Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Denise Austin’s Prescription for America to Get Energy

How many women do you know who aren’t tired? Work, kids, running a household and usually getting less than eight hours of sleep leaves most American women feeling like we drag our bodies around with us. We crave sleep like we crave chocolate, girls night out and five minutes alone. And of that list, chocolate’s usually the one craving we can quickly and easily satisfy.

Denise Austin, a renowned and beloved fitness expert, wants us all to have more energy, and she’s telling us how to do it in Get Energy! Empower Your Body, Love Your Life, a new book that released January 7, 2011. The book is filled with useful ideas to live a healthier, happier, more energetic life. But, it’s also filled with a lot of ideas that seem common sense on the surface that we tend to forget about.

For instance, good posture. Denise explains that it opens up your lungs and allows you to take deeper breaths. These deeper breaths introduce more oxygen to your body, and this gives you more energy. “If you’re slouched over, your lungs don’t have the capacity to take a good deep breath,” says Denise. “So that’s why sitting up nice and tall, suck in the gut, tighten up your tummy… zip up your abs… and that’s why you get a nice toned tummy.”

We had a chance to talk to Denise about Get Energy! Listen now as she explains the underestimated importance of circulation, how stretching can replace your morning coffee, why a 30-minute workout is just right, and the foods you need to fuel your day.

Continue reading to learn more and win a copy of Get Energy!

The book explains how to “revive in five” – they’re Denise’s five-minute breaks she wants us to take every hour on the hour. Getting up and moving out of a sitting position will improve circulation and give you more energy and improve alertness.

You can also use food for energy, and Denise explains that “water throughout the day is so important… it gets your body fighting dehydration because that’s when people feel tired.” Eating breakfast is also key, and it should have protein to sustain you (like an egg or yogurt) and good carbs that give you energy (banana, wheat toast or oatmeal).

“Thirty minutes is a perfect amount of time to get the heart rate up, burn some fat, tone some muscle and stretch too,” says Denise. The busy trainer and mom follows this regimen for herself, and she says it works! Each day she does something different. “At least three-four days a week I do a cardio workout to burn fat, condition the heart, and really get stamina and endurance for the day. The other couple of days I do toning and stretching.” By the end of the week, Denise says she’s hit all three important components of a well-balanced workout plan.

Get Energy Giveaway!

  • One reader will receive a copy of Get Energy.
  • One reader will receive a copy of Get Energy PLUS a three-pack of Denise’s fitness DVDs: Quickburn Cardio, Hot Body Yoga, and Shrink Your Fat Zones Pilates.

To enter… leave a comment here telling us how you energize during the day!

This giveaway has ended.

Winners contacted. (Angela S. and Nicole L.)

*DISCLAIMER: Only residents of the U.S. are eligible to win. DietsInReview.com will draw two winners January 31, 2011 and will notify winners via the email used in the comment form. One winner will receive a copy of Get Energy (valued at $16.99); one winner will receive a copy of Get Energy and a three-pack of Denise Austin DVDs (valued at $60.00). Winners have five business days to respond and claim prize or forfeit prize. DietsInReview.com is not responsible for lost or stolen packages, nor failed shipments due to user providing incorrect address. DietsInReview.com may replace the prize with one of equal value if prize is not available. Prize is not redeemable for cash.

Buy the Book or see our Get Energy review.

January 10th, 2011

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 35 total comments)

euegene smith

love hereing results from others and how they stay healthy plans

posted Feb 9th, 2011 2:15 am


Colleen Stadnick

I just take a little walk

posted Jan 31st, 2011 7:59 pm


Happi Shopr

A healthy snack of avocado and walnuts

posted Jan 31st, 2011 7:15 pm


Debbie

Walk on the treadmill and then a diet coke

posted Jan 31st, 2011 6:51 pm


suzannejc

Take a walk

posted Jan 31st, 2011 6:50 pm


susan smoaks

i get up and walk around at work to get some energy

posted Jan 31st, 2011 5:26 pm


Audrey M

I take cold showers. Thanks

posted Jan 31st, 2011 2:47 pm


216amyc

Usually I drink coffee or 5 hour Energy. It works for a short time.

posted Jan 31st, 2011 2:45 pm


Stephanie Bruce

I get a little boost of energy each day by exercising for 15 to 20 minutes. With a injured back I cant do much but it helps a little

posted Jan 31st, 2011 1:23 pm


Bianca

I live in California, anytime I need to energize I just go outside and the weather instantly energizes me

posted Jan 31st, 2011 7:29 am


Rebecca L

exercise keeps me energetic!

posted Jan 31st, 2011 2:00 am


Lori

I exercise at least 30 minutes every morning, I may start off dragging, but by the end I'm awake and energized!

posted Jan 30th, 2011 11:51 am


rebecca hackett

I usually have a fruit & whey protein smoothie for energy.

posted Jan 29th, 2011 9:09 pm


Daniel M

get up, move around!

posted Jan 28th, 2011 10:33 pm


Jill Myrick

Half way through my day is when I start to fizzle. So I normally make a quick pick me up shake for an afternoon snack that seems to help quite a bit.

posted Jan 28th, 2011 8:30 pm


userfile
jj138

I drink lots of water thru the day and I started vitamins a few months ago which seems to help me alot.

posted Jan 28th, 2011 4:39 pm


Jeaneen Richard

I really like this

posted Jan 23rd, 2011 10:50 pm


Glenda S.

A glass of ice water will usually perk me up, but sometimes it takes a 10 minute nap to help me recover enough to get on with my late afternoon commitments.

posted Jan 23rd, 2011 2:01 am


Sylvia

I just started a new diet. I am drinking a lot more water and walking more

posted Jan 22nd, 2011 7:45 pm


kathy pease

i walk on the treadmill it really raises my energy level

posted Jan 21st, 2011 6:59 pm


ashley

i find that keeping a positive attitude helps me stay energized

posted Jan 18th, 2011 5:27 am


Margaret Konczal

I go for a walk and have a cup of coffee.

posted Jan 17th, 2011 4:35 pm


konny church

I start te day by working out at the Y.

posted Jan 17th, 2011 4:22 pm


Alissa

feeling better energy denise austin excrsie work out

posted Jan 15th, 2011 1:49 pm


TJ

I drink A LOT of water. Double benefits -- I stay hydrated, and it ensures I take walking breaks to the bathroom and back!

posted Jan 14th, 2011 10:09 pm


HealthyLoserGal / Jan

I keep fresh fruit with me every day in case I need a boost of energy and also make sure I stay hydrated! :)

posted Jan 14th, 2011 9:11 pm


userfile
Angela Snipes

Almonds! A quick energizing snack!

posted Jan 13th, 2011 3:48 pm


jolene

i drink water when I need some more energy, the cold reinvigorates me!

posted Jan 12th, 2011 7:39 pm


faron moreno

I go for a brisk walk to get my heart rate up and drink a warm cup of tea. Sometimes I like an apple with cheese or peanut/almond butter. Thank you!

posted Jan 12th, 2011 1:55 pm


Danielle

I love trying new things to boost my energy, but more importantly I love trying new things that are natural. I read in an article a month ago that ginger is a great ingredient to add to drinks to boost metabolism. I create my own fruit/veggie energy mix at home and include a decent amount of fresh ginger (I put it through a juicer). It's a great energy booster for me and it takes delicious!

posted Jan 12th, 2011 7:50 am


Holly

I take a piece of fruit to work with my lunch that I can eat about 3;00, that is when I feel like I need a boost. I got up from my desk take a quick walk for my break and come back and eat my fruit. I instantly feel better.

posted Jan 12th, 2011 2:46 am


ian

I energize by doing some cardio every day. I find the boost and benefit lasts all day.

posted Jan 11th, 2011 8:47 pm


kendra

thanks for the contest--try to exercise and drink lots water

posted Jan 11th, 2011 3:51 am


nicole

I drink smoothies for a big boost on energy.

posted Jan 10th, 2011 10:16 pm


Jennifer B.

I work out at the gym.

posted Jan 10th, 2011 10:04 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account