Diets in Review - Find the Right Diet for You

Alison Sweeney Introduces The Mommy Diet

Moms are a special breed. They do it all, and then some more, and rarely complain and hardly ever ask for anything in return. What happens in all of this psuedo-superwoman-esque-ness is that they give up a lot of themselves in order to care for a household, the children in it, the spouse, and the hundred other people and things that demand their attention each day.

Alison Sweeney is one of those moms. She has two kids, two jobs, an adoring husband, and, let’s be honest, what from the outside appears to be a pretty fabulous life. But brass tacks, she’s still a mom trying to do everything she can to maintain and manage. So, she wrote The Mommy Diet.

The book is supposed to help all these superwomen do it all AND do some for themselves, too. It’s all about getting fit and staying that way before, during and after pregnancy… even if it’s several years after.

I had a chance to speak with Alison about her new book, during a break from Biggest Loser 10 finale rehearsals. She’s excited about the book, and should be, because there’s a lot of information in there women… moms… need to hear.

The book “tells the whole story,” says Alison, about covering every aspect of life before, during and after pregnancy. It’s for those moms-to-be who need to get fit to be pregnant, those moms trying to have a healthy nine months, and those moms who are ready to shed the baby weight and reclaim their figures (and lives!).

The book is very anecdotal, offering a glimpse into the real-life Ali Sweeney, who she is as a mom, and the relationship with her husband, Dave. She is open and honest about her own pregnancies, and the differences between the two for her older, Ben, and her youngest, Megan. “It was completely different,” she says about her second pregnancy. “I was way more informed about what is good nutrition, how to exercise, what different options are out there for you.” Because of all of this, she says she “gained less weight and lost it way faster” the second time around.

Ali discusses five important elements of a woman’s life in each of the three sections of the book: fashion, food, fitness, relationships and self-care. “Self-care is the easiest to let go of… once you’ve let go everything else is going to be harder to maintain,” says Alison. She encourages women to do little things and big things to make themselves look and feel beautiful, healthy and strong.

“Women need to be validated that it’s OK to paint your toenails, get a facial, or even just take a longer shower,” she says. She advises that women “Thank your body for how hard it worked for you… it makes you a better mom because you’re mentally there.”

Win an autographed copy of The Mommy Diet! Tell us the most important thing YOU do for YOURSELF. We’ll draw one winner on January 31, 2011.

This giveaway has ended. Winner Notified. (Camila C.)

*DISCLAIMER: Only residents of the U.S. are eligible to win. DietsInReview.com will draw one winner January 31, 2011 and will notify winner via the email used in the comment form. Winner has five business days to respond and claim prize or forfeit prize. DietsInReview.com is not responsible for lost or stolen packages, nor failed shipments due to user providing incorrect address. DietsInReview.com may replace the prize with one of equal value if prize is not available. Prize value is $24.00; not redeemable for cash.

January 4th, 2011

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 13 total comments)

bangorwife

My me time is going to my zumba class. It makes me feel better once i am done and I look forward to going to it every week. I would love to win this book, I haven't been able to afford it to buy it.

posted Jan 23rd, 2011 2:17 pm


monique


Everyone has a story. Call it a journey, an explanation, the reason we are who we are, but one thing is sure: there??s always more to a person than can be seen from the outside. My grandmother was sixty six years old before she died of colon cancer. she was my companion, my best friend, the light that pushed me to move forward every single day.the day she died, i was there, age 9, holding her hands and telling her to fight one last time. she told me to learn from her mistake and never do that to my body and life. my grandmother changed my life forever. NOW, i exercise every single day, eat healthy, take my dog out walking, enjoy peace by reading life changing novels, and volunteering at obesity institutes, and helping kids with diabetes.
to me, doing things for myself is worthless. id rather give all my time and energy to the people out there suffering with those unpreventable diseases. when i put a smile on a patients face, it brings me so much joy that i can change a persons life just by showing them that im there. MY GRANDMOTHER SHOWED ME THE VALUE OF LIFE! think of others before you think of yourself.



posted Jan 18th, 2011 1:03 am


TJ

I get up early to work out every morning!

posted Jan 14th, 2011 10:07 pm


Myrna

I volunteer time for causes close to my heart, like American Diabetes Association walks/runs. I also make great efforts to spend high quality time with friends and family. I also spoil myself sometimes by going to the theatre when I can!

posted Jan 14th, 2011 4:33 am


Susie Current

I try to make "me time" when life starts to get a little out of control. That normally includes a walk or a jog. I am about to be a new mom and that is what caught my interest about this book. I can use all the help I can get!

posted Jan 13th, 2011 3:52 pm


Rachel Alexander

What I do for myself is just be content with the state I am in. I have 40 pounds of pregnancy weight I had lost 30 then gained it back and my baby is almost 3!. It gets depressing if I think on it too much. I take long baths, sit in silence for mental detox or sit in the sauna and don't think about anything or think of loving thoughts about myself. I am now working out and seeing myself the weight I know I will acheive this year.

posted Jan 11th, 2011 2:50 pm


Donna Ryon

The most important thing I do for me is.I go in the bathroom and lock the door and run the bath water with a glass of wine.

posted Jan 10th, 2011 5:26 am


Camila

The thing I like to do for ME is buy clothes that fit. In my struggle to lose my baby weight, I find that I feel more motivated to keep dieting and exercising when my clothes fit just right. Sometimes I go through my shirts and find that some are too big and others too small. I just hope that one day ill fit into my pre-pregnancy clothes.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 6:29 pm


Jennifer Riddick

The one thing I do for myself is to evaluate my mental state. Nothing is as important as me, and if I find myself becoming overwhelmed, I take a break. This may be anything from getting out of the house for an afternoon even thought the cleaning is not done, or spending a little extra cuddle time in bed just so I can feel pampered. While all of the daily functions of life must be taken care of, no one else is going to stop you to give you a break if you do not do it for yourself. As a woman there is always something else that can be done, so I just feel it is important to steal a few moments when I feel too stressed because ultimately it helps me calm down and then I can work more effectianly without being overwhelmed.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 2:33 pm


katie h

For ME time, I take some time to read a book to destress and relax. Reading is something that I really enjoy. I also try to put the best/healthy food choices in my mouth that I can so that I can improve my healthy and diet

posted Jan 6th, 2011 7:07 pm


Susan

The most important thing I do for ME is make healthy eating choices. I've had a struggle with weight my entire life. I vowed after gaining 76 pds with my first pregnancy and tipping the scales at 267 pds that my son would never know I was that heavy. I never wanted him to think he had an option to be over weight. I want to be happy and confident and an inspiration not only to him but to everyone around me who has the same struggles. I've lost 111 pds in 4 years and it's been a struggle for sure but I'm so much healthier! We are now going to try for another baby since I've gotten healthier. I'm determined that this pregnancy WILL be different. it will be different because I refuse to make unhealthy eating choices :-).

posted Jan 5th, 2011 3:08 am


nickie

The most important thing I do for myself is spend one on one time with each of my 3 kids, my husband and myself, oopps don't forget the dog. I enjoy and stay in the moment with each one of them. When I take the One on One time for myself, it's at the gym, or getting that much needed pedicure. :0)

posted Jan 4th, 2011 5:17 pm


Samantha Riggio

My mom was diagnosed with diabetes 10 years ago. The doctor told her to go on a diet and start exercising and to watch what she eats. So I started to help my mom with her diet and I started to exercise with her. I then decided I did not want to become sick or get diabetes so I decided to do something great for myself, I started to eat in portions, and i joined the gym. Now I workout 3 /4 times 4/5 times a week, I also make it my duty to get on the treadmill or elliptical machine in the morning before I head to work.
The most important thing I do for myself is I workout, try to eat healthy, and try to stay fit for my own health.

posted Jan 4th, 2011 3:40 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account