Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Prevention Magazine Gets a Modern Makeover with the May 2011 Issue

Hitting newsstands today is the May 2011 issue of Prevention Magazine, but not the same Prevention you’re used to seeing. With this issue, featuring Sheryl Crow on the cover, the magazine unveils its new image. There’s a new cover look, updated logo, and a positive new tagline “Passionate, Persuasive, Powerful…Prevention.”

Unlike a lot of brands that give themselves a major makeover, this change from Prevention is subtle, and offers a lot more for its more than 10 million readers, making it the #1 healthy lifestyle brand in the U.S.

A new editorial team at Prevention, including editor in chief Diane Salvatore (who’s had the job since August), means stories that are more meaningful to you, touching on new topics like the environment, emotional well-being, and greater focus on beauty, fitness and recipes. “I wanted to make it more entertaining, encouraging and motivational,” said Salvatore.

You’ll also enjoy new features in Prevention like:

Continue reading to learn more about the new Prevention, and see your chance to win a 2-year subscription.

  • Beauty Calendar: This is probably our favorite new feature of Prevention Magazine. The small, centerfold, tear-out calendar offers a beauty, health or fitness tip for each day of the month. For instance, how to enjoy a Cinco de Mayo margarita without drying out your skin.
  • Mother/Daughter Makeover: This month takes a look at a shared sudden knee pain in a mother and daughter 30 years apart.
  • Fine Print: Offers an analysis of the ingredients of a particular food. For instance, this month flavored yogurt, and why you should stick to plain Greek yogurt.
  • Skin Smarts: Advice to take the best care of your skin. In the May issue, how to protect your skin against the itchy redness caused by pollen.
  • One Woman Three Workouts: Features a real woman who has a real fitness need, and Prevention shows three workouts to help her reach her goal. This month: sexy, shapely arms.
  • Eco Events and Nature News: An all-new section dedicated to our impact on the planet will make for a healthier footprint. This month, learn about Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) and the truth about whole foods.

When most people ripple at the idea of change, Prevention’s editorial team is taking it head on, and its modern female readers should welcome it with open arms.

“Readers can still rely on us to question authority and be their champions but they can get all of this without it feeling like a spoonful of medicine,” Salvatore said. “This is all about making Prevention as compelling and engaging as possible.”

Subscribe to Prevention Magazine today!
An exclusive subscription offer for the 2-year is for $23.76 (plus $3.97 shipping), a generous savings over the newsstand value of $64.22.

Giveaway has ended. Winner: Sandy

Win a 2-year subscription to Prevention Magazine! Post a comment below telling us the healthiest thing you do for yourself. We’ll draw one response April 29, 2011.

*DISCLAIMER: Only residents of the U.S. are eligible to win. DietsInReview.com will draw one winner April 29, 2011 and will notify winner via the email used in the comment form. Winner has five business days to respond and claim prize or forfeit prize. Prize value based on newsstand is $64.22; not redeemable for cash. Prize provided by Rodale.

April 5th, 2011

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 22 total comments)

Megan

Exercise! Whether its yoga, running, swimming, biking, or simply walking, I dedicate 30 minutes for myself. I also try to cook at home as much as possible.

posted Apr 28th, 2011 11:49 pm



Jody Hollenbeck

I joined Weight Watchers and take Zumba classes 3 times a week; as well as walk the dog in the nice weather.

posted Apr 28th, 2011 7:37 pm



Michele

I LOVE Prevention magazine, the tips are priceless, the info you can't find elsewhere, the articles... carry it with me all the time and end up reading it cover to cover every month! I'd love to win a subscription!

posted Apr 28th, 2011 5:36 pm


Mayumi

I run with my husband to train for races - 5K, 10K, and half. It helps us exercise, smile, sweat, drink water, and eat healthy.

posted Apr 28th, 2011 5:11 pm



anskysue

Read labels!

posted Apr 28th, 2011 5:10 pm


Kym

I make my own protein bars and smoothies with all natural ingredients. I also work out 3-4 times a week doing kickboxing or boot camp. Prevention has always been my go to magazine for healthful tips.

posted Apr 25th, 2011 10:07 pm


Kim

I drink minimum 80oz of water a day & get at least 8 hours of rest. Both of these help me stay focused, and healthy :)

posted Apr 25th, 2011 9:41 pm


njsunbunny

I walk 3 miles every day. I also have eliminated as much fat and cholesterol from my diet as possible and I started eating more fruit and vegetables every day.

posted Apr 25th, 2011 6:56 pm



christauf4

I pass up sodas and drink as much water as possible. It saves money (especially at restaurants) and is really healthy!

posted Apr 25th, 2011 5:54 pm


FernFe

Healthiest thing I did was drop Prevention for its brother publication, Men's Health. Focus is on health, not beauty of 'anti-aging' or other crap. OTOH, I put the subscription in my son's name!

posted Apr 25th, 2011 5:31 pm



rockchick27

I started doing Turbo Fire, as scheduled 6 days a week, as well as drinking lots of water, and portion control/counting calories!

posted Apr 25th, 2011 4:55 pm


userfile
Angela Snipes

Portion control! Leaner meats, more veggies, and a lot more water. :)

posted Apr 25th, 2011 4:43 pm


Lindsey

i allow myself to spend a little more on high quality food products that feed my body and my soul :)

posted Apr 25th, 2011 4:41 pm


Stephenie Rigel

Today and everyday I strive to be the best version of 'me'! That means living healthy in everyway!..that's true inner beauty shining bright! :)

posted Apr 25th, 2011 4:37 pm


Sharon A

I walk every day and take long bike rides on the weekends.

posted Apr 14th, 2011 1:59 pm


jest126

I have added more fruits and vegetables to my diet and have started taking Zumba, Kettle bell, yoga and Pilates classes w/ co-workers after work 4-5 days a week.

posted Apr 13th, 2011 9:54 am


Sandy

I get up at 5:00am every day so I can fit my exercise at the gym 6 days a week.

posted Apr 13th, 2011 7:51 am



sharonjo

I have been incorporating more protein in my diet due to hair loss with weight loss.

posted Apr 12th, 2011 8:50 pm


Flo

I drink 8 glasses of water everyday, exercise everyday.

posted Apr 12th, 2011 6:58 pm



beautifulbecky

I was reading it in the check out.. I kliked it so much I bought it.. I am so impulsive....

posted Apr 7th, 2011 11:41 am



Chris Smith

I love to workout and do it 6 days a week. Combining various cardios and weights.

posted Apr 5th, 2011 12:41 pm


elisa

I go to Zumba a few times a week!

posted Apr 5th, 2011 10:24 am



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account