Advertisement

| |

Home > Recipes > Recipe Navigation    
User Rating

93%

of people who tried this recipe like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 116 reviews
Print this Recipe

Barack Obama Chili

The President's personal recipe is a favorite at potlucks.

Barack Obama Chili Photo
Yield: Serves 6

Ingredients

  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • Several cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 pound ground turkey or beef
  • ¼ teaspoon ground cumin
  • ¼ teaspoon ground oregano
  • ¼ teaspoon ground turmeric
  • ¼ teaspoon ground basil
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • Several tomatoes, depending on size, chopped
  • 1 can red kidney beans

Instructions

  1. Saute onions, green pepper and garlic in olive oil until soft
  2. Add ground turkey or beef and brown
  3. Combine spices together then add to ground meat
  4. Add red wine vinegar
  5. Add tomatoes and let simmer, until tomatoes cook down
  6. Add kidney beans and cook for a few more minutes
  7. Serve over white or brown rice
  8. Garnish with grated cheddar cheese, onions and sour cream

Barack Obama Chili Nutrition Label

Source: ABCNews



> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 7 of 9, 166 total comments)

BRUCE-R ROVE

IT1S GOT TO BE BETTER THAN THE CRAP BUSH HAS BEEN SERVING US THIS LAST EIGHT YEARS.. REP, LOSERS

posted Nov 8th, 2008 4:39 pm


republicans suck

some of you racist people, have no sense of pride... the majority of the people made their choice for president... deal with it... im sorry if i am to inform to be a republican... if you dont like how the voting system in this country works,... then move! get over it... the guy is not even in office yet, and you already think how his term is going to run.... stupid republicans and racist bastards...

posted Nov 8th, 2008 4:38 pm


Linda Bourne

Well I liked the recipe. He did not have to share. Now I've got one more recipe for my file. He's a busy man now and doesn't have to cook. Thanks for sharing

Obama.

posted Nov 8th, 2008 4:31 pm


julia randle

i really enjoyed the chili. i do not eat beef or pork. i am also from california. living in god forsaken arkansas.

posted Nov 8th, 2008 4:21 pm


" Big Dan"

I think he better stay in politics. I think he may make a fine President , And as far as "Poconopete" a respectable chili has NO BEANS in it. Any chili containing beans is "Yankee Chili". Now , I am not saying its wrong to put what in ever you want and call it chili. But I am saying its wrong to say its not ! And what would a McCainiac know about "Chili anyway ? Now go eat your "Chicken manure" and simmer down..............Now !!

posted Nov 8th, 2008 4:13 pm


robert

sounds like that we may have adown to earth level headed man in the white house at least he so far seems to not be a puppet and a very sincer person
and i'm looking for some good change in our world

posted Nov 8th, 2008 4:11 pm


moemail.com

recipe works well. i don't believe for a minute that mary lea knows how to do anything. like listen or read.

posted Nov 8th, 2008 4:10 pm


La Migra

This is yankee chili. Real chili has no beans of any kind. Beans is just filler.

posted Nov 8th, 2008 4:01 pm


marion

Wow, that is some goooood chilli. It is the way I make mine, except for the red wine vinegar. Now I will add that to mine.

posted Nov 8th, 2008 4:01 pm


Maria

Sounds interesting our family likes chili for the cold months as well! Will definately give this a try Mr. president!!

posted Nov 8th, 2008 3:45 pm


American Woman

Haven't tried it but it sounds good!!! I might add more chili powder!!! Geesh some of you so-called Americans have to riducle everything!!!

posted Nov 8th, 2008 3:44 pm


Mary Lea

I don't believe for one minute that he knows how to cook anything!
Much like everything else he doesn't know how to do.

posted Nov 8th, 2008 3:18 pm


Rahshadda

Great recipe!!!

posted Nov 8th, 2008 2:53 pm


BAyers

I really like the chili. He used to cook it for me before I went out on my, uh, little trips I used to take. It gave me a lot of energy to run from the police.

posted Nov 8th, 2008 2:34 pm


pot

not good at all

posted Nov 8th, 2008 2:27 pm


Bill

If President Obama can survive THAT recipe, he should be able to survive anything! Although, it DOES sound very Presidential.

posted Nov 8th, 2008 2:23 pm


edwards08

I'm holding back my opinion until I'm Attorney Geneal.

posted Nov 8th, 2008 2:21 pm


lemming02

I can't believe he actually cooks too!!!! omg Do you think he has to eat like us? I doubt it. omg!!!!!!

posted Nov 8th, 2008 2:18 pm


lemming01

Wow, what a guy!!!!!! I will eat ANYTHING he has to dish out!!!! Sounds absolutely amazing!!! I think I'm going to faint, I have to go lay down now.

posted Nov 8th, 2008 2:10 pm


hillary08

I didn't really try it, but from reading it, it seems he's just not qualified to cook chili. I've cooked chili in 75 countries, even under sniper fire!

posted Nov 8th, 2008 2:06 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 





Related Blog Posts

Related Recipes