Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Michelle Obama Launches Childhood Obesity Initiative with LetsMove.Gov

lets moveIn what is shaping up to be this generation’s version of Nancy Reagan’s “Just Say No” campaign to fight the war on drugs, today Michelle Obama launches her much anticipated initiative to fight the war on childhood obesity. The program is simply called “Let’s Move,” an actionable name that speaks volumes about the goals of the first lady and the organization. It is the first lady’s goal to wipe-out childhood obesity in a generation, a necessity to preserve the health and wellness of our youngest Americans. A startling stat shared by Michelle is that this is the first generation that will not live as long as their parents.

Frightening.

During a launch interview with USA Today, the first lady made it clear why using Let’s Move as a catalyst to stop childhood obesity was vitally important.

“The statistics are clear and they are shocking, and I have cited them again and again: One in three kids in our nation today are (overweight or) obese, and that figure increases for African-American and Hispanic children,” she said.

Those statistics she sites, sourced from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, look like this:

  • 32% of kids aged 2-19 are overweight or obese
  • 38% of Hispanic children are overweight or obese
  • 36% of Black children are overweight or obese
  • 29% of White children are overweight or obese

The Let’s Move campaign aims to provide assistance and guidance to parents to support their efforts in raising healthier children, work to provide healthier school lunches, and make healthy foods more accessible and affordable across the nation.michelle obama childhood obesity

In a nation where 8-18 year-olds spend an average of 7.5 hours per day consuming entertainment media, like TV, movies, Internet, video games and cell phones, how are kids supposed to get the minimum 60 minutes of play each day when they’re texting? One way Michelle Obama plans to do this is to double the number of child participants in the President’s Active Lifestyle Challenge, which is being modernized to reflect overall physical activeness rather than athleticism.

The launch of this Let’s Move campaign is an exciting moment in what has been a time of increasing awareness and activism toward fighting childhood obesity. This is a legitimate problem, with legitimate consequences, but it can be changed and reversed. Children need fruits and vegetables – the real kind, not synthesized in a gummy snack or fruit punch. Children need less fast-food and more real food. Children need to get off the couch and play again. Our schools need to be a safe haven where children can receive the nutrition they need to grow, learn and fuel their active minds and bodies.

We applaud the first lady on having the vision to take on this epidemic and work toward educating the public and enacting change in a positive and proactive manner.

As Michelle Obama was heard saying at the launch of Let’s Move, “We need to quit quoting statistics and get going.”

We hope you’ll join the first lady, your children, and our nation in promoting a healthier lifestyle for our youngest Americans.

Learn more at LetsMove.gov.

Also Read:

Michelle Obama’s Obesity Comments About Sasha and Malia

Michelle Obama Fights Childhood Obesity with New Initiative

Michelle Obama Spotlights Childhood Obesity Epidemic

Biggest Loser White House Salad Recipe

NFL Fights Childhood Obesity with Fuel Up to Play 60

February 9th, 2010

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 15 total comments)

HOLLY

THANK YOU

posted Nov 5th, 2012 12:33 am


ricarda

micheal my little girl wants to go and do a vidieo doing food to go see you but we live in miami but stil we will go

posted Jun 17th, 2012 3:26 am


legretta

A much needed initiative our kids.

posted Mar 12th, 2012 3:36 am


userfile
clintetoo

I am 35 from a tiny little town between Nashville and Memphis. I have been overweight for as long as I can remember. I remember my mom taking me to doctor after doctor; each one told her I either had baby fat and grow out of it as I got older, or they would tell her I was big-boned! Then, one day she found a doctor who said that there are no bones that big. That's when my diet years began - at 10 years old.

Needless to say, I always failed at dieting, because I was always hungry, and I ate with every emotion. I ate when I was sad; I ate when I was happy; I ate when I was excited; and it goes on and on. My eating habits became worse after high school, when all my friends either got married or moved away.

When I got older I found myself in a hospital bed, on oxygen and with diabetes. My mother had to help me in and out of the shower. I weighed close to 600 lbs. then, so my mother started getting me up and walking me little by little every day, until I was closer to 500 pounds. My knees were so shot after carrying all that weight for so long. At this point, I was ready to be lean, to be healthy, and to be able to go hang out with friends like I used to.i knew i needed a change and i needed a change fast , I did research and found the name of OL's Health Director, Deborah Klein. I found a number for her, so I called the number and left a message. Deborah called me back almost immediately. I told her that I was miserable, that I was in a hospital bed, on oxygen, with diabetes, and that I needed help she is also Kirstie Alleys Nutritionist so Kirstie Decided to Help Me as well.

That's when things started to fall into place for me. She taught me how to eat. She told me about exercising and what I could do for myself. She told me that I could burn fat in my sleep if I built muscle tone. I added fiber and lots of water to my diet.

Almost 1 year and 8 months later, I have lost 161 lbs with Organic Liaison. and i recently had excess skin removed 15 and 1/2 lbs to be exact I'm no longer on oxygen. My diabetes A1C is perfect now .My life is better due to being a part of Organic Liaison. Deborah Klein and Kirstie Alley saved my life. I am living proof that if you really want to lose weight and are ready for a change - TRULY ready for a change - it's possible! You just have to want it, and, like me, you have to be willing to ask for help. I spent most of my life looking for an excuse to be fat, blaming thyroid problems, baby fat, or being big boned. A lot of doctors supported that behavior, but now I know I have no health problems to blame. No underlying issues made me fat. I was just not eating right and deep down I always knew that.

It just took a huge push and lots of support from the kindest nutritionist Deborah Klein, and Kirstie Alley and Organic Liaison. Give me a year or so and I will be at my ideal weight, ready to rejoin society as a happier healthier person.

To everyone else, hang in there! There is such a beautiful life out there waiting on people like us - we just have to want it. Our first lady has the right idea , there just is not enough people behind her and her efforts we have Jamie Oliver , Dysney CHannel, Kirstie Alley. just a hand full of people helping she needs us all Celebrity or not if you have an obese child chances are they will be obese as an adult and some will be disabled before they are 30 . PROPER NUTRITION STARTS AT HOME!! ITS UP TO YOUR SCHOOLS TO BACK YOU UP ...so talk to your school officials and local Dignataries Make a change!!!!

posted Aug 19th, 2011 1:38 am


Liz Jan

Dear Michelle,
Thank you for implementing this healthy life-style program for youth. Is there some way the organic farmers, food producers and alternative nutritionists
can become more involved with even HEALTHIER solutions than the food given out at schools? The Occoquan Elementary school in Woodbridge, VA gives the kids
CANDY as a reward which I think is defeating the purpose of Let's Move. Realizing it will take a long time to reverse this situation, there must be a way for the gov't to interact, subsidize or otherwise support your program in an ultimate way. Sending out reports on the detriments of SUGAR might be a first step. This way, the parents could also be educated and be made aware of their addictions and how that affects their children. The detriments of WHEAT comes in at a close second. Implementing the program by finding a healthy balance using organic agave, organic maple syrup, free-range eggs, gluten-free alternatives, incorporating more raw foods (but not in winter), walnuts, almonds, and other healthy snacks could definitely help us turn the corner. Stretching exercises like BIKRAM YOGA in the schools could assist in developing inner calm, sharpen minds for mental dexterity and support amazing balance and strength for growing bodies.

If I can help in anyway, please let me know.
Liz Jan

posted Sep 15th, 2010 7:19 pm


JANA BARRETT

I'm 51 years young and have been in fitness all my life from elementary school till now. I have a step daughter 15 and she weighed 243lbs. my goal is to be a fitness trainer for children and adults, any way I worked out with her and she lost 4lbs a week and we are still working to get that weight off. I'm enjoying it cause I'm helping someone other than my self to look good and be healthy. I LOVE PEOPLE!!! and I love to see people fill good about them self. If there was a way that I can help please let me know. As GOD as my wittness I dreamed of this. I believe this is my destination to do this I just need the rite people in corner. SO LETS DOOOOO IT!!!

posted Jul 13th, 2010 12:13 pm


Padam Maharjan


CONGRATS! Yes it is one of the best move one can do to save the next generation. The little thing we do will make a grreat impact on our education and the nations economy. Less Obessity means less eating, healthy living, less medication and save money more for education and other needy things. When children moves, plays and do excercises, one become healthy not only physically but also keeps their brain active and sharp thereby increases memory power as more oxyge flow to the brain and keeps nuerons or memory cells alive. More over busy child is a Happy child and children are our future.


Please send me your email address and also Mrs OBAMA's coordinator email address so that I can send the detail program on one hour of YOGA for children and elderly ones in fact for everybody. It is a must for everyday life to keep ourself fit Live longer.


Our mission is "Deases Free community, Medicine Free world and Do yoga and stay healthy wealthy long life". I have been practicing and volunteering on this to the people arround the world wherever I go. I feel great & you will feel too same.


Please respond. I will be pleased to be in touch and provide more detaeld plans.


Yours sincerely,


Padam Lall Maharjan, Elmhurst, New York

Phone 718 340 3320


posted Jun 13th, 2010 10:47 am


Smiley

A few years ago I started a program called, CHECK to help children and their parents create better eating habits. I had put together a guide with helpful tips. Also tried to talk about it at different schools. However, the program wasn't a success, because the lower class citizens are not (most of the time) able to afford a well balanced meal, and the schools were not interested and hard to get into. I hope that this Let's move organization works to get our children more active and develop better eating habits.

Smiley

posted Jun 11th, 2010 5:23 pm


Saba Jamil

I liked you Lets move campaign. I agree that within the last decade child obesity has increased. Obesity in young people is associated with complications involving many careless attitudes on the part of parents which later on become a lifestyle of the children. The rat race of today‚??s life is also to be blamed. Every season can be made the most of in involving kids for some kind of physical activities. Summer being the best one.
Overweight or obese boys have been shown in several studies to have higher mortality rates. Obesity also causes adverse psychosocial problems such as bullying, discrimination and in older children/adolescents low self-esteem. It has been shown that overweight or obese girls of 18 have lowered educational and employment attainment, lower incomes and are more likely to be unmarried as adults.
Thank you
Saba Jamil

posted Jun 1st, 2010 12:37 pm


Alison Stapp

I need information for my Health Class, which I am tutoring. Anything that can be sent on email is appreciated. My prof. suddenly wants me to be presenting question cards to the class. This is very last minute. I was thrilled when the First Lady responded to my letter about Laney College in Oakland, CA's Health Fair, which I helped coordinate. Then, because I trusted one of my students, I lost the letter, which I cherished - it was on White House stationary, and signed by Michelle Obama's signature (or signing stamp), and the student promised she'd bring it back after copying it. Needless to say, she never returned it, and I, like I said, cherished the letter from our First Lady. I'm heartbroken. In the meantime, I have to stay focussed, and I must get the students on-point with relation to health, nutrition and fitness. I look forward to any emails the White House may send me on email. Again, Thank you

posted May 8th, 2010 10:43 pm


Carmen Macbeth


May 6, 2010


THE WHITE HOUSE
Mrs. Michelle Obama

Re: Our Books: ‚??OBESITY TREATMENT JUVENILE‚?? & OBESIDAD TRATAMIENTO JUVENIL
Our web-site: www.obesitytreatmentjuvenile.com

Dear Mrs. Obama:


I appreciate very much your answering to my letter about the childhood obesity epidemic. My sister and I are very committed to keep in our search about getting the perfect place to make our books available to help the families in America that right now are struggling with this problem.

I have the feeling that due to your busy calendar you may not have had the opportunity to look at the books we sent to you. We will appreciate very much to hearing your opinion about them, due that it took us more than two years in a world search, looking for all kind of information from studies realized in hospitals, universities, private entities and governments.

We want to be part of your team that‚??s working to achieve the goal to see all the American families free of the Obesity epidemic; and our contribution and shell of this fight is all concentrate in these books, available in both Spanish and English that can help people understand the causes of obesity, and offer practical and easy to follow steps, where you will find all the ideas and arms to have realized your objetive.

Thank you again for your kind attention to our letters and look forward to your reply to this email..

Cordially,

CARMEN MACBETH-VANEGAS

posted May 6th, 2010 7:42 pm


Sylvie Sundsbarm

I really believe that obesity in the US and in the world in general is awful. We have become lazy and forgetful of what we ( as human) are coming from.
Evolution has showing us what we were supposed to be eating and how we could stay strong enough to survive over great obstacles.

We need to return to BASICS.

I am so glad that the first lady is taking at heart the best challenge of all. On the other hand, I do not believe that showing obesity percentages amongst diversities from the CDC will have a "GRAND impact" on our children.
Remember: children do not know differences between races until WE make it clear to them.
As we all have the same goal in mind: "The Health of our children", I believe that real food is the answer.
I don't think that a new floor or a new seating (like Mac Donald) will show and make understand our children why what they are eating are not good for them.
If we are not grabbing the root of the problem, this will never goes away.
PLEASE, for the sake of your and our children, try to make smart choices to kick obesity out.
Sincerely,
S. Sundsbarm

posted Apr 9th, 2010 12:38 am


Sue Rhoads

Isn't it amazing that our government pays farmers NOT to grow on their fields, and then all we, the poor, can afford to buy is the 10/$10 frozen meals in the supermarket. Wouldn't it be great if they paid farmers to grow cheap fruits and vegetables so that we could afford to eat them instead. One more thing, most people today live in subdivisions, with associations that won't let them grow vegetables in backyard gardens. Wow, no wonder we are so fat and unfit. What I wouldn't give for a truly home-grown tomato!

posted Mar 26th, 2010 5:55 pm



Brandi

Scott - The organization's Web site is LetsMove.gov. A typo on our part lead you to the wrong site. This has been corrected and we hope you'll excuse the inconvenience.

posted Feb 9th, 2010 7:08 pm


Scott

Wanting to learn more I surfed over to the website "letsmove.org" Wouldn't you secure the website name before announcing the program to the country?

posted Feb 9th, 2010 6:05 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account