Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Raspberry Ketone Side Effects May Impact Thyroid Health

The amount of questions that came pouring in to my pharmacy about raspberry ketones just hours after Dr. Oz’s episode about them makes me think I need to start DVRing the show. Being in the health care field I feel it is my responsibility to stay current with the latest drug and supplement information. Dr. Oz has a tremendous influence on his audience and I feel it’s important to dig a little deeper and not just take his word for it.

Raspberry ketones work in two ways for a possible weight loss effect. They increase the metabolism by increasing the release of a hormone called norepinephrine. When I think of norepinephrine I think what would happen to me if I were being chased by a bear. My heart rate speeds up and I may even have some palpitations, there’s a good chance I’ll be running the fastest I ever have. My body is going to release some glucose into my blood to give me more energy so I can outrun this bear. I’m sure that I will feel nervous, hot and that I’ll be panting for air even after I stop running. I would imagine that at this point I would not be hankering for food because my focus is to stay alive causing my appetite to be suppressed. My vision may become blurry and I may feel the need to throw up or even feel nauseous. I may also have difficulty falling asleep after my run-in with the bear.

Now, imagine this is going on all day long – that could be you on raspberry ketones. The dose can of course be adjusted starting with 100 mg at breakfast and increasing to up to 300 mg. Although you may avoid or lessen the side effects with a lower dose you may not get the results you are looking for.

The other mechanism here is involving a protein that is found on fat cells called adiponectin. Adiponectin decreases glucose levels and has been found to be very successful in lab tests with mice regarding weight loss. Adiponectin has some ties to genetic makeup so if obesity runs in your family, lack of adiponectin might be to blame.

February is national thyroid health month and I think it’s important to think about the possible effects of a drug that increases your metabolism. This is the function that is normally controlled by the thyroid and any medication that causes an increase in this hormone could cause the thyroid to malfunction. This could lead to hypothyroidism, also known as an under-active thyroid and result in being put on prescription medication to control it. Drugs that increase metabolism that are prescription, like phentermine, are only recommended for a short time period, which is about three months. It’s hard to speculate without studies being conducted, but I would not be surprised if long-term use of raspberry ketones could have an effect on thyroid function.

With any supplement I say go in it with a grain of salt. Know that there probably will be side effects and you may not see results. Chances are you’re more likely to experience the side effects than the results.

Also Read:

Raspberry Ketones Touted as Miracle Fat Burner by Dr. Oz

Dr. Oz’s Raspberry Ketones Dismissed by Dietitian as TV Hype

Yoga Poses for Thyroid Health

 

February 11th, 2012

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 102 total comments)

nat

i have only taken 3 tablets and my eye sight has gone blurry - reading is hard work! even looking at the tv i have to keep sharking my head to refocus -- definitely going to stop using this product

posted May 17th, 2014 10:57 am


courtney

These are awful. I took them for a month and then stopped because I got nervous because I never had a period. I went and saw my Dr. and he gave me something to take to regualate my hormones...still no period. Then he got scared and sent me to get an ultrasound thinking I may have something on my ovaries. Still nothing. 8 months passed until I FINALLY had a period. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THESE AT ALL.

posted Mar 5th, 2014 10:02 pm


lk

Took this for 3.5 months, and did not have a period the entire time, and couldn't sleep and would sweat (thought I was going through menopause), then went off it for 1 week and my period came back and now sleep is back to normal. This def messes with your hormones. Be careful!!!

posted Sep 15th, 2013 10:40 pm


Niki

I order my rasberry keton with nutregreen coffee cleanse.but I received only my rasberry ketone.in instruction u should not take the pill if u nursing.i was decided to take after stopping my nursing.but still I am not get my nutra green coffee cleanse.more than 15 days.after seeing all the reviews I don t want to take the pills and risk.

posted Sep 10th, 2013 4:30 pm


Amy20132014

I took raspberry ketone for 3 weeks and lost 10 pounds while on a 1200 calories a day diet. After 3 weeks I started having increasingly painful heart palpitations. Also, I couldn't sleep anymore and I became very paranoid, thinking someone might attack me at night in my sleep. I took 350 mg twice a day as indicated on the bottle. It think it was too much. Anyways, I won't even take a small dose now because I'm too scared of the side effects of this addictive stimulant. It's too bad because it helped me lose the weight real fast without much effort. Now I'll just have to lose the rest of the weight in a more natural way...

posted Aug 4th, 2013 3:00 pm


Caroyn

Can I take these with thyroxine?

posted Jul 15th, 2013 1:03 pm


ByrdFace

Hi All,

As with everything in life, not all foods, medicines, perfumes, skin care etc are suitable for all people. We find out what suits us best through trial and error mostly, particularly body care, foods and supplements.

I started taking keytone this week because of menopausal weight gain; I ballooned to 10 stone, not good for a woman of 5' 2" in height. I am not experiencing any side affects and I am shedding around .4 of a pound per day...GREAT!

I will say that it is important to drink plenty of water, up to two litres a day depending on body size and food intake. Eating causes the body to use its water reserves to process the food we eat, and tea, coffee and non water drinks are processed in exactly the same way.

Anyone taking medication should always check the contraindications of that medicine before taking any kind of supplement including natural/herbal remedies as they are as potent pharmaceutical medicines.

Would you, for example, go into the countryside and pick and eat mushrooms if you did not know what kind of mushroom they are? It would be ludicrous to do so!

So come on people... DO YOUR RESEARCH!

posted Jul 6th, 2013 1:19 pm


carrie

Are Raspberry Ketone Forte pills going to destroy my metabolism? Worried about side effects.

posted Jul 1st, 2013 10:18 am


Stakkers

Thankyou for the information, so glad I checked this before buying online! I have congenital hypertension and if I went to my pharmacist to purchase this product I'm sure I would have been given info on contraindications. I guess this is the danger of ordering supplements online!

posted Jun 25th, 2013 11:58 am


Kathy

Terrible product. Took two 450mg capsules as it stated on the back of the pack and thought I was going to die within a few hours after taking them. Didn't sleep for almost two days had heart palpitations, shortness of breath, felt as though my throat was closing up, chest pains, nausea, heat flushes and faintness. Dr. Oz didn't mention this! Waste of $50/£30

posted May 29th, 2013 7:33 pm


sam

Do NOT take this supplement - it is NOT worth the instant feeling you get of your throat closing up, heart beating triple fast, your face feeling numb, and the blurred vision and dizziness - it is not worth this. I feel instantly panicked - this really should be a HUGE WARNING

posted May 28th, 2013 2:33 pm


Lina

Why is there blood in my stool after taking this product for four months? I have been on this product for 4 months and lost 5k. Now there is blood in my stool. Can someone tell me what that means?

posted May 21st, 2013 5:28 am


skye

I used for 1 week 100mg 3 times a day and my blood pressure went up to 220/110. I am on blood pressure medicaton and have been for years with my blood pressure under control. I should have researched it better.

posted May 5th, 2013 1:06 pm


Vanessa

Well this is only the third tablet i have taken and already I have stomach cramps I feel nauseas and i feel faint. That is the last tablet I will be taking!!

posted Apr 26th, 2013 10:22 pm


kim

I tried them for 4 days and they did curb my appetite, but the stomach cramping and gas was unbearable. I do not have a thyroid issue and I'm a healthy person with 10 pounds to lose. These pills (PurelyInspired) made me miserable with stomach pain.

posted Apr 19th, 2013 12:00 am


t lynn

People need to realize that before they try something that you need to research the product before buying it. Too much of something is bad for your health no matter what it is.

Taking a 1000 mg of Raspberry Ketone is crazy. No one should take that much.

I started out at 100mg then worked my way up to 375 mg.
I will only take one a day because i have been losing 1 pound a day and i don't have much to lose.

I have no problem with what Dr. OZ does. His information is very useful if you do your research and confirm if it's true and there is no side effects.

posted Apr 11th, 2013 5:52 pm


MsVeeVee

I have been taking the gcb and rk mixed and you have to understand that the key thing is to not have no additives. You must have ONLY gcb and rk as the ingredients. All the other things that are in it is the part that is probably making most of yall not have good results. I have been taking mine for over a month and my abdomen is slimming down and I've lost 10 lbs and 3 inches. And also, they have the decaffenated ones too. Matter of fact, I got mine from GNC and it costed $50 for 120 capsules taking 2 caps on an empty stomach twice a day. It;s made by biogenetic and it's called stimulant free gcb lean 800. And as always, consult with your MD bcuz although I have the natural pure version, it may counteract with certain meds.

posted Apr 10th, 2013 2:31 am


Yolanda

After taking 1000mg of Raspberry Ketone daily for a month, I had my regular six month blood test for thyroid and blood sugar. My blood sugar shot up above the diabetic level and my thyroid count registered low. This is the first time in 20 years that my thyroid count was low. I'm going to stop taking the supplement and the Dr. ordered another blood test in a month. Wish I would have research before spending the $

posted Apr 5th, 2013 1:46 am


Jenny

Umm it works for me! I've already lost almost over 15 lbs with it and I just started in mid January as my new years resolution. Just watch out for the scams out there. Not all of them work. If you want to try the raspberry ketones Im using you can get them at http://urlcheck.us/ketones

posted Mar 27th, 2013 9:30 pm


sam

should raspberry ketone give u severe abdomen cramps and pain? i brought this product after reading lots of reviews, i don't over eat have a varied diet, but at 43 i just cant shift the half a stone i would like to.... i have been taking rk 2;2;1for over a week, started with 1 a day for a week then 2 a day... i have in the last few days been having really bad stomach cramps in my lower abdomen i have seen that other people on here have had the same problem with severe pain in the lower abdomen!!! havent lost any weight!!!! THEY SAY THERE IS NO FOOL LIKE AN OLD FOOL!!!!!

posted Mar 26th, 2013 9:57 pm


georgie

soo i randomly brought RK 2day after reading only but good things about it! i took one pill before college, all my friends thought i had taken drugs! i was irritable and didnt no what to do with myself! i then got home and got in to bed and felt my heart was racing! RK defo has a stimulent in it! you rush your tits off!! im still wide awake now and its 2am! im going to have to keep taking it as ive spent all this money!! fingers crossed all will be ok!!

posted Mar 22nd, 2013 1:46 am


Get Real

I'm waiting for Dr. Oz to start pushing snake oil. Or have I missed that show? Raspberry Ketones made my fasting blood glucose level rise from normal into the pre-diabetic range. I'm also on Levothyroxine, the generic form of Synthroid for hypothyroidism. To CLEARLY AND CONCISELY GET RIGHT TO THE POINT. YOU SHOULD NOT--SHOULD NOT, AGAIN I SAID SHOULD NOT TAKE ANY METABOLIC ENHANCEMENT SUPPLEMENTS WITH THYROID MEDICATION. This includes raspberry ketones, green coffee bean extract and all weight loss supplements or thyroid supplements containing iodine or caffeine. LET YOUR MEDICATION DO WHAT IT IS SUPPOSED TO DO!!! AND NEVER NEVER TAKE ANYTHING WITHOUT CONSULTING YOUR DOCTOR FIRST WHILE ON ANY MEDICATION Helloooo?????

posted Mar 21st, 2013 7:00 pm


Nothappy

I'm 33, and have 8 pounds to lose. I had a very bad experience with the Raspberry Ketone. Within a couple of days of starting it, I had heart palpitations and severe insomnia (I could actually hear my heart beating loud, I thought I was going to lose my mind). Stupid me, I continued taking it for 2 more weeks, and then I missed my period. That's when I decided to stop taking it. I wish Dr. Oz would be more responsible with his endorsements. This product DEFINITELY disrupts your hormones, and it is dangerous to call it "harmless" or a "miracle" fat loss product. Not worth putting your health at risk.

posted Mar 13th, 2013 2:19 pm


Cindy

I just started taking them. The ones I have are raspberry ketone platinum 600mg. I take 3 a day and have absolutly no side effects at all. I just started so I havn't lost weight yet. Perhaps the ones others are taking are combined with caffiene or other ingredients.

posted Mar 6th, 2013 4:40 pm


Kim Garay

I took 100 mg of Raspberry Ketones March 1, 2013 at breakfast like Dr. OZ recommended. By 1PM my heart was racing, my blood pressure was 196/98, my pulse was 108! Nothing was mentioned in his show about drinking caffeinated beverages with this. I drank two large cups of coffee at breakfast. I also take cozaar (100mg) for high blood pressure. I will NEVER again trust any of his recommendations. Thank god I didn't have a heart attack or stroke. STAY AWAY FROM THIS SUPPLEMENT.

posted Mar 4th, 2013 4:04 am


Shelia

I bought my Raspberry Ketone after seeing the program on Dr.Oz. Assured that it was harmless I took 2 pills. I had a larger than normal cup of coffee this day, and did feel agitated and nervous and put this down tot the coffee. Can I say I thought my head was going to pop, by head and ears are still hurting and I actually thought I was having a blood pressure issue. I did not put these physical discomfort to the RK I want anyone interested in taking these to be aware that if you do have blood pressure issues, to be cautious. If you are going to take this go slow, and leave the coffee out.

posted Mar 2nd, 2013 6:12 am


kathy

Thank you for this information. I have had 2 heart attacks and had 2 heart stents placed. I have aniexty and other health problems. So now I am not going to use raspberry ketones. I am on too many medications for heart palpitations and angina. This sounds like my mecial troubles would only get worse.

posted Feb 28th, 2013 4:41 am


Stephanie

I suffer with anxiety and try to curb it with valerian capsules from health shops, iwanted to loose some weight so bought rk online a few weeks back, i started taking it about a week ago and did notice my appetite was less and i didnt feel like snacking at night either because i get anxiety alot i never noticed how bad the side effects were until today i have been constantly shaking panicking nerves on edge and diahorrea my chest is really tight too what scared me more is that you cant control it i will just have to wait until it wears off i strongly advise anyone who suffers with anxiety to be really careful taking this product i wish i had researched this product before wasting my money !!!

posted Feb 26th, 2013 8:00 pm


Madasads

I have been taking the Forza capsules for about 2 weeks now and the first week taking the tablets was fine and I lost 6lb. I was quite hyper though but I go to the gym to counteract. This week I upped to 2 tablets as per the instrcutions and I am starting to feel nauseus all the time and tired. I have also found that I am really hungry which I put down to my metabolism being sped up. One weird thing I have noticed is white flakes in my urine. The first time I saw this it was like a snow globe in the toilet. Anyone else had this as tried to research it and it could be just the fat being flushed out? I was thinking the Nausea could have been a coincidence until I found this threasd

posted Feb 21st, 2013 2:40 pm


Jennifer

I was told by sources on TV and Radio that raspberry keytones have no side effects. Those people could not be more wrong. I bought a bottle and started taking it two days ago. I started feeling horrible right away. I got a throbbing headache, dizziness, and nausea. This stuff should have a huge warning telling people this could happen. I have read a few testimonials from people who say it works wonders for them and that is all good and well, but what about those of us who were made sick by it? Hopefully no one will be irreparably damaged or killed by this stuff.

posted Feb 17th, 2013 4:24 pm


Jackie

I took one dose the afternoon of Tuesday, Feb 12, that evening my lower abdomen was hurting. The next morning I took another dose. My stomach hurt all day, almost as if I had a blockage. Wednesday night I didn't sleep at all, with severe pain in the lower part of my stomach. Lots of pressure, there again as if I had a intestinal blockage. Thursday I felt bad but the pain had cease but I still haven't had a BM. I think the RK caused this.

posted Feb 15th, 2013 1:23 am


Trish

Well, everyone seems to be an expert on RK based on his/her own experience. I don't think there's any 'agenda' by the author as a few have stated. It's great that many of you are having wonderful experiences and results with no side effects, but that isn't the case for some of us. I've only had my RK for ONE FULL DAY, already I'm not liking it. I DO feel my heart racing, I feel very jittery and anxious (almost the way I felt back in the days when I took crap like Hydroxycut, but it's been over a decade since I've touched any of that stuff), and I have been EXTREMELY bloated. :-/ I have noticed excessive urination, which may not be a bad thing as I carry a lot of water weight, but on the 'other side' of things I'm a little backed up. I CAN say that it is reducing my appetite, but I have a feeling it's doing so in an unnatural and unsafe way for my body's hormonal balance. I already have thyroid disease (Hashimoto's) to begin with, and my suspicion as that the RK is doing something very quickly to disrupt the somewhat harmony I had going on. I'm not on any medications whatsoever. I've done well with natural/alternative medicines/herbals and energy healing. But even now I'm not on any herbs. So there's nothing to counteract or 'disagree' with the RK. I'm going to try and get through the week and see maybe if things balance back out for me. But with the way I'm feeling now, and the sharp pains I've been having in my heart, it may not be worth a few lbs of weight loss.

posted Jan 29th, 2013 12:21 am


Ruth

I am so relieved to have read the post here. I was taking RK for about two weeks and despite being on a half dose of HRT my hot flashes came back really badly. My eyelids were so badly swollen that I looked like I'd gone 10 rounds in the ring with a professional boxer! I had shortness of breath and I was so tired, I could hardly lift my legs. Today is my first day off them and I won't be taking them any more. I did lose a few pounds in the two weeks but the cons far outweighed the pros.

posted Jan 27th, 2013 12:44 am


marilyn

I have been taking raspberry keytones for one week,. and I lost 10 pounds. I do have some medical problems but the RK caused no palpitations, no dizzyness or anything else.

posted Jan 25th, 2013 4:02 am


Michelle

I am currently on Armour Thyroid and Levothyroxin. I still struggle with my weight. I am trying Rasberry Keytones and have gained 4 pounds in two weeks. What would you suggest to do besides stop taking the Keytones? Is there another product that may help with weight loss?

posted Jan 21st, 2013 4:27 pm


Sam Hay

Good information :)
What if you have NO thyroid function. Mine was completely debilitated with I-131 as one of the first patients in the 1970s before they learned to access and only deplete the function to make it more normal.
Would I suppose it couldnt affect my thyroid gland if I have no thyroid function? Im on synthroid.
Thanks,
Sam

posted Dec 14th, 2012 4:12 pm


cz

Follow-up to last post late Nov. 2102... So I had to stop using the raspberry ketones for now since the cons outweighed the pros and here's why. PROS: It was amazing how it really did curb my insatiable appetite for chocolate and other high caloric foods I seem to crave late at night. CONS: After about 3 days of using a tea/ketone blend (once only in the morning with breakfast), my eyesight went a little blurry which was very frustrating and made reading my iPhone almost impossible. I stopped using the mixed one and tried a pure ketone powder and my eyesight was still blurry. I also had a hard time sleeping and when I did sleep, had very vivid crazy dreams. I realized the pure powder had about twice the amount of ketones in it as the previous pills and was going to try and reduce the amount of ketone powder in the pills to see if that would help, but I got fed up not being able to see. So…. been off of the raspberry ketones for a few days now, my dreams and vision are back to normal, but I downed a half pound of fudge last night for dessert. Oh the trade-offs we must face in life! :) I may try a very low dose of the pure powder later this month after getting our usual holiday allotment of cookies, candies and fudge.

posted Dec 11th, 2012 12:43 am


cz

I heard about this about a week ago from a friend who’s lost about 10 pounds in a month and swears by it (and she looks great!). Having used many different supplements and realizing that all don’t work for all people, I started investigating on-line including this page. Based on what I read and heard, I got what I could find at CVS and started taking it daily in the AM starting the day before Thanksgiving. What I’ve found is that I don’t need the caffeine in pills on top of my daily lattes, but the positive aspect is that I find that I don't have the desire to pig out relentlessly on chocolate and other junk food at vital blood sugar drops like late afternoon and late evening. I’ve yet to see any fat loss, but just the craving curbs alone will make me continue. I’ve since ordered the pure powder form on-line since I’ve never thought caffeine in a pill form is a good idea (at least not for me and my stomach). Since I already consume caffeine on a daily basis, I don’t think this is contributing to the craving suppression and I have realized that the cravings for me at least have been hormonal. Based on the hormonal properties of the RK, I can only guess this is helping. Like any new supplement/vitamin, I will continue to monitor my progress and stop if any adverse affects occur.

posted Nov 27th, 2012 1:06 am


Jean

I did not see the Dr. Oz show but it flashed up on the my FB page so I looked at the link. I ordered what was on the link (Pureberry Max) Rasberry Keton SELECT. The first day I took it was yesterday - Thanksgivinig. One capsule in the a.m., one in the eve around dinner. I don't drink Caffeine and am very sensitive to anything with a stimulant in it. So, yesterday I had a ton of energy and felt a bit on edge. I am very in tune with my body - thought right away it was definitely related to the RK. Took another tab around 5:00 p.m. and didn't fall asleep until 1:30 a.m. again, feeling very energized. Did not sleep well. Also, went on a walk yesterday and although I had the extra energy in the house, I felt winded on my walk. I exercise and am in decent shape and need to lose 10 pounds...So, this morning, I started researching and found this page along with others. Then I read the back of my container - check this out (and shame on me for not realizing this b/c I am usually on top of this stuff): The capsule I take is a "proprietary blend" of 1100 mg BTW -
RK, green tea (standardized to 50% polyphenols (leaf), pomegrante, blueberry, acai berry, and rasberry...

I will not be taking anymore of this supplement and will be returning it.

posted Nov 23rd, 2012 6:31 pm


yana cannon

i have been on the rk for weeks now without any wt loss at all what supplement should i be on.

posted Nov 18th, 2012 9:27 pm


cc

I recently started raspberry ketone and wish that I would have done more research before doing so. I ended up the emergency room with increased heart rate and heart palpitations...I am still experiencing side effects after only taking one pill!!! It felt very scary and life threatening...It's not worth it for a quick fix. I have definately learned a valuable lesson from this..

posted Nov 15th, 2012 3:38 pm


Shirley Maidens

I took one tablet today and within two hours I thought I had vertigo , I had to ring my GP I could not stand up kept losing my balance, the room was spinning round felt very nausous and then was violently sick. I do not recomend these pills to anyone.

posted Oct 27th, 2012 11:09 pm


Miss Deb

Are Raspberry Ketones safe if I have Hashimoto's Disease. I have Hashimoto's disease and am on Levothyroxine . What if I am already taking Levothyroxine for a long time case of hypo thyroidism. I am 62. Are the raspberry ketones safe for me?

posted Oct 27th, 2012 2:40 pm


Madison

I've been taking pure raspberry ketones--no other ingredients--for 6 weeks with not one side effect. I feel great, have lots of energy, and am losing weight. I would suspect the other ingredients (like caffeine) before I would suspect the raspberry ketones. Just my opinion.

posted Jul 23rd, 2012 3:29 am


CaliforniaChica

I agree that the being "chased by a bear" scenario was a way over-the-top analogy. It was humorous, though.

Always do your own research before buying any thing (not just diet supplements), and always see your doctor first. EVERY PRODUCT states to see your doctor before taking or trying, even exercise videos. Your doctor can tell you if something you want to take will interfere with medications you are already taking or conditions you already have.

There are MANY RK products available, in stores and on the net. Research is key in finding one that is a pure product (which is what Dr Oz actually recommended). Now that's not always going to be the cheapest, but when it comes to your health and well being, cheapest is not always best. I have been taking the product for 5 weeks (with a week break in between 2 week intervals). I have lost 14 lbs, and have not experienced a single one of the "side effects" that anyone has mentioned - no jitters, no heart palpitations, no exhaustion nor sleeplessness. And I drink a cup of coffee with mine. But I also drink tons of water (almost a gallon a day), which helps flush the RK and the toxins out of your system through the course of the day. How many of you experiencing issues, especially sleeplessness, drank even half the daily recommended amount of water per day while taking it? I understand that everyone's body and makeup are not the same, so different things happen differently for different people. But this article is misleading.

posted Jul 12th, 2012 6:44 pm


manny

To Utty...i also bought the same thing you did and found no side affects. i read what you experienced and was surprised. I take two pills in the morning and then realized after 4 days than my wieght dropped, so im going with just one pill. also noticed im not hungry but also dont get the jidders like i did before the keytone, im forcing my self to eat more knowing that my body shouldbe eating regularly. But may be its the keytone that is making my not hungry or as hungry as before. 7/1 to 7/10 i tested the keytone, i ATE like a pig and normaly would gain 5-6 pounds in a week, this past week i stayed at 185. i have droped from 210 to 185 in the last month. THis week ill go back and take the keytone to see what happens 7-11 to 7/19 to see what happens..eating when hungry and not forcing my self to eat...

posted Jul 11th, 2012 11:43 pm


Kelly B.

I have 1/2 of a thyroid. I have been taking RK for 4 days and when I take it I feel like my glands and thyroid is swollen its hard to swallow and speak. I feel very tired. . I will not be taking this product anymore. It has not curved my appetite and I also feel swollen. Im 5'4 125 pounds. I was only trying to lose 5 pounds and I have lost zero. Has anybody had the feeling of swollen throat and thyroid when taking this product????

posted Jul 1st, 2012 1:55 am


Barbara

I have a hypoactive thyroid and take synthroid daily. Within one week of taking the raspberry ketone, I GAINED 5 lbs!! This pill interferes with the medication taken for hypothyroidism. Within four days of discontinuing the pill, my energy level has returned, and I have lost 2 of the five lbs gained. DO NOT TAKE RASPBERRY KETONES IF YOU HAVE A HYPOTHYROID!!!!

posted Jun 28th, 2012 1:42 pm


tina


If it not truly and 99.9%pure than your doing yourself harm. Your buying it with Caffeine which is harmful. RK is amazing and totally natural and awesome. Have you even been sick and gittery from eating a pint of Raspberries. Ever feel like you running from a bear when you eat raspberries? How about when you take a caffeine pill or drink a lot of soda or coffee????? Ahhhhh see you just have to think and reseacha bit. Be careful what you buy there are many versions out there.

posted Jun 14th, 2012 5:47 pm


Tina

This is rediculous. As with anything you gotta read the label. Even the so called "RK pure is not actually pure RK. There are so many versions of it on the internet and out there and they are often laced with Caffene. Of coarse you are having hot flashed and anxious. Of coarse you can't sleep at night. Also several are mixed with Tree bark from all sorts of trees and exotic plants which all make my stomach nauseated and very crampy. You have to get 99.5% pure RK and there is not side effects at all. It is just the natural red colour and small that makes raspberries great. Stop being so cynical. Sheshh.

posted Jun 14th, 2012 5:40 pm


Bonnie Brown

Your description could not have been more accurate. After just 1 capsule of Bio Nutrition's Raspberry Ketone Diet taken with food, my heart began to race, my fingers began to tremble and I spent the next six hours in a state of panic. I felt as if I had just outrun a bear! And when I called the manufacturer, they acted surprised and inconvenienced by my concern and horrible reaction. This article really helped me put it into perspective. I just wish I had read it BEFORE I took the leap of faith.

posted Jun 8th, 2012 11:28 am


connie

I have high thyroid--Graves disease--Will taking Rasberry ketons effect me in a bad way?

posted Jun 6th, 2012 1:57 am


karen

I have read an article regarding the raspberry ketones that stated to make sure they were produced in the US. The supplements made in China can be laced with all kinds of who knows what?

posted May 30th, 2012 8:42 pm


Norma

I am a type 1 diabetic. Is this produce safe for me? Raspberry Ketone

posted May 29th, 2012 6:07 am


lisa

I have been taking the lowest dose of raspberry ketone at breakfast for the last two months with no side effects. I have had a rapid heart rate all of my life and this pill has not made it any worse. I have had no side effects except for weight loss. I eat healthy and exercise, and i feel this just gets me over the hump of feeling really hungry in the morning. I don't plan on using forever, the dietician on Dr. Oz said it is just a temporary thing and you should ween yourself off as soon as you can

posted May 26th, 2012 5:25 pm


Sumaya

Wed MD states that RK contains an ingredient that acts as a synthetic hormone, so if you have an undiagnosed hormone related cancer, ie: breast, ovary, it can excellerate the spread of it. I find it VERY disturbing and careless that Dr Oz makes statement that claim these products are completely safe...especially considering the effect he has on people.

posted May 19th, 2012 1:52 am


Sarah

Heard about RK from Dr. Oz's show and bought 2 bottles for the price of 1. Took 2 pills per day for 5 days and I got stomach stomach pains/cramps and had several bowel movements per day for about a week. Now 10 days later stomach cramps/pains and movements have let up a little bit. If not gone completely in a few days, going to see my doc. Never had these problems before.

posted May 18th, 2012 3:17 pm


Cynthia

I started using 100mg of RK 2x daily; after about a week I started feeling exhausted - that was the downside and the only negative side effect. On a positive note the swelling in my wrist I had for over a year from Carpal Tunnel went away. The pain returned for a day or two afterwards but the swelling was completely gone. However, I did stop taking the RK. Recently, I got bit by something and it became swollen and had a red rash. I started on the RK again, within 2 days the swelling was gone and the red rash is almost completely gone.
RK hasn't helped me to lose weight, but it's great for inflammation.

posted May 15th, 2012 8:50 pm


Kristine

For someone who doesn't experience the possible side effects mentioned, I can see people saying that there is no scientific basis for the article. HOWEVER, I started taking RK a little over a week ago and in the last 2 days I have suffered EXACTLY what many of you have been posting to a T. I've had weird 'hot flashes' where my face feels on fire, feeling like my throat is thickening and it's harder to swallow, feeling a tightening in my chest, feeling sweaty....just feeling TERRIBLE overall!
Raspberry Ketones are misleading in that they entice you by the fact that they're all-natural, derived from Raspberries....that can't 'possibly' be harmful, can it? (sarcasm)....I can tell you with conviction now that the last time I experienced these kinds of symptoms was when taking Hydroxycut YEARS ago when they still included phenphen, and I quickly ditched those.
No more RK for me. I've been eating extremely clean and exercising, so these were just supposed to be an added 'boost' to trying to get into summer shape......not worth it. I'll stick to the good old fashioned stuff.

posted May 11th, 2012 3:56 pm


Darlene

I really appreciate sites like this, to educate before you you try something. The sure fail safe way to lose weight is the "Ole balanced diet and exercise" Thank you

posted May 11th, 2012 11:20 am


Angela C.

I had been taking RK (125 MG three times a day) and last Friday I blacked out in a restaurant. I was taken to the ER, and they ran all kinds of heart & stroke tests. When I mentioned I had started taking this, they told me to stop immediately. All my test results came back clear, but they suspect that I couldn't handle the RK. Boo...

posted May 3rd, 2012 1:27 pm


Marilyn

I have been taking RK for over a month now and it has helped me loose 5 lbs. It also gives me energy however, I am having trouble sleeping at night. That is why I am up and at my computer at 5 AM this morning. Just a warning to all.

posted Apr 30th, 2012 10:05 am


Lou Duignan

I started to take this stuff just about five days ago. I started with one capsule which is equal to 150mg. I than went up to the normal dosage as per the bottle description of two which is equal to 300mg. The nausea is worse than when I was pregnant. I cannot take this anymore and I have not lost any weight; because I am eating bread to try to get rid of the nausea. I do not sleep well at night and my brain does not feel as sharp and my memory is terrible. I do not feel an increase in energy. I cannot wait for this to get out of my system. I would never recommend this to anybody unless they were someone I didn't like.

posted Apr 26th, 2012 5:15 pm


Joanne

I am at this web site because I started taking the Raspberry Ketones 5 days ago and feel like I am dying. Shortly after taking them, I have chest pain and feel very sick to my stomach. I almost passed out at church yesterday. I could not figure out what was wrong with me, but this is the only thing that I have done. I know everyone is different and your experience may not match mine, but be cautious. This is not a good feeling.

posted Apr 23rd, 2012 11:02 pm


Kristin

No offense, but I thought this article and you referring to taking the RK as what your body goes through as you run from a bear was ridiculous and lacking any evidence whatsoever. You failed to talk about how the hormone norepinephrine would react while taking this drug and what it does naturally in our bodies. I understand that you are a Pharmacist, and I am a Pharm Tech. I know you went to school for several years, but you didn't learn about this topic in pharmacy school. You wrote an article with no facts, not even had tried the product and not to mention the crazy running from a bear scenario. I myself just ordered this product and will be receiving it this week and am very excited to try it. If anything you said in your article I experience, than I will be sure to let you know. But either way, I will let you all know about my results and experience with RK in about a month. Thanks.

posted Apr 21st, 2012 4:56 pm


Cindy

I took RK and I felt anxious and not well feels like I was am on stimulants I hate it. I only took 100 starting feeling odd about 2 hours after taking and the feeling lasts most of the day :( Dr. Oz does not tell the truth about this stuff.

posted Apr 18th, 2012 10:01 pm


deloris

my doctors advises unless you get a prescription- the doses aren't adequate in supplements like the ketones.T thanks for the articles. I am taking 25 mg hydrochlorothiazide for (hypertension) . Any adverse affects. I have purchased a bottle.

posted Apr 17th, 2012 6:57 pm


Patti

I have to tell you i took Rasp Keytones in the am and at lunch for about a month. Yesterday i went into work and had such chest pain and it turned into an anxiety attack. I was so scared. If you have anxiety already do NOT take this product it makes it worse! Finally about 3pm yesterday chest pains subsided and i came home from work and fell asleep. This product revs your body up. I did lose about 3 lbs which i only wanted to lose like 6-8. I am not taking this anymore. If you read others who have had this problem also are on here. I am just going to lose by diet and exercise!

posted Apr 14th, 2012 1:08 pm


Holly

For anyone in the Medical field would say that if there is not enought substantial research on a supplement, then there should not be a chance taken on the product. I work in retail supplements and have had many many people come in for Dr. Oz products. The one thing about Dri. Oz show is that is generlized and research is on "Healthy Adults." This means not on people with pre-existing conditions which most adults have, such as diabetes, cardiovascular issues, and thyroid. In addition this is a fad diet. Most supplements are considered natrual and safe but the are not monitored by FDA. For Raspberry Ketones, the actual compound is FDA generally recognized as safe for additive use in foods and drinks, but not at a dietary supplement.

posted Apr 11th, 2012 3:11 pm


Jay

If you watched the RK segment then you know Dr. Oz had a guest on the show that was informing him on the benefit of taking RK. The guest stated you should start with 100mg at breakfast. So if you are taking 500mg, taking it before bed, etc. - then you are NOT using it right. There are 100mg caps sold in bottles of 60 and they were easy to find. They said to do the research and find a good quality brand. I see multiple brands splashing Dr. Oz's name but that does NOT mean he is endorsing anyone. RK is found in quite a few fat burner pills that have been around for a while but now the idea is to take that by itself. FYI If you are on thryoid meds it takes a couple of weeks for you to be off of it before your body regulates. So Helen, for example, you first should have consulted your endo. and then once you got the approval to get off your meds. and waited the rt. amount of time for those meds to be off your system - then try the RK at 100mg. Lastly, Dr. Oz brought up the guest and her RK segment when it was time to discuss what those that gain weight all over should focus on adding to their diet. I am not saying everything Dr. Oz says is going to work for everyone because everyone's body is different, but please stop the bad mouthing. This article is one sided and to the extreme for your 'average bear' (like that one? ;-D).

posted Apr 6th, 2012 4:45 pm


Robin

I can't help but think there may be some propaganda involved here. I have been taking RK for about 3 weeks now. Yes, I feel my metabolism has 'revved' up and I feel warmer than usual. I have also lost 4 lbs. I don't feel jittery or like my heart is pounding (or that I was chased by a bear...WHICH, by the way, would cause ADRENALINE to surge through your body) I have not felt this with the RK. Yes, EVERYONE is different!! I still eat, I don't feel deprived or starved. I do feel it curbs my appetite, but in no way makes me not want to eat.

posted Mar 15th, 2012 5:18 pm


David

Who wrote the initial article re ketones? Could I see the information/research discussing how ketones produce

posted Mar 13th, 2012 7:53 pm


Cheryl Stephenson

Hi about raspberry ketones and synthroid, I have, (had) Graves, had ablation,am now on synyhroid 0.15mg and liothyronine 5mcg,I have been taking raspberry ketones for 4 days started to have hot flashes and heart palpitations like when my thyroid was hyper,

posted Mar 1st, 2012 7:04 pm


kimi

I bought a bottle of rasberry ketone contain with green tea. I break the capsule in half and I still have too much stimulant . be careful if you are taking this drug. I could not sleep well at night.

posted Feb 28th, 2012 4:34 am


Helen

I am a 73 year old woman. The Raspberry Keytones I used was 125mg. I took one in the morning. I had stopped my thyroid med, cause it said do not take if on thyroid med. I took it for three days. My body felt like it was humming, and I could not get a real good sleep, kept hearing this motor going. So I tossed the bottle. At this point in life, being fat is not so terrible Just glad to be alive.

posted Feb 25th, 2012 6:45 pm


Kelly

I agree with sonny, you are making huge presumptions about potential side affects (and maybe even causing some placebo ones as well with some of your readers!). I have been taking raspberry ketones for a week now. I started with the 500mg dose, because that's all I could get, with the rush of sales attributed to this product being on the Dr. Oz show. I have not experienced any of the 'side effects' you describe, that are related to the release of norepinephrine. If anything, my resting heart rate has decreased and I'm sleeping better. I think it is just as dangerous (and irresponsible) to make unsubstantiated statements about a product, as it is to try every product that claims to be the miracle cure for fat loss. I do think you need to do your own research and if you decide to buy, do so from an established manufacturer.

posted Feb 24th, 2012 3:52 pm


JOANNE

It is so nice to read an up to date on raspberry ketones. I saw the same Dr Oz show and immediately rushed and ordered some. All they said was that it 'eats fat'! Of course @ 61 I need to shed some fat! It took me 4 days to figure out what was wrong with me. I feel so naive for not researching better and stopping right away. I thought I was having real heart problems, my throat felt huge and so did my head,my eyes were bulging and red. I felt like I was having a constant hot flash or? It was a terrible 4 days and almost went to the ER....if I only had insurance I would have gone. Dr Oz does have great advice and introduces all of us to new things...this is not one of them.

posted Feb 21st, 2012 10:21 pm


Abby

I have a diseased thyroid. What would be the effect of raspberry ketones on me? I have a diseased thyroid and take the generic of synthroid. What would be the effect on me?

posted Feb 17th, 2012 11:51 pm


Cindy D

I saw the episode with Dr. Oz and Strawberry ketone. I went out but could not find them so I ordered them over the internet. He did mention that the dose taken shoud be 250mg at breakfast. This is the dose I ordered. I have not experienced any side effects and I am not a very big person either. Oh well, is there any safe anymore? Now organic brown rice can cause cancer I say "what ever"!

posted Feb 17th, 2012 11:02 pm


letty

I'm a type 1 diabetic, are raspberry keytones safe for me?

posted Feb 17th, 2012 4:52 am


amelia

thanks for writing this article. the whole bear analogy was weird but you described what i was feeling. I took raspberry ketone pills and immediately i started to feel nauseous, sick and wanted to vomit really bad. my heart beat sped up, i was repulsed by food and had a really hard time sleeping. i lessened the dosage and the side effects also lessened a bit. i am really disappointed that Dr.oz didn't give more information on these pills.

posted Feb 16th, 2012 12:16 am


mstazs

hi iam on synthroid will raspberry ketone have affect on me if i take it

posted Feb 15th, 2012 11:26 pm


Lisa

Is it safe to take raspberry ketone after a thyroidectomy? Thyroid and Raspberry Ketone-- So I had a thyroidectomy 6 years ago due to several thyroid storms which I understand are rare and quite possibly deadly if not treated quickly. I take .88 mcg of Synthroid..I do have a call into the dr about this..but maybe you can help..is this safe for me to take?

posted Feb 15th, 2012 7:53 pm


Utty

The most effective thing I have done to lose weight is I gave up my car. I now try to bike everywhere. I do bus sometimes but I am doing that less and less. I am losing weight steadily and if I never buy a car again I will probably keep it off. It's one of the best things I have ever done. I save a lot of money too.

posted Feb 15th, 2012 6:09 pm


jayla

I appreciate your comments and will take them with a grain of salt as well as any recommendations of Dr. Oz. I found raspberry ketones from a company that clearly lists the amount of raspberry ketones, 200mg plus 315mg of green tea extract. I am working out vigorously(aerobics & weight training) and am watching my diet. Anything that can give me a bit of an edge, I'll try.

posted Feb 15th, 2012 12:24 pm


maya

I would not worry about the dosage as I'm pretty sure there is not even 100mg in the brands sold out there. I think a common problem with these supplements is that they advertise the ingredient being effective but then there is not enough of it in the bottle to make a difference. Dr.Oz show is the same way, great you introduce us to this but without saying which brand to purchase, it's only hours of google search with no results. Do you have any recommendations for a trusted pharmaceutical company that produces super fruit supplements?
Thanks!

posted Feb 14th, 2012 11:13 pm


Utty

I got some raspberry ketone pills on ebay from a company called Curease. There was no expiration date or manufacturer's information. I took some over the course of a couple of days and my throat is on fire. My stomach is burning. I feel so sick. I don't know why this is happening. My eyes are irritated and so is my nose. My tongue burns too. I will now stop taking them. Anyone else experience this? Thanks

posted Feb 14th, 2012 10:02 pm


TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT

Care to instead expound on the side effects of FAT ... while being chased by the same bear?

It's the fat I'm trying to get rid of ... my 44 mag will take care of the bear.

posted Feb 14th, 2012 9:49 pm


sonny

You offer no more proof of the so called side effects or results as Dr. oz has. If a bear chased me is you thought back by nothing.

posted Feb 14th, 2012 2:00 am


Ramona williams

m beginning to believe that Dr. Oz is an endorser of products.

posted Feb 14th, 2012 12:24 am


Katie

Hi There, great article! Are you saying that for patients with a thyroid condition, they shouldn't take this supplement? Is it sounds like you run the risk of blowing out your adrenals. Moreover, if you have hyperthyroidism or Graves' disease, I'm concerned about a thyroid storm as a result of this.

Any additional info is appreciated. I'm off to do more research.

Thanks,
K

posted Feb 13th, 2012 8:44 pm


Danielle

thanks for this article. i watched that dr.oz episode and wasnt so convincing of it. im a type one diabetic and i try very hard to eat healthy and exercise so i dont let things get out of control and have complications from the diabetes. when i was first diginosted with diabetes i had alot of ketones in my urine. which means i was losing sugar an energy source and my body was using fat instead. you also lose alot of body fluid because of this and become dehydrated. i also get tested for thyroid problems just in case.

so your article helped. every medication has some kind of side affect(s), its just really your body on how it reacts to it. this raspberry ketone thing to me isnt worth it

posted Feb 13th, 2012 7:58 pm


Emily

I very much appreciate the article going over side effects of this supplement. It was said over and over again on the Dr. OZ show that there were no side effects and I would have been petrified that something was wrong with with me if I had such an adrenaline rush reaction.Thank you for putting more information out!

posted Feb 13th, 2012 5:25 pm


Daisykav

Thanks, I hadn't seen much information regarding how this might affect someone with hypothyroidism. Glad my gut instinct to steer clear of this seems to be on point.

posted Feb 12th, 2012 6:35 pm


ELEONOR

Will my thyroid condition worsen if I take raspberry ketone? I have had hypo thyroid for the last 17 years... I take one pill a day "Syntroid". I need to lose weight. I read the article that explains the side effects of taking "Raspberry Ketone Side Effects May Impact Thyroid Health". I have hypo thyroid and I'm taking medication for it "Syntroid"... what happens if I decide to take the raspberry ketone? Will my thyroid condition worsen? I'd appreciated if you can respond to my concern. Thanks, Eleonor

posted Feb 12th, 2012 4:17 pm


Judy

So why don't you tell us all about the side effects of adiponectin.

posted Feb 12th, 2012 12:53 am


Linda

Well written, informative, concise and fair. Thank you for sharing your expertise!

posted Feb 11th, 2012 10:27 pm


Dolly

Did you personally try the raspberry ketone or are you speaking on what you read?

posted Feb 11th, 2012 8:15 pm


HMichaelH

The author of this article leaves one with the impression taking Raspberry Ketones daily has same impact on your system as being chased by a bear. I don't think that is realistic, and I question the analogy presented here. I bet you would have to take one hell of a lot of this supplement to get the "Chased Bear" syndrome!

posted Feb 11th, 2012 8:10 pm


jeanne kowal

Thank you for your Raspberry Ketone information. I have hypothyroidism, on thyroxine daily so I'm glad your information prevented me from ordering this product.

posted Feb 11th, 2012 7:26 pm


Angela

I have hypothyroidism, can rasberry ketones make my condition worse? I have hypothyroidism,can rasberry ketones make my condition worse,or help and also aid with weight loss?

posted Feb 11th, 2012 5:56 pm


Mick

Good article.

I do not trust Dr. Oz. He goes on TV promoting a natural lifestyle and then also goes out and promotes the H1N1 vaccine. He is what you would call 'controlled opposition'.

Thanks.

posted Feb 11th, 2012 5:36 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account