Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

10 Surprisingly Vegan Foods

Being vegan doesn’t mean you’re limited to eating just soy milk and broccoli. In fact, there are a number of food companies that produce items such as cookies, syrups, and chips that are completely vegan – oftentimes on accident. If you aren’t familiar with what qualifies a food as vegan, it shouldn’t contain any meat, dairy or animal products, including such items as eggs, honey (bees), or gelatin (horse).

Vegans typically subsist on a diet rich in whole grains, vegetables, fruits, seeds and nuts. And while there are an abundance of foods that don’t qualify as vegan-friendly, take a peek in your super market aisles on your next visit to find these – and other – surprisingly vegan products. Just be careful to check the label first to ensure there aren’t any suspicious products in the way of you and a safe vegan indulgence.

  • Bac-O’s Salad Topping
  • Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup
  • Kraft Creamy Italian Dressing
  • Sour Patch Kids & Dots Candies
  • Lay’s Plain Potato Chips
  • Jello Instant Pudding (not jello gelatin varieties)
  • Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry
  • Back to Nature Chocolate Chunk Cookies
  • Ritz Original Crackers

Most vegans woud be quick to point out that these foods, aren’t in fact, real, healthy foods; but instead fake foods masquerading as real ones. So, don’t get too excited about these products if you’re vegan or considering going vegan – even part time –  as they likely aren’t the best foods to begin incorporating into your diet.

On the other hand, there are plenty of foods that you may think are vegan but actually aren’t. Some of these products include BBQ Baked Lays Chips, which contain chicken fat; non-dairy creamers such as Coffee Mate, as they contain caseinate – a milk derivative; dry roasted peanuts, because they contain gelatin; and Tropicana Pure Premium Heart-Healthy Orange Juice, as it contains fish oil. Fish oil in orange juice? Both shocking and gross.

For more resources on the vegan diet and how to find vegan-friendly foods, visit PETA’s webiste for their official list of animal ingredients. And check out animalliberationfront.com for even more surprisingly vegan foods.

Also Read:

Skinny Bitch Ultimate Everyday Cookbook

Vegan for Life

Are Omega-3 Fish Oil Supplements a Safe Alternative

May 9th, 2012

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 4 total comments)

Kristen

Oreos aren't vegan they have sugar( and some of the sugar companies they have used animal bones in there sugar. ) Which used animal bones in the sugar.

posted Apr 5th, 2014 1:24 pm


JP

"The list should have had plant based food that was surprisingly vegan, not processed junk."

Then these foods wouldn't actually be surprising, Live Life... just sayin'

posted Mar 1st, 2013 7:17 pm


Live Life

A vegan diet should be healthy - not eating the crap in that list even though it conforms to a vegan diet.

The list should have had plant based food that was surprisingly vegan, not processed junk.

posted Jul 24th, 2012 4:16 am


Phil R

Good list, just be careful as Oreos have a different recipe when sold in different countries, and are often not vegan (in the UK, for example). Such a shame the dairy subsidies still exist!

posted May 9th, 2012 5:37 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account