Home > Slideshows > A History of Nutrition in Images

The Basic Four

A History of Nutrition in Images

Rationing ended with the war, but new nutritional guidelines were not introduced until 1956. The seven groups were simplified and reduced to four basic groups:

  1. Vegetables and Fruits
  2. Meat
  3. Milk
  4. Cereals and Breads

The basic four food groups were used in conjunction with the nutritional guidelines until 1992. Like the basic seven, the basic four food were sometimes arranged in a wheel for educational purposes. The logo shown here is from the 1979 children's book, The Thing the Professor Forgot, published by the USDA and the Office of Governmental and Public Affairs. The book uses rhymes to teach children about the four food groups.

Image Source: The Thing the Professor Forgot

Next Prev Slide 4 / 7

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 0 of 1, 0 total comments)

There is no user feedback yet, leave yours below!


Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


Already a member?