And his obesity is a big factor in the very light sentence that he received after stealing $800,000. He will not spend even one day in jail, nor will he be required to pay back the money he stole.

So why is Harding getting off for being fat? Perhaps it is the possible health consequences that he will suffer while he is in jail. Obesity has numerous negative health side effects, including everything from lower back pain to strokes and heart disease. In fact, nearly 10 percent of all medical costs in the USA can be attributed to obesity caused illnesses.

So, I guess it makes sense that the government would not want to sentence someone who was going to cost them more money in medical bills than the average inmate for many years of jail time, but to let him off without any consequences? That seems a little wrong. Maybe the judge should have sentenced him to some sort of community service, and of course, he should have been forced to pay back the money he stole. However, I don’t think that the government should have to incur extra debts because Harding is obese, so I do support their decision to avoid this by not giving him jail time. Perhaps they should have consider a house arrest sentence? What do you think?

Via NY Daily News

May 23rd, 2011

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 18 total comments)

Cheryl Howard

Where are your sources confirming that his weight was the reason? You state "the real reason" as a fact, but I see nothing to substantiate your claim. You can do better.

posted Aug 29th, 2011 12:18 pm


Angelo

Figures, yet again its shown that those of means, money, fame, and law are exempt from the same punishments as those of middle or lower class. So it shows us time and again that if you have a HUGE BANK ACCOUNT you can always just buy your way out. As for this FAT TUB OF LARD not going to jail do to his being FAT, just go to your local County Lock-Up or even a State Penn and I can bet you all anything that you will find men & woman who are FATTER then this MAN!! Yet odds are good that those people are from poor families. I think its wrong, one who breaks the law yet has a lot of money gets to walk, while someone who commits the EXACT SAME CRIME IN EVERY WAY yet has less MONEY will get 5 years and a lot of fines. It sad that as a Nation this is going on to this day. Add to this a bunch of FOOLS who are more interested in some FOOL MOVIE STARS LIFE then their own life, or that of their kids and you need not ask yourself why? I mean if most people are going to place another on some HIGH STOOL why act dumb when said person gets off on something. Movie stars are only as good as "Fans" make them. So keep worshiping these people, and when you are arrested, see if they will have as much interest in your life as you do theirs. Will the bail you out? Visit? I think not!! Its time we as a nation DEMAND ALL PEOPLE OF THIS NATION BE HELD TO THE SAME PUNISHMENTS AS THE REST OF US!!!

posted Jun 12th, 2011 9:14 am


JAMES

I GUESS IF YOU WANT TO GET AWAY WITH A CRIME, JUST BECOME A BIG FAT SLOB

posted Jun 4th, 2011 9:58 am


Big Frank

FIve or ten years on a prison diet would've done him a world of good.

posted Jun 3rd, 2011 9:52 pm


flameforjustice

Now criminals will try to gain enough weight to be considered life- threatning obese. I doubt it will work for them. Most won't have enough money to hire high-priced attorney,they won't get a judge so obviously corupt.

posted Jun 1st, 2011 6:27 pm


Nottabrat

ARE THEY SERIOUS? IS THE JUDGE RELATED TO THIS GUY? Uhm. Since when did cancer tx and aids tx become so inexpensive? Radiation and chemo can easily cost 100k-500k and Aids medicine is around $50 per dose x 2 or 3 doses per day for 10 years of a prison sentence sooo... hmm back surgery on the other hand can cost 30-50 k. How about they re-prosecute with a non-sympathetic judge, and put him on a diet in prison. Cost: $3.00 per day for food and he can start the Dancin' with the Inmates reality show and make some money for the judicial system.

posted Jun 1st, 2011 8:45 am


Mike

The judge or whom ever agreed to not put this slimeball in prison for at least a year should spend time in a mental ward, how the hell can our criminal justice system do this? God is pissed off now and so is 50% of America, the judge should be disbarred!!!

posted Jun 1st, 2011 4:55 am


S.Hopper

So put him in a regular cell, put him on cleaning detail for exercise and limit his diet. He can eat the same number of calories alloted to the people he stole from

posted Jun 1st, 2011 3:39 am


WImob420

his Fat butt should be in jail. Throw him on the work detail, he will loose a lot of pounds in the joint lol....can't belive he got off

posted Jun 1st, 2011 2:05 am


Jane doe

That is crazy. I know a man who was 66 when he went to prison for 15 years. He is only about 3 years in. And the truth is he was a victim too. The person that he work with knew it was a scheme and is serving less time plus he was only 30. My 66 y/o friend, was and is a man of God, and did not stand a chance. The 30 y/o admitted to it and said the 66 y/o did not know and the 30 y/o was gonna pay restitution right away! My friend had 2 heart attacks. 2nd on had surgery.only 3 % of his heart was working. 2 months later, they invadered his home took all his things froze his accounts and splashed his name all over the media in lies to where he could not possibly have a fair trial. He also had Diabetes, mitral valve prolapse& other stuff! If they wanted to convict this man they would have. Money is not the issue. They make u exercise eat right loose weight or whatever until u are better and well enough so they don't have to pay for any mess!

posted Jun 1st, 2011 1:25 am


CHRIS C.

IT'S AMAZING HOW UNFAIR THE LEGAL SYSTEM IS. IF ONLY THEY WOULD HAVE MADE THEM PAY BACK THE MONEY. AND WHAT IS IT DO FAT PEOPLE NO LONGER ALLOWED IN JAIL FOR THERE CRIMES? THE JUDGE AND JURY FOR THIS TRIAL NEED TO PAY BACK THE MONEY AND DIVIDE UP THE TIME HE SHOULD HAVE SPENT IN JAIL.

posted Jun 1st, 2011 12:41 am


Hmmmmmmm

The State would have been better served by having Harding on some sort of house arrest or probation at the very least. Community service and restitution to the State should also be required. I would also, if i were a judge, sentence him to time with a trainer and a nutritionist at his expense, of course.

posted Jun 1st, 2011 12:36 am


billy graceffa

IF I DID THIS THEY WOULD GIVE ME 20 YEARS OF FEDERAL TIME, I JUST LOVE HOW CORRUPT THE JUSTICE SYSTEM REALLY IS ... THE TAX PAYERS IN THIS COUNTRY NEED TO WAKE UPPPPPPP <<<

posted May 31st, 2011 6:14 pm


Dan

Send him to Jail and restrict him to 1 small meal a day...

posted May 31st, 2011 3:25 pm


kevin

Sentence him to Fat Camp!

posted May 27th, 2011 1:47 pm


Mike

My plan is now clear.

Operation Bulge Bandit is in effect.

Step one gain 200 lbs.

Step two rob people.

Step three keep all the money with zero consequences even if i get caught.

posted May 26th, 2011 3:45 pm



You12envyme

I'm pleasingly plump and I never thought to do this. Wow! Maybe I should rob a bank. After all, I obese and the price of gas is sooo high.
Whatever. He should have went to jail. Just what the world needs, another excuse to pull out of the hat. Shame!!

posted May 23rd, 2011 11:37 pm



karinelizabethmeares

holy balls. are you kidding me?! that's ridiculous. he should fully go to jail with the quickness, he should be part of a work program that paid for his extra expenses and pay back the money he stole.
what a disgrace. at the very least he should be on house arrest.

posted May 23rd, 2011 2:23 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account