Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Dr. Oz’s Raspberry Ketones Dismissed by Dietitian as TV Hype

Is Dr. Oz more showman than doctor? His theatrical endorsement of dubious weight loss products points to the former. On his show this week, in a 75-second segment, he introduced a ‘revolutionary metabolism booster that you’ve never heard of’: raspberry ketones. While displaying a generic purple jar of capsules, Dr. Oz said, “I have vetted these; I’ve looked at them carefully; I am absolutely enamored. I know they work.” His segment assistant Lisa Lynn, a supplement-selling personal trainer, was by his side, along with a morbidly obese woman who had “tried everything.” Was Dr. Oz laying it on thick for a questionable product? No, not when you consider Dr. Oz is on TV.

Raspberry ketones are compounds that give red raspberries their aroma. In the US, they are used primarily in the food flavor industry. In Japan, however, raspberry ketone capsules are used as a weight loss supplement. Raspberry ketones are not to be confused with blood ketones produced in diabetes and on very low carbohydrate diets.

The hypothesis is that raspberries ketones affect biological activities that alter lipid metabolism. That fat-blasting claim rests on two small mice studies that show when mice are fed a high-fat diet supplemented with raspberry ketones they gain less body fat than expected. But be clear: raspberry ketones have not been studied in humans and they have not been proven to work. To be fair, Dr. Oz said, “There have not been a lot of human studies, but animal studies are favorable.” Somehow, for me, that got lost in the hype.

To strengthen his points, Dr. Oz asked Lisa if she has “lots of clients who swear by raspberry ketones.” Lisa agreed they “swear by it” and she has seen “firsthand results from these products.” Her word is apparently meant to substitute for randomized controlled research published in peer-reviewed journals. 

Lisa goes on to recommend a dose of ‘100 mg at breakfast and, if that amount isn’t giving you optimal results, take another 200 milligrams at lunch.’ That dose, 100 to 300 mg/day, is the human dose equivalent of what worked in laboratory mice. Unfortunately, that dose costs around $20 to $60 a month, for a still unproven product.

For anyone unwilling to take a supplement, eating raspberries will also work, according to Dr. Oz and Liza. But, while raspberries are good food, that won’t do the fat-busting trick: it takes 90 pounds of raspberries to extract the daily dose of raspberry ketones. Raspberry ketone capsules are actually synthesized in the lab because supply is scarce, demand is growing, and they are expensive.

And so, did Dr. Oz lead us astray on the raspberry ketone claim? He did if you believe he has a medical obligation to the viewer. Call me jaded, but I believe Dr. Oz’s only obligation is to his network. I don’t say I agree with it, but it is what it is, at least for today. We, the viewers, are obligated to watch out for ourselves and our families. We are obligated to distinguish between legitimate medical fact and TV hype. It makes sense to be wary of products that promise a quick fix and dramatic results, regardless of the credentials of the person who said it. Never give credit to recommendations based on small animal studies, and realize that supplement makers depend on gullible TV viewers to buy useless products. Dr. Oz may think his endorsement jives with the Hippocratic Oath to “first, do no harm,” and he’s right. Raspberry ketones have not been shown to be harmful to humans, yet.

Also Read:

Raspberry Ketones Touted as Miracle Fat Burner by Dr. Oz

A Magic Pill: What You Need to Know About Diet Pills

Dr. Travis Stork Prescribes Simplicity of Walking for Heart Health

February 9th, 2012

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 70 total comments)

Regis

Dr. Oz is a fraud making money on every product that comes along. he says one thing is the greatest breakthrough one week and the next there is another miracle drug. I have received samples of most of them and it is nothing but a commercial and Dr. Oz is getting rich promoting these without any concern for the fools who actually buy them. I try samples and cancel immediately. Some don't even send a sample till your card has been charged $70. If he is a real Dr. he should be disband and sued by the American public.

posted Nov 9th, 2013 12:41 pm


marilyn renzetti

Dr. Oz should hang up his shingle and become a snake oil salesman!
He lost his credibility long ago.

posted Apr 4th, 2013 8:18 pm


Charlie

I am so glad I found this site tonight. I have been taking this for about 2 weeks now and I cannot sleep at night. It is almost 2:00 am and I'm having another sleepless night. I think the need for 8 hours of sleep far outways the LITTLE results in weight lose. I will not take this in the morning and will not fall for the countless suppliments he indorses, unless I have completely done my homework. By the way, I just bought a NutriBullet and have been adding all the berries and lots of veggies and other necessary nutrients to make a healthy natural smoothy twice a day. It is a better way to go in my opinion!!!

posted Mar 3rd, 2013 10:02 am


Joe

If sounds to good to be true dont buy into it.There are no quick fixes to weight loss. It takes time slow and steady wins the race.

posted Feb 26th, 2013 11:01 am


Dennis Durost

Garbage product. I purchased 7 bottles of Raspberry Key and am into my third month with absolutely no weight loss. Dr Oz got his indorsement fees and we got scammed

posted Jan 26th, 2013 9:37 pm


tim

I'm shocked at all the posters who discuss taking Rasberry Ketone supplements that are discussing stimulative effects. Isn't that proof it's crammed with caffeine? I hope you're buying from trusted sources. I know I tried green coffee extract and immediately got the type of jitters you only get from caffeine overdosing. Try to save a buck and you end up paying.

posted Dec 18th, 2012 1:53 pm


rick

I took one pill 2 days in succession. I had terrible insomnia both days. Won't continue taking these pills. Very disappointed in Dr.Oz. He seemed trustworthy, but now it seems he's just out to make a buck, taking no regard for health of those who choose to follow his advice.

posted Nov 11th, 2012 6:55 pm


lylacavanaugh

I took a pill last night and have not slept at all. I don't feel like I have high blood pressure, but this would be a problem for me if I did. This is however the first time I haven't slept for nineteen hours per day since 2005.

posted Nov 2nd, 2012 3:44 pm


teri

I've been taking RK for about two months and have not lost a pound. Only effect has been racing/pounding heart beat. Don't waste your money

posted Jul 25th, 2012 6:09 pm


Jim

I have never watched Dr.Oz, have heard of the Raspberry Ketones. And if you do the research on it. You will fine not all of them are the same. First read what is in what your going to take. Make sure there are no harmful drugs mixed in. And if it's cheap, you know. You get what you pay for. As for anything, research before you buy.

posted Jul 22nd, 2012 5:32 pm


doris pollock

I have been using this for 30 days, I belong to TOPS and have been gaining since taking Rasberry Ketone,how come? I paid $89.00 for a 3 month supply, what gives?

posted Jul 13th, 2012 5:29 pm


Patty

I agree with most of the posts. At first, you watched the Dr. Oz Show because you believe he is a good doctor and he would give you good, healthy advise and information. Then, as you watched show after show, you notice he promotes all these great "natural" weight loss products or someother kind of healty product that only Dr Oz and his guest or "viewer" has tried. In fact, Dr. Oz , according to him, has tried them all and takes them everyday! Wow, how does his skinny stomach take all these new products that he recommends every day? He may be a heart surgeon and a "doctor," but I now have to question why type of "doctor" is he really? One who gets paid for his remarks about these "great products" or one who cares about his patients. I think it if the first choice. He is rich for a reason. He is on TV only for one reason. And it is not to make you or me healther.

posted Jul 9th, 2012 1:28 am


vera

I have a great deal of respect. He is not just a surgeon, but a heart surgeon. His medical credentials were recieve through long hours of studies. I have worked withheart surgeons and these are people I would trust my life with if I had to have this type of surgery. Dietians, thank you for your comments, but I will continue to listen to dr. OZ..I think he has a few years ahead of you in regards to medical knowledge. He is still a practicing surgeon and makes more than enough money for himself. I do not believe he is promoting this for $'s. He sees everyday what obsesity does. he is the one that has to tell you when a family member does't survive surgery..do you really think he would promote a product that would cause harm? I have tried the rasberry keytones and after 2 days the appeitite has really been reeled in. more energy, less food. I am drinking more water and sleeping better..Dr. Oz.thank you from the bottom of my "healthy heart"

posted Jul 8th, 2012 8:53 pm


Lois

Dr Oz has a "doctor" Lindsey Duncan on his show who supposedly is a natural homiopathic type doctor but can not find proof on internet the guy even has a bachelors degree!! - let alone graduate work in anything. His own web site doesn't say anything except he "studied with" an MD/PhD !! Anyone know? Dr. Oz should check credentials of guests! Thanks for anyone answering!

posted Jul 5th, 2012 5:53 pm


Fariba

Dr. Oz is absolutely correct to endorse this product becasue of its overwhelming evidance.. Thousands of people have used this product and have shed weight..Two of whom are my own friends... Just because you are only looking at scientific stuff, you cannot degrade good products.. The same goes for many who do not believe in accupuncture treatment.. Try it for a while before voicing your view please...

posted Jun 23rd, 2012 9:14 pm


MisterEdF

I like Dr OZ, however recently he has become a shill for various weight loss schemes. Before the Rasperry Ketones Green Coffee Beans were his big thing. He had a "Dr Lindsey Duncan" on his show pushing Green Coffee Bean Extract. As it turns out, Dr Duncan is the OWNER of a company that distributes the Green Coffee Bean product called Genesis Today. A little Google searching discovered the connection. I believe Oz new about this and should have stated it during his show. If he did not know about it, that's even worse.

posted Jun 21st, 2012 2:12 am


pauline

I took the ketones for approx 12 days....very stimulating . I stopped drinking my one and only morning coffee because I got agitated while taking the ketones...I am not impressed with them. I think Dr. Oz has a responsibility to give correct information both in a medical sense and to his network. He has a lot of clout with his public and he was the reason I took the product. I felt "off" after a few days but continued taking them to give them a chance - have decided to stop taking them. Have not lost any additional weight while taking them even though I work out regularly. After researching I have discovered it can (apparently) interfere with your thyroid. I have a low thyroid and I think that explains why I was feeling "off."

posted Jun 19th, 2012 11:09 am


JJ

Collectively, we shouldn't be so naive. Anyone on television or radio is there to keep an audience engaged so that companies who pay their salaries can advertise their product to the audience. That is how America's media functions. In this case, Dr Oz and his producers just took the show and turned it into an infomercial with a serious hook line and sinker for desperate obese Americans. This setup is a Marketers dream. I went on youtube to see the episode that aired. He compared an inflated balloon which he placed inside of liquid nitrogen and it shrunk and compared it to the effects you can expect from this rasberry pill? I saw local news clips of local suppliers in different cities not able to keep any rasberry ketone in stock and name his endorsement as the reason why. Trust me he got paid big time for doing this. If there were to be any fall out, he would take a page out of your favorite politician's playbook or just move on. Kind of reminds me of snake oil salesman. A cure all right? Lets be honest, you didn't become fat overnight therefore it is unreasonable to think we can safely become skinny overnight by taking a pill. Is there a pill that will give me big muscles? I am just sorry that I spent time looking all this up.

posted Jun 17th, 2012 2:15 am


Den

This is soooo trivial, but it bothers me all the time, the word is LOSE...not loose! Sorry, I had to get it off my chest!

posted Jun 12th, 2012 1:16 am


Shai

U ppl are so disgusting...this man is not ur personal anything..he puts an idea out there ..small minded ppl run with it and then get mad when it does not work, get over yourself ..as grown ass ppl it's your job to take that idea and research it to see if it's right for you...Ugh!!! Shut the up and use ur brain

posted May 9th, 2012 11:17 am


annmarie campbell

they have so many raspberry ketones which one or ones should i get???

posted Apr 23rd, 2012 1:54 am


Susan

Like another poster here, I was taking est. 100mg twice a day. I started having panic attacks so had to stop. I only took them for two weeks but I think they did help me lose. I'm eating 1800-1900 calories a day so losing slowly so it's hard to tell; but, my fat stomach is softer and smaller, as if losing fat from that area. I understood that you don't have weight loss, but the replacement of fat with muscle.

posted Apr 22nd, 2012 1:02 pm


Gillian Sellman

I recently started taking the raspberry keytones after 4 months on weight watchers counting points, cardio and weights 5 days per week at the Y, keeping up with my calories, fat quality, proteins, carbs, fiber and adult beverage consumption on a daily spread sheet. I was extremely frustrated losing only 7 1/2 pounds in 4 months. I am on my third week of the keytones and the scale is moving down more quickly. 2 pounds in the first 2 weeks, Finally looking forward to my Saturday morning weigh in at WW. If you need proof I have all the documentation on the success or failures of the keytones and willing to share.

posted Apr 20th, 2012 1:44 pm


Yolanda

Dr. Oz mentions a few times to consult with your physician before taking these supplements. This would save people money & time instead of purchasing the supplements, taking them & having side effects.

posted Apr 18th, 2012 7:10 pm


Curtis

First off I am an avid Dr. Oz viewer and I have a unsubstantial amount of education in nutritional sciences. Yet still no degree due to age. While I do not "Buy into" everything he says or presents, people need to stop bashing him as merely a "TV Doctor". He went through the same schooling and educational process as any other doctor, he just took it outside the box and had an entrepreneurial side as well. But last thing people do need to do their OWN research and read the studies there selves.

posted Apr 10th, 2012 12:26 pm


NELL PACE

Have Rasberry Ketones been approved by FDA?

posted Mar 31st, 2012 7:38 pm


Lily

Dr. Oz is full of platitudes, and everything seems to be his "favorite" this or that (just listen long enough and you'll see what I mean). He touts "miracle" products on his show every day, and I am surprised that anyone can take him seriously. I do not believe that he personally researches anything for his show. I would bet that, just like Oprah, he has a full staff of people who skim the surface of fads and pop culture to find the "next hot thing," and then give him a quick run-through before he goes on the air. He seems more like a snake-oil salesman, offering quick-fixes in a bottle, or who promises that you can change your world by making some recipe using his "favorite" ingredients. As for that weight-loss episode, another lie is his claim that you can spot-reduce, which we know is not the case at all. What a fraud...

posted Mar 29th, 2012 5:00 pm


rowkosh jabbar

jag vill köpa den

posted Mar 21st, 2012 10:43 am


Sherry

Good job Vita. I agree with you.

posted Mar 21st, 2012 3:36 am


Kristi H

While I've always been a fan of Dr. Oz, his suggestions for new supplements are getting a bit ludicrous. He has to understand that not too many people who watch his show are educated in health or nutritional sciences, so they are taking what he says quite literally. I'm sure he would like to believe that his viewers do their research before purchasing his next new diet breakthrough item, but alot of the time it does not happen! I have worked at a health food store for the past 5 years, and for the past 2 years (when Dr. Oz has become increasingly popular), we have had to stock up on EVERY SINGLE item he has showcased. What is even more disturbing is that immediately after his 11:00 repeat show or his 4:00 show, we have customers calling and coming in to see if we carry the product. That just shows that they are taking his reviews, not doing their own research, and acting on a whim. It is important to do your own research, and not just trust what a TV doctor says. He's generally speaking, he is not going over side effects, persons who should take precaution or anything like that. Just do your research before you act on impulse hoping that you will find the miracle supplement!

posted Mar 12th, 2012 5:40 pm


veronica

i am a nutrition and health student right now and dr oz makes me sick! i agree that he has a medical obligation -if he is claiming to be a DR. or just wants to keep that title as his network paycheck rolls in.

posted Mar 8th, 2012 6:52 pm


Hannah

As an RD myself, I was looking for some real info on the Dr. Oz-touted Raspberry Ketones. He does a great job of promoting a product that's barely been researched, that's for sure. Thanks for the real info! I knew that if I googled "Raspberry Ketones" and "Dietitian," I'd find something valuable. :)

posted Mar 3rd, 2012 1:23 am


Iwatched

I take exception to you stating that Dr Oz said you can get ketones through eating razberries.After, you stated that you would have to eat 90lbs. The way you contructed your sentences made it seem as though the caution about poundage came from you and not the show. Oz clearly said 90 lbs would be necessary and not feasible. If you are going to write, do it with care and honesty.

posted Mar 2nd, 2012 2:14 pm


pearl

Can I purchase the New Rasberry Ketone Plus from you for the S12.00 dollars. I am unable to find this product that you recommend. Every thing else are dulicte and cost much more.
Thanks,
Pearl

posted Feb 24th, 2012 5:42 pm


Susan

Dr. Oz provides a lot of great advice, but hyping Raspberry Keytones was not one of his key moments. I went out & purchased a bottle, and gained 4 lbs since taking them. And I eat only fruits, veges, fish & sometimes chicken. I've been feeling lightheaded & stopped taking them. Plus, I read they may cause blood sugar spikes if you're diabetic, and I'm pre-diabetic.

posted Feb 23rd, 2012 6:49 pm


Shirley

I've watched Dr. Oz so many times and am beginning to NOT like or trust his show anymore. If I bought every supplement, food (some strange and not easy to find) and other things he pushed, I'd not be able to afford FOOD!! He was okay at first, but I don't like to watch his show anymore. I just know he'll be pushing some other supplement, new food or diet that will take off our butt, belly, or cure something else. NOPE....not me anymore!!

posted Feb 23rd, 2012 4:15 pm


Erma Davichick

Can raspberry ketones be used with satiereal saffron extract? Satiereal saffron extract by dr. Witteker.

posted Feb 21st, 2012 4:57 pm


Des

Can rasberry ketones be taken while breast feeding?

posted Feb 20th, 2012 10:08 pm


Kimbuddha

I've been taking the keystones for four days now. I haven't lost anything and feel dizzy and spacey. It is making me worried about side effects. I'm taking 250mg at breakfast only. I'm definitely NOT going to take it tomorrow and see if the dizziness stops.

posted Feb 20th, 2012 6:49 pm


Darlene

I purchased the Rasberry Ketones, and after taking 1 I started to feel a little shaky and nervous. I did some research and found that a possible side effect is panic attacks, I called my pharamacy and he suggesd that I not take them because i am already taking medicine for panic attacks. Please Dr Oz do alot more research and tell the audience what the side effects are. I watch your show and this would not keep me from future watching it. Thank You

posted Feb 16th, 2012 4:36 pm


Kelly

If one would have paid attention it was said that exercise needs to be included. No, he didn't shout it but he did say that and that was preceded by healthy diet ideas as well.

posted Feb 15th, 2012 2:56 am


wishful

Doc OZ has lot's of great info nad I enjoy his show. But it seems to be getting too comercialized for me. We all would be broke if we bought all of the commercial products Doc is touting. Really wish he would put a ranking to the things he is touting maybe like a 1 to 5 star ranking.

posted Feb 14th, 2012 5:13 pm


Reda Carey

All I have to say is leave Dr. Oz. alone and mind your own business. He gives us info and we do the research and decide for ourselves. He is the best thing to ever happen to tv. The Doctors too...

posted Feb 14th, 2012 2:40 am


ronnie

Like Rosabella I have some health issues is this product safe?

posted Feb 13th, 2012 9:40 pm


Ana

Dr. Oz recommended 100 to 200 mg. I purchase 250mg because i guess it was sold out. Can this be harmful. i am 18 years old. I haven't receive it as yet, but just hope it will work. I will let you know

posted Feb 13th, 2012 9:00 pm


boredandlonely

How can you see the show, and in a week, order the product, receive the product, take the product and already see great results?? It is impossible to do all of that in seven days!!

posted Feb 13th, 2012 8:13 pm


JAMIE

I had cut my calories to 1200 to 1500 per day and began doing 30 min of cardio daily as well as strength training 3 days a week. It took me a month to loose 6 lbs then it seemed like for three weeks my body stayed the same weight and didnt loose another pound. I have now added the raspberry ketones (200 mg /day) for the past two weeks and have lost 5lbs. Not only have I dropped weight but I have lost four more inches, and I dont crave sweets, nor think about my next meal anymore right after eating. I truly believe these Raspberry Ketones are helping me. I got them at my local GNC for $22 for 90 pills. If you ask me, they are worth it.

posted Feb 13th, 2012 6:32 pm


Steven Charlap, MD

I think you are being way too kind to Dr. Oz. You left out that he called these raspberry ketone pills, "a magic pill...number one miracle in a bottle." His show is called the Dr. Oz, not the Mehmet Oz show. As he leads with his medical degree, he has an obligation to speak the truth, Please read my blog to identify multiple times when he is inaccurate. http://mdprevent.blogspot.com/

posted Feb 12th, 2012 1:44 am


Kimberly

After watching Dr OZ's show on raspberry ketones I ordered some from A-1 Supplements. As soon as I starting taking them I could notice the difference. Less appetite, more energy, no cravings for sweets, and I had to have my sweets after a meal. I love this product. I say give it a try if you want to have more energy and lose some pounds. Start off with 100mg per day and see how it goes.

posted Feb 12th, 2012 12:14 am


BETSY

Is raspberry ketone dangerous for someone who is 65? HI, On Dr Oz last week Raspberry keytones were talked about.- as a way to get rid of belly fat. I am going to give you aiste that talks about it. I would like your opinion. It sound like to me they could be dangerous I am 65 and dont want to have a heart atack. This is a site that has the side feects. Every nutrition store I have called this week said the phone has been ringing of the hook since Dr oz aired this and they all have ordered it. I know ecerise and eating well is what we need to do but the keytones have taken off. http://www.dietsinreview.com/diet_column/02/raspberry-ketone-side-effects-may-impact-thyroid-health/ Thank you for reading this

posted Feb 11th, 2012 10:18 pm


genvieve

It's stuff like this that keeps the health and beauty industry plugging along pulling in billions of dollars every year. For the average American (there are some exceptions) the formula is very simple: portion control+ eat healthy+ exercise= weight loss. If we put the effort into this formula that we put into trying to circumvent this formula, we wouldn't be an obese nation.

posted Feb 11th, 2012 10:12 pm


Vita

Please, people! Dr. Oz doesn't report anything that his production staff AND he do not study for each show. He is not the culprit. The masses of people who cannot think for themselves is. I have been eating nutrionally all of my life. Therefore, I have the "edge" on what he is saying. The presentation of something new which appears to be an adjunct to previous health measures is researched by me. I thank The Doctors, Dr. Phil, the Oprah show, and Dr. Oz for their hours of dedication who feed us knowledge, be it questionable or the obvious truth. I would not know life- altering information without them. Years ago, talk show hosts provided tidbits of wisdom but nothing like we can "digest" now. Dr. Oz repeats caution, and belabors the point of EATING veggies and fruit, etc. I feel sorry for those who hang unto every word as though life or death, continuing to blame him for THEIR choices. He does not intend that, should not be held responsible but not everyone has the best comprehension brain mode. This is a TV show not a doctor visit! Cadaver body parts, and fueling the body with what it needs are not Mehmet Oz figments of his imagination! Have the people been attentive to his guests? Dr. Mercola, Dr. Whitaker, Dr. Weil, and the other sundrious GYNs, psychologists, dieticians, etc.? Remain open-minded!

posted Feb 11th, 2012 6:20 pm


mel

id really like to try these does anyone know where I can order them I dont think canada has them!!!

posted Feb 11th, 2012 3:27 pm


Jenny Orr

Dr. Oz touts so many products that are bogus in their actual effects on the body. Every time I check some "great breakthrough" out, I find them to have adverse affect on our bodies. He should stick to heart surgery.

posted Feb 11th, 2012 2:54 pm


Vicki

I agree that Dr. Oz is pushing these supplements and I'm positive he's getting kickbacks from it....BUT...we tried L-Arginine and it really has made a difference with us. Only thing is you have you MUST start out slooooooooooow with this stuff and build up and that is NOT said on his show. I started out with a 500 mg capsule and built up to 3000 a day. My husband and I did get very positive results. BUT if you have had a recent heart attack or bad heart, kidney trouble, better avoid this because you get high blood volume with this. Many of the other things Dr. Oz mentions I have been taking for years and it's good for me but again, DO YOUR OWN RESEARCH...>BUYER BEWARE! I always do the research before I take anything......ANYTHING!

posted Feb 11th, 2012 2:01 pm


myra Rucker

If I eat blackberrys would that be just as good as raspberry ketones It sounds natural if every thing is ok with my doctor to take Rasberry ketons. If I eat blackberrys would that be just as good? Dr Oz stated on one of his programs that eating celery leaves and celery help to eliminate the pain in the pancreas. I have been eating tha leaves and the stem of the celery there is no pain.Myra E. Rucker

posted Feb 11th, 2012 2:02 am


Stacey

I am also a Registered Dietitian & a Health Fitness Specialist certified through the ACSM. It is upseting how frequently Dr. Oz recommends supplementation. Supplements can be dangerous especially to specific populations of people. Anyone watching Dr. Oz needs to do their own research through peer-reviewed research articles or there are other resources available that are reputable. Don't take Dr. Oz's word for it & in my opinion he should stick to his own expertise & leave dietary supplements & nutrition to the "REAL" experts called Registered Dietitians!

posted Feb 11th, 2012 1:21 am


Cathy Hovland

How can you be sure what Dr. Oz says anymore? If I bought everything he says is good and ate all the diets I would probaly be dead. I went on line to buy rasberry ketones and luckely ran across others

posted Feb 10th, 2012 10:24 pm


killian

And do NOT diss it UNLESS you have tried it.

posted Feb 10th, 2012 7:47 pm


maria sedano

i like what i see i want to buy some too get rid of tummy fat

posted Feb 10th, 2012 6:35 pm


Cat

I'm currently trying to loose weight, yet i'm afraid to waste money on products that don't work. Input.. Do these work with a healthy diet and working out?

posted Feb 10th, 2012 5:14 pm


PJ

He also said it's something that's worth experimenting with but not something for extended use. He wasn't pushing it very hard at all.....I think YOU got to see what you wanted to and what gave you a good read for your followers.

posted Feb 10th, 2012 3:29 pm


Rckymtn65

While I enjoy Dr. Oz's common sense appraoch and insight to healthy living, I believe he is way off base with this and out of his area of expertise. Having worked as a formulator in the dietary supplement industry for over 17 years, I can't understand why he would 'promote' something that has so little clinical evidence to support it. Very troubling, and I will think twice about any product he recommends now. He has a large audience that trusts his insight and information,, and his 'endoresement' of this products is troubling.

posted Feb 10th, 2012 3:05 pm


Tasha

Everyone is entitled to their opinions; I honestly love the raspberry ketones. They are the best thing I could have heard and tried them and it works! Dr. Oz knows what he is talking about because I am living proof. I am still taking the raspberry ketones and trust me, they are working for me!

posted Feb 10th, 2012 1:17 pm


Rosabella

I like Dr. Oz. and was able to view the show about Raspberry Ketone and other weight loss pills. The only comment I can give is that Dr. Oz should emphasize in his show that not all can take these medicines that he was suggesting without consulting the doctors if they have some ailments such as high blood pressure, heart disease, diabetic, or COPD (or asthma). I was glad that I checked the website before buying these medications because I have high blood pressure and heart disease. I will also consult my heart doctor about this. Hope Dr. Oz can read my comment.

posted Feb 10th, 2012 11:40 am


Linda

I think that it is important for everyone to be a well-informed consumer of everything they hear, see or read. Dr. Oz has some great things to say and I enjoy his shows but at the same time I don't just chuck it into the basket ans validate the information just because he said it. We all need to read more about stuff before taking it on as being the entire truth. There are always two sides to a coin and what works for one person may not work for another. With a shrinking economy we want to be sure to spend our money wisely and be proactive about our health. Use good judgment and common sense.

posted Feb 10th, 2012 12:32 am


jerry

why is there not any OTHER study going on concerning raspberry ketones? One small study on a few mice is not enough.

posted Feb 9th, 2012 11:00 pm


gg

I like this post. It offers a realistic caveat to those who are vulnerable and desperate to find a way to shed pounds. I had just mentioned to a friend recently, if I purchased everything Dr. Oz's show pedals day in and day out. I would be able to open my own store. Honestly, The Dr. Oz show has become more of a marketing tool for the latest so called greatest fix for this or that. Personally, I think Dr. Oz needs to get back to the basics of health care and out of the lime light of Hollywood. I really just can't take him seriously anymore as a medical physician.

posted Feb 9th, 2012 10:57 pm


Calvin

I like this post. Shame on you Dr. Oz and you should know better as a practicing physician. You have obviously lost your way on the current model of healthcare practice of evidence based medicine!! The more you open your mouth on TV, the less you sound like a competent physician. Dr. S.

posted Feb 9th, 2012 7:22 pm


KennyG.

Wasn't Dr. Oz the one that blasted apple juice for being poisonous, and everybody jumped on him for that too. There was one "scientist" calling him out as a charlatan!! That is?until about two months later when it came out in the news that apple juice actually had poison in it! Dr. Oz is not a "fake" T.V. doctor?but is a heart surgeon! Which as far as doctors go, are pretty much the tops in their field. Yeah, I give him a lot of credit, but I believe that credit is due. There are lots of naysayers and jealous types out there, but do they trump his credentials? Do you?

posted Feb 9th, 2012 6:49 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account