Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Biggest Loser Behind the Scenes Q&A with Amanda Arlauskas

Now is your chance to have the burning questions you’ve always wondered about answered by our Biggest Loser Correspondent and former Biggest Loser contestant, Amanda Arlauskas.

Questions about the ranch and show, fitness, diet, or just about Amanda? Just leave your questions below in the comments form of this post. Amanda will regularly select questions posted below and answer in a video.

Danny Cahill Behind the Scenes: Biggest Loser Behind The Scenes with Danny Cahill. Watch as Danny talks about gaining water weight, getting your “burn in” and more

Amanda’s Answers Part 11: Preparing and packaging food for the week ahead, managing the ups and downs of weight loss maintenance and why Amanda loves Larabars!

Amanda’s Answers Part 10: Why the contestants change their weigh-in outfits, what supplements are allowed on the ranch and more!

Amanda’s Answers Part 9: The questions turn personal! Amanda’s new outlook on dating and what Bob & Jillian really think about resting!

Amanda’s Answers Part 8: How to make healthy choices on a budget and how to stay motivated even on down days.

Amanda’s Answers Part 7: How contestants are compensated, what a high calorie day is like, what kind of downtime is there at the ranch and contestant access to counselors.

Amanda’s Answers Part 6: How to deal with a food aversion like fish, Amanda’s take on artificial sweeteners, the benefits of a high-calorie day, and Amanda’s career goals in the fitness/nutrition industry.

Amanda’s Answers Part 5: How to get fit for Spring Break, how beneficial the Body Bugg is, how illnesses are treated on the ranch and affect workouts, and if they get to use music on the ranch.

Amanda’s Answers Part 4: Favorite health foods, hours upon hours of working out at the ranch, and keeping in touch with fellow Biggest Loser contestants.

Amanda’s Answers Part 3: Dealing with soreness, handling the constant cameras on the ranch, and working out without a gym.

Amanda’s Answers Part 2: Calorie consumption by contestants, what happens to the eliminated contestants, and what about the sugar in fruit.

Amanda’s Answers Part 1: Interview schedules, cameras, excess skin and surgery, and eating healthy while feeling full.

Get Amanda’s answers each week in the Biggest Loser Newsletter.

January 13th, 2010

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 92 total comments)

Callie

Amanda, what eyeliner do you use? I was always admiring how it stayed on under strenuous workouts? I need to buy it! Mine doesn't last when I'm working out.

posted Sep 8th, 2010 1:09 pm


Jordana

Hey Amanda! If you're still answering questions I would like to know, were you and anybody else on the ranch directed to say certain things or act a certain way, if not scripted, like product placements or how to act on camera to develop a certain view on your 'character'?

posted Jul 30th, 2010 3:52 am


Emilia

When you were working out 6-8 hrs a day on the ranch, how did you manage your food intake during or between the workouts? Did you eat snacks to be able to continue with the intensity and if so, what did you eat? Can you really just take in 1200 calories a day and still burn 6000 without getting ravenously hungry before the day is done? (I cannot manage even a smaller differential). Did this vary amongst contestants or over time (i.e. does it get easier or tougher over time to do this day after day)?

posted Jun 28th, 2010 9:04 pm


emma

Have you stoped answer questions?

If not then I too would like to know about bteh workouts. How did the workout change from the firdst week to the first month, to the last...How is it phisically possible to work out 8h a day every day. Its just amazing to me. What woiuld a day look like. I have lots of time to spend in the gym, but I wouldent even know what to do for 8h in the gym :-D Now 8h may not be realistic, but lets say 3h a couple of days a week.

posted Jun 13th, 2010 1:42 pm


Dee

I have a hard time losing weight if I go by the regular food pyramid due to the carbs. Was anyone carb sensitive and what type of "diet" were they put on... diets with decreased carbs?

posted May 13th, 2010 10:59 am


Rena

Hi Amanda, I was hoping you could explain what your workouts where like. How did you from 0 workouts to 6 to 8 hours a day. When you first started out do you remember how long you where on the treadmill and what pace you where going?

posted May 13th, 2010 10:15 am


Evie

Hi amanda,
I am a huge fan of the biggest loser and I would really like to kno if you or bob ever thought about being in a relationship.?

posted May 5th, 2010 7:16 pm


JJ

How long after your last chance workout did you weigh-in? Wouldn't contestants not drink enough water before the weigh-in to make their numbers higher?

posted May 4th, 2010 12:00 am


Paula

What exactly is meant by 'reaching your burn'? I hear Jillian asking the contestants that a lot and am curious for an explanation.
Thanks

posted May 1st, 2010 7:42 pm


Denise

Hi Amanda!!! My question is that when contsestants go home they usually look for a personal trainer to train them. How do you/they go about finding a "Bob or Jillian" in their hometown. I myself was intersted in getting a trainner but dont know how to go about finding a "Great" trainner who knows what they are doing.
Thanks Denise!

posted Apr 28th, 2010 9:08 pm



JaxC

Hi Amanda. A question for your weekly Q&A!

Can you tell me what your max target heart rate percentage was when you did your daily cardio (i.e homework set by the trainers) while on campus. The cardio/treadmill stuff we see on the show looks to be mainly high intensity/interval training, but I'm assuming its lower intensity (60% MHR?) for the 2-3 hrs of cardio you do on your own time?

posted Apr 26th, 2010 1:02 pm


ofelia

Please do an episode about the workouts. How could a day look like? And how was it possible to go from 0h traning to 8h a day. How long did it take to get to that much excerise? Did you have different days when it comes to strength traning, did you have arm day, leg day etc? How did you manage to not get overtranined.

Iam so exsited to learn more about this topic!

Thanks
?sa

posted Apr 25th, 2010 2:32 pm


Kim

How many calories di you eat a day & how many did you burn on the ranch?

posted Apr 22nd, 2010 6:09 pm


Elizabeth

Hey Amanda!

When a contestant is eliminated, are they provided with a personal trainer at home or do they have to find and pay for one on their own?

Thanks!

posted Apr 22nd, 2010 12:07 pm


Leticia

Amanda,

You were a huge motivator for me on my own journey! Thanks for sharing your journey with us and still being an inspiration to me!

What is your take on Larabars? What's your favorite kind? Is there another bar that you would suggest?

posted Apr 17th, 2010 2:59 pm


Shelly

Hey Amanda, this is awsome and I am likeing this alot. Thanks for sharing. Can you tell us a little bit about how the help you to learn to package your food when you precook?

posted Apr 14th, 2010 9:15 am



Devin

What do you eat for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks for exampe?

posted Apr 13th, 2010 1:26 pm


shellsberight

Hey Amanda,
Quick question - On the current Biggest Loser (and I think previous series) do the contestants all of a sudden (actually this happened this week) switch from showing their stomachs (and with the men, their whole chests) with the weigh-in, to wearing singlets?
Personally I like it better (and they must do too!), because for some there must be a lot of excess skin in that region... I know I wouldn't want to show mine!
Cheers :)
Shelley

posted Apr 10th, 2010 5:57 am



Desiree Anderson

Hi Amanda,

This may be very off topic but I really wanna buy a Biggest Loser Shirt and ofcourse I want it in my favorite color *pink* but I cant seem to find them anywhere online...would you happen to know where I could buy it at??? Thank you in advance!!!

Desiree

posted Apr 7th, 2010 4:25 pm


ofelia

Hi again Amanda :-)
Did you take any suppliments on the ranch? proteinpoweder? Vitamines? Any fatburning -foods or pills?

posted Apr 7th, 2010 10:29 am


ofelia

Hi Amanda,

I have been trying to serach/get the answer to this question for a really long time...
- How did you build up to be able to workout for 6-8h a day?
Were there shore
ter workouts in the beginning and then adding more minutes everyday? How would the workout change from the first weeks to the ones later on? Did you do strengthtraining everyday,working different muscles each day? Were the workouts cutomized to each person or did you all do about the same work out?

I would really like to step my workouts up and longer them, bit Iam donr after 45 min. so I am really intressted in how you did it,,, :-)

Thanks
Ofelia

posted Apr 7th, 2010 10:15 am



RangerChic

Hey Amanda! Having lost 75lbs myself between September 28, 2008 and June 2009, I still have fears. Specifically, I fear not knowing how many calories are in a particular food - I refuse to eat anything I can't at least estimate the calories of. My body image problems are mostly gone, but I do have days where I feel like that "fat girl" again. Basically, I'm just curious with how you are dealing with the doubts and hurdles along the maintenance journey. It's not easy! I guess it's something we will always have to deal with for the rest of our lives.

posted Apr 2nd, 2010 1:46 pm


lindsey v

how has your dating life changed from before, and now after the show? anyone special in your life?

posted Apr 2nd, 2010 1:31 pm



Michelle Gonzalez

Hey Amanda I am trying to lose 8 pounds a week so I'm wondering how many calories do I have to burn a day to achieve this goal. And also I was wondering what level and incline on the treadmill does everyone use to run on the treadmill at the ranch..

posted Mar 31st, 2010 8:35 pm


katie

I would like to know what you eat to quench your sweet tooth (everyone has one). I would also like to know your suggestions as HOW to overcome the feeling of wanting more and to develope a strong portion control habit.

posted Mar 31st, 2010 4:15 pm


Alyssa

Hey Amanda! What would you suggest for a diet/workout plan for college girls/students that are constantly on the run?

posted Mar 31st, 2010 2:02 pm


Emma

Amanda, I am 19 years old and 225 pounds. I want so badly to lose just 20 pounds even (mostly in my hips). I work out reguarlly, and yes i make myself sweat hardcore. I think its the eating that is a problem. I work and go to school 24/7 and also on top of not having time i cant cook worth a flip. I try to eat healthy but its hard and i dont know where to start. i HATE veggies. what should i do? Also, is V8 juice good for you?

posted Mar 31st, 2010 12:18 pm



JimmyC

Hey guys, what is up with those WHACK product placement tips. Ziplock freezer bags, the gum. Did you feel cheesy for participating in those?

posted Mar 31st, 2010 11:01 am


Mandi

Hey Amanda... I've heard some mixed things about sugar. Is there a good recommended daily value of sugar if you're trying to lose weight for a woman? Do you limit sugar?

posted Mar 31st, 2010 10:50 am


Kayla Sawyer

Hi Amanda you have truly inspired me, to date I have lost 50lbs and going...I have bought the body bugg but I am wondering what your burn each day was inorder to loose your 5-6 pounds each week?

posted Mar 30th, 2010 11:17 pm



danbdan

Hi Amanda and Danny!

We all know how hard you had to workout at the BL Ranch. I would like to know if your trainers ever enforced a day of rest at any point (aside from being injured). Were all of you ever told that you must take a day without exercise?

Also, was the consumption of green tea encouraged on the ranch?

Thanks!

- Dan B.
Columbia, Maryland

posted Mar 30th, 2010 10:40 pm


Christina

Hey Amanda!
I know Jillian says she allows herself to eat I think like 250 calories of chocolate or whatever she wants every day. Do you ever allow yourself to have something sweet? Or have cheat days?

And Danny.. Has your weight loss changed the lifestyle of your wife and kids?

: )
Christina

posted Mar 30th, 2010 9:30 pm


Amanda A

Hope this hasn't already been asked, but here goes. Are protein bars an essential part of the workout process? Are they supposed to be eaten at the beginning of the day or before a workout? What should I be looking for in an energy/protein bar?

posted Mar 30th, 2010 8:24 pm


Ranee

How do you find the time to fit it all in? By the end of the day, I'm tired and don't have the energy to work out.

posted Mar 30th, 2010 7:55 pm


Michele Conner

I would like to know a healthy alternative to salt? And I love peanuts but I get migraines from anything with peanuts and I notice that on the BL they eat a lot of items with nuts, what is a good alternative? And would you ever consider posting some of the recipes on this site or on your facebook?
Hope that you are doing better from your bobby pin incident.. What a GREAT uncle Danny is to you :)

posted Mar 30th, 2010 7:04 pm


Rachel

What are a couple things that keep you motivated to exercise? There have to be some down days, so what do you do on those days?

posted Mar 12th, 2010 8:25 am


Lilli

Hey Amanda,

I'm a college student and cooking for myself is really unrealistic. Do you have any quick, easy ideas for low cal meals?

posted Mar 11th, 2010 10:55 am


Katie H

Hi Amanda!
I am currently a college student and I am having troubles with finding healthy food to eat in our cafeteria. I cannot afford to buy my own food right now so I am limited to what they have to offer. My question is that since we don't have a good selection (not ripe and turning brown) fruits and vegetables to eat how can I still manage to eat healthy? It is hard to eat off of the salad bar because it is the same everyday and most of the time the things in it are prepackaged and/ or not fresh.

posted Mar 11th, 2010 4:14 am


FBG Jenn

Hi Amanda --

What a cool feature! We had a Fit Bottomed Girls' reader ask about a high-calorie day. Did you have a high-calorie day on the ranch? And if so, was this your off day from exercise, too? And how many calories is high-calorie?

Thanks!
Jenn

posted Mar 10th, 2010 7:57 am


Amanda H

any tips for people applying for biggest loser? you have been through the process so can you give us some inside info? :)

posted Mar 9th, 2010 10:10 pm


Amanda H

Amanda,
What kind of foods do they keep in stock for you on the ranch?

What things happen at the ranch that aren't on camera? What goes on in down time? Do you guys get to go out into the real world ever?

Who are your picks for season 9?

Amanda

posted Mar 9th, 2010 8:43 pm


Arin

How can people afford to go on the biggest loser? How can they leave their jobs for months at a time? How are they paying their bills while on the show?

posted Mar 3rd, 2010 12:57 pm


Lisa

Hi Amanda,
I have been thinking a lot about my weight loss issues and I believe a lot of it is mental. Did you all have access to counselors while on the ranch? If so, were they helpful?

posted Mar 2nd, 2010 7:25 pm


Emily

Hey Amanda!

So, do they make you eat certain foods on the ranch? What if a person just cannot eat fish? Would they work around that? Or are picky eaters just out of luck? haha.

Also, how many people did you have to share a bathroom with?

I hope your foot is feeling better!

posted Feb 26th, 2010 12:05 am


Kristy

Thanks for answering my last question!

I have another one - what is your take on artificial sweeteners?

posted Feb 25th, 2010 3:08 pm


Lilli

You mention on your twitter a 'high calorie day' being Sundays. What does this mean? Should all dieters be doing it?

posted Feb 25th, 2010 8:34 am


Maggie

Hi Amanda! I've lost quite a bit of weight over the past year by exercising and keeping calories at 1200-1300 per day. Should I stay at this amount of calories for maintenance or increase to 1600-1700 which is the correct amount of maintenance calories for my body weight?

Thanks, and well done you! (:

Maggie
Ruth

posted Feb 24th, 2010 4:57 pm


Kristen

Hey Amanda - a lot of biggest loser contestants get into personal training, and I was just wondering if you were planning on getting involved in that field?

posted Feb 24th, 2010 4:21 pm


Sarah B

How many hours a day do you spend working out

posted Feb 24th, 2010 12:46 pm



Rhonda Chevalier

Not sure if you will know the answer to this question but hey it is worth a shot. I have maintained my weight for about 5 years. About 5 months ago I started putting on weight (doctors figure it may have been from a medication I was on) I can't seem to get this weight back off. I figure it must be like a person trying to push a plateau - weight has leveled off now - just not coming down. Watching what I eat, exercising regularly, getting my water intake - any other suggestions?

By the way I loved you on the BL - great inspiration!

posted Feb 22nd, 2010 6:31 pm


Edwina

Will the Biggest Looser ever have a season for over weight special needs adults?

posted Feb 12th, 2010 12:40 am


Leeann

Amanda,

First of all I absolutely love you and you inspire me because I am the same age as you, and I weigh the same as you did when you started and I as well have been overweight my entire life. I've tried diets many times and I always end up giving up...but this time I'm serious to lose the weight because I'm going off to college and moving out and I want to finally get my life on track to open new doors.

But my question is:
Did you like the bodybugg? Do you recommend buying it? It seems like a really good device and could be pretty helpful but it's a bit expensive so I'm just wondering do you think it's worth the purchase or not. And, do you still use it today to maintain your weight?

thanks :)

posted Feb 9th, 2010 11:16 pm


Nikki

Do you read any food blogs on a regular basis online? What about Hungry Girl? Do you follow her?

posted Feb 9th, 2010 12:35 pm



Terri S

Hi Amanda,

I always hear about the contestants eating fish, egg whites, and almonds, etc., especially for their protein needs. Do you know what would be other alternatives if someone has an allergy to those foods? Thank you.

posted Feb 8th, 2010 11:56 am


Chrisi H

Did you or anyone else on the ranch experience illness (colds etc) while on campus? If so, how did your routines differ while you were sick?

posted Feb 8th, 2010 11:56 am


alexandria a.

I wonder after the show is all over do you still keep in contact with your fellow contestants to keep each other supported and encouraged? and also do Bob or Jillian keep in touch with you after its all over, even if its just a random drop a line to see how you're doing?

posted Feb 4th, 2010 1:33 pm


Dan

Hi Amanda!
I've heard that contestants eat around 1200 calories for women, and about 1800 for men. Are those totals gross or net? For instance, if Bernie ate 1800 calories on a certain day, but burned 800 calories exercising, would he then have an additional 800 calories to eat? Or, is that 1800 a gross total - that's it, no more food for the day when you hit that number?
Thanks!

posted Feb 4th, 2010 12:19 am


Nicole

Ok I have a few questions. How many calories do the contestants burn a day? I read somewhere that they keep junk food around to tempt you is that true? I also read that they weigh you in before the actual weigh in that we see is that true?

posted Feb 3rd, 2010 9:32 pm


Linda Leavens

How many hours a day do you exercise? Is there a certain amount of calories you have to burn each day?

posted Feb 3rd, 2010 6:53 pm


Elizabeth

On the biggest loser, it seems as though you guys are just working out without TV or music or anything. Do you really workout without any motivation like that? If not - what are some of your favorite workout songs?

posted Feb 3rd, 2010 2:35 pm


Kristy

Hey Amanda! What are some of your favorite food finds for dieting? Like low cal but great taste? I can always use more!

posted Feb 3rd, 2010 2:34 pm


Chauna

My question is how do you breathe when exercising. i could go alot longer and alot further if i knew how to properly breathe while exercising.

posted Jan 28th, 2010 1:50 am



durell v

Hi Amanda,
I have always wondered... since day one that you guys arrive on the ranch its seems like you are go go go with working out and being active. How does everyone handle the muscle soreness? Obviously people have to get sore if they arent working out as their bodies arent used to it. Thats why they have come to the ranch right. Just curious if theres been times when someone is soooo sore they cant do anything and how is it handled?
Your an inspiration keep up the good work :) **Editor's Note: This questioned answered here.**

posted Jan 27th, 2010 9:18 pm


Lola

Hi Amanda,

I first started watching BL during your season and loved your transformation from a frustrated , unhappy person to a confident, glowing, young woman.

The show is very educational on food (nutrition, portion control, etc.), but I'm
wondering if there is ever any discussion or education of alcohol and its effects on weight and health? Is there a ban in the BL house? Do you drink alcohol?

Thanks! Keep up the great work!

posted Jan 27th, 2010 5:10 pm


Lulu

Amanda, would you mind telling us your current weight?
Besides the weight loss, how has being on The Biggest Loser changed your daily life?

posted Jan 27th, 2010 4:01 pm


patty herbert

Amanda you were my favorite and I am wondering are you doing ok keeping the weight off #BL9

posted Jan 26th, 2010 10:06 pm


Michelle

Hey Amanda,

I am a recent college grad, and with the economy being the way it is, I dont have a ton of money to spend on a gym. Is a gym really necessary for weight loss? Or are there at-home workout routines that are equally as effective? If a gym is really the best way to go, what are some key pieces of equipment that I should be looking for (other then the obvious treadmill).

Thanks for everything you do for us at this blog! Congratz on all of your success!! :)

**Editor's Note: This questioned answered here.**

posted Jan 26th, 2010 10:02 pm


Debra P

My question to Amanda is what was truly the hardest part about being on the Ranch. Good luck!

@MissingLynxx

posted Jan 26th, 2010 9:49 pm


Peg H.

My question is: Did you or any contestant ever get to work / talk with the trainers without having to worry about cameras in your face? **Editor's Note: This questioned answered here.**

posted Jan 26th, 2010 9:21 pm


Darlene

Hi Amanda! Loved you on BL8! My question is, why is it that part of the way through BL, the guys start leaving their shirts on during weigh in? It happens every BL.

posted Jan 26th, 2010 9:11 pm



Ron Estrada

I love this. Thanks, Amanda! I always wondered: do the eliminated players really leave immediately? **Editor's Note: This questioned answered here.**

posted Jan 21st, 2010 7:30 pm


asimplemonk

Hi Amanda!
What you did and continue to do is a fantastic service to all of us on a diet! (or just trying to eat better). My question is the use of the BodyBugg that you all used. What do you think of it and what targets on it did you all set? Again thank you for all you have been doing to inspire both young (my teen daughters) and old (myself) regarding health.

posted Jan 20th, 2010 8:02 pm


Dori Rhine

I need help with portion sizes chicken meat and fish should be about 4 ozs. but how much fruit and what type can you eat in a day? The veggies you can probably have unlimited is that right?
Thanks Amanda! **Editor's Note: This questioned answered here.**

posted Jan 20th, 2010 6:47 pm


Eileen

I've always wondered how the change in exercise and diet affects your digestion on The Biggest Loser. Do people find they become more "regular"? I've read that processed foods, sugar, soda, etc. makes the digestion very difficult and sluggish. Do you see a marked difference in those first few weeks?

posted Jan 20th, 2010 4:06 pm


chris

Congrats on everything. I was wondering if you have seen the comercials for P90X if so I wanted to get your opinion on it. Trying to come up with a workout routine that is perfect.

I am about 65 lbs overweight and have been trying to come up with a good plan. I had a knee injury this summer that really hampered my commitment to workingout. I try to do an hour of cardio on the elipictcal atleast 3 days a week.

so what are your opinions on p90x and do you have advice in making my workout plan?

Thanks,
Chris

posted Jan 19th, 2010 3:31 pm


Frankie

Hi Amanda! First of all I would like to say that you are a complete Inspiration to me. I'm 27 years old and 268 lbs. I have not been overweight my whole life, but I've had Issues and health problems that have complicated my weight all in the last 7 years. My husband wants me to try to be a contestant on the show, but I really feel like I can't put myself out there. Besides having my weight, hormones, asthma, just to name a few. I cant jog for 3 minutes without an inhaler... It makes me afraid of myself, I just cant seem to believe in myself enough, I don't feel strong enough mentally... I'm telling you this because I want you to know that, that is the reason you inspired me. You found the courage in yourself, you found a way to believe that you COULD do this, to keep going. I hope that I can follow in your footsteps. I want to gain that spark I saw in you, the day that you believed in yourself. I'm super proud of you. I'm crying everyday but I'm trying, I got a gym membership and cleaned out my pantry, trying to see a dietitian. Any tips for me? or others like me, that are just trying to believe they can do it too? at what point do I stop saying "I cant." You are such a great person, if I hadn't watched you struggle with yourself, I don't think I would have spent that hour walking the treadmill tonight =) Thank you!!!

posted Jan 19th, 2010 1:27 am


Brittany

Hey Amanda

I've always wondered how many calories you eat while your on the ranch because of the high intensity workout. Along with how many hours a day you spent in the gym!

Thanks Britt! **Editor's Note: This questioned answered here.**

posted Jan 14th, 2010 4:14 am



WebGoddess

Thanks for taking our questions Amanda :)

I have been wondering, when you're on the ranch how much time to spend on camera talking about what you just did, such as challenge, workout, weigh-in, elimination? It seems about half of the show is people making comments that get interjected during these events where you explain your perspective of what is going on, kind of getting into your head. Do all those interviews get annoying, like talking about how nervous you are about a weigh in and how you were feeling at some particular moment of a challenge? Do you have to try to hide certain emotions like if you just lost a challenge but you have to talk about it as if you're in the middle of doing the challenge without giving off spoilers?

Also does it get on your nerves doing the lame product placement where you're exhausted from working out for six hours and then you have to pretend to be excited or surprised when Bob pops in with a plug for Extra Gum or Jill wants to explain to you how fantastic Brita is? It always seems that the product placements are so fake and forced, what is it like having to participate in that? **Editor's Note: This question answered here.**

posted Jan 14th, 2010 3:19 am


Stephenie

As far as being a contestant on the Biggest Loser, how did stress on the ranch that wasn't necessarily shown to the viewers impact your desire to continue to work out and accomplish your weight loss goals?

posted Jan 13th, 2010 11:38 pm


priscilla

My question for Amanda is, going from someone who is obese to someone who is so thin and healthy- that initial shock to your body, the drastic reduction in calories, the hours of exercise, how did you deal with the hunger? Was it overbearing and if so what did you do to help keep you motivated and on track?

I have a hard time of fighting the fact that my body is used to consuming 2500+ calories a day. I get overwhelmingly hungry and I don't know how to fix it. **Editor's Note: This questioned answered here.**

posted Jan 13th, 2010 11:27 pm


Ashley A

Hey Amanda,
I don't know how anyone could live being filmed constantly. How did you feel about that? How long did it take for you to adjust? **Editor's Note: This question answered here.**

posted Jan 13th, 2010 11:27 pm


Laura V

Hi Amanda,
I would like to know information on workouts to get sculpted arms. I am not sure if you can work the same muscles two days in a row and if you can how many days can you work your arms in your routine for the day? I do the Jillian Michaels 30 day shred and I would also like to concentrate on a separate arm workout . Could you let me know how to go about getting fit arms and also if you need to up protein in your diet. etc. Thank you for you time. I really appreciate it! - Laura

posted Jan 13th, 2010 11:23 pm


Donnadee06

Hi, Amanda! I have been so inspired by all the contestants, past and present on The Biggest Loser. I do have a question that I have seen asked before, but never have seen a response. After such a dramatic weight loss, what can be done to minimize the loose skin. You know the turkey gullet neck, the bat wing underarms and belly that has to be tucked into your belt. I have lost 150 pounds over the past year due to a very successful gastric bypass procedure and 2-2 1/2 hours in the gym 5 or 6 times a week. But I don't have the money for plastic surgery. Will the exercise eventually get rid of any of this?

posted Jan 13th, 2010 4:35 pm


Jack

What was the hardest work out on the ranch?

posted Jan 13th, 2010 3:26 pm



heather

Hi Amanda!

Even though you are still riding on high on your weight loss success, what do you do when a craving for one of your pre-Biggest Loser favorite meals hits? Do you have any new favorite and healthy food swaps or recipe makeovers to satisfy your need for a cheeseburger, chocolate, or whatever your pre-weight loss go-to foods were?

Thanks so much!
Heather

posted Jan 13th, 2010 2:28 pm



AmyC

Hey Amanda....love the recaps and seeing you post Biggest Loser with such great success!!

I would love to hear about what the main differences in style are for training between bob and jillian. You clearly had a really strong bond with bob throughout the season but being in the gym with the two of them at the time, what was the biggest difference in style/impact?

Can't wait to hear all your responses!!

posted Jan 13th, 2010 2:26 pm



AbbeyMeyer

I want to know how many hours you actually worked out at the ranch each day and what the reality is now that you're home. Thanks for the oportuinty to ask!!

posted Jan 13th, 2010 2:24 pm



Jason

Hi Amanda,

How hard was it to leave the close relationships you forged while on the Biggest Loser campus? Also, was it difficult for you to adjust to new mentors or trainers after being so close to Bob?

posted Jan 13th, 2010 1:47 pm



Brooke Randolph

Hi, Amanda. Welcome to DIR!

What did you learn about yourself while on your Biggest Loser journey?

posted Jan 13th, 2010 1:19 pm



JimmyC

You have had such an amazing transformation since you started on the show. You must get stopped on the street all the time!

What is the biggest difference in the relationships with your friends and family compared to pre-biggest loser? Are you discussing health related issues more? More importantly has your weight loss strained any relationships with people that are still struggling on their own journey? How do you deal with that?

I apologize for the multiple questions in a question! Can't wait to hear your answers!

Jim

posted Jan 13th, 2010 12:54 pm



Brian C

Hi Amanda!

Do you have any tricks for helping with self-discipline? I know what to eat and how to get fit but I struggle to actually do it.

Thanks!

posted Jan 13th, 2010 12:51 pm



shelfish

Awesome. This is why I love DietsInReview.com.

posted Jan 13th, 2010 12:48 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account