Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Rachel’s 60 Percent Weight Loss is Nothing to Celebrate; Biggest Loser Should be Ashamed

UPDATE: Editor Brandi Koskie spoke with WCCO radio in Minneapolis, MN, about Rachel’s shocking weight loss. Listen to the conversation here:

 

 

105 pounds. 60% loss? Rachel is beautiful, but @biggestlosernbc that is not healthy. We both know that. We shouldn’t celebrate that.

That’s what I tweeted tonight once the confetti fell on the Biggest Loser stage. Reactions of shell-shocked viewers, like this one, poured in. And there are more below.

 

rachel-bl-winner

Rachel Frederickson may have won Biggest Loser season 15 tonight, but there’s very little to celebrate. She looked stunning when she was finally revealed during the live finale, but awe turned to shock when millions of viewers at home noticed her frail, skeletal frame.

“I knew it would come to this someday, just wish it hadn’t,” was the comment from a trusted insider who attended the finale. For years people have wondered if the $250,000 prize money would push contestants too far. This isn’t the first time a finalist has looked too thin on that scale; but no one has ever looked as frighteningly emaciated as Rachel did tonight.

rachel-bl-finale

“It’s so much worse in person, isn’t it?” I texted, following the show’s ending.

“I legitimately cried,” our insider told us upon seeing Rachel in person. “[NBC] should be beyond ashamed.”

NBC has “no statement,” confirmed at 9:15am today.

My sentiments were the same as my insider’s. Rachel’s final weigh-in put her at 105 pounds. That’s not how much she lost, that’s her current weight, a 60% total weight loss off of a starting weight of 260 pounds. That percentage, most likely one of the highest in show history, absolutely secured her win.

How do you celebrate that, though? There is nothing that resembles healthy, inspiring, or motivating about what Rachel, and NBC, did tonight. I feel bad for Rachel, really. She wanted the prize, the glory, and that one last taste of success and so she undoubtedly did whatever was necessary. She worked so hard all season; she had one of the most impressive runs in show history as she dominated the competition and won every challenge they put in front of her. She was an athlete. During the last five months we’ve watched her become one again.

rachel-bl-triathlon

There was nothing athletic about the waif-thin appearance of Rachel tonight.

Even Jillian Michael’s face looked dumbfounded – hopefully she was as sad to see how far Rachel had taken it, too.

biggest-loser-15-finale

“Rachel is a beautiful girl, but my heart broke when I saw her tonight,” said Abra Pappa of NutritiousAmerica.com in an email, echoing sentiments heard across Twitter tonight. She pointed out that aside from the obvious weight loss, Rachel shows signs of being underweight or even malnourished, noting the lines around her mouth and seemingly dehydrated skin as facial diagnostic cues.

I’ve championed this show for years. I’ve only missed one episode since the premiere of season 5, and that was because I’d given birth to my daughter that night. When people hated on the process, I defended it. I know a lot about this show, the inner workings, the production, the logistics – I know a lot of people, they talk, and I keep their confidences. Based on all of that, and 11 seasons of viewing history, I believe in what NBC is doing with Biggest Loser. I’ve seen for myself the changes it can make for a morbidly obese society. And while it’s not 100% Kosher all the time, I put my trust in the band of medical experts who sit inches off camera, at all times. After all, this is not reality, this is a TV show. In that controlled environment, they can do things that your average Joe at home cannot.

That’s where it gets more dangerous though. Those average Joes at home rarely know how many calories a day they’re supposed to consume, much less that working out hours on end and not eating enough can actually have the opposite effect of what they’re striving for.

People in this country are sick. They’re actually killing themselves with food, and they turn to this show because, frankly, it’s the cheapest and easiest way to access the information. That information comes with a heavy-handed dose of marketing and smoke and mirrors, and we, mostly, all know that. It’s wrong and irresponsible of NBC to have allowed Rachel to go so far, to have not given her total support at home. This was preventable, and it should have been.

bl rachel makeover

Where were the checks and balances since she left the ranch to ensure that not only physically, but more important mentally, that Rachel was handling the pressure of being a finalist?

Rachel, this is not an attack on you by any means. You literally worked your tail off this season, and I loved every minute of watching you do it. I was cheering for you to win the whole thing. But this? Your 105 pounds? This is not healthy, dear. This is not a model of what young girls, young women, old women, middle-aged women, or any age of male should be striving for. This … NBC should have to answer for.

 

 

 

 

 

 

makeover via People.com; triathlon photo via NBC Universal / Greg Gayne; finale screenshots, with permission, via instagram.com/melbjork and instagram.com/brandyherigon

February 4th, 2014

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 62 total comments)

Arletta

I really don't have one? I put that I have a question, because, I'm not sure if the like and dislike is about the article (which I liked) or about the weight loss (which I don't). I have absolutely no idea how anyone could think she looks lovely or healthy. I've seen pictures of survivors of Nazi death camps who looked healthier. However, that she went overboard, in order to make sure that she lost a lot of money, does not necessarily mean she has an eating disorder or that she will continue to be that thin. She was an athlete. Athletes will often lose extraordinary amounts of weight, in a short time, to achieve a goal of meeting a weight class or to have less weight to have to move about when they are performing. Not all of them develop eating disorders, though some do. So, she may, now that she has met her goal, find a balance between having too much fat and not having enough of it. I hope that is what she does. I, also, hope that the show finds some way to help people find that balance and prevent this from happening, again. It is scary.

posted Mar 4th, 2014 1:54 am


Christina

TBL disgusts me, but this article disgusted me almost as much, especially these lines:

“…Rachel shows signs of being underweight or even malnourished… lines around her mouth and seemingly dehydrated skin…”
“I was cheering for you to win the whole thing. But this? Your 105 pounds? This is not healthy, dear.”

Who does this writer think she is? And stating that the article is not a personal attack on Rachel is laughable at best. How could it not be a personal attack? There are plenty of ways to write about the show and NBC taking things too far and not keeping contestants safe and healthy, but using the terms “skeletal”, “frail”, “waif-thin” and “nothing athletic” to describe an individual on the show is not one of those ways.

Like I said, I think the show is disgusting. It’s irresponsible, manipulative and dangerous, as Kai Hibbard bravely showed the world in her tell-all interview. I would not doubt for a second that Kai isn’t the only one to develop an eating disorder from being a TBL contestant. Could Rachel also have developed one? Absolutely. Here’s the thing: we don’t know. Saying someone has an ED because they lost a lot of weight in a short amount of time, or because they look, in your opinion, “too thin” is just beyond ridiculous. Rachel is an adult woman. If she needs help, I think she should be trusted to ask for help. In the meantime, maybe all these nosey do-gooders could actually focus on getting the show off the air, rather than attacking individual contestants for “not being good role models”. Ugh.

And for the record, I think she looks beautiful. People who’ve lost a lot of weight in a short period of time can sometimes have an almost gaunt look to their face until their bodies get the hang of all the changes (at least in my experience). I think she looks fantastic and if she really is healthy then she’ll only start looking better and better.

posted Feb 10th, 2014 7:40 pm


Carter

Why just Rachel here? You know its funny how everyone says this about Rachel and I get there point. But honestly, I thought what all them are thinking about Bobby first and foremost I mean lets be honest lots of women are between 90-110lbs and they look ok. But Bobby looked sickly almost like he had contracted the hiv virus. I'm sorry if that offends anyone just being honest and if anyone else was to be honest they would have thought that first off as did i.

posted Feb 8th, 2014 1:16 am


Kaara

Her final weight would depend on her height...she looks ok to me. She needs to continue to exercise to tone up the muscles from losing that much weight but she should be fine....obviously she will gain some back...everyone does. Better too thin than too fat...for health reasons.

posted Feb 7th, 2014 1:01 pm


Nancy Larocque

Omg some people are just unbelievable, who are you to judge her, she's happy, it's her life, her body. Gosh I'm overwheight and I would love to have her body and I bet most of you who find her skinny and unhealthy wish deep down you could do it..
I have a friend who's 5'2" and weight 90 pds at her heaviest and she's as healthy as a horse and no she's not anorexic, some days she eats more than I do. No 2 peoples are the same.
Rachel looks happy and if she is just let her be, most of you who comments that she's too skinny have never been overweight and will never understand what it is to be. It's her life, she knows what it feels like to be overweight and she doesn't want that anymore and I don't blame her. If she likes what she sees when looking in the mirror well let her be, let her live her life, it's hers not yours. CONGRATS RACHEL and please live your life for yourself and not for what others say or think, good luck...

posted Feb 7th, 2014 7:29 am


bridget

It's too bad we all have to speculate since the show and network have not addressed this issue yet. That's super annoying. We watch the entire season, learn these people's stories, follow them through their journies and then ..... nothing. Trying to think somethin up???

posted Feb 7th, 2014 6:09 am


Janie

I don't think we should blame biggest loser show for this. After the contestants go home they are on there own. The show taught them how to take care of there weight loss. Rachel is sickning to look at. She is only hurting herself. It was a shocker

posted Feb 7th, 2014 3:33 am


JeffB

This was a contest to see who could win the biggest amount of weight by a certain date. Just like in bodybuilding competitions, Rachel dieted down to a bodyfat percentage in the single digits for one reason....to win.
So in order to win $250K, she lost an extra 15 lbs to put her over the top. She'll never have to be this thin again. She's probably already gained 5lbs since the finale..

posted Feb 6th, 2014 11:46 pm


Scott

I honestly did not realize how bad she looked on that night until I looked at these pictures. For all you people saying we are "hating" on her, we are not. I for one am merely concerned! 105 does not sound healthy for a woman her height. I do not blame the Biggest Loser or NBC either. I don't blame anyone. And none of you have room to talk saying "I think she did it for the money!" Quit jumping to conclusions! Yes, you may have n opinion but for the lot of you that are umping to that conclusion you can't say you wouldn't have done it for the money either! That is A LOT of money that could COMPLETELY change someones financial position! Only Rachel knows what she did and why so stop acting like you know exactly what happened.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 11:10 pm


Pete

Rachel lost this weight to win the money. She will settle in at a healthy 135 to 145...I hope.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 9:09 pm


ttteach

I think its funny everyone was talking about how "unhealthy" she looked....did anyone see what they looked like BEFORE they started the contest??? That is unhealthy folks and unfortunately that is what millions of Americans look like in today's society. If anyone wants to talk about unhealthy I would start with the obese and then we can worry about the "too skinny" group!

posted Feb 6th, 2014 7:51 pm


Sofy

Don't hate the player, hate the game.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 6:59 pm


Debbie

She looks really good. If she has a problem it is between her, her family, and her doctor. It is not for us to judge. I only wish I could look as good as she does.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 6:10 pm


Paola

I don't think it's anyone's right to judge her. Of course it is surprising, amazing, unbelievable but still... Is HER body, if she feels healthy and a nutritionist confirms she is healthy, no one else has a saying in this. Wether the answer is good or bad, no one is to judge. It is not your damn bussiness, people. And it's also not the channel's problem nor the show's, if she isn't healthy then she did that to herself.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 5:54 pm


paul

What Dan said above. Look, she is happy with her weight and I see muscle tone. Fat America is the new normal, so all you fat people, stop trying to make yourselves feel better by criticizing this woman. I think the average weight for an American woman is like 160 lbs. Guess what? that's fat unless you are 6'1.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 5:22 pm


Canadian Girl

I don't know what to say. I really need for Rachel to release a statement before I judge. If she herself says she is at a healthy weight and it is all muscle and she intends to maintain that weight then I don't know what to say cause she needs to be a good example for all ages and I'm not convinced she is at this time.

If She says she did what she had to do strictly to win the money but realizes she is not at a healthy weight and intends to put a few lbs back on then okay. NBC made this into a competition so they have to take it as it comes.

She is a grown adult and she can decide she has a problem and get help or she can decide she is right where she wants to be and can maintain but I am just uncomfortable with using her as a role model based on appearances. Especially for young girls. I don't think that people recognize that while anorexia is not necessarily an epidemic, it is still extremely prominent in younger women and especially those in school (grade school or college/university). I don't think that we should ignore the health risks of anorexia the same way we shouldn't ignore the health risks of obesity. If it turns out that Rachel does admit to becoming an anorexic then I hope that NBC will do an interview show with Rachel and discuss the dangers of what she is going through. Obviously only if Rachel is wanting to do it.

Anyhow, I just really feel the need to hear from her. Rachel is the only one who can put this scandal to rest or else fire it up even further. I don't put blame on anyone until we know the truth and I still think highly of the show and will continue to watch it and if Rachel does turn out to be unhealthy then I will certainly keep her in my thoughts and wish her a speedy recovery!!!

posted Feb 6th, 2014 5:19 pm


Erica

Perfectly stated.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 4:34 pm


liz

That's ridiculous. The girl has worked HARD and she in now ridiculed for losing too much weight? So we applaud the celebrities who lose their baby weight overnight and we idolize the size 0 movie stars anorexic models....and they have lipo, lettuce and cocaine to thank for their figures, but for the girl who lost her weight by hard work and diet...she should be shamed???? Seriously??? The BL gave her the tools and the motivation and she rocked it. She'll gain some weight back now that the BL has had its finale and she has to go back to normal life, but good for her and all of her hard work! Rock on!

posted Feb 6th, 2014 4:19 pm


doreen

maybe they should have a clause . Dieting to an unhealthy level should not be allowed to win.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 4:18 pm



Kara Siddons

hello I am 5'4 and weigh in at 105 pounds and am 34 and healthy also I felt I was under weight but been told by my doctor that its just my bodies chemistry. I run track and field in spring and summer and go down to 95 pounds during training season and competition and still doctors tell me I am okay at that weight because its due to being active.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 4:05 pm


Rick

I have seen articles talking about how the trainers should be ashamed or NBC should not have let her win. What people are forgetting is that this is something that has never happened on the Biggest Loser (at least to this extent). If they did not have any stipulations stating that if you are malnourished or so small it is not healthy, then they do not have a legal leg to stand on. What NBC needs to to do for the next season and those after it is to put that stipulation into the rules. Maybe it is already there. I don't know. But, in the end no one can be blamed by Rachel. The Biggest Loser and NBC gave her the tools and it appears she abused them.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 3:58 pm


Doone

Rachel looked so radiant on the makeover show. She looked terrible at the finale. Is that prize money worth her health? I am a huge Biggest Loser fan. But if the show continues to herald this sort of end result I will chalk it off my fav list!!

posted Feb 6th, 2014 3:54 pm


Claire

I am so tired of people telling others that they have "lost too much weight". Rachel looks amazing and it should be perfectly acceptable in this country for people to voice that opinion. We all have different opinions on what looks good and what doesn't and this is just an extension of that. I guarantee you she is healthier now than she was at the start of the process and fyi it is not her job to be a role model to teen girls. The men also lost extreme weight but guess what, they are guys, so they get to do whatever they want and not have that "role model" status thrust on them. People don't want this kind of weight loss to be ok because if Rachel can do it, they can do it. Let skinny people be skinny if they want to without being called unhealthy. Rachel YOU LOOK AMAZING and a gazillion times happier than you did at the start of the show

posted Feb 6th, 2014 3:51 pm


Karen

I don't think anyone is to blame on the Biggest Loser, she left the ranch at a normal weight. I am not sure why everyone is so quick to blame, but she obviously took this too far and I have never seen this before in all the years I have watched the show.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 3:47 pm


Minoa

To fix this controversy, the show just needs to add a rule: to win, a contestant may not have a BMI less than 18.5. (Any BMI less than 18.5 falls within the "underweight" range.)

posted Feb 6th, 2014 3:33 pm


leslie

damned if you do damned if you don't......
She was in a contest and may have went to extremes to win that, i'm sure most people in this world would have done the same thing if they could.
i'm sure that now the show is over she can see her doctors and a nutritionist and figure out what is right for HER body.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 3:27 pm


Jessica

I agree that Rachel looks sick & that she did go too far, but what I don't agree on is bashing NBC or Biggest Loser. She won fair & square having the highest percentage. She was on her own at the end & didn't have anyone helping her at home. Therefore its not the shows fault as to what she looked like at the finale. Saying that she shouldn't be a allowed to win because she is too skinny. Well that's just wrong & judgemental. I hope & pray for her health & happiness.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 3:15 pm


Sandie

It's sad when money comes before your health. That is all I have to say...

posted Feb 6th, 2014 2:24 pm


meredith roselli

VERY scary! She weighs 10 pounds less than my very thin, but athletic 16 year old daughter. to maintain a healthy weight AND muscle tone you must have proper nutrition.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 2:11 pm


Donna O

I am 5 ft 7 and always weighed 110 lbs. Everyone always told me that I looked anorexic. I ate healthy and exercised. I can not imagine weighing 105, I was already a size 1. Then I turned 45 and blew that all outta the water LOL. She needs therapy because there is an odvious problem.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 2:03 pm


Jugde Who

It is amazing to me how people love to judge other people but get mad when others judge them. I watched Rachel deal with all her problems on TV like everyone else she busted her butt to get where SHE wanted to be in HER life...People had a problem with her when she was fat and now people have a problem with her being thin JESUS CHRIST! people she is human like all of us and she has to live her life the way she wants and for Jillian and Bob to put put there that they never had the chance to work with her on the show shows their true characters. Only her and her doctors know her situation! Stop judging a book by its cover because we only know what was shown to us on TV we don't know HER LIFE! Congrats Rachel big or small I am still happy for you! She still have a long way to go in HER LIFE and criticizing her only makes you look like an ass and makes her current situation seem worse then it probably is! Judge yourself before you judge others...

posted Feb 6th, 2014 1:52 pm


Tara

This is not really a question, it's just a statement. Wow. So much judging here. The whole concept of Biggest Loser is that people face the "whys" for becoming unheathy and fix those issues, while working hard physically and mentally to reform their lives. "Rehabbing your life" if you will. Contestants are then sent home (just like rehab), and it is then up to THEM to take what they've learned and apply it to their life. No hand holding kids, these are all adults. I'm fairly certain that of all the seasons and contestants they've had, this is not the standard that is taught. Each person makes a CHOICE. No one except YOU has control over what goes in and out of your mouth. I'm sure with all this backlash, this poor girl will never be normal now, and it's not NBC, or the judges you can blame--but all these people who are trashing a program that has helped so many people get their lives back. Keep doing what you're doing- Bob, Jillian, and Dolvett...and NBC!

posted Feb 6th, 2014 1:40 pm


Dee Dee Vielhaber

Is it just me or is everyone who has a problem with how this girl looks, is over weight themselves???

posted Feb 6th, 2014 1:01 pm


Leslie

Muscle weighs more than fat as we know so if she was extremely muscular and weighed 105 it might be ok. But she looked weak and frail. She looked like she starved herself to get to that weight. So the weight itself may not be bad, but how she achieved that weight is.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 12:44 pm


Michele

We are all entitled to our opinion so here's mine. I did not watch the show but I did see the broadcast as she walked out as the winner. She is not healthy. I am not a "hater" I am just not blind. For those who say she is muscular and healthy...no she isn't. I've competed in the past in bodybuilding competitions and I know what muscle looks like she doesn't have any.

I hope she went this far just to win and realizes she now has to get her body back to a healthy balance of muscle and weight.

Most people posting aren't haters they just see the emancipation of her body and hope she get to a healthy place.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 12:14 pm


liz

Rachel's BMI isn't that much lower than Hannah and Olivia's was and nobody went crazy over their results. Perhaps because they are much taller??? I'm sure she will gain weight back. They all gain weight back after the finale.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 10:25 am


SoloT

That was a very sad thing to watch I turned it off. I love the biggest loser but the money turned that lovely young woman into a skeleton and possible psychological damage. maybe she didn't really work out her deamons.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 10:16 am


Sara

Ok, first off, Dan you are the problem! For both fat and skinny people! The fact of the matter is everyone was SHOCKED by how emaciated she looked, even Bob and Jillian! There ts a big difference in "athletic" and emaciated! If you would read the comments you would see that many are from women who suffered/suffering from anorexia! Not a bunch a "fat slobs"... You are a pig! People like you are what make it better some how to have one eating disorder over another! As all you other fat haters, you should be ashamed too! So what if YOU weigh about the same as her, the was about how SHE took it too far, and how unhealthy SHE looks now! Oh and for the record anorexia is more unhealthy and deadly than obesity in many cases and it looks just as bad!!! So, all of you Idiot saying she looks great and praising her for this all the while fat shaming are pathetic! She had no muscle tone, what you where seeing is what happens when your body is in starvation mode! Trust me I know... Anorexia is just as easy to spot as obesity is, and you don't have to be doctor either! As for Mich's comment, it's just as bad as Dan's! You pigs should STOP telling women how great they look being too skinny and how gross they look being too heavy! first off NOT all men think that way and for you TROLLS to get on here acting like that is just SAD ans pathetic! Women kill themselves trying to look the way you losers tell them to look! Lastly, I am not over weight. I am 5'9" and weigh 138lbs. I just can't believe how some of you "adults" are acting, like bullies and bigots! Smh... I watch the show (and not because I'm a fat slob) and I was so SHOCKED when she came out. Only I don't blame the show, NBC, or anyone other than Rachel! She is the ONLY one that has ever taken it that far and I think it was for the money! If it were NBC or the show telling her/them to do it wouldn't Danni Allen, Olivia Ward, Helen Phillips, or Ali Vincent look like she did?? THEY looked great and healthy Rachel looked horribly unhealthy and bad!!

posted Feb 6th, 2014 9:46 am


Travis

Do I weigh in on this or not? Pardon the pun.
I see both sides. You can't win for losing it seems. Another pun, sorry.
Let's get serious, shall we? It seems that everyone is rallying up to support overweight folks to lose all the weight that they can for a large sum of money.
Great! When someone does just that, you all seem to sit your tweenkies down to bash that person for being too thin.
Am I on the right page?
Fear not, I'm not taking a stance against your 'side' here. Nor am I taking your side.
Problem is, it's all fine and dandy to have a show helping people get to an ideal, healthy weight. That's fantastic, if you care about such things.
Being a skinny person my entire life, I have to tell you that throwing off on 'skinny' is just as hurtful as making fun of, and belittling large people.
So, where's the middle ground? You tell me, cause I don't see or know a soul that seems to know.
Now, let me give you my take on the BL winner.
I see the argument that she's only 5 pounds underweight. That it's okay if she did whatever she had to do to win(really?). That she will be okay in a few weeks now that the show is over.
But, let's look at the real picture.
This woman came onto the show, overweight, desperate to lose.
She did just that.
She came out on finale night to a shocked stage of surprised faces. But why?
Because even they realized that NBC pushed this woman in to a very unhealthy life style.
Forget health though. Forget all of the dietary words that may give you comfort for how you live.
This woman crossed the finish line looking terrible. Truth hurts. You could practically hear the bones scraping as she walked across the stage. And yet, people think that's great? I don't know anyone that thinks she looked 'good' or 'fine' or a far fetched 'great' or 'fantastic.' EVERYONE KNEW she looked like the biggest LOSER, only in the LITERAL sense.
Rachel, you need to eat and be happy. Throw your scales away, no one is judging you but you. It's that or die.
To those of you saying it's okay to do this to your body, seriously? Is it okay for people shooting up meth to lose weight? Is it okay to turn to drugs to kill an appetite? Think before you speak guys, this woman looks awful, and I don't see how she won anything other than a foot in the grave.
At least she can afford the funeral expenses. Just saying.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 8:44 am


Christa38

As many have stated, I also felt uncomfortable looking at her at the finale show. For all the people that are calling people haters for saying she was too skinny....skinny or thin can be healthy. People keep saying how can you tell if she's healthy. There are MAJOR signs of anorexic or malnutrition. She has pretty much all of them. The veins sticking out of her arms and legs, sunken face and eyes. Just because you work out doesn't make it "healthy." MANY Anorexic people get obsessed with working out. The key thing that you have to remember is that with these contestants and many people being obese is also having an unhealthy "relationship" with food. These contestants have already admitted having eating issues that lead to being overweight. Both situations are serious and unhealthy. If she now has an eating disorder (WHICH INCLUDES EXCESSIVE EXERCISING), I'm sure it wasn't on purpose. $250,000 is a ton of money to motivate someone to want to make sure they win. But the important thing NOW is that someone helps her. I am not hating on her at all. I loved her and the show. This is something that can happen to anyone and is not a "women being catty" thing. It's a serious eating disorder just like "eating yourself" to death."

posted Feb 6th, 2014 7:34 am



Emma Leah Currie

Having been an athlete and having also suffered from anorexia, this is not healthy, she looks anorexic not athletic, she needs to see a doctor i think she now needs to gain some. There is no way for her a 1200 calorie a day diet is ok, thats less than it takes to sustain your body in a day. It seems all the focus is on weight loss these days and people lose sight of how dangerous being underweight is, it is nothing to be glorified and the health dangers are deadly.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 6:29 am


Dan

Stop judging this poor woman. She was a high school state champion swimmer, you have no idea what her body type is when she is in shape. Fat people don't understand malnourished skinny, and FIT skinny. If she is working out and eating healthy, guess what, that could be a good weight for her. Ever seen an olympic calibre marathoner?? Alot look like that, and are 10x more healthy than any of the fat slobs that watch this damn show.

Sad thing too, is even if she is 5 or 10 pounds underweight, she is still way healthier than the tub of lard she was before she started the show.

posted Feb 6th, 2014 4:02 am


rebecca peterson

When I eat healthy, cutting back sensibly on calories, and exercise 3-4 times a week, for about an hour, my body wt naturally goes down to 120#s at 5' 8 1/2". In general, I'm an active person, not spending lots of time sitting/snacking. When I do have periods of slacking, I start putting weight back on, in proportion to how many calories/snacking I begin to ingest, along with more sitting time. It's simple math. At that weight, I feel very energetic, healthy, and alive!! Oh, and also feel good about the way I look. The question to this young lady, is, are you starving yourself, or is this your true weight when eating adequate calories w/good nutrition, and moderate exercise. I'm sure she pushed the bar a little, being so close to a possible winner, but, overall, this weight can be a healthy weight too, for her height. I know that for a fact!

posted Feb 6th, 2014 2:54 am


Bri

Personally I think the ridicule is ridiculous. First off, the picture that is posted above isn't the most flattering. If you look around online there are many other pictures that don't make her look so emaciated and sickly. I'm the same height and weight as her and I am happy with my size, I do not have an eating disorder, and I have been told by my doctor I am extremely healthy. It is just as bad criticizing people for being too thin as it is being too fat. They both are detrimental on your health.


posted Feb 6th, 2014 2:05 am


Janett Carey

They went way to far. She looks horrible, she's anerexic. Where is the healthy part of this show that they amp up so much?.....

posted Feb 6th, 2014 1:35 am


emily

are we serious??? the woman is 150lbs... she looks AMAZING... she looks NORMAL
the woman is NOT skeletal nor frail. she is just not obese anymore.

stop the skinny shaming

posted Feb 6th, 2014 12:50 am


mich

What is wrong with everyone! Rachel looks fabulous and obviously she worked hard to get there!! This person busted her ass and everyone is just commenting she's too skinny and sickly!! Jealousy is the word!! Congrats Rachel, u look good!!

posted Feb 6th, 2014 12:27 am


ScottLC

She looks a helluva lot better than she did and speaking from experience no doubt feels better. She'll certainly gain some of the weight back. Via protein and muscle building, hopefully, but, whatever, it's better where she was.

posted Feb 5th, 2014 11:11 pm


a commenter

Karuna, please tell us who told you that you are healthy at 5'6" and 108 lbs. I'm 5'4" and currently weigh 125 lbs (I'm in the middle of the BMI range for my height and age). Underweight for my height is 110. Your BMI is 17.4 and 18.5 is the lowest end of normal weight. You are underweight and therefore not as healthy as you think. This woman on BL is clearly underweight. That is NOT healthy.

posted Feb 5th, 2014 10:07 pm


kahy

I feel that she did do a good job but when I saw here at the Finale she did not look healthy. Last week she looked so much better then this week. Her face looks so much older then the middle 20's that she is. She needs to gain just a little weight.

posted Feb 5th, 2014 8:53 pm


MommysBody

Brandi, I am quite shocked to read that you know the inner workings of what goes on behind the scenes at Biggest Loser and that you are still ok with it. I used to believe in the show UNTIL I was the "at home" trainer for one of the contestants. I was mortified about what I saw and heard. I was present when Jillian came into town and watched her say 1200 calories for the cameras and whisper "you better not eat 1200 f*ckin calories" under her breath. Taking someone morbidly obese and putting them on 800-900 calories on 6-7 hours of strenuous exercise per day is 100% NOT kosher. Not even with a panel of medical doctors right off camera. Because I know FIRST hand that there were no physicians anywhere in sight when she was still under the shows "supervision" training at home. And putting your trust in a panel of physicians PAID by NBC where ratings are based on success and success is judged based on the most dramatic weight loss, I am confident in saying your trust has been misplaced. And now, you can see firsthand what the trust yielded. Her name is Rachel, and she is only just about to undergo her toughest battle to date. She may never have a relationship with food that ISNT disordered. What a damn shame. And a HUGE SHAME ON NBC.

posted Feb 5th, 2014 6:51 pm


Rosie

I really hate that the word anorexic is being thrown around. Skinny does not equate to an eating disorder. I don't think that she is healthy but I also don't think that she did anything wrong, she is just playing the game.
I'm a year younger than Rachel, same height and about 125lbs. If someone offered me $250,000 to lose 20lbs I would do everything in my power to do that. When you are my age that amount of money could make a massive impact in your life and a couple of months of poor health would be worth it.
From the quote I've seen floating around the internet I imagine she doesn't intend to maintain this weight and let's be honest here, she's only 5lbs underweight, a couple of weeks of normal eating and she'll be healthy again.
Hopefully it will highlight to people that the whole biggest loser concept is inherently flawed. In my opinion society (and NBC) really need to rethink whether weight loss and body image are really something that should be made competitive.

posted Feb 5th, 2014 6:31 pm


Natalie Wester

Do we actually KNOW if this girl is unhealthy? Has she been interviewed yet, has she told anyone what her daily caloric intake is/amount of working out she does? NO. We do NOT know this information.

People! She is 5'4". I have many friends that heigh that weight nearly the same amount, who are perfectly healthy.

I am on neither side of this arguement, as of right now. Until we hear what her current lifestyle is, there is NO WAY we can know if what she is doing is "unhealthy" or not. Remember, everyone's metabolism is different and what is "underweight" by guideline standards can be perfectly healthy for the actual person.

I am 5' 5" and around 108lbs. My doctors aren't worried and neither am I. I workout daily, eat right. I am healthy. But according to JUST THE NUMBERS, I am "underweight".

Seriously, media. The show was just aired last night and we are already making assumptions? Really?

posted Feb 5th, 2014 6:13 pm


Kelsey

She looks Awesome! Good for her!

posted Feb 5th, 2014 5:27 pm


Josh

It's crazy how people will just hate on everything. She's too skinny, she's too fat -- it's never ending which is the issue with America today. You can't be comforatble with yourself because your ALWAYS too fat or too skinny. Or you're being photoshopped because "no one looks that good". Lets just all be happy that someone lost weight and lets see if she feels good. If she does -- then its all good. But articles and comments like this aren't helpful. They have the opposite effect on people - you are shaming her and the show because "she lost too much weight". You'd shame her if she hadn't lost enough -- you would have shamed her had she not lost any at her home. BL send contestants home without support so that they can get that dose of real life -- how do you continue losing when you have no cook -- when you have to shop and make choices and when you have to work for 8 hrs a day. How do you do all of this and work out. We all should be saying congrats for showing us that you can work, eat right, shop right and still work out and loose weight. Just like we do with every other winner.

posted Feb 5th, 2014 3:03 pm


Karuna

Rachel looks fantastic at 105 lbs. She's muscular and in the best shape of her life. Leave Her Alone, haters.
I'm 5"6, 108 lbs. and in perfect health. The problem is, Americans are so used to seeing overweight people, those who are athletically thin--ballerinas, yoga teachers, long-distance runners, and other ectomorphs--are viciously castigated.

posted Feb 5th, 2014 1:48 pm


Agree

Totally agree!!! Worried for Rachel and I hope they r providing her professional mental help

posted Feb 5th, 2014 1:11 pm


Amanda

You took the words right out of my mouth completely. Sadly, I have to say that when those doors opened and Rachel walked out, I was in absolute shock. So many things went through my head the moment I saw her and none of my thoughts were remotely close to what I was expecting. I wanted to cry immediately when I saw her frail, skeletal frame.

I didn't miss one single episode, waiting with anticipation for the next episode to air. Rachel was a HUGE inspiration for me throughout the season because I saw so much of myself through her and completely related to her in many ways. She was a true inspiration by watching her fight so hard an win battle after battle proving she was a true athlete.

To see her bare bones, weak beyond belief to the point of what looked I me like it being the reason she tripped on the steps, I felt like my hero and role model was almost like a fake. But I realized, Rachel is very sick and has more issues than she realized. Just because she beat obesity does not make her "healed" nor victorious over her personal issues which led her to an addiction to food. It is apparent she replaced one addiction with another proving she did not really find her true self. Instead, she uncovered deeper issues under the surface.

I am very sad because the finale was a complete bomb at the end the moment Rachel walked out and from there won the biggest loser prize. It was very apparent that the trainers and contestants were absolutely devastated seeing her come to this degree of desperation. I have always been excited to find out who the biggest loser is and watch the deserving contestant win. Tonight, I was very sad and completely disappointed and had zero pleasure in the finale. This makes the whole season feel like it was sabotaged.

This was the first time I have ever been completely disconnected from this show. What did this teach viewers like me? I will give you a perfect example. Tonight when I googled Rachel's "win", I came across a blog that teenagers have for eating disorders. These young girls were bragging about how great her knees looked because when they starve themselves their knees always look saggy. They said it gave them hope that they will be just like her. This is a perfect example of how her behavior is now approved by these teens.

Anyway, I just had to say something. Rachel, I will pray for you. I'm disgusted w her choices after her impressive journey at biggest loser. Not a happy camper right now :(

posted Feb 5th, 2014 8:08 am


Susan


As a recovering anorexic who finally was told she is healthy that I'm up to 116lbs (I'm only 5'2") imagine what it does to my psyche to see your winner celebrated like a rock star at 105lbs! I knew there was something wrong with her when she walked out and her thighs were thinner then her knee caps. I used to love the show because of its positive approach to eating and exercise, which actually even helped those who needed to lose NO weight, but gain muscle and eat healthy. I'm now disgusted with the show that it would allow a clearly unhealthy weight loss. She is 5'4" and medically underweight. So all that confetti to celebrate one extreme to the next? Trust me, there are just as many health issues with being underweight as there are being over.

Tragedy that NBC would celebrate this

posted Feb 5th, 2014 6:09 am


Beth

I absolutely agree with you! While I'm no fitness expert, my family and I were shocked when Rachel walked out on stage. And I didn't miss Jilllian's jaw drop (seemingly not in a good way). I've enjoyed watching Rachel's journey this season and she seems like a neat girl. But I believe this has gone too far. Like you said, she must have gotten too obsessed with winning this last prize, losing an unhealthy amount of weight.

posted Feb 5th, 2014 5:37 am


DFlowers

Wow! you are absolutely correct! As soon as I laid eyes on her I immediately went to the computer and typed in"2014 Biggest Loser is Too Thin" She looks so unhealthy and she sounded unhealthy there was not a joy are glow on her face. She actually looks sick.

posted Feb 5th, 2014 5:27 am


Sharon

So, what can we do to let NBC know that they have gone over the line? What checks and balances can there be to keep contestants "in line" so that they don't go to the opposite extreme? I'm sure they sign their life away when they sign up for the show. Perhaps the producers could have a sanction of some kind saying that they may not go beyond a certain weightloss limit without being eliminated, even in the finale... Thanks for your great review, and the compassion that you show for those who are battling the bulge.

posted Feb 5th, 2014 5:24 am



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account