Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

How to Lose 10 Pounds in 30 Days

Losing weight is a difficult process and a huge commitment. There are three main things that go into losing weight. The most important is your diet, followed by cardiovascular training and weight training.lose weight

A simple way to lose weight is to cut carbohydrates and fat out of your diet, but you need carbohydrates to give you energy throughout the day. So, eat carbohydrates only in the morning to provide your body with energy through the day.

Second, you definitely need a diet high in protein to build and repair the muscle fibers that will be broken down during cardiovascular and weight training. I recommend doing at least a 30-minute cardiovascular training prior to breakfast every morning. This will jump start your metabolism and keep it up and running all day.

Next, stay active throughout the day and hit another 30-minute cardiovascular training before your weight training session. I recommend doing these in the evening to help burn “left-over” calories from the day and to keep your metabolism fired up through the night.

I also recommend breaking down each muscle group on different days (two muscle groups per day). The more lean muscle mass you gain from lifting weights the more calories you burn throughout the day.

Try to do this six days a week with no cheating!! I promise hard work and dedication will pay off. Below is a sample daily routine for you to follow. Be sure to drink plenty of water throughout the day (64-90 ounces a day) and each protein shake should provide your body with the proper daily vitamins and nutrients.

Sample Routine:

6 A.M.                    30-45 minute cardiovascular training session

6:45 A.M.             Non-fat oatmeal, fruit, and water

10 A.M.                 Non-fat protein shake and water

1 P.M.                    Grilled chicken, green beans, and water

2 P.M.                   10-15 minute walk

5 P.M.                   Non-fat protein shake and water

6 P.M.                   30-45 minute cardiovascular training session followed by weight training

Monday/Thursday:           Chest/Biceps/Abs

Tuesday/Friday:                 Back/Triceps/Abs

Wednesday/Saturday:      Legs/Shoulders/Abs

7:30 P.M.           Grilled chicken, green beans, and water

January 5th, 2010

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 35 total comments)

frances

I love it, I have a wedding to attend in 45days & I need to trim down for family photos. thanks for sharing these tips<3

posted Oct 27th, 2011 3:54 pm


GJ

this wont fit for people who work 5 or 6 days a week into 8 hours of standing/walking/moving on the job on a night shift...by the time im done...im so totally exhausted from small to moderate lifting carrying all those mails...i get home and just want to sit or sleep..so i sleep somewhere 8 to 10 hours and by the time i get up its time to do things like laundry etc etc. no room for exercising....but can watch food intake otherwise...those food you mention are not possible for night workers like us ...our bodies are all upside down.

posted Mar 6th, 2011 7:27 am


cici

I LIKE IT

posted Jan 22nd, 2011 5:52 pm


Dave

I tried this three weeks ago with my wife and we have both noticed a visual difference in our bodies, our junk food cravings have diminished and I have far more energy. I will say give yourself one day a week to eat something off track, like a small treat to reward yourself for all the self discipline you have had. Like a weekend day since that is a day you are most likely to go off track anyway.

posted Jan 18th, 2011 4:33 pm


candis

javascript:setReviewThumbs(2,'Blog') i would like to try it i love my body and i think that i would try any thing to look and feel good

posted Jan 13th, 2011 3:28 pm


Eric

Regardless to whom the article is directed, medically speaking, losing weight that quickly is generally not healthy in the short term nor effective in the long term, as the vast majority of those that engage in quick weight loss programs put the weight back after going off it.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 2:22 am


Mathue

Hey there - I'm the fitness expert for DietsInReview.com. This article was designed for the small population that wants to lose weight quickly. Obviously, eating limited calories is not the healthiest thing to do in the world. But being in the situation to having to lose weight is much more unhealthy. Good comments and appreciate the feedback, but if you are looking to lose 10 pounds in 30 days you'll have to work a little harder to get there. This 30 day diet works for that and will help you get on the path that you wish to take. If you are a marathon runner you probably don't need this routine and you definitely need to eat carbs to fuel your body throughout your long runs.

posted Jan 5th, 2011 5:21 pm


Dana

OK, as an RN I too have serious problems with this. First of all it is not reasonable for someone to eat chicken and green beans with water for two meals, every day for 30 days. While some of the advice is good, the dietary reccomendations need to be looked at here. Bottom line is move more, eat less fat and calories and drink water. You also need to incorporate the right foods into your diet. See a nutritionist, getting dietary reccomendations such as what is written here and actually trying to use them can lead to serious health risks. A dietician is educated and knowledgable in this area, don't take your advice from just anyone off the web!

posted Jan 5th, 2011 5:54 am


Lindsey

Riiiiiight. I don't think so. Work 9 -10 hours a day, live 1 hour from work, AND when I get home I have to make dinner for my family, take care of my son, give him a bath, bottle, put him to sleep. By the time I'm done with all of that...not a minute left in the day. Sounds good though. Hope someone else is getting to do all of those workouts!

posted Jan 5th, 2011 2:55 am


Elizabeth

1) People need routine to change bad habits. Any routine of improved diet and excercise will help you lose weight.
2) Drinking protein shakes instead of eating food is ridiculous. It's unsatisfying because you don't chew, and usually tastes terrible. My votes are raw nuts, hard boiled eggs, and low-fat cheeses for protein snacks.
3) Water is good. Drink lots of it.
4) Fat burning excercise should keep you slightly out of breath the entire time. Keeping your heart rate up, but not at maximum.
5) Losing weight is difficult, it's about patience and perseverance. It won't happen in 30 days. But most major character adjustments don't happen that fast either.

posted Jan 4th, 2011 11:39 pm


Araceli

If you REALLY wanna workout you will.....i work 50hrs a week I commute an hour away from home, and still make time for a 5am workout and a 8pm cardio session.....anyone is capable of doing this, you just have to really want to make exercise a part of your life! i loved the info, I will be trying it in 3 weeks after my heavy lifting session!

posted Jan 4th, 2011 10:16 pm


Jully

We eat Dinner at 3;30 every day...it helps.

posted Jan 4th, 2011 10:07 pm


Jessica

I think that everyone needs to look at this simple basic article as a suggestion. It is very possible to adjust this based on your time of waking up etc. Also the chicken and green beans is just a suggestion. You can easily substitute the chicken for any other lean protein that has comparable nutrition to chicken. Also not all protein shakes taste terrible , yes it takes research to find one! I also agree with the person who posted about cutting all fat. I personally do a twist with this sample routine--> yes they refer to it as a sample, and cook some foods in olive oil eat salmon with sauces that may have fat and also by eating couscous or other hearty grains without a lot of sauce. I think its important to remember that if you reduce your portions, and exercise you will lose weight!

posted Jan 4th, 2011 7:34 pm


WascallyWabbit

NO EATING AFTER 6 PM! What is this 7:30 pm dinner time? Too soon before bedtime. Also, NO WAY am I getting up before 8 AM!! This would not work for me. Plus, those high protein shakes taste AWFUL!!

posted Jan 4th, 2011 2:50 pm


10pounder

Not exactly the best schedule for people who have to work an 8-5.

posted Jan 4th, 2011 2:38 pm


Susan

good information - i HAVE to get started!

posted Jan 4th, 2011 11:32 am


mike

Ok, thanks for the inputs, i will do this in all honesty

posted Jan 4th, 2011 8:27 am


Eric

As an RN and marathoner, I have some serious issues with the restrictive nature of this diet. You will lose weight with this routine, because any time you eliminate one macronutrient (fat) and severely curtail another (carbs) you will lose weight. However, our bodies need all three macronutrients to survive. Carbs and fat are not bad. In fact, they are essential. The key is to eat the right kinds and in the right proportions. Also, "good" fats like those in olive oil, salmon, and certain nuts actually stimulate the production of a hormone that increases the sensation of feeling full (thereby curbing appetite). The average person only needs .5 - .6 grams of protein per pound of body weight (even weight lifters only need .8 - 1.0 grams), and in this case, more is not better. Remember the goal of any weight loss program is overall improved health. Healthy weight loss is generally .5 - 1.5 pounds per week. It is wise therefore to be wary of any plan that promises more because they may be compromising other systems or areas of one's body.

posted Jan 4th, 2011 5:06 am


CHRIS

I think I would rather be dead than have that life

posted Jan 4th, 2011 4:24 am


Mina

While some of this advice is fine - exercise, eat healthy, some is not. The concept that your body should consume 0 fat is incorrect. Fats (healthy ones) are important for staying healthy. Also, remaining on an exceptionally boring diet isn't sustainable for the average person. So while you may lose that 10 lbs in 30 days, this may not work for you long term.

posted Jan 4th, 2011 12:59 am


Cheri

Jillian, please help get me motivated

posted Jan 4th, 2011 12:07 am


suzie

Really? 2 meals with grilled chicken and green beans? Not having variety is one of the biggest reasons fail at their diet. Come on, there is 1000's of low-cal foods out there. Change it up a little.
Work out looks great!!!!!

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 11:25 pm


machoman

Can you give a vegan option for lunch and dinner instead of chicken

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 10:44 pm


Janie

Umm, can we say whiners??? What about this can't be accomplished by people with jobs? A 30 mins in the morning, 30 or so in the evening and a brief walk over your lunch break? I'd much rather split an hour of exercise in a day across two sessions. My VERY busy schedule w/ a baby and 60-hr/week job can accommodate that no problem. When your health and weight are a priority, you make the time, no matter what. I don't see anything wrong w/ this recommendation and would of course adjust here/there to best suit me. But the general guidance is solid.

As for the age question about being 80, articles like this are written pretty "general population."

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 9:38 pm


nalyd

why would you do abs every day on the workout? the abdominal is a muscle and after being stressed needs to rest for at least one day to recover. The building of muscle happens on this recovery day. you dont do arms and back everyday so why would you do abs?

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 8:20 pm


huh

is this a sample routine for the unemployed? When does working fit into this schedule?

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 8:01 pm


Hana

So basically don't have a life anymore because your to busy training all day long. And your reward for all the hard work is chicken and beans twice a day really inspiring thanks!

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 7:55 pm


Eve

Sure this regimen (sample routine) would work for someone who might not be employed outside the home for those 30 days or doesn't have a family...but realistically...not gonna happen!

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 7:39 pm


Betty Snow

Staying off the scale...is number one. Eating clean foods and one light snack after 6. Beware, if you drive to work and stop for the donut as usual. However, until you lose the extra 5-12 pounds you put on...try not to starve which will fool your body that you already lost the weight after weighing in and then out 3 days later. The scale, starving and sticking to excessive workouts will guarantee extra weight in the long run. Five pounds a month of weight is reasonable. From Thanksgiving pies to the New Year's bubbly or dry...that is the amount of weight we on the average begin our..Festivus..as George Costanza would say.

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 7:16 pm


susan

ok here's the deal....ANYONE could lose weight thisway of course. Beans, chicken and water??? The amazing thing is that people actually believe gunk like this....how to screw up your system really fast...LOL

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 7:11 pm


Amy

This is exactly what I have been looking for. A plain and simple easy routine example without all the take this, drink that nonsense. Thanks :)

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 7:03 pm


Chris

Not the best regimen for those of us over 80 and riddled with arthritis.

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 6:40 pm


EMIL

I like it

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 6:36 pm


Celina B

Thanks... Good common sense always prevails! I will try it! :)

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 5:05 pm


ishu

Hi all

Thank for sharing this information. Take a proper diet with low calorie and healthy food is use full for loosing the weight.

posted Dec 29th, 2010 9:20 am



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account