| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 113 reviews

The Leanness Lifestyle

A custom exercise and eating plan to help you live a healthy lifestyle.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Leanness Lifestyle is a book and an online diet and exercise program that was created by David Greenwalt, a Certified Strength & Conditioning Specialist (CSCS). Through his book and website, Greenwalt becomes your personal diet and transformation coach who you can actually call on the telephone, depending upon which program you choose, as he personally tracks your progress and keeps you motivated throughout your weight-loss journey.

Whether you are looking to lose 10 pounds, 50 pounds or get the body you have always dreamed of getting, the Leanness Lifestyle program promises to make your health dreams a reality.

  • Offers personalized coaching and motivation
  • Offers a variety of programs to follow
  • Includes a custom-tailored weight loss plan
  • Does not include any special diet foods, supplements or high tech exercise equipment
  • Promotes a healthy lifestyle that includes proper nutrition and consistent exercise
  • Online diet programs praised for their success rates
  • Vegetarian- and vegan-friendly
  • Online focus of the program may dissuade potential program members

The Leanness Lifestyle program features a customized eating plan that supports your weight loss goals. You will learn how many calories you need to eat and how much you need to exercise in order to lose weight. The eating plan can be customized to meet your dietary needs and preferences whether you have food allergies or are vegan.

In the book, no stone is left unturned as the subjects of nutrition, exercise, food addiction, eating on the road or at parties and holidays, increasing focus and motivation, eating more while exercising less, why you should never give up your favorite foods, how to eliminate false starts once and for all and much much more are discussed.


Since the Leanness Lifestyle program is a lifestyle program, exercise is an important component to the success of the plan. You will be expected to exercise on most days of the week, even though you don’t need a gym membership or have access to special exercise equipment to fulfill this portion of the program. You will create a custom-tailored exercise plan with Greenwalt upon signing up for the Leanness Lifestyle program.


The Leanness Lifestyle program is a personalized weight loss program that gives you the tools and skills you need to develop a long-term healthy lifestyle. Through Greenwalt's book or his online program, he incorporates a personalized touch in all of his weight loss plans and extends his message beyond just the topic of what you can and can't eat.

Common Misspellings

Lean-ness Lifestyle, Leaness Lifestyle, Leanness Life Style, Leanness Life-Style, Leanest Lifestyle

Related Diets: Diet Bug, Spark People, Weight Watchers, 24 Hour Fitness, Global Health and Fitness

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 5, 84 total comments)


It is sad that what could be a wonderful site is ruined by David Greenwalt. If he would step down and hand the site over to one of his assistants all would be well. It is true that in addition to his constant rude and insulting behavior to many clients he thinks nothing of changing rules during boot camps according to his whims. You might suddenly find a $500 dollar fine removed from your credit card for noncompliance. Some after paying for his boot camp have been removed based on his own whims with no refund. There is a large community of former clients who are simply trying to warn others to stay away, protect your hard earned money, and maintain your dignity

posted Jun 6th, 2013 12:59 pm

Respect the Customer

I feel that the reason folks have wanted to share their negative experiences with Dave Greenwalt, is not to "slander" anyone, but to help others avoid the same unpleasant experience with him. This is a free market and you have the right to comment on your experiences with a business. The Coach has to be accountable for his behavior. None of the assistant coaches act the way he does and the program does have merit - he is the issue.
I left after a number of months in this program and didn't even receive the courtesy of a response to my polite and respectful letter of resignation. Where is the care and concern for the client there?
Also, no on can deny that fines of up to $500. have been threatened for not completing tasks, videos, tests, etc. Never was that level of fine mentioned at the beginning of the Boot Camp. It's just bad form!
Some people respond to negative reinforcement, rudeness and intimidation - they will stay in the program. I needed to go with a different approach, but still wish the best to anyone in doing the hard work in their journey to live a healthy life and lose weight.
PS It is a diet.

posted Jun 1st, 2013 2:52 am


It doesn't take a genius to read the different reviews (which go back to 2009), note the different perspectives, writing styles and individual concerns. These are each different reviewers that share one common goal - to get the word out to others about how negative this person known as The Coach is. Now, it appears he has roused his troops to flood the site with positive reviews. A word to the wise...buyer beware! Use caution when dealing with this outfit.

posted Jun 1st, 2013 2:01 am


Life is short. Do you want real results? Than ignore the negative comments. Sign up at Leannesslifestyle. If you want to change the way you look and think you have to do things differently. Yes you have to have a back bone because champions do what it takes to get the job done. Real champions do the work. They don't cut down people and programs. The program is AWESOME and yes you have to show up and do the work. Champions earn their title. "If you are not part of the solution, you are part of the problem."

posted May 30th, 2013 6:11 pm


It is clear to many that Dave Greewalt is a very rude and insulting individual. He has obviously reacted to the honest feedback about his highly unethical practices by putting some of his cronnies here to try to offset the negative but authentic feedback that has been listed on this site. Don't be fooled by this slick businessman. He is notorious for his rudeness and insulting of clients. Stay away from this site and save alot of your hard earned money.

posted May 30th, 2013 2:23 pm

Half Marathon All Mama

I choose to call David Greenwalt "Coach." Call me old school, but I call my physician "Doctor" and my children's teachers "Mr." or "Mrs". In the case of Coach, I need to show respect for a man who's devoted his entire life to studying and teaching a healthy Lifestyle.

I have been Coach's student for eight years now. First, it was to take off the 40 pounds. Now it is to stay educated on how to improve my lifestyle -- particularly my behavior towards food and improving my fitness. All along, Coach sends out informative articles/posts/etc. on the research he continues to do on how I can improve my life. When it's necessary, he's given me one-on-one attention so that I can overcome obstacles. I have always been confident that I have been in good hands. The man knows his stuff and is constantly reading the latest research so that he can pass it along to me.

I figured out, at oh like, two days into Leanness Lifestyle that Coach's program would not only make me healthier on the outside, but on the inside as well. The personal growth I've experienced has been something I didn't even know could occur. Taking care of myself has made me a better wife, mother, friend, daughter, sister, coworker. It's kinda cool to be living life at a healthy weight AND be a pretty kick-ass person, too! Sure, I have changed in some ways, but I'm a better me. If I could bottle what I feel daily, I'd sure be a rich girl (and be able to put the kidlets through college).

"When the student is ready, the teacher will appear." Change isn't always easy but it is always worth it. See for yourself. Clicking on the button above will get you to Coach's book. See for the man, the real deal.

posted May 26th, 2013 1:16 pm

2012 Grand Champion

This is why I love the USA, why I served and fought to preserve the right of free speech even when it is as wrong as the negative feed back I have read here about the Leanness Lifestyle.
I attribute my current state of great physical health to Coach David Greenwalt and his programThe Leanness Lifestyle. You see just a year and a half ago I was 252lbs obese, diabetic, hypertensive, and one step away from the big one as Red Fox used to say.
I was introduced to LLU by my fiancé it has brought me to a place in my life that at 47 I can honestly say I'm in the best shape of my life. I run 3-5 miles a day, lift weights, compete in 5 and 10k races. I am not longer diabetic off all my meds, a big savings I might add, bp yestarday at my check up was 112 over 69, with a reting heart rate of 49.
This program works and it works because of the combination of nutrional education, behavior learning, and accountability. Its what made me successful. Look at my profile picture if you do not think it works. If you still do not believe me email me and I'll send you a link to before and after pictures.
Coach and LLU have taught me a new way to use food to fuel my body. I think about food in a completely different way.
Unlike the person that left the negative feed back here I am leaving this feedback with full and complete transparency. I have built a profile specifically to be completely transparent, feel free to contact me with any questions

posted May 25th, 2013 6:40 pm


I joined LLU last January and since then have lost 90 pounds. This program is not a quick fix nor is it as easy as some of the other "diet" programs out there. The name of the program says it all. It is a lifestyle change. Changing bad habits is hard but so worth it.

I found from day one, the rules here very clear. If I did not hold my end up, I would be shown the door. Pretty easy to understand.

Any program one chooses is only worth what he/she puts into it. If you want a lifelong healthy change and are willing to put in the effort that takes, this is i terrific program.

posted May 25th, 2013 12:27 pm


I've been involved at the Leanness Lifestyle, and with David Greenwalt for nearly 10 years. I've lost over 100lbs and have learned how to keep it off. In all the years I've been involved there, I've never run across anyone with any of the names in all of these negative comments! Interesting. I stand 100% behind David Greenwalt and this program. In fact, if you'd like to speak with me personally, please feel free to email me at If you are sick and tired of being sick and tired, and if you are at your wits end with your failed attempts at weight loss, this is the plan for you!

posted May 25th, 2013 2:41 am


I've been a Lifestyler since 2004. The principles I learned from David allowed me to transform my body, my self esteem and my life.

Anything worthwhile takes work. If it was easy, everyone would be lean and have a nice physique. The price tag is worth it to me.

If you're ready to commit, I highly recommend you check out the website.

posted May 25th, 2013 12:40 am


I've been with David Greenwalt, who I call My Coach - for almost 10 years. It's interesting because I've never in those ten years seen these names within the club! Hmm...anyhow, I've lost over 100lbs thank to Dave Greenwalt. I've tried and done every imaginable 'diet' out there and nothing gave me lasting results like his program. If you do sign up for the Intensive 20 week program, that's exactly what you'll get INTENSIVE. He doesn't coddle and tell you things will be ok...he speaks the truth, and sometimes it's hard to swallow. The fines and no refund policy is clearly defined before you ever sign up. I would recommend this program to any one who is sick and tired of being sick and tired, and who feels that there is no hope for them to lose weight. Feel free to email me at if you'd like a personal conversation with me about the program. I'm 100% behind this plan, and this man. I'm sorry that someone would feel so much malice that they would take precious time out of their lives to slander someone.

posted May 24th, 2013 9:29 pm


I am turning 65 soon and weigh the exact same weight as I did when I was 16. I owe that to my coach, Dave Greenwalt.....I found him 10 years ago after trying every diet and pill out there. He has the only plan that truly works. He is the REAL DEAL. He has done so much more for me than just weight loss because his approach teaches that change must come from within to be long lasting. I lost 25 pounds 10 years ago and have kept it off for the entire decade. Show me other results like that! Reading these negative comments I can't help but notice that most appear to be written by the same person who obviously didn't have the internal fortitude to stick with the program. Is Coach a hardass??? Damn right he is and that's why so many of us have lasting results. I've done 3 boot camps with Coach and he makes it very very clear when he accepts your application, that if you drop out, you will NOT receive a refund. Believe me, that kept me from quitting more than a few times!

posted May 24th, 2013 8:42 pm


Also, wanted to say as well, I just noticed that on this site my comment is the only one that has a profile listed. None of the negative comments has any profile. Please consider that in your evaluation. I realize that when you don't know me or my program and you are just doing a quick Google check a site like this can be influential. See my more lengthy feedback below.

posted May 24th, 2013 2:14 pm


Deborah, John, Michelle, Celia, Jack, Jean, Dennis, Joan, Liz, Joseph and other late 2012, 2013 negative reviews are all the same person.

This is David Greenwalt writing. I own and operate Leanness Lifestyle University and have since 1999. We're a small lifestyle education company that focuses on permanent weight control.

Most of the names here, even though they are only first names, I haven't worked with personally. How do I know? As I said, we're a small company. It's easy to look up "Celia" and other names.

This diet review can be a resource but it doesn't authenticate the users who sign up to post reviews so anyone can sign up as anyone they want and that's what has happened here.

Call me Dave, David, Coach or whatever. I don't demand anyone call me Coach or any such nonsense. Whatever the client is comfortable with is fine with me. That's not what's important.

What's important is how, together, we can change not only your body but your life as new nutrition, exercise and lifestyle habits become routine. This is my specialty as a Certified Wellness Coach with 30 years of experience.

If I can be of service to you don't let this one site with fraudulent reviews from one disgruntled person stop you from checking us out. Send me an email or visit the website. See if you get the rude, dictator, demanding jerk this one person says I am. Or see if you get a highly qualified wellness coach who cares about your success more than anything else. I'm confident you'll get the latter - it's why I'm here and why I've been successful for over 14 years running Leanness Lifestyle.

Feel free to contact me or visit the site at I look forward to helping you achieve your health, fitness and weight-loss goals.

posted May 24th, 2013 2:11 pm


I stopped the Leanness Lifestyle University program. It is too regimented for my abilities. I don't like getting automatically generated letters that remind me to be successful I need to do x y and z. Not because I don't want to do x y and z. I cannot do x y and z. Not to much flex in the program. I did however learn a lot. If you have no physical limitations and you like to eat a lot of meat, go for it. I should be able to let an automatically generated letter not bother me right? Too type A, I guess. The survey is out on that one.
I have had a lot of trouble trying to get a partial refund. The coach just won't answer my emails. Guess I may have to just write off that hundred bucks. I could use the 6 months but I didn't want to get those letters and eat more chicken...

posted Apr 30th, 2013 3:53 am


I would have to completely agree with all the negative assessment that is evident here about leanness lifestyle. The moderator is a crude, controlling, and extremely rude individual. It's his way or the highway. He is a shrewd businessman who will be happy to take your money and lots of it as he continues to insult you in the process, The observations here are right on target. Stay away from this site.

posted Apr 17th, 2013 1:22 pm


I would have to agree with all this negative experience mentioned here. Too bad Dave Greenwalt won't turn over the site to one of his assistants who treat people with respect. The so called "coach" who runs this site is shockingly abusive to clients. One of the worst mistakes I made was to invest money in this program only to be talked down to and abused. I would agree with the others who had a similar experience. Stay away from this site.

posted Mar 24th, 2013 12:25 pm


The feedback here is quite accurate. I tried this site and my experience was horrendous. David Greenwalt might as well be the synonym for arrogance. He does run this site like a dictator. He is notorious for taking your money and removing you from the site when you don't comply to his demands.

posted Mar 19th, 2013 10:27 pm


I am so glad I am not the only one who had a horrible experience with Leanness Lifestyle. The site is run by the rude and egotistical David Greenwalt who arrogantly call himself "the coach". He has a zero tolerance policy for any disagreement with him and he will attempt to collect credit card reimbursement even if he dismisses you from his program.

posted Mar 16th, 2013 10:44 pm


Sadly, everything I am reading here is true. This site would be great if it were not for the one who runs it. David Greenwalt runs the site as a dictator. His insulting and rude behavior is almost shocking. The is no room for anyone who will not pay him homage. This is the sad experience of the many who have payed a lot of money only to be abused and insulted.

posted Mar 12th, 2013 2:39 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account