Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

64%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 42 reviews

Weight Watchers Online

This reputable healthy weight loss plan is conveniently available entirely online.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1963

  • Founder: Jean Nidetch

  • Headquarters: New York City

  • Stock Symbol: WTW

  • Accessibility: Meetings, Online, Books, Apps

  • Diet Type: Low-Calorie, Low-Fat

  • Gender: Male and Female

  • Celebrity Endorsements: Jessica Simpson

  • Corporate Site: WeightWatchers.com

BACKGROUND

You've heard about Weight Watchers. It's the weight loss program that started 50 years ago. The idea was to gather a group of women, educate them about eating and nutrition, provide counseling, and hold them accountable with weekly weigh-ins. The Weight Watchers 360 program assigns a value to a food based on its nutritional content, making it easier for dieters to identify healthy food options against unhealthy. You are encouraged to make more nutrient-dense food choices, which not only help you lose weight but also helps to keep you feeling satisfied.

Weight Watchers Online subscribers can log in to a secure online account and access all of the education still found in meetings. It doesn't interfere with schedules, provides privacy and anonymity, and grants access to your Weight Watchers program from anywhere.

You'll still follow the Weight Watchers 360 program, and if abide by their proven approach, you should see the positive weight loss you've been working for.

DietsInReview.com is an advertising partner of Weight Watchers. This review is strictly our opinion.

PRO
  • Allows for privacy and anonymity
  • Convenient
  • Access to a wealth of tools and resources, many not available to meeting attendees
  • Available for men
  • Communicate with other dieters via message boards
  • Access fitness resources
  • Use the online recipes library
  • Teaches moderation and balance
  • Named #1 in the Best Commercial Diets by US News, 2011
  • Makes it possible to sustain lifelong weight loss
  • Free Weight Watchers Mobile iPhone App

CON
  • Removes the social and counselor relationships found at meetings
  • Counting Points values can be time consuming
DIET and NUTRITION

In this regard, Weight Watchers Online is identical to its meeting counterpart. You'll use the online resources and learn to use the Weight Watchers 360 program. The more nutritionally dense a food is, the lower a food's PointsPlus value. So baby carrots, low-fat cheese sticks, whole grain bread and fish are all low values, whereas fast-food burgers, potato chips, ice cream and soda are all higher values. You'll learn proper portions and how to create balanced, wholesome meals.

One thing that makes Weight Watchers so popular is its flexibility. When you keep your point values in range, and continue to eat healthy foods, you'll be able to satisfy cravings with foods that might be restricted on other diets.

The Weight Watchers website features thousands of recipes for all occasions. If you're a Weight Watchers Online or Weight Watchers eTools subscriber, you can use the calculator tool to find the values of restaurant foods, and you can also consult the Eating Out Guide. Weight Watchers Meetings Members can also use the A-Z food list found in the Pocket Guide, or purchase the Complete Food Companion, and the Dining Out Companion to help them plan for their night out.

On the Weight Watchers 360 program you can eat anything you like as long as you stick to a daily point goal, and there's plenty of room for treats and extras.

EXERCISE

Weight Watchers supports the benefits of exercise, but doesn't require a regimen. As an online subscriber you'll have access to fitness guidance through videos and articles.

CONCLUSION

For men and women who want the education and success that comes from Weight Watchers, but lack the time or interest in attending meetings, Weight Watchers Online is the program for you. In fact, there are many resources available to online subscribers that aren't for meeting attendees. You'll be able to log-in to your Weight Watchers account anytime and anywhere you have Internet access. Weight Watchers is often touted as one of the most successful names in weight loss, and their online program makes it even more accessible for our increasingly busy population.

See Weight Watchers Online - the Official Web Site

Common Misspellings

Weight Watchers, WeightWatchers.com, Online Weight Watchers, Wieght Watchers Online, Weight Watchers On-Line, Weight Watchers On Line, Weight Watchers Diet

Author

by


Related Diets: Curves Complete, Spark People, The Biggest Loser At Home Program, WebMD Weight Loss Clinic, Weight Watchers, Weight Watchers Meetings, Weight Watchers Online for Men, Jenny Craig at Home, Weight Watchers She Loses, He Loses


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 4, 61 total comments)

Eva

Is ww really that bad as most of the reviews say ive been looking into ww for awhile now and I was about to sign up for the online ww when I noticed all the bad reviews for ww all together. Is it really that bad?

posted Apr 24th, 2014 1:51 am


Thelma

Had no problem what so ever signing up on line for the program. However when I cancelled on line they mysteriously had no record of it. Charged me for an additional month even though I cancelled within the specified time limit. Had to call my bank to make sure they did not allow another charge to be taken out. I was very disappointed. I thought Weight Watchers was more reputable than this.

posted Feb 8th, 2014 5:44 pm


Melinda

If you have to cancel, make sure you get a confirmation # and watch your credit card like a hawk. I cancelled 6/25, was informed my membership would continue to 7/19 because they don't pro-rate. I recently discovered they continued to bill my credit card and would only refund the most recent charge, so I ended up paying for 2 months I didn't use. There's no reason they couldn't access my account to see I never logged in during that time. Really disappointed because I thought of them as really reputable.

posted Sep 24th, 2013 9:32 pm


mary

I have no review. Like to try your diet

posted Apr 20th, 2013 10:41 pm


Theresa

its works great...nut you have to stick to it! Im never hungry...it works!

posted Mar 18th, 2013 2:39 am


Dominique Gagnon

I lost 60 pounds with Weight Watchers online. It was easy, I did not have to go to any meetings, buy any special foods, get weighed by anyone. I totally owned my own weight loss. Weight Watchers just sets limits, once you meet them, you stop eating for the day. I ate a piece of chocolate every day, but also ate tons of fruits and veggies...more than ever before. What I learned more than anything is that my portions were too big. A cup of Pasta is plenty if you load it with mushrooms and onions and clams. I am so grateful that it worked so quickly. The first weeks were very encouraging. I have reached my goal, but might lose a bit more just to have a few pounds buffer.
I have regained my self esteem, and plan to stay like this for the rest of my life!

posted Mar 6th, 2013 12:35 pm


Jann

Lacks people contact, and if my computer decides not to work, I'm stuck. Also, I have been trying to unsubscribe and can't seem to get it to go thru!

posted Feb 16th, 2013 6:15 pm


umarz

I paid $56 for 3 months, after 2 weeks I tried to cancel because it was REALLY not worth the money and my refund was a grand total of $7.95 and no matter what they wouldn't budge. What a scam. There are FAR better tools out there include MyFitnessPal that are completely free.

I really wish I had never signed up. Don't waste your money. The website is clunky and the phone app is even worse. The points plus system may work but watching calories and fat on another app work just as well and its free and the free tools and apps are easier to use.

posted Feb 15th, 2013 1:39 am


Theresa

Is ww worth my time and money? I want to sign up,but bad feed back is making me not want to! Is ww really this bad and unprofessional? I was really looking forward to try ww,but now I'm bit discouraged because of all the bad feed back. Is this ww online worth the money and time?

posted Dec 11th, 2012 6:39 am


LINDA

I would be more motivated to join if it were not for being SOOOOO sick of seeing Jennifer Hudson wail,I personally find her voice offensive, and even though she has supposedly lost 80 plus pounds she still looks like beached whale. Get a new sponser PLEASE.

posted Jul 17th, 2012 10:23 pm


RICK

The program definitely works. I have been on program since 2-28-12 and have lost 48 lbs. If you are commited it DOES work! I have not exercised and am only 15 lbs from goal.

posted Jun 7th, 2012 9:08 pm


krissi millinor

I was told when I cancelled I would be reimbursed for 6 months and only got reimbursement for 1 month. The online customer service was a joke. I spoke with a supervisor by phone who said her hands were tied and then asked me to send a fax to corporate. It has been very frustrating and I am dissapointed.

posted May 1st, 2012 11:45 am


rosyfina

the drop list of food selection is a mess. the return policy is awful... LOST OF MONEY.
go to the gym and have a nutritionist advice is wayyyy better. I just hated my experience with WW.

posted Apr 7th, 2012 7:14 pm


Jean

Its like having a second job trying to track your food. Basically, the food "bank" sucks so it is not easy to just type in a food and figure out the points. You have to look everything up. My fintness pal has EVERYTHING listed as far as food but tracks by calories, not points.

posted Mar 23rd, 2012 12:08 am


Amy

How much does Weight Watchers cost? How much does Weight Watchers cost? I plan on going to an actual office (not the on-line) plan. Do you pay weekly? Can I come in a talk with someone to get a feel if I think I will benefit and not pay? It is Sunday - March 18th 2012 @ 1:52pm and I'm curious about how long it will take for my question to be answered. I may just make my mind up if I receive no response. ????

posted Mar 18th, 2012 5:52 pm


Shirley Villenbeuve

I would like to preview what you have to offer ONLINE before I sign on. After reading some responses to your program online...I do hestiate to sign up.
What's up?

posted Mar 8th, 2012 8:56 pm


katrina wlson

How do I lose 40lbs all at once with Weight Watchers? how com you dont have one in derby and how do i get back on track what do i have to do to loose 40lbs at once i weigh 240lbs/

posted Jan 18th, 2012 3:13 am


Betty Milliken

How do you pay for Weight Watchers Point Plus Plan on-line and take advantage of the monthly pass with next month free?

posted Sep 12th, 2011 2:26 pm



Karen Stone

Lost 11.5 pounds in 5 weeks. If you follow the plan it's a great way to lose weight the RIGHT way.

posted Aug 20th, 2011 6:57 pm


Len

Some are upset about the monthly fee renewals, but when I signed up, the site plainly said that when first 3 months were up, monthly renewals would automatically occur unless I canceled (I paid for 3 months up front because it gave me the best deal.). It is working for me. I went on 2 vacations since I signed up, and during those times, the plan suffered. In spite of that, I have lost 11 pounds in the 6 weeks since I joined. (I mistakenly thought it had been 10 weeks, which affected my reply to another member)

posted Aug 6th, 2011 12:33 pm



  1234
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account