Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

94%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 18 reviews

The Perfect 10 Diet

The 10 key hormones that can help you lose weight.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Perfect 10 Diet, by Dr. Michael Aziz, will help you lose 14 pounds in 21 days. But rather than having you nosh on egg whites, light bread and diet soda, The Perfect 10 Diet reveals a revolutionary eating plan that has helped thousands of Dr. Aziz's patients lose weight without feeling hungry. It does so by stabilizing ten key hormone levels.

By eating foods like whole eggs, whole milk and real butter, Dr. Aziz brings back fat and carbs and shows how you can change your diet and health for good.

The Perfect 10 Diet is separated into three stages:

  • Stage One lasts three weeks and involves eating the Paleolithic Diet.
  • Stage Two lasts until the stage's objectives are met and includes whole grains in addition to the foods approved for eating in Stage One.
  • Stage Three is the maintenance, or lifetime, phase and is much like Stage Two but more whole grains can be consumed as well as the very occasional refined sweet.

The ten key hormones that are outlined in the book are insulin, leptin, glucagon, thyroid hormone, human growth hormone, cortisol, dehydroepiandrosterone (DHEA), estrogen, progesterone and testosterone. There are sections describing each of these hormones and their role in weight loss and long-term health.

The Perfect 10 Diet promises to help you look and feel years younger by losing weight, eating the foods you love and never feeling hungry.

PRO
  • Promotes the eating of real food
  • Debunks popular diet myths and fad diets
  • If followed correctly, weight loss and improved health can follow
  • Focuses on a clean-eating meal plan that includes fresh and natural foods in their pure form
  • Outlines a lifetime plan for eating
  • Includes recipes
  • Promotes exercise
CON
  • Strict vegetarians may have a hard time following the diet
  • Similar to other low-carb diets
DIET and NUTRITION

The Perfect 10 Diet goes against numerous currently-held beliefs about what you can and should eat when trying to lose weight. With medical research and scores of studies to provide evidence of The Perfect 10 Diet's plan, Dr. Aziz explains that the real culprit with our weight problem has to do with refined carbohydrates and not with fat.

The Perfect 10 Diet therefore espouses an eating plan that avoids all sugar, except for those occurring in fruit, all processed foods, diet food and light foods. Rather, you consume whole eggs, full-fat milk, and butter in addition to lean meats and tons of fresh vegetables.

The Perfect 10 Diet lists its Perfect 10 foods. Those foods are:

  • Eggs
  • Shellfish
  • Dark meat
  • Olive oil
  • Wild salmon
  • Oranges
  • Cruciferous vegetables
  • Oatmeal
  • Butter
  • Whole milk

During Stage One of The Perfect 10 Diet, three meals a day are consumed, with no grains and no alcohol. During Stage Two, in addition to the three meals, you can also add one to three servings of whole grains to your diet and drink alcohol in small amounts. In Stage Three, you can increase your whole grain consumption and eat a refined or processed sweet on a special occasion.

Sample meals are given for each stage as well as lists of foods to avoid, lists of foods that are permitted, eating out guides and recipes.

A typical day during Stage Two might look like this:

  • Breakfast: One cup of slow-cooked oatmeal with one-half glass of full-fat milk
  • Lunch: Tuna and artichoke salad
  • Dinner: Moroccan grilled chicken and mixed vegetables
  • Snack: One apple or 1/2 of a cantaloupe
EXERCISE

Exercise is strongly encouraged while following The Perfect 10 Diet. In fact, not only are you instructed to exercise, but you are educated on how specific kinds of exercise influence three key hormones in weight loss: insulin, glucagon and human growth hormone.

In order to lose weight, you are encouraged to walk one hour every day or go to the gym for at least 45 minutes, three to four days a week. A combination of aerobic fitness and strength training are encouraged for weight loss in addition to incorporating more movement into your day.

CONCLUSION

The Perfect 10 Diet is not like your average low-carb or high protein diet. By focusing on medical research, evolutionary biology and basic metabolic principles, Dr. Michael Aziz debunks popular diet myths and replaces them with scientific and revealing facts about how the human body loses weight, processes food and prevents disease.

By focusing on ten key hormones, The Perfect 10 Diet outlines a three-stage plan to help you look and feel better than you ever have.

Common Misspellings

perfect ten diet, the perfect ten diet, the prefect 10 diet, the ten diet, the purfect 10 diet, perfect 10 hormone diet


Related Diets: Caveman Diet, High Protein Diet, Low-Carb Diet, The Eat-Clean Diet, The Paleo Diet, The Whole Foods Diet, Jillian Michaels' Master Your Metabolism


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 25 total comments)

srkusa

I agree with everything Ginger Firestone wrote about the references proving his theory that low fat diets causes all sorts of issues. If Dr. Aziz had given those, it would've been popular and sounded too good to be true!

posted Apr 12th, 2012 6:55 pm


Jennifer

This diet makes sense to me. Eat real food - fruits, veggies, lean meat and stay away from processed foods. I have 15lbs to loose and already lost 8lbs in a month. If you can't pronounce something on your food label why would you eat it!!!

posted Feb 8th, 2012 2:31 pm


Jeff

Its working for me. 49 y/o 5-8 220 LBS. 2 weeks into diet I am at 205. Following the diet to a T and walking at least 1 mile a day.
IT WORKS !!!!! Best thing, rarely starving like in low fat diets.

posted Jan 21st, 2012 3:58 pm


Diane

I went on this diet for (2) weeks. I am only 10 lbs overweight. I lost 7 of the 10. Then I went away for the weekend, and went off the diet. I did not overeat, just didn't stick to the diet. I gained all (7) lbs back. I feel the diet allowed me to loose only water weight.

posted Nov 29th, 2011 1:35 pm


Fred

I have been on this diet for 5 months. I have lost 60lbs. I am on my last 6lbs now. I feel great. I have eliminated all processed foods and sugars. My cholesterol is perfect and my glucose is fine. I went from a medium high dose of blood pressure medicine to the lowest dose available, and when I see my doctor next month she may take me off of blood pressure medicine completely .
I did follow the diet and recommendations as close as possible, but i did have a few concerns.
The organic food can be expensive and hard to find. Also, the fish is quite expensive. Instead of organic I bought regular fresh fruits and vegetables. Also instead of the more expensive fish I ate tilapia, tuna, mahi-mahi and farmed raised salmon.
I switched to stevia and agave for sugar and it has worked great.
The book is really poor at giving portions, so I did calorie counting and portion control. I always have a salad with lunch and dinner and always have fruit at each meal. I rarely eat more than 3-4 ounces of meat at a meal. And I rarely have snacks.
As you will see in the book there are not a lot of recipes for this diet. But, if you are creative you can make up your own.
I would have never thought that by eating natural fats like butter, whole milk and not eating diet foods would work. I am a believer now!
It was really hard the first 3 weeks but after that it became very easy. I have gone from 246 to 186. I have not felt this good in years. I started having more energy within 2-3 weeks of the diet. My family, friends and coworkers are amazed at my weight loss and energy now.
My wife has lost 32lbs. She tried everything diet before, nothing worked, she is within 10lbs of her goal wt. She too is a believer in The Perfect Ten Diet.
Beside poor portion suggestions and too few recipes I believe this is a solid diet.

posted Apr 5th, 2011 4:22 pm


Dean

Great book/diet! I didn't need to lose weight but wanted to become more fit and healthy. My energy level and athletic performance have vastly increased after just a couple of months of following his guidelines. Aside from the diet aspect of the content, it's also a very interesting book on nutrition and how the body's hormones are influenced by the foods we eat.

posted Feb 25th, 2011 4:15 pm


Nancy

I am considering this diet that is why I am reading all comments. I understand the insulin level of 5 that he refers to. Its based on an A1C test which shows your glucose levels for the past three months. You are considered PRE-diabetic if your score is 5.8 and diabetic if 6.5 This test is done in your doctor office( if he has the machine or he sends it out with other labs) by drawing a fingerstick of blood. It is NOT done with the usual glucose tester diabetics use. Hope this helps.

posted Nov 14th, 2010 12:24 am


Donna

So this diet is amazing. I had a rather high A1C result at my doc last month. So I began immediately taking sugar, white bread and white potatoes out of my diet. That took a little adjustment. Then, my mom suggested this book. I got it and started right away...I've been on this plan for about 4 weeks and I've lost 20 lbs. That's awesome! Theres been little effort after you get started. I think the book is easy to read. I think the 'sugar' levels he's referring to, that should be 5 are the A1C levels. This is determined by a blood test at the dr office, not by the device used to prick your finger and get your 'sugar' count at home. Most ppl wouldn't have that device unless you're already a diabetic. Which I DO NOT want to be---so, I'm anxious to see what my A1C numbers will be when I have them checked in Dec.
My mom and now my sister, who is a diabetic, are all on this eating plan too! We're all losing weight! I'm excited and thrilled to have found this. My husband has eat this way his entire life!! It DOES WORK.

posted Oct 13th, 2010 6:27 pm


Genevieve

I have been on the Perfect 10 for about 2 weeks now. I noticed an increase in my energy right away and do like the food. However, I agree with others when it comes to things being too vague. I would like amounts to be included as I wonder if I have had too much and that is the reason for not losing at much as others.I will buy the book now that I have borrowed it from the library and follow it more closely.

posted Sep 14th, 2010 1:16 pm


Fuacata

I am not a big diet follower, but I am a bit overweight and I have tried a few diets like Atkins and South Beach. Even though I lost some weight (never my target), i always ended up bored out of my mind on these diets. As I read the Perfect 10 Diet, I felt like it was really common sense and addressed a more balanced health goal and menu rather than the extremes of "no carbs!" I also liked that it promoted good fats as part of a healthy diet because I always felt that "low fat" diets were a fraud. Lastly, the section on hormones and their role in health was spot on for me since I have hypothyroidism and getting my thyroids back in balance through medication has made a BIG difference in my ability to lose and keep weight off. So I think this book is worth your read. Thanks.

posted Sep 3rd, 2010 5:44 pm


Lori

Very good diet I have lost 12lbs in 21 days .. I am still trying to learn to portion my food properly ..

posted Jul 20th, 2010 9:34 pm


JR

I love it! It really does work. I have lost 30 lbs in 10 weeks now!

posted Jun 15th, 2010 4:23 pm


Ginger Firestone

It is just Atkins if you really read Atkins
(and I loved Atkins, but after 7 faithful years it petered out, or I did, hard to say. And I did Atkins with whole, vital foods, as much organic meat as I could manage, etc.) Not meaning to be rude, but it sounds as if he only knows it from rumors. Anyhow, it is sound advice, largely, and i only wish he had given references to where he got some of his statements. He said youm ust do as he says and trust him, but he should give us backup, Like how is veal a problem? And why is the ham worse than the shoulder? And what about the superfoods thyroid problems prohibit? More references, we have been lied to too many times to use blind trust again, and he knows that is true! I must admit, the book probably would be less popular if it had the format I would prefer.

posted May 9th, 2010 9:58 pm


Sylvia

Leah in Alabama I'm 59. The diet was easy to follow and on point for the 14 pounds in 21 days. I was absolutely shocked that I lost 15 pounds in 21 days. You have to get past the first few days of adjustment but after that you are on your way. By the way the 2nd stage of the diet is nice too. Here is the big plus if you love sweets you won't crave them anymore while on the diet, seriously believe me I wouldn't lie.

posted Apr 26th, 2010 3:13 pm


Bert

This diet makes perfect sense. I just started and already I feel better.

posted Apr 24th, 2010 11:46 pm


Peggy

I have lost over 40 lbs (2 and a 1/2 mos.), and have never been hungry. I love this diet and my daughter after seeing the results is now on the Perfect 10 too. Thank you Dr Aziz. I have 50 more lbs to go and I think it is a new life style not just a diet. By the way I am so much happier and think it is also because I eat only whole, organic foods - nothing in a can either.

posted Apr 18th, 2010 11:14 pm


jean

the diet is a lot like other low carbs. I do like it but I was on bio-slim years ago and the thing I liked about that diet is they had a 800 tel no you could call with questions. I found the book to technical and would like a easy readable section at end. to sum it all up!

posted Apr 6th, 2010 9:43 am


Sarah Y

I have been on this diet for 8 days and I have lost 7.5 pounds! I am very happy with the diet, and it is pretty easy to follow. I agree with what the others said about there being no amounts. I just eat the serving size as listed on the container, etc. i.e. if the serving size for yogurt is 1/2c and the serving size for a kiwi is 1 fruit, then eat one wholoe kiwi with 1/2 cup of yogurt. Not that hard. Stick to this, and it will work!

posted Mar 27th, 2010 3:01 pm


Phil

been on this great diet 21 days, have lost 24.5 lbs and just saw my physician. He was amazed at my weight loss and blood work results...considering taking me off some meds...improved disposition....GREAT

posted Mar 22nd, 2010 12:45 pm


Leah In Alabama

A question to all of you, I am 52, am thinking about doing this diet- recently did atkins with very little weight loss- years ago it worked well for me- how old are you? does anyone have any good results if you are older? Please let me know thanks for your time-Leah

posted Mar 20th, 2010 12:33 pm



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account