GreenPeridot’s Diet Profile

Joined on November 30th, 2011

GreenPeridot’s Latest Activity

See full feed

About Me:

I'm married, and middle-aged. I live in Massachusetts.

The goals I'm working toward:

  • Once 2012 begins, I would like to begin to lose weight by eating 3 meals a day and getting back into exercise at the gym, starting with 2-3x a week.
  • Cooking meals at home more often.
  • Baking my own lowfat, healthy deserts

I haven't felt comfortable with my weight since:

In the last 15 years.

My favorite healthy food:

Grilled vegetables, couscous, yogurt & low fat granola, hummus & pita bread, Filet Mignon, Sirloin Steak, mangos, papayas, oranges, fresh pineapple, blueberries, strawberries, reduced fat frozen yogurt.

My guiltiest pleasure:

ice cream, chocolate, candy, baked goods (doughnuts, cookies, cake, etc)

I'm inspired to live a healthy life because:

I want to be able wear a sexy cocktail dress, bathing suit, & lingerie. I want to be able to grow old with my husband. I want the stamina to be able to play tennis, sail, canoe, kayak,...and to dance for as long as I like. I want to reduce the chances of having diabetes, a stroke, cancer, and/or heart disease.

Healthy habits that work for me:

  • Begin to practice yoga, pilates, and Tai Chi at my gym again. Do more walking instead of driving a car.
  • Have a healthy and tasty breakfast, lunch, and snacks in a cooler so that I don't end up eating high fat/sugary/salty foods. Also, I will save money by doing so. Continue to drink iced tea, iced coffee, and Crystal Light.
  • Start by saying some positive things about myself everyday.

My favorite activity at the gym is:

yoga, pilates, Tai Chi, walking the treadmill, and using some of the weight machines.

The accomplishments I'm most proud of:

  • Getting a Certificate in Paralegal Studies.
  • Being married to a wonderful husband who is also my best friend in life.
  • Being able to spend time with my mother who is 93 years of age.