Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

47%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 90 reviews

The Leanness Lifestyle

A custom exercise and eating plan to help you live a healthy lifestyle.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Leanness Lifestyle is a book and an online diet and exercise program that was created by David Greenwalt, a Certified Strength & Conditioning Specialist (CSCS). Through his book and website, Greenwalt becomes your personal diet and transformation coach who you can actually call on the telephone, depending upon which program you choose, as he personally tracks your progress and keeps you motivated throughout your weight-loss journey.

Whether you are looking to lose 10 pounds, 50 pounds or get the body you have always dreamed of getting, the Leanness Lifestyle program promises to make your health dreams a reality.

PRO
  • Offers personalized coaching and motivation
  • Offers a variety of programs to follow
  • Includes a custom-tailored weight loss plan
  • Does not include any special diet foods, supplements or high tech exercise equipment
  • Promotes a healthy lifestyle that includes proper nutrition and consistent exercise
  • Online diet programs praised for their success rates
  • Vegetarian- and vegan-friendly
CON
  • Online focus of the program may dissuade potential program members
DIET and NUTRITION

The Leanness Lifestyle program features a customized eating plan that supports your weight loss goals. You will learn how many calories you need to eat and how much you need to exercise in order to lose weight. The eating plan can be customized to meet your dietary needs and preferences whether you have food allergies or are vegan.

In the book, no stone is left unturned as the subjects of nutrition, exercise, food addiction, eating on the road or at parties and holidays, increasing focus and motivation, eating more while exercising less, why you should never give up your favorite foods, how to eliminate false starts once and for all and much much more are discussed.

EXERCISE

Since the Leanness Lifestyle program is a lifestyle program, exercise is an important component to the success of the plan. You will be expected to exercise on most days of the week, even though you don’t need a gym membership or have access to special exercise equipment to fulfill this portion of the program. You will create a custom-tailored exercise plan with Greenwalt upon signing up for the Leanness Lifestyle program.

CONCLUSION

The Leanness Lifestyle program is a personalized weight loss program that gives you the tools and skills you need to develop a long-term healthy lifestyle. Through Greenwalt's book or his online program, he incorporates a personalized touch in all of his weight loss plans and extends his message beyond just the topic of what you can and can't eat.

Common Misspellings

Lean-ness Lifestyle, Leaness Lifestyle, Leanness Life Style, Leanness Life-Style, Leanest Lifestyle


Related Diets: Diet Bug, Spark People, Weight Watchers, 24 Hour Fitness, Global Health and Fitness


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 4, 71 total comments)

Mac

I was looking for something on -line and happened in on this site. I was amazed by all of the negative comments and I would really like to know if the people with complaints were actually following the guidelines of the program?

When I was in bootcamp, I found that Coach was very upfront with the "rules" and he stated that there were fines for not following through. That was your choice when you sign up. So to all the complainers, di you follow through with the program?

Leanness Lifestyle was one of the best programs I have ever joined. I would have never joined except my best friend did it and transformed her life. I wanted some of that too. It was not only her weight, but her attitude also.

Over 6 months I learned so much. I became confident in my food choices and changed bad habits. Yes it was hard; homework, weekly on phone classes, exercise to do, logging foods, reading and de-cluttering, but it transformed my life. Coach can be gruff, but he lives in a role where all he hears are excuses from people unwilling to change their habits and beliefs. People who want a miracle cure without the work. He has to be a hardass in order to do his job.

If you are willing to work at it, to trust in the process / system you will be rewarded with a healthier and happier life. I lost 50 pounds and have never felt better. I have gained some back, but that is because of my lack of effort. The best part is, I will always know what to do and how to do it.

The program was amazing and I highly recommend it, but only if you are going to commit!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted Oct 7th, 2014 4:28 pm


Michael

David Greenwalt aka "Coach" is probably the most arrogant egotistical businessman on the internet. He has been known to make charges to your credit card for non compliance with his program. He often insults and ridicules clients. He has had some of his grouppies on this site to try to overcome his bad but honest reviews. Some of his assistant coaches are reputable but his abusive style ruins what would otherwise be a good program. It would be great if he would turn the running of the site over to one of his associates but I suspect he is much to arrogant to do that.

posted Jan 21st, 2014 8:43 pm


Not my lifestyle

Debunking another focus of this diet:
1. Timing isn't as important as you think. You don’t need to eat immediately (or even within one hour) after you wake up. Your metabolism won’t be harmed.

2. Eating an early breakfast means you’re creating a bigger eating window (you eat for more total hours during the day), which might lead to more fat storage and more health problems, according to scientists at the Salk Institute for Biological Studies. If you eat your first meal at 7 a.m. and eat a late-night snack at 10 p.m., that’s 15 hours of eating—which might be more than your body wants.

The fad-free truth: No one meal is more important than any other. What matters most is total calorie intake, food selection (think salad versus Big Mac), and then how much time you spend eating each day. So if you don’t love breakfast, skip it. If you do, enjoy your morning meal but keep an eye on your feeding window to make sure you’re not eating more calories than you need. - See more at: http://www.shape.com/weight-loss/weight-loss-strategies/10-unbelievable-diet-rules-backed-science#sthash.lhxt3rZH.dpuf

posted Aug 7th, 2013 8:50 pm


Susan

When I first began to work with David Greenwalt I thought that he was joking about his fines to my credit card but I discovered that clearly he was not. The man is the most egotistical rude person that I have ever done business with. It would be wonderful if he would turn Leanness Lifestyle over to one of his assistant coaches who have some class and treat clients fairly and with respect but that is highly unlikely as Dave Greenwalt has an ego the size of Texas. He is well know for his abuse of clients. I would strongly suggest staying away from this site as long as he continues to run it.

posted Jul 3rd, 2013 2:47 am


Jack

It is apparent that after so many negative reviews reported here by those who have been burned by Dave Greenwalt and leanness lifestyle there is a sudden burst of recent feedback orchestrated by Dave Greenwalt to try to get his horrible ratings up. If you like being insulted, ridiculed and paying $500 fines charged to your credit card then this site is for you. Look at the majority of reviews posted here over the years, not just the recent ones that Greenwalt orchestrated.. Many agree that he is clearly a very rude, arrogant businessman.

posted Jul 1st, 2013 9:39 pm


Judi

Wow. Lots of talk here and it seems like we have those who were successful singing Dave's praises, while those who were less so, expressing much more discontent with the program. That's why I'm here - to mix things up a bit.

I've been a back and forth member of LLU for many years. At one time, I was within 10 lbs of my goal weight, ran a half-marathon, followed the plan to a tee and then let things go all haywire and sabotaged myself. Yes, I did that, not Dave.

I returned, did reasonably well, and bam - sabotage again. This time I was part of a BootCamp I didn't finish, and yes, I paid fines. The program didn't fail me; I failed me.

It happened again, and yet again.

When I sought to return earlier this year (2013), Dave and I chatted and he said to me the thing that has inspired me to post this feedback. He suggested that there was something I needed to work on - independent of the program - to learn why I wouldn't let myself succeed. He REFUSED to take any more of my money through fines until I was confident I wasn't going to be my own biggest enemy.

That's not the action of a man who doesn't care about his clients. That's not the action of a man who is in it for the money only, because he could have made a lot more from my failures had he let me continue the way I was. And most importantly, that's not the action of a dictator. That's the action of someone who grows to learn about you as a person and cares for your well-being and success - in the Lifestyle and outside of it.

posted Jun 25th, 2013 4:09 pm


WeddingLisa2013

Greetings to all those that are out here reading reviews because you just don't know what to do next. That was me and probably is better to say, still is me. There are times when I just don't know what to do about losing weight. I've been overweight all my life, more than 30 years of knowing that I should be a smaller to be healthy (not counting when I was a small child).

I know what foods are good for me and the ones that are bad. Known that for years too, but what makes me reach for the bad. This is that thing that I believe most of us can't figure out, can't master. Leanness Lifestyle can help you fight that battle.

If you are at a point where you just can't seem to make yourself make the leap from knowing what you should be eating/doing, David, Coach, Mr. Greenwalt can.

What some are calling a dictator, I call a leader. Ask yourself what will it take to make me to choose the right foods and behaviors. It's sad but MONEY is a strong motivator. Ask yourself has anything else seemed to motivate you to make this change in your life? In the beginning a fine was terrifying to me because I was trying to keep on a wedding budget. I paniced, I pled and Coach never threatened. He kept telling me to focus on what I want not what I feared. He gave us chances to get out of the program before fines became possible. Bottom line is that a single consistent approach can be applied and the results are the reviews on this board. It's in how you choose..yes, choose to hear the words, how you respond to them, and frankly how you view the world. I'm tired of fear and making someone else (Coach) the bad guy. Even $500 is a drop in the bucket for the world of costs I'm in store for if I don't find the right tools to battle picking up the fattening foods instead of the healthy foods. And I'll tell you what, when there was even $25 or $50 on the table, it got my butt up early or to the gym. This is online and convenient so LL can't bang on your door at 6 a.m. He can't force you to log on and do what you know you want to do. He can however, have a last resort that happens to be a fine.

I won't be addressing specifically any of the reviews good or bad here because the most important person is you. You, the person who is so worth while at any weight like me. You, the person who knows the right thing to do and maybe doesn't know how to implement it. The verdict here is that this program CAN and WILL work for you if you let it. If you can have the courage to acknowledge that your plan isn't working, that there is more to learn and know. Please take a deep breath and become willing to let go of the negative mindset. Know that Coach will call upon any leverage he can to MAKE YOU SUCCESSFUL and he will do it with respect. If you are taking those negativity goggles off when he is fighting FOR you, not with you, you will see that he has earned the name Coach.

posted Jun 23rd, 2013 12:37 pm


Hmm?

Strange that no one was "asked" to publish positive comments for Leanness Lifestyle and now all of a sudden there are 14 new comments all at one time.
Makes one think, doesn't it??

posted Jun 20th, 2013 3:13 pm


Feedback

There are enough negative reviews on this site to cause a potential client/customer concern. I am a former LLU Boot Camp member and would like to offer my thoughts on my experience. Yes, this is a business and shouldn't customers have the right to express their concerns about their treatment by the business owner? Of course, they should. Rather than avoid negative reviews, use them to improve your products, services, or business processes. If a customer is legitimately reporting a problem, the smart business owner should want to fix that problem, not brush it under the rug and pretend it doesn’t exist (or worse yet, call the people who lodge the complaints liars). We are talking about people spending a great deal of money for this program and they should know of these issues before signing up. This is a small outfit, not a national corporation, therefore it should be fairly easy to make adjustments to the issues being raised. I'm guessing that this won't happen due to Mr. Greenwalt's attitude of superiority and rigidness. A wiser approach would be to learn from these negative reviews, turn them into a positive opportunity to improve your business.

Some specifics takeaways: statistics like 90% success rate are all in how you view them and report them. I experienced plenty of repeat Boot Campers in my group because they had put their weight back on. If you think about it, it's sort of like built in repeat business...it's like many other diets where people have success and then gain the weight back again. So, this is not a magic solution. Some are able to keep their weight off - but this is true with most diets - there will be a small percentage that can keep the weight off, but the bulk will gain weight again.

When I joined I just sincerely wanted help losing weight. I didn't care about prize money, I didn't care about the format of the letters/emails I received or eating a lot of chicken and veggies. I just wanted to make progress in an area that I have struggled with in my life. But, and this is the main reason for my comment - I felt and still do feel that I should be treated with respect and consideration at the same time. I performed all tasks required, did all homework and treated everyone I interacted with respectfully and politely - I feel that I should have been given the same type of treatment from the coach. People are afraid to speak up and say anything to this man because of the treatment they will receive. Plus, you've made an investment and can't get your money back so folks try to stick it out. When it reached the point that I dreaded waking up each day and having to deal with this one person who ran his organization like a dictator, I decided I'd had enough.

As for the fines, they were mentioned at the beginning of Boot Camp as possible $25. - $50. Never, ever did anyone mention fines of $500. being used as a "motivation" for my completing a video of me working out. I make it a practice not to share personal videos with anyone when I have no guarantee how those videos will be used in the future.

I am disappointed that this was not the right place for me and I continue working at my own weight loss journey on my own. I can't sit back and let others potentially experience what I did with out sharing my own reality with LLU. If you have enjoyed the program - great, I am happy for you. But, that does not negate my experience. Thank you.

posted Jun 20th, 2013 3:04 pm


ANGEL M.

Let me start by saying that, if it was not for LLU I would have not lost 50 LBS. I chose to call David Greenwalt, Coach, because he deserves it, he has earned it ! He never asked us, demanded us to do so. We do not do DIETS with this program, we change our lifestyles, we learn why we eat the way we do, we learn about accountability of everything we put into our mouths, we rediscover how good natural foods are. We exercise, we meditate, we are motivated by our coaches and other LLU Members. We have FUN!
He did not ask me in any way or form to post on this site. I also have not met him personally, but I have many close friends that are his friends and they trust and believe in This Man, and this February I lay my trust in him, and today I am 50lbs lighter, from size 48 pants, I am now down to size 36. I am not done with my journey I will continue to believe and practice the Leanness Lifestyle for the rest of my Life, and will recommend it to anyone.

posted Jun 20th, 2013 2:54 pm


Caleb

I loved L180. Gave me TREMENDOUS results.

posted Jun 20th, 2013 2:30 am


Sandy

I am one of the lucky ones who met two successful graduates of Leanness Lifestyle University. I watched them transform their bodies and saw the fat melting away - fast. I was so impressed with their results that I signed up myself.

Since September 2012 I have lost 95lbs. Seriously, from September to June, 95lbs! Did I do this alone? No, I had some wise guidance from David Greenwalt, founder of Leanness Lifestyle. Was he caustic, threatening, rude, or insulting? No, he was direct and gave me sound information. In fact, he has been nothing but kind, supportive, and has cheered my every success. When I thank him, he reminds me that my success is 98% me and 2% help.

I am healthier than I have been in years. I feel fabulous and I look great. I have a new found confidence that I have not seen in myself for a long time. If you are looking for a sound program that actually gives amazing results, if you are serious about living a lean and fit lifestyle, then I urge you to try Leanness Lifestyle.

The truth is, you will have to change your eating. You will have to move your body. You will change your attitude and thinking. You will learn to live clean, eating real food, and enjoying more energy than you thought possible. You will have the support and cheers from other Leanness Lifestyle weight fighters.

Every dime that I have invested in myself has been money well spent. Did I ever pay a fine? NO. Would I do this again? Absolutely! Do I recommend Leanness Lifestyle and David Greenwalt to you? Yes, hands down!

posted Jun 20th, 2013 2:18 am


TS

I have found Dave to be a very courteous and polite individual. I have personally met him on one occasion and did not see in the least bit any of the negative things mentioned by the disgruntled ex-participant.
The fines are explained before you have to commit to them and you are warned MULTIPLE times before they are taken from you. Bottom line, you are fined if you do not do the work you have agreed to do and have agreed to be fined for no doing said work. If you have a problem with the fines you have dropped out in the 2 week beginning period.
The program does everything it promises plus alot more that you do not expect. I personally have lost over 70 pounds in 20 weeks using the tools and the knowledge gained from Leanness Lifestyle University.
Anyone not happy with this program just did not apply themselves to the very doable principles asked of them.
LLU is a great program and I would highly recommend it.

posted Jun 20th, 2013 1:07 am


Carol

Leanness Lifestyle is the best thing I ever did for myself! I succeeded because I trusted in Coach Greenwalt and his program! If your looking to be lied to, this is NOT the program for you...You will only get the truth here at LLU! Its a REAL program that will being out the best in you - ALL OF YOU!

posted Jun 19th, 2013 11:08 pm


RonnieT

If you struggle with weight, this is the place to go. The founder David Greenwalt cares about everyone that signs up and personally does his best to help them achieve their goals.

posted Jun 19th, 2013 9:20 pm


TeacherP

I am one of the thousands who have achieved incredible success with this program. I am months away from my 65th birthday and I weigh what I did on my 16th birthday. have achieved a level of fitness that surpasses anything I achieved in my youth. Two things really bother me about the negative comments about "caustic coaching styles" and the like. First, that someone might read these and miss out on the chance to achieve the health and fitness levels that I have. Secondly, I am just incensed that someone who didn't benefit from the program because of a personality conflict or something similar, can come onto a site and cast derision on the life work of a very accomplished man. The success rate of the program is extremely high....over 90% I think....so I would hope that the 10% who didn't make it to the finish line would do a little soul searching to determine their own level of responsibility for not completing the course.

posted Jun 19th, 2013 8:36 pm


Matthew

To anyone that is genuinely looking to improve your lifestyle, quality of life and educate yourself as to how to do all of this independently, this program is what you want.
It IS NOT easy at first. Unfortunately, like everything worth doing in this world, you have to WORK and put EFFORT forward.
I have done the program for 3 years now.
The first year was to achieve my goals, and the next 2 years was because I LOVE THIS PROGRAM and it is a GREAT EXPERIENCE TO HAVE. Also, reaffirming your knowledge and rededicating yourself to a goal is a very fulfilling experience.

I have read the negative reviews and THEY ARE LAUGHABLE!!! All of these people are obviously the small percent of people that want something for nothing and expect it to be delivered to them, neatly wrapped, already completed with roses and sunshine blowing out their ass.

As a former college and professional coach, I have no doubt these people have zero discipline, zero accountability, but a AMAZING ability to blame others and make excuses for everything.

As a professional Fireman/Paramedic I am sure these are the people that will be in the back of an ambulance one day, blaming someone else for why they didn't take their meds or yelling at the medic to help them when they have obviously done very little to help themselves.

I believe in this program and Dave Greenwalt 100% and have referred it to many friends who have also had success.

To anyone who talks negative of the program, I feel sorry for you, truly.

I hope you find success and happiness somewhere somehow. But, I doubt you will.

posted Jun 19th, 2013 8:17 pm


Walker S.

I am a 2013 L180 graduate and I have been a member of LLU since 2003. I am currently at my lowest leannest body weight of my life at 169 lbs. There are no surprises with the Leanness Lifestyle. Coach makes no bones about fines being levied for failure to do what you signed up to do. There are no quick fixes to weight loss and failure is a choice. I wish there were more professionals like David whose one on one interaction produces true results. His program is about learning to live a healthier life. Diets are for fat people that want a quick fix, start and finish. LLU is so much more than that!

posted Jun 19th, 2013 8:07 pm


MJ

I tried many other programs but this one really worked and I stuck to it. I will be a lifestyler for the rest of my life and I am in total control of my life. Not only that, I have been able to control my diabetes and cholestrol in addition to losing 45+ pounds. I read the other reviews about Coach's behavior etc, but I believe he needs to be firm, strict and straight forward in order to help you control the situation you are in. As far as fines go, he doesn't charge without informing you and he also gives you ways to avoid fines. I believe he is totally fair and this program really works. I will recommend this to all my friends.

posted Jun 19th, 2013 7:49 pm


Fiona from New Zealand

I have just completed the 20 Leanness Lifestyle coures and have found David's program to be the most comprehensive weightloss program I have done I have lost 22kgs. He has a wealth of knowledge whihc is updates constantly reading and researching on the all aspects of weightloss. I learnt so much more about how my body responds to food and reluctantly realised I wasn't as knowledgable as I thought I was. David helps you set goals and gives you all the tools and opportunities to reach out when life gets hard and you want to reach out and binge. I think he has pulled togehter an amazing program for those who REALLY do want to lose weight and are prepared to be challenged - Hey change is scarey we as humans are hard wired to resist change. I think David has done a fine job of creating a program to get us weight battlers to learn how to get slim and stay slim. Thanks David

posted Jun 19th, 2013 7:47 pm



  1234
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account