Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Insanity Workout vs. P90X

p90xThere is no shortage of fitness DVDs available to anyone who wants to get in shape at home. But one of the primary complaints about fitness DVDs is that they don’t provide the challenge that you may receive in the gym, in a workout class or with a personal trainer.

But two incredibly popular workout DVD programs promise the sweat and burn you would get from training with any hardcore trainer. Here is a comparison of the Insanity Workout program and the P90X program.

P90X

  • Number of DVDs: 12
  • Workouts: Chest and Abs, Plyometrics, Shoulders and Arms, Yoga X, Legs and Back, Kenpo X, X Stretch, Core Synergistics, Chest, Shoulders and Triceps, Back and Biceps, Cardio X, Ab Ripper X.
  • Results seen in: 90 days
  • Fitness commitment: You are instructed to workout six days a week for the entire 13 weeks of the P90X program. Workouts last 45 to 90 minutes.
  • Cost: Three monthly payments of $39.95, plus $19.95 shipping and handling.
  • Created by: Tony Horton, a fitness expert who has 17 years of experience training professional athletes, sports teams, movie stars, and recording artists, like Sheryl Crow, as well as your everyday Jane and Joe.
  • Main focus: The secret behind the P90X system is an advanced training technique called Muscle Confusion, which accelerates the results process by constantly introducing new moves and routines so your body never plateaus, and you never get bored.
  • Nutrition plan: The 3-Phase Nutrition Plan is designed to help you lose fat while maintaining high energy levels. The first phase, the Fat Shredder, involves eating a high protein and higher fat diet, followed by the Energy Booster, which adds complex carbohydrates to protein and reduced amounts of fat and lastly The Endurance Maximizer, which is an athletic diet of complex carbohydrates, lean proteins, and lower fat with the emphasis on more carbohydrates.
  • Extras: Program also comes with a progress calender, online support tools, a nutrition plan, fitness guide and a supplement guide.
  • Product Guarantee: Comes with a 100 percent 90-day satisfaction guarantee.

Insanity Workout insanity workout blog

  • Number of DVDs: 10
  • Workouts: Dig Deeper & Fit Test, Plyometric Cardio Circuit, Cardio Power & Resistance, Cardio Recovery, Pure Cardio and Abs, Cardio Abs, Core Cardio and Balance, Max Interval Circuit, Max Interval Plyo, and Max Cardio Conditioning & Abs.
  • Results seen in: 60 days
  • Fitness commitment: You are instructed to workout six days a week for the first four weeks of the Insanity Workout. Then you perform the Recovery workouts for one week before you complete the rest of the program. Workout DVDs last 40 to 60 minutes.
  • Cost: $119.95, plus$12.95 shipping and handling.
  • Created by: Fitness expert Shaun Thompson, or Shaun T, has danced in theater, TV, commercials, and movies, including Six Feet Under, and The Tonight Show with Jay Leno. He has worked with artists like Mariah Carey and Nick and Aaron Carter. Shaun is also the creator of Hip Hop Abs.
  • Main focus: The secret to the Insanity Workout is the MAX Interval Training, which is a spin on traditional interval training by alternating between aerobic and anaerobic intervals performed at your maximum intensity. Expect to burn a lot of calories while also working out much harder than usual.
  • Nutrition plan: The Elite Nutrition Plan is designed to fuel your body for these intense and ”Insane” workouts.
  • Extras: Program also comes with a fitness guide, a Fit Test Tracker, the Insanity Calendar and the Elite Nutrition Plan.
  • Product Guarantee: Comes with a 100 percent 30-day satisfaction guarantee.
View Fitness Comparisons Slideshow

Also read:

February 18th, 2010

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 16 total comments)

bosking

Insanity Workout is a challenge.Shaun T's Insanity workout can get you these types

of results in just 60 days... Guaranteed!Shaun T's Max Interval Training techniques are a step ahead of every other

fitness program ever designed. You get you a lean, muscular body in a short amount of time.

posted Mar 13th, 2012 7:56 am


Andy

Hi Heather, no good deed goes unpunished. ;)
Thanks for the objective, bullet point comparison. Delivered as promised. Namaste

posted Feb 23rd, 2012 1:54 am


Susan Maxwell

This program sent my son to the hospital in kidney failure. It is dangerous. Do NOT do it.

posted Feb 9th, 2012 4:37 pm


eric

I've done both workouts. Well, almost.
I got halfway through P90X and decided it wasn't for me. I was getting in better shape: more cut better stamina, but even on the lean program, I was getting bigger than I wanted. Not quite what I was looking for because I do ultramarathons.
Insanity on the other hand is perfect for my needs and those who want to excel in cardio and be smaller and leaner. And the time involved suits me better. I already hit the trails for running up to 10 hours each week.

posted Mar 2nd, 2011 7:12 pm


chinspanglish

Thanks Chris! Your comment answered all my questions.

posted Dec 18th, 2010 7:52 am


Chris

They are both excellent. If you just want to shed fat as quick as possible, go Insanity. Its less expensive, the workouts shorter, and they get to the business of shedding fat quicker. If you have the discipline to follow a diet, the money for the equipment, and the desire to remake your physique, P90X is the superior program. You will not just shed fat, but redesign your muscular structure, the program can turn any common physique into one that from a fitness magazine cover. Time, money, dedication, fitness goals, and body type are all things to consider with both these programs. But, I think I decided I prefer P90X because I felt Insanity lacked resistance training in the shoulders, back and arms, leaving those areas under developed for my fitness goals. However, if lean and light is your preference, without muscular arms and shoulder caps and the "V" shape in your back, Insanity is great. Insantiy will leave you with plenty of definition, with smaller lean muscle. You'll get cut with both workouts, but the shape of your body will be different with each. I personally like to replace P90X's Kempo, Plyo, and Yoga with Insanity workouts and I keep all the resistance training workouts. I skip stretch and take my full day of rest. Hope this helped somebody...

posted Oct 6th, 2010 5:15 am


Khristal

I definitely prefer Insanity, as it has built my Stamina to be out of this world!!! I have had great results in only 30 Days.... So I am pleased.

posted Sep 8th, 2010 6:17 pm


Larry

I've done both programs and I can say that Insanity is by far the most intense. Both programs take lots of dedication. Insanity is cheaper and requires no equipment besides water and a towel to wipe the sweat. You will sweat. HR monitor is suggested, but not required.
P90x you will need to spend money on equipment; however I do encourage you to shop around before purchasing from the seller. You can find the required equipment, and extras for half the price. Either workout will provide you with the results you're seeking. I thought I'd do the Insanity to get me ready for P90X, and I found out that I should have done the opposite. I give both programs the highest ratings. I recommend you cancel that gym membership and purchase either set, or both. Your money will be well spent, if you're willing to put in the time.

posted Sep 8th, 2010 3:11 pm


Insanity Workout program and the P90X program

I like p90x insanity.There is no shortage of fitness DVDs available to anyone who wants to get in shape at home.

posted Aug 2nd, 2010 11:08 am


marya

WOW, I can't beleive the flack your getting over this. This was REALLY helpful to me since I'm debating wich one to get.

These days who can afford to get both?

Thanks Heather! :)

posted Jun 6th, 2010 8:16 am


jackrussel

Thanks for the breakdown! It is helpful seeing the p90x and the insanity workout side by side.

posted Jun 4th, 2010 6:30 pm


OutaTowner

I think this article was exactly what I was looking for! It answered my questions about the differences.

posted Jun 4th, 2010 3:13 pm


Josh

Ive done P90X and am in the middle of doing Insanity. Both are great but very different. I recommend P90X to everyone I talk to that is interested in improving their fitness. I still do the strength workouts offered by P90X but have found nothing that comes close to comparing to Insanity's cardio. The warm-up exercises in insanity are as difficult as the entire plyometrics workout offered in the P90X workout series. Hopefully this helps push people to buy either or both of these workout DVDs seeing as how the creator of this comparison has not experienced the amazing pain that is P90X and Insanity.

posted May 27th, 2010 9:38 pm


amber

if you havent done either of these workouts then what was the point of even doing a "review" on them anyway??

posted May 27th, 2010 4:35 pm



heather

Hi Jeru. Thanks for your comments. My intention here is to simply provide any curious P90X or Insanity Workout practitioners an objective, simplified and straight-forward analysis of both workout programs by examining the same factors. Since I have not tried either of the workouts, it would be unethical and unprofessional of me to offer my own personal opinion. When trying to determine what workout will best suit your needs, it often helps to have the fundamental information in front of you to compare so that you can then make a decision which one will best suit your fitness goals. And that is what I sought to accomplish in this comparative article.

posted Feb 18th, 2010 4:27 pm


Jeru Madosh

This is helpful how? It appears that you actually paraphrased both of theses products infomercials. You did a great job of that, but how does one decided which is a better product? Where is your slant? What are you trying to accomplish here?

posted Feb 18th, 2010 1:39 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account