Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

100%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 7 reviews

The Zola Diet

This hCG diet is no longer available.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

"'The Zola Diet' is no longer in existence. We have since rebranded and redeveloped the diet under the name, Plan Z by Zola. Our homeopathic formula does not contain hCG. We are not affiliated with Dr. Paul Branch." - a message from a Plan Z by Zola representative on 6/19/13.

The Zola Diet is an hCG combination diet that incorporates human chorionic gonadotropin hormone into its low-calorie meal and special homepathic remedy for weight loss.

Dr. Paul Branch has developed a proprietary homeopathic formula just for The Zola Diet called Dr. Branch’s ZReduction Formula . You squirt Dr. Branch’s ZReduction Formula under your tongue four times a day.The formula claims to works with your body to unlock the abnormal fat at a rate of 2500 – 4000 calories a day.

The homeopathic remedy contains a combination of cell energizers including human chorionic gonadatropin, hypothalamus energy, citric acid (same as in lemons) and L-Carnitine. Dr. Branch’s specific formula opens up your body’s fat burning stores and allows the abnormal fat to release. This process, along with a very specific calorie-restricted diet spread over four different phases will work to help you lose weight quickly.

According to The Zola Diet, a successful weight loss program must address five challenges:

  • Hormonal imbalances
  • Poor diet
  • Motivation
  • Energy loss
  • Detoxification

The Zola Diet not only addresses these challenges but it is also designed to reboot your metabolism so that you can lose weight and keep it off.

PRO
  • Will result in weight loss
  • No hCG injections needed
  • Diet focuses on eating clean foods including tons of fresh vegetables and lean proteins
CON
  • Not a long-term solution for weight loss
  • Using hCG to lose weight is very controversial and is linked to health risks
  • Expense of Zola Diet may dissuade potential followers
  • Has a fad-diet feel to it
DIET and NUTRITION

The Zola Diet is a highly-structured and very low calorie diet plan that includes not just eating specific foods, and closely monitoring portions but also, using Dr. Branch’s ZReduction Formula homeopathic remedy four times a day.

There are four phases to The Zola Diet:

  • ZBinge: ZBinge is the beginning of the diet and is two days long. During these two days you eat as much as you can. You eat all the fun, bad stuff! Ice cream, fried foods, pizza, whipped cream, desserts galore, breads, pastas, and more.
  • ZReduction: How long this phase takes depends on how much you have to lose. If you have at least 26 pounds to lose this phase will last 40 days. If you have 25 pounds or less, this phase lasts 26 days.

During ZReduction you get to eat fresh food and healthy meals. Recipes are included on the website as are dining out guides. This portion of the diet is a high protein, low carbohydrate eating plan that is done to dip into fat stores for energy. You eat two meals a day during this phase and one small additional meal only if you need it. - ZReboot: This phase focuses on cycling the amount of carbohydrates and proteins you eat in order to reset your metabolism so that it becomes more efficient and effective at utilizing energy. ZLife: This is the maintenance portion of The Zola Diet that can be followed for an indefinite amount of time in order to sustain weight loss.

You will be able to access recipes for each of the phases of the diet. These recipes are easy to prepare, and range from comfort food to gourmet meals. The recipes are quick to cook. Almost all of them take less than 20 minutes to prepare. You can also share your recipes with other Zola Diet followers.

EXERCISE

There is no information on an exercise plan included The Zola Diet.

CONCLUSION

The Zola Diet is an hCG combination diet that combines the use of the hCG hormone with a low-calorie meal plan that is spread out among four different phases. The diet is designed to reboot your metabolism with its use of hCG liquid drops as well as its strict eating plan.

While you are likely to lose weight following The Zola Diet, the health risks of taking hCG in addition to the very low calorie nature diet are two warning signs that should not be ignored while debating whether or not to follow this diet. Plus, it has a pretty high price tag in comparison to other diets.

Common Misspellings

hcg combination diet, xola diet, zolo diet, the xola diet, zolea diet


Related Diets: hCG Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 11 total comments)

michelle

I've tried Weight Watchers, self dieting, traditional eat less exercising more (in the gym 4-5 days a week) for the past 15 years and nothing, repeat nothing, got the weight off and kept it off. I decided to throw conventional wisdom to the wind and try Plan Z ...and it works! On Plan Z you eat real food. You have to cook for yourself, but the recipes are easy and absolutely delicious. The formula is not HCG. It's not a Stimulate. It does work to take the edge off and burn fat (Visceral). The educational component of the diet is invaluable. The science, information, makes you stop and think about what you've been putting into your body and how your weight has reacted. I believe the weight loss on Plan Z is sustainable if you understand the educational component and remove sugar, starch, from your diet for life (Paleo diet). The cost of this diet isn't cheap. But if you want results, and are willing to commit to no sugar, no starch, no artifical sweeteners, then this diet will work for you too.

posted May 4th, 2013 2:47 pm


Barry

My question is why anyone wouldn't just limit their calories on their own and do some exercise? One of the issues is that there is no evidence in the literature hCG has any effect on weight loss. The diet itself limits calories quite a bit, so one would naturally lose weight by limiting daily calories. Finally, the diet claims a homeopathic "remedy." Homeopathy is a fraud. Do the research and you'll see why.

posted Mar 23rd, 2013 2:25 am


Patti Ensor

tell me what it cost and how to contact you

posted Jan 9th, 2013 6:48 pm


Cindy

Why would someone be willing to spend $500-$800 for the Zola drops when HCG would cost less than $80? While I haven't tried the Zola diet, my step-mom did it and lost over 30 pounds. Now my daughter wants to try it, but really can't afford it. So I researched online about the Zola diet. It appears that the drops are the same or similar as for the HCG diet -- which I am familiar with and have used successfully a couple of times. (My problem is that after the diet, I didn't keep my calories as recommended -- weight x 11 -- and I pigged out on carbs, etc and packed weight back on). Zola allows you 850 calories for 40 days instead of HCG allowing only 500. That sounds healthier. HCG drops are affordable -- not the shots -- the liquid or pills can be bought in health food stores or online or even at Walmart! I think a person could follow the Zola eating plan which would be healthier and use the HCG drops (around $80) and be money way ahead. I'm back on the drops now and this time plan to be more careful after stopping the drops to stay away from the sugars & carbs & keep my calories in check.

posted Jun 14th, 2012 1:47 am


Jessica

Have lost 120 lbs in the past year and a half on this diet. It follows my own natural inclination to diet hard core for a period of time, and then quit dieting altogether because of burn out. This diet structures things so that right about the time you hit the burn out, you are switched to the "second phase" where you reboot your motabolism and are given another list of foods to add. It gives you the veriaty you crave right at that crucial burn out point, along with the training and structure that other diets lack. The third and final phase teaches you how to choose foods based on how your body reacts to them. It teaches a very mindful way of looking at the foods you eat, and what made you fat in the first place. In the end, you have the knowledge and tools you need to keep the weight off. It's your choice to use the knowledge you've acquired as a stepping stone for life, or treat it as just another diet and ignore everything you've learned and go back to eating sugar and preservative filled pre-packaged or fast food with little to no benificial nutritional value.

posted May 9th, 2012 7:39 pm


Holly L

I'd like to update you on my success. I just finished my first reduction (48 days) and have gone into my first reboot (50 days). The reduction is 850 calories per day, you eat alot of food, in fact I had to start eating more so I could start losing more, and it was pretty painless. In reboot you have to start with 2000 calories a day to see what your new set point is (how many calories your body will allow before you start gaining the weight back) So far I am between 2100 and 2500 calories with no weight gain. I eat very delicious foods including cheese, sour cream, butter, ham and cheese crepes, Bolognese sauce over spaghetti squash, 3 egg omelet with bacon, cheese, tomato, onion, fresh spinach, Swiss cheese- just to name a few, WITH NO WEIGHT GAIN! If this is the way I can eat the rest of my life I'm pretty damned OK with it- and I think you will be too.

posted Apr 28th, 2012 4:55 pm


Holly L

I don't know who is doing the reviewing, but they need to do a little more research. Under "Con" they put "Not a long-term solution for weight loss" when that is EXACTLY WHAT IT IS!
Sounds like "New Speak" to me... up is down, black is white, wrong is right- you get the picture!

posted Apr 1st, 2012 9:03 pm


John Zwolanek

I've lost 45 pounds, and my mother lost twenty, using PlanZ by Zola. This is real. Yes, it is expensive, but the education alone is worth the price. I went from the maximum diabetes meds (glipizide and metformin) to zero. ZERO! I recommend this for people with fifty plus pounds to lose.

posted Feb 6th, 2012 3:10 am


John

I lost 32 pounds in 40 days (232 to 200) and am starting another reduction.

The "con" that this is not a long-term weight loss plan is just plain wrong. I gained three pounds after the diet as expected, then not an ounce more over the past 2 months. That's with eating about 3000 calories per day. The tools to keep the weight off are HERE.

I am enthusiastic about this plan, the education, and the support staff.

posted Sep 15th, 2011 12:12 pm


Don

My wife and I have done this diet since January 16th, I heard about it on the radio, and my wife had been talking about an hCG diet that would cost a lot more while having to take shots to lose weight that doesn't sound fun to me. However with this diet you do the spray into your mouth much easier. I have lost 48.8 lbs through two reduction phases and 1 reboot phase of the diet and my wife has lost 41.2 lbs in the same time. People might say that it is pricy but can you really put a price on health and happiness? I have not felt this good in my entire life. I have always been over weight and thought I would always be over weight. But the ease of which I was able to lose weight without exercise is amazing. I used to swim competitively through high school and college and no matter how much I swam I could never lose weight. Now If you know anything about swimming you know it burns calories but I was still not able to lose any weight. I can now eat almost anything I want and maintain my weight +or- 4lbs from where I stopped my diet. My wife has done Jenny Craig and weight watchers. Both times she lost about 20 lbs in 8-12 weeks, but both times she gained it all back and with a little extra. This time she has lost it and not gained more than 5 lbs back and she was able to lose that in like a day with a special built in maintenance trick that you learn on the diet. I have been recommending this to any one that has noticed how good I look and I recommend that you do it too. If you are truly interested in losing weight and fast and detoxing your body this diet is the best there is anywhere! Especially with the hands on support and knowledge you get along with the awesome recipes and food it is well worth it. You don't have to exercise, just sit back watch tv and lose weight. Hell my wife and I get a kick out of watching the Biggest Loser now and comment to each other how all the contests kill themselves to lose the weight on the show and now they have all gained it all back. You get the tools and understanding to know why you got fat and how to lose the weight and keep it off for good. I recommend this to any one wanting to lose weight. Give it a try!

posted May 21st, 2010 3:01 pm


Carla

I have mixed feelings about this diet. I went into it with high hopes of losing 20 lbs in 26 days. I have lost 14 lbs. in 26 days and while I'm happy with that, this is a VERY extreme diet to follow for those results. I have stuck to the restrictions to a TEE. Not once have I cheated and am disappointed in only losing 14 lbs.
Also, this diet feels like a "fad" diet to me. Once when I was experiencing a plateau, "Zola" suggested I do an "apple day", which means you eat only apples for a 24 hour period! Give me a break!
Anyway.. would I do it again? I don't know, I wouldn't necessarily rush to recommend it to anyone and doubt I would go through the zreduction phase again. We'll see if I keep the weight off!
And it is VERY expensive! They say that it is so you can be connected to the "Zola Blog, forums" etc. There is NOT much on the blog or forums to really justify the cost. It should be half the price and then it might be worth it for most people.

posted May 12th, 2010 10:06 am



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account