Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Raspberry Ketone Touted as Miracle Fat-Burner by Dr. Oz

Dr. Oz show with guest Lisa LynnDr. Oz featured the weight loss supplement raspberry ketone on yesterday’s show, touting it as a “miracle fat burner.” We’re always leery of any diet pill that promises “miracles,” but we’re also willing to find out if it does what it claims.

Weight loss expert Lisa Lynn was a guest on yesterday’s show, and explained that the supplement comes from red raspberries so it has “no side-effects.” She recommends taking 100 to 200 milligrams at breakfast or lunch. Dr. Oz demonstrated the effects of the ketone by showing balloons representing fat cells shrinking in tub of liquid nitrogen. The balloons shrink in the liquid but expand again when they’re taken out.

Dr. Sarah G. Khan, our resident pharmacist, gives a more in-depth explanation of how the supplement affects the body:

“Raspberry ketones appear to increase the body’s release of norepinephrine and this causes a rise in the body’s temperature which helps burns fat and increase metabolism. Raspberry ketones also increase levels of adiponectin, which is a hormone that helps with lowering glucose levels. The less circulating glucose, the less likely it will be converted into a stored energy source like glycogen. Adiponectin is found least frequently in obese people and may have a possible role to play in insulin resistance and diabetes.”

Dr. Khan also notes that that raspberry ketone may not be suitable for people with a number of different health conditions:

“I would not recommend this product to diabetics without speaking to their doctor because of the risk of blood sugar fluctuations. The increase in norepinephrine may cause glucose to be released in the blood while adiponectin would lower it. I would also be hesitant in recommending this to people on antidepressants or anxiety medications as the increase in norepinephrine may possibly make them become anxious or agitated. People who have heart issues or high blood pressure would also not be good candidates for raspberry ketones because norepinephrine can have effects on blood pressure and heart rate. This may also have an effect on people who have COPD or asthma conditions and may make their conditions worse.”

raspberry supplement featured on the dr. oz showThe supplements are about $12.00 per bottle, and are available online and in health food stores. The supplements represent a concentrated source of ketone, the equivalent to 90 pounds of fresh raspberries. Lynn and Dr. Oz make no bones about the fact that the supplement needs to be used in combination with diet and exercise in order to provide results, but add that raspberry ketone can be an aid in the weight loss process by “tricking the body into thinking it’s thin.”

The show made no mention of how long it’s safe to take this supplement, nor did they discuss what happens to the body once you stop taking it. Dr. Khan doubts that the supplement can be used on a long-term basis. “Like other diet pills that have an effect on body temperature and metabolism I would think that these products would only be effective for a short period of time and would eventually have to be discontinued. If weight loss is achieved weight maintenance would required a healthy diet and exercise.”

Raspberry Ketone Products on Amazon

Also Read:

A Magic Pill: What You Need to Know About Diet Pills

Raspberry Ketone Review

February 8th, 2012

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 40 total comments)

Baby

You can get 60 -100 mg pills for $5 at Walmart. Or 30-400 mg for $10. It works out to about the same cost. Just different brands. First one 6000mg per bottle for $5. Second 12000 mg bottle for $10.

posted Jul 8th, 2013 1:45 pm


Ponciano Madrid

I recently ordered from NUTRAPAY HEALTH SPECIAL OFFERS I recently ordered ketones and I am paying $72.94 and on your show you said you can buy them at a heathfood store for $12.00 a bottle, is this a scam or not. Thanks!!!

posted Mar 30th, 2013 6:15 pm


INGYAN amiri

Are Raspberry Ultra Drops safe for kids? Can a 10-year-old take raspberry ultra drops or is it not recommended to young patients?

posted Mar 2nd, 2013 7:13 pm


Logan

Where can we buy in singapore

posted Nov 27th, 2012 3:46 pm


Dr. Stanley R. Milstein

Overall,the current "Diets-in-Review"article appears to present a balanced discussion of the pros-and-cons of the Rasberry Ketones Diet. This should be helpful to the inquiring consumer.

posted Nov 18th, 2012 7:24 pm


brown

Dr. Oz featured the weight loss supplement raspberry ketone on yesterday’s show, touting it as a “miracle fat burner.” this phrase kept my mind swinging. I am facing problem of obesity and willing to lose some flabs . My belly is expanding day by day . Lets see if I try this if it works for me . It will be a miracle for me. Thank you for sharing this article.
ocala grocery stores

posted Oct 29th, 2012 4:29 am


Joanne

I took the raszberry ketones ($20 at www.well.ca) I began to notice feelings of major anxiety the past few days and my blood pressure which is usually 128/80 was up to 140/90. I also started feeling quite hyper...among other things. I believe it probably does speed up the metabolism but at what cost to ones health. The saying is true...buyer beware!

posted Jul 22nd, 2012 10:10 am


willie

There are 100s of websites that sell Raspberry ketones, a lot of them contain very little raspberry,Watch it sometimes cheaper isn't always better. I have yet to come across the bottles of Raspberry ketones he had on that table.

posted Jul 12th, 2012 2:33 am


Ruby

How long does it take for this product to work?

posted Jun 26th, 2012 8:00 pm


Angie

Do raspberry ketones in pill version have carbs?

posted Jun 10th, 2012 4:27 pm


Bob

Our GNC in Carroll Ia. just got some Raspberry Ketones 125mg in but they are $30.00 for 90 capsules.

posted May 27th, 2012 6:27 pm


Mardell

I found them at Vitacost.com. Vitacost has a good product and the price is right. The shipping only takes about 5 days.

posted May 15th, 2012 10:18 pm


mjc

i bought them through the internet through total nutrition. same as on Dr. Oz but cheaper!

posted May 1st, 2012 2:03 pm


Lizzie367

Can raspberry ketones be taken with high blood pressure? Should raspberry slim be taken in one has controlled high blood pressure or controlled thyroid.

posted Mar 30th, 2012 8:40 pm


Joni

How do we order these there are a couple of us at my office that would love too try the Paspberry Kentone Plus!!

posted Mar 29th, 2012 4:44 pm


greg

yes, i would like to know the question that Fred asked, about no side affects, yet how does a person with these issues try to get benefits from suppluments and everything is against them?

posted Feb 17th, 2012 12:02 pm


sebastian

Nutrabio has Raspberry Ketones in stock. They are an FDA inspected and registered GMP manufacturer so products are pharmaceutical grade. They manufacture and sell direct.

posted Feb 16th, 2012 11:11 pm


sandy

i thinner blood.......ok?

posted Feb 14th, 2012 9:08 pm


Fran

Where can I find the products shown? So many raspberry ketone products out there. Don't know which one to choose. :( I wish more info was given about the supplement.

Where to find in Phoenix, AZ?

posted Feb 14th, 2012 9:52 am


sahar

I am on blood thinner (waffern's) 10mg a day . so i could take raspberry keynotes

posted Feb 14th, 2012 2:45 am


laurie

I found it at CVS for 14.99 called raspberry slim. It has the 125mg of ketone as stated by Oz

posted Feb 11th, 2012 10:31 pm


angie

Just bough it at Sprouts health store and paid $39.00. I know it is high in pirce however I was told I could get $ back if I decide to return it. One thing this comes in a poweder form and it states pure, it's white and I need to take 1/8 of a tsp because a full tsp is 500 mg. I will take more if I see no side effect. wish me luck!

posted Feb 11th, 2012 8:35 pm


Barbara

I know were you can find the raspberry ketones for 4.99 and plus sh & ha 4.99 which it comes out paying over 9.00 dollars. website is swansonvitamins (dot) com. the bottle looks different.

posted Feb 11th, 2012 7:17 pm


Sharon

I wish Dr Oz would have given more information on brand names and sites to find them.

posted Feb 11th, 2012 1:53 am


Barbara Dodson

Where is website for raspberry ketone? You can get this suppliment rasberry keytone for 1200. Where is that website?

posted Feb 11th, 2012 1:32 am


joann

how can we get this for 12.00

posted Feb 9th, 2012 11:54 pm


Kelly

I found them at CVS for $14.99 for 60 pills. . .not bad if you just want to try it out . . it was called Raspberry Slim not Raspberry Plus though.

posted Feb 9th, 2012 8:20 pm


PJ

....and how expensive is it to remain fat?
I don't believe in price gouging either BUT I would rather pay a little more now and be thinner than to pay way more later to a doctor because I have remained fat.

posted Feb 9th, 2012 5:13 pm


kadedmon

I found them 100 mg 60 tabs at Swanson Health for $4.99 a bottle, only thing is they are backordered, but good price ;)

posted Feb 9th, 2012 4:01 pm


Veronica

This is Supply and Demand... we want it so the price goes up.. when we don't want it.. the price will go down. Dr Oz promoted so of course the price gouging starts.

posted Feb 9th, 2012 3:29 pm


twp

I went to GNC yesterday and found that they are sold out. If you go to amazon.com they are $30, plus. The manager in GNC stated everyone that purchased saw the Keytone episode on Dr. Oz. . therefore, I expect we will either pay more for it, or have to wait until there are new shipments into the vitamin and healthfood stores.

posted Feb 9th, 2012 2:19 pm


Caroline

It is not false advertising, it is price gouging. The minute Dr Oz endorses a product, the price goes up threefold.

posted Feb 9th, 2012 1:22 pm


Jan

This Raspberry Ketsone's would be great to have if you could find it in Ocala, Florida. But I am afraid if I was to find it, it would be 3 and 4 times more then what Dr Oz said on the air of $12.00. I have looked on line and some places what $$27.00 to $48.00 dollars for 30 bags. That is so sad. If any one would know were to get this for a far price? Not ebay because they are making up on shipping to make more.
Thank You Jan -._.-

posted Feb 9th, 2012 1:03 pm


Tina Hudson

its good

posted Feb 9th, 2012 3:19 am


Sascha

thanks for the details! great post

posted Feb 9th, 2012 3:11 am


Heather Tabish

How do I order these raspberry ketones? I need exact e-mail to order please

posted Feb 9th, 2012 3:02 am


Fred

So they state that there are no side effects, yet the article goes on to say that someone with diabetes, high blood pressure or other heart related issues, and/or is on anti-depressants are not good candidates to take this supplement.... So that doesn't sound like "no side effects" to me. What would be the adverse reactions to taking this if one has any of the afforementioned conditions? Thanks

posted Feb 9th, 2012 2:57 am


Candace

Where is the best site to find the Raspberry Ketone Plus product?

posted Feb 9th, 2012 2:45 am


Alexa

I am really interested in taking raspberry ketone but am having trouble deciding which brand is the best and most cost effective to buy. Some go for $40 but the one Dr. Oz mentioned went for $12. Where can I find that product?

posted Feb 8th, 2012 11:54 pm


DEBRA

Sorry to say but I have checked in the Pittsburgh area for your Raspberry Ketone's they are not your $12.00 per bottles more like $47.00 (per your brand that you show on your website). just saying.... FALSE ADVERTISING...???
Thanks
Deb

posted Feb 8th, 2012 8:22 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account