Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

63%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 43 reviews

Weight Watchers Online

This reputable healthy weight loss plan is conveniently available entirely online.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1963

  • Founder: Jean Nidetch

  • Headquarters: New York City

  • Stock Symbol: WTW

  • Accessibility: Meetings, Online, Books, Apps

  • Diet Type: Low-Calorie, Low-Fat

  • Gender: Male and Female

  • Celebrity Endorsements: Jessica Simpson

  • Corporate Site: WeightWatchers.com

BACKGROUND

You've heard about Weight Watchers. It's the weight loss program that started 50 years ago. The idea was to gather a group of women, educate them about eating and nutrition, provide counseling, and hold them accountable with weekly weigh-ins. The Weight Watchers 360 program assigns a value to a food based on its nutritional content, making it easier for dieters to identify healthy food options against unhealthy. You are encouraged to make more nutrient-dense food choices, which not only help you lose weight but also helps to keep you feeling satisfied.

Weight Watchers Online subscribers can log in to a secure online account and access all of the education still found in meetings. It doesn't interfere with schedules, provides privacy and anonymity, and grants access to your Weight Watchers program from anywhere.

You'll still follow the Weight Watchers 360 program, and if abide by their proven approach, you should see the positive weight loss you've been working for.

DietsInReview.com is an advertising partner of Weight Watchers. This review is strictly our opinion.

PRO
  • Allows for privacy and anonymity
  • Convenient
  • Access to a wealth of tools and resources, many not available to meeting attendees
  • Available for men
  • Communicate with other dieters via message boards
  • Access fitness resources
  • Use the online recipes library
  • Teaches moderation and balance
  • Named #1 in the Best Commercial Diets by US News, 2011
  • Makes it possible to sustain lifelong weight loss
  • Free Weight Watchers Mobile iPhone App

CON
  • Removes the social and counselor relationships found at meetings
  • Counting Points values can be time consuming
DIET and NUTRITION

In this regard, Weight Watchers Online is identical to its meeting counterpart. You'll use the online resources and learn to use the Weight Watchers 360 program. The more nutritionally dense a food is, the lower a food's PointsPlus value. So baby carrots, low-fat cheese sticks, whole grain bread and fish are all low values, whereas fast-food burgers, potato chips, ice cream and soda are all higher values. You'll learn proper portions and how to create balanced, wholesome meals.

One thing that makes Weight Watchers so popular is its flexibility. When you keep your point values in range, and continue to eat healthy foods, you'll be able to satisfy cravings with foods that might be restricted on other diets.

The Weight Watchers website features thousands of recipes for all occasions. If you're a Weight Watchers Online or Weight Watchers eTools subscriber, you can use the calculator tool to find the values of restaurant foods, and you can also consult the Eating Out Guide. Weight Watchers Meetings Members can also use the A-Z food list found in the Pocket Guide, or purchase the Complete Food Companion, and the Dining Out Companion to help them plan for their night out.

On the Weight Watchers 360 program you can eat anything you like as long as you stick to a daily point goal, and there's plenty of room for treats and extras.

EXERCISE

Weight Watchers supports the benefits of exercise, but doesn't require a regimen. As an online subscriber you'll have access to fitness guidance through videos and articles.

CONCLUSION

For men and women who want the education and success that comes from Weight Watchers, but lack the time or interest in attending meetings, Weight Watchers Online is the program for you. In fact, there are many resources available to online subscribers that aren't for meeting attendees. You'll be able to log-in to your Weight Watchers account anytime and anywhere you have Internet access. Weight Watchers is often touted as one of the most successful names in weight loss, and their online program makes it even more accessible for our increasingly busy population.

See Weight Watchers Online - the Official Web Site

Common Misspellings

Weight Watchers, WeightWatchers.com, Online Weight Watchers, Wieght Watchers Online, Weight Watchers On-Line, Weight Watchers On Line, Weight Watchers Diet

Author

by


Related Diets: Curves Complete, Spark People, The Biggest Loser At Home Program, WebMD Weight Loss Clinic, Weight Watchers, Weight Watchers Meetings, Weight Watchers Online for Men, Jenny Craig at Home, Weight Watchers She Loses, He Loses


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 4, 62 total comments)

Len

Some are upset about the monthly fee renewals, but when I signed up, the site plainly said that when first 3 months were up, monthly renewals would automatically occur unless I canceled (I paid for 3 months up front because it gave me the best deal.). It is working for me. I went on 2 vacations since I signed up, and during those times, the plan suffered. In spite of that, I have lost 11 pounds in the 6 weeks since I joined. (I mistakenly thought it had been 10 weeks, which affected my reply to another member)

posted Aug 6th, 2011 12:33 pm


Jan

I was intending to sign up for WW online tonight. After reading the reviews I will probably hold off and check out a few other programs. A friend recommended the online program-she lost over 30 pounds. Friendly, knowledgable customer service is very important to me, as are fast, user friendly programs. Sounds like WW might need some improvement in all these areas.

posted Jul 31st, 2011 9:50 pm


Jenna

I am 19 yrs old, and I did WW 2 years ago. I lost 30lbs in 3 months. All I did was follow the points. I did not exercise while on the program. Then I had family issues and quit. That was the WORST thing I could have done, because I gained all plus more weight back! I would recommend this program to people of all ages and sizes! You just need to remember that you have to WANT to do it, and know that it is hard work, Weight loss does not come in a magic pill, or TV show, it takes time to come off! I just hope this helps, and Best of luck to all!

posted Jul 2nd, 2011 10:16 pm


RT

The weight watchers website is a total scam. They won't let you see what it is until you pay up front, then the site is impossible to navigate, and several of the most important links don't work. Oh, yes. If you cancel because it doesn't work, they charge you over $30 dollars! The same information is available on many FREE websites including .

After years of hearing Weight Watchers praised high and low, I am very dissapointed.

posted Jun 14th, 2011 6:05 pm


Porcha Atkins

wILL IT WORK FOR ME. Hi I just would love to no that if i get on it and do it will i get down some will i be fat becouse i do not want to do like this.

posted May 10th, 2011 1:48 pm


Diana

I have a regular, not extremely fast computer withou any bells and whistles. Will I be able to access what I need to follow the problem fairly easily? Also, I'm worried about the really bad feedback your customer service department has received when dealing with members.

posted Apr 14th, 2011 3:34 pm


Kelly

I think WW is overall a good program. HOWEVER, I do not have a smart phone, I have a LG Touch (Verizon). I don't feel like it was clarified well that the website does not work on most phones. I can get on utube, Facebook, Myfitnesspal.com, FoodDiary.com, etc but NOT WW. Plus, I work in a doctor's office and like most work places, there are many sites that are blocked or don't have Flash Player. Therefore, I can get on the website, but am not able to log my foods or look anything up while at work. So, that left me with only my home computer. NOT convenient, especially when going out last minute after work or when lunches are brought in, etc. I thought easy accessiblilty was the whole point of doing it online. I did lose 1.5 lbs the first week so I do like it but decided to cancel due to the inconvenience. When I called customer service, they were only going to refund $7.10 out of the $55 I paid only 10 days ago. I even spoke to a supervisor and he gave me a "that's just the way it is" speech. He explained there's a $29.95 non-refundable joining fee, so I said I would pay that then, but that left $25-he said $17.95 was for the 1st month. I had only been a member for 10 days! I was not getting my money back and they terminated my service immediately. I had thought I did the 2wk trial period but they informed me I had not. SO....buyer beware!!! Make SURE this is what you want to do and that you can use the site wherever you are BEFORE YOU BUY. I am not bashing the program-it seems to be good, but their customer service has a lot to be desired. I do NOT feel like $47.90 is a fair price for 10 days of service when I didn't even get the service they state they provide.

posted Apr 13th, 2011 11:46 am


Tracy

Because the point plus does not work I like the Flex Points better...Items are less points and you have less Points on the Points Plus I feel like I am eating more

posted Apr 8th, 2011 10:05 am


ALIGHTERME1

the website is not user friendly, I wish I had never join ,now I am stuck for 3 months and out of $53.00 dollars

posted Jan 18th, 2011 7:02 pm


tonya

i would like to loose 65lbs........i just cant afford the right food and i dont have any energy

posted Jan 11th, 2011 1:23 am


userfile
Ellen Iwer

I was doing it online for a little less than a year, I lost bunches of weight, about 1-2 pounds per week...my husband was very sick over the summer, so I didn't have the time to log everything in anymore. I quit WW and joined Planet Fitness in Dec 2010. So far, I FEEL better, but over the holidays, I have gained 6 pounds back. I think I NEED to join WW again.
I found it easier to do WW when I had my smartphone also, I could use the app where ever I was, and as soon as I ate anything. We downgraded our phone service and phones, so I don't have access to the app anymore either. Maybe I'll treat myself to another SmartPhone with my income tax and get back to Weight Watchers AND keep going to Planet Fitnes. I bet the pounds would just melt away then :)

posted Jan 6th, 2011 8:13 pm


N.

Already lost 13 pounds easily and healthfully. I have my privacy and can access information at my leisure. Very informative and educational.

posted Dec 21st, 2010 10:19 am


Debbie Jacob

It feels like the most natural thing to do.

posted Dec 14th, 2010 10:44 am


lucyloo

I just paid for a 3-month membership to WW online yesterday. Just looking at whats available, I think I just paid $60 for a calorie and weight tracker iphone app that normally costs 99 cents. What am I missing? What benefit does WW online have over the iphone apps doing the same thing but with calories instead of points?

posted Dec 12th, 2010 4:29 pm


Kathy

I would join again tomorrow.
I have slow DSL. Sure it takes a little while for the plan manager to load, but I don't watch tons of vids either. The time it saves calculating food is worth it.
Now for the diet...I tried for years to count calories and had lost and regained gained most of my weight back several times.
WW online makes it easy to track your food and when you are done with your points for the day - you stop.
Most people get in a routine of things they eat often - those you save as favorites.
You can type in a recipe and the points per serving will be figured for you - how cool is that? I am building a friend's network, keeping a blog. If you get stuck or start gaining again (we all do), members who have been there can talk you through it.
I am into my 3rd month and have lost 22 pounds. Regained 5 on vacation, but came right back with the tool to take it off again.
My payment is taken off PayPal.
As long as I can afford it (currently $17 a month), I'm in.
I would recommend it to anyone.

posted Nov 22nd, 2010 9:04 am


may

I lost 40 pounds on weight watchers in 5 months loosing the weight little by little got me excited to work out to loose weight even faster. Its a wonderful program i just started it again after having my 3rd baby and i know that if i did it oncce 6 months after alexa was born i can do it a gain with my 5 month old and with breastfeeding u get extra points so you stay pretty full with the points you get. Join its worth it!!!

posted Nov 7th, 2010 2:45 am


charlene

i need help, i am fed up of this weight 250lbs, 5'2 tall

posted Nov 1st, 2010 7:16 pm


Jess

Weight watchers online is a life saver. I can't go to meetings because there aren't any by me! So I just track my points online and go to the message boards for support and ideas. Weight watchers is now more than ever pushing to eat healthy foods and exercise. Oh a new plan is coming out in November so if you are planning on joining meetings wait until then because you don't want to have to buy new materials in a month!

posted Oct 16th, 2010 4:29 pm


Jessica

It's totally working for me, I have been on for one week and am down 10 pounds, granted it's a lot of water weight and I have a lot to lose but still, this is the easiest thing ever.

posted Oct 16th, 2010 4:25 pm


linda

watch out as weight watchers do not send reminders of any monthly renewals, so they take your money and refuse to refund it. The staff is Not very helpful, and down right nasty to customers wishing a refund.

posted Oct 6th, 2010 10:45 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account