Advertisement

| |

Home > Videos > Diets In Review Video Navigation    
User Rating

100%

of people who tried this Video like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 26 reviews

Courtney's Summer Challenge: Week 5

Marci Crozier makes a guest appearance and talks sleep.

It's week 5 of Courtney's Summer Challenge! Your challenge this week: get some sleep! Repeat for each day this week.

Courtney's mom and Biggest Loser 11 teammate, Marci Crozier, makes a guest appearance this week as Courtney recovers from her recent skin removal surgery.

Marci reminds that the changes from each week's challenge should be cumulative and help you build up to living a healthier life. One important aspect that we often overlook is sleep, and why it is so vitally necessary to our wellbeing. This week, Marci wants to see all of us getting at least six to eight hours of sleep each night.

Week 5 Prize: DIR T-Shirt and a free Wholly Guacamole!

Participate in the challenge by posting below. We're encouraging everyone to share their new sleep habits right here in the comment section!

Sign-up for weekly updates for Courtney's Summer Challenge

Visit this link to get all of the details and archive of each week's challenge: Courtney's Summer Challenge

Courtney's Summer Challenge is sponsored by Wholly Guacamole

Flag this Video Flag this Video



> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 3, 50 total comments)

Andi Guthrie

I slept fantastic last night! I went ot bed before 11 and was up at 6:30 this morning. I didn't even wake up to tinkle during the night :-) I always do my best to get 7-8 hours of sleep a night! Love yall!!!

posted Jul 19th, 2011 2:58 pm



BranDivah

I have such a hard time getting a lot of sleep. I'm one of those kind of people who stays up really late and gets up early. I was determined to get a full night's sleep last night and even though I went to be way too late i did in fact get 9 hours of sleep last night ^_^
Feel better soon Courtney!

posted Jul 19th, 2011 1:38 pm


userfile
aubreykrol

I have this crazy condition called Intracranial Hypertension and I take medication that makes me soooooo sleepy! I get lots of sleep but still wake up tired and not rested. It's a crazy cycle. I try to get at least 7 hours if not more each night.

posted Jul 19th, 2011 1:11 pm


MysteryKnits

I slept too good. Woke up with a migraine. Does that happen to anyone else?

posted Jul 19th, 2011 12:38 pm



Laura Gatlin Manning

I am determined to get at least 7 hours of sleep every night! I noticed a long time ago when I would only sleep 4-5 hours a night that I was so grouchy and felt like crap during the day. Getting a good night's sleep is vital for me to have a good day. I've really noticed my energy level increasing when I incorporate all of these challenges into my daily routine. Thank you Courtney and Marci!

posted Jul 19th, 2011 11:47 am


cfa1989

I had a rough night last night and cried myself to sleep because my mom is away for two weeks I didn't fall asleep until after midnight and then woke up at 7:30 to my alarm but fell back asleep until 9:45. Hoping things get better for me over the next few days!

posted Jul 19th, 2011 11:39 am



Stephanie Buckner

Got 9 hours last night :) Although, interrupted. My son decided to wake up sometime last night and throw a fit. Apparently he thought it was time to get up :/

posted Jul 19th, 2011 11:36 am


Lacey

In order to be successful in my weight loss, I HAVE to get a good night sleep. Proud to say that I try to get at least 7 hours every night, even though sometimes its tough with school, work, volunteering AND 4 kids under the age of 6! :)

posted Jul 19th, 2011 11:32 am


ktmcqueen

I'm a back and forth kind of person. One night I don't get enough sleep and the next night I oversleep and don't get anything done! I know if I had a schedule for sleeping it would be better for me. Going to try to start one this week!
good luck to courtney on her recovery!

posted Jul 19th, 2011 11:29 am


userfile
gatorsarah

I struggle with this. I'm a mom of five and so with my busy day wrapped up in their activities I try to catch up on me at nighttime. I invested in a Bodymedia (it's like the Bodybugg. Made by the same company just a different brand) and it tracks my sleep for me. I'm happy to say that the least amount of sleep I've gotten in the last few days is 6 hrs. This is up from my normal 4 hrs I was getting! Yay me! P.S. Speedy recovery to you Courtney!!

posted Jul 19th, 2011 10:38 am


Jessica

I have had a horrible problem with sleep, and getting to sleep every since having my 2 1/2 yr old:0( I hope that I can get this under control, I really do think this has made me gain weight. I need to learn how to clear my mind before bed and let all the stress go!

posted Jul 19th, 2011 1:55 am


Jasmine

This is so tough for me! I'm a single mother of a young toddler who is still nursing several times a night. I'm also a student, and getting anything done with my little one awake is nearly impossible. So I have to stay up late to compete assignments, then nurse all night, then wake up early with him when he rises with the sun. I am lucky to see 5 hours of sleep a night!! Looking forward to sleeping through the night, hopefully some day soon!!

posted Jul 18th, 2011 10:18 pm



Smiley Glenn

Ahhhhh, one of my toughest challenges. I have been working on this for the last 2 or 3 weeks. I have always had crazy sleep habits, mainly going to bed way too late, then getting up 4 or 5 hours later to take care of my kids. I'm reading Jillian's book, Master Your Metabolism, and have recently found out why sleep is so important. So I've been trying to get at least 7 hours each night, but some nights I'm lucky enough to have 8. I will continue to work on this!!!!

posted Jul 18th, 2011 10:10 pm



Sarah Mays

I know that I need sleep, but staying up late at night is the only "me" time that I get. I recently quit my job to stay at home with my 5 year old and twin 15 month old boys. My husband works long hard hours and goes to school, so after everybody has been fed, had a bath and in bed fast asleep, that's when I stay up and watch TV, but sometimes I stay up way to late. I feel like if I go to sleep, I will loose my me time and have to just start all over the next day. Something I'm really going to try to work on this week.

posted Jul 18th, 2011 8:47 pm


cfa1989

Im not trying to brag but I always get at least 8 hours of sleep a night cuz I know I need it!

posted Jul 18th, 2011 7:23 pm


MaryButterfly

Sleep is key to weight loss (along with many other aspects of life and functionality). I have been working hard at getting 7-8 hours each night. We rejuvinate and re-energize during sleep. Many people take sleep for granted and have very poor sleep habits, only getting a few hours a night. Good sleep leads to health and happiness!! Thanks for the challenge & thank you for your constant motivation and support!!

posted Jul 18th, 2011 6:08 pm


MaryButterfly

Marci, you did a great job with the video!! Send my love & healing prayers to Courtney!!

posted Jul 18th, 2011 6:04 pm


Jen

Oh yeah, I agree and I'm on board. The summer heat has made good sleep a thing of the past so I'll keep trying different things this week. First step is having a nice book to read before bed...transition away from TV before bed.

Thanks for the idea and wishing you happy healing. ~Jen

posted Jul 18th, 2011 5:10 pm



Luvcombatboots

I think sleep is important for us in so many ways it helps us get filled with energy and gets us ready for the new day ahead of us but we also need to remember to not over due on our sleep either sleeping to much can hurt us in the end instead of helping us like myself I sleep sometimes to much because of depression but its time for me to kick that this week and push forward to a new start

posted Jul 18th, 2011 4:53 pm


Tricia

Got in a nap and didn't set an alarm since I have the day off. Caught up on some much needed sleep and hitting the gym was a lot easier!

posted Jul 18th, 2011 4:41 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 





Featured Blog Posts

Featured Recipes