Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

59%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 108 reviews

The Leanness Lifestyle

A custom exercise and eating plan to help you live a healthy lifestyle.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Leanness Lifestyle is a book and an online diet and exercise program that was created by David Greenwalt, a Certified Strength & Conditioning Specialist (CSCS). Through his book and website, Greenwalt becomes your personal diet and transformation coach who you can actually call on the telephone, depending upon which program you choose, as he personally tracks your progress and keeps you motivated throughout your weight-loss journey.

Whether you are looking to lose 10 pounds, 50 pounds or get the body you have always dreamed of getting, the Leanness Lifestyle program promises to make your health dreams a reality.

PRO
  • Offers personalized coaching and motivation
  • Offers a variety of programs to follow
  • Includes a custom-tailored weight loss plan
  • Does not include any special diet foods, supplements or high tech exercise equipment
  • Promotes a healthy lifestyle that includes proper nutrition and consistent exercise
  • Online diet programs praised for their success rates
  • Vegetarian- and vegan-friendly
CON
  • Online focus of the program may dissuade potential program members
DIET and NUTRITION

The Leanness Lifestyle program features a customized eating plan that supports your weight loss goals. You will learn how many calories you need to eat and how much you need to exercise in order to lose weight. The eating plan can be customized to meet your dietary needs and preferences whether you have food allergies or are vegan.

In the book, no stone is left unturned as the subjects of nutrition, exercise, food addiction, eating on the road or at parties and holidays, increasing focus and motivation, eating more while exercising less, why you should never give up your favorite foods, how to eliminate false starts once and for all and much much more are discussed.

EXERCISE

Since the Leanness Lifestyle program is a lifestyle program, exercise is an important component to the success of the plan. You will be expected to exercise on most days of the week, even though you don’t need a gym membership or have access to special exercise equipment to fulfill this portion of the program. You will create a custom-tailored exercise plan with Greenwalt upon signing up for the Leanness Lifestyle program.

CONCLUSION

The Leanness Lifestyle program is a personalized weight loss program that gives you the tools and skills you need to develop a long-term healthy lifestyle. Through Greenwalt's book or his online program, he incorporates a personalized touch in all of his weight loss plans and extends his message beyond just the topic of what you can and can't eat.

Common Misspellings

Lean-ness Lifestyle, Leaness Lifestyle, Leanness Life Style, Leanness Life-Style, Leanest Lifestyle


Related Diets: Diet Bug, Spark People, Weight Watchers, 24 Hour Fitness, Global Health and Fitness


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 5, 84 total comments)

Jean

I totally agree with what has already been said here. While the site has some good tools the problem is the fellow who runs it. The so-called "coach" has make the site horrific. His taunts and insults are degrading. If you enjoy having someone take you money and insult you then he is your man. It is amazing that he can stay in business. The reviews here are quite accurate.

posted Mar 7th, 2013 4:02 am


Dennis

It is sad that such a potentially good site is marred by the behavior of David Greenwalt. Unfortunately these criticisms mentioned here are quite valid. This so called "coach" has hurt and insulted so many while gladly accepting payment to do so.

posted Feb 26th, 2013 1:43 pm


Joan

My experience with "the coach" was horrible as well. His childish insults, and dismissive attitude were enough for me. In addition, once he has your credit card information you are at his mercy in term of fines that he may charge you. I know of someone he dismissed from the program and yet continued to attempt to charge their credit card.

posted Feb 16th, 2013 2:53 pm


Liz

In response to Sarah: Glad that you have had a positive experience, but that is not the case for many. I believe the reason for the increase in comments this past year is because people were glad to find an outlet where they could express their concerns about this individual.
He is referred to as "The Coach" even by his own assistant-coaches, he is difficult to interact with and only sees things his way (it's an immaturity and need to be right all the time).
When I expressed my concerns I was summarily removed from the program with no further contact or response from him (though he did continue to collect my payment for the program that I was no longer a part of). This alone told me all I needed to know...
I think the folks commenting here are just glad to know that they weren't alone in how they felt about this kind of treatment.

posted Feb 10th, 2013 12:29 pm


Joseph

David Greenwalt has gained a reputation of rudeness that is unparalleled on the internet. While a few might not of had bad experiences many have left the site due to his extememe rudeness and unscrupulous behavior. He has charged fines of $500 dollars on members credit cards and thinks nothing of dismissing members who don't bow down to this egomaniac.

posted Feb 9th, 2013 10:13 pm


Sarah

I have personally worked with the "Coach" and I honestly don't know what these other reviewers problems are. I called him David and he never once indicated he cared one way or another.

As the others have said it is a great program, I learned a lot, I lost weight, I've kept it off and not once was there ever a rude, unjust or unkind word written or spoken to me. I received nothing but what I asked for; education, accountability, positive support and success.

I would recommend the opposite of what some others have. Instead of avoiding David Greenwalt. I'd recommend you seek him out and communicate as much as you can with him. He's worked with thousands since 1999 and all of a sudden mostly in 2012 he gets a rash of negative reviews here? Something seems amiss.

posted Feb 7th, 2013 9:39 pm


Bob

The site has some good tools. Unfortunately the one who runs it, has turned off more people than I can imagine with his chronic insults and rude behavior. His name is Dave Greenwalt and he refers to himself as the coach. Too bad the site is not run by an individual with some scruples. My suggestion would be don't let this egomaniac take your hard earned money.

posted Jan 30th, 2013 4:28 am


John

The site could be helpful if not for the one who runs it. The coach as he calls himself has an extremely condescending attitude. He has hurt and insulted many on his site. He charges a bundle to talk with personally and often does not even show up when he is supposed to call. Save your money and your dignity and keep away from this site.

posted Jan 19th, 2013 4:32 am


Kori

Lol. I left the Leanness Lifestyle a few years ago because I found the coach to be rather rude and dismissive--imagine my pleasant surprise to come here and find I'm not the only one. :) I do think the program itself is very cool though--great food tracker, constantly getting you to think about 'why' you're losing weight and maintains your focus on your reasons and motivation, which can wane at times. Can get very pricey though, depending on how much you sign up for.

posted Dec 28th, 2012 4:06 am


Steven

I would have to completely agree with previous statements. The fellow who runs this site is one of the rudest individuals on the internet. I would encourage anyone to keep your money and stay away from Leanness Lifestyle, You don't need to pay someone to insult you.

posted Dec 26th, 2012 4:46 am


Jim

Leanness lifestyle is run by one of the biggest egomaniacs on the internet. He is rude, condescending, and extremely arrogant. A word to the wise, If you want to get healthy and in shape stay away from leanness lifestyle.

posted Nov 20th, 2012 5:36 am


Michele

I wonder what happened to all the reviews that were here previously? Anyway...
The "Coach" is the problem here - he has such a tone of superiority and a need to be right always. There's no room for anyone's ideas in his program - it's his way or the highway. I chose the highway! Life is too short to put up with someone who is so negative. There are other good options for getting help, motivation and instruction for a healthy diet. Yes, it's a diet! Good luck!!

posted Oct 23rd, 2012 11:36 pm


Joe

The site is run by Dave Greenwalt who is notorious for ridiculing and insulting clients. He thinks nothing of removing paid clients (without refund) from his "boot camps" when they don't comply with his unreasonable demands There are many reputable sites on the internet. This is not one of them.

posted Jul 19th, 2012 4:29 am


Gary

I was involved with Leanness Lifestyle for quite a while and while there are some good tools on the site. The problem is with Dave Greenwalt. He refers to himself as "coach" and I have seen him act very abusively to clients. There are many quality fitness sites that act professionally and treat clients with respect. This site is definitely not one of them. I would stay away from this site.

posted Jul 6th, 2012 7:00 pm


Liz

The program is ok; high level of accountability in both your exercise and eating. Good information, generally. Unfortunately, much of the message is overshadowed by the negative style of "The Coach". His caustic tone, belittling approach and need to be constantly superior became too negative for me. Threats of fines of up to $500 for not completing an assignment? Come on, that's just taking things too far. I wanted to work the program, but didn't enjoy being treated like a middle school-er. Not for me.

posted Jun 29th, 2012 3:05 pm


Michael

I had worked with Dave Greenwalt for some time and found him to be at times highly abusive and unfair to clients. I would stay away from this site.

posted Jun 8th, 2012 1:51 pm


Frances A

Leanness Lifestyle is run by an individual who goes by "the coach". He can be quite rude, condescending, and even abusive. I would highly recommend keeping away from that site.

posted May 11th, 2011 8:43 am


Cynthia

First, I need to correct you - Leanness Lifestyle is NOT a diet, but a program where we learn how to command an inside-out transformation, to live a nutritionally-fit and actively-fit lifestyles. I have tried numerous diets in the past over the course of 30+ years, and never was able to maintain lasting weight loss. I joined Leanness Lifestyle in 2006, dropped 50 lbs in 2007, and have essentially kept it off since that time. If you are tired to gimmics, diets, fads, and want to truly put the issue of weight behind you once and for all, I invite you to sign up, for at least a general membership -- better yet, a bootcamp, or the Elite program. There are several programs available to fit your budget.

posted Mar 20th, 2011 4:18 pm


Nancy

While his program is sound and gets great results, IMHO David Greenwalt (AKA "Coach", as he preferst to be called) is a prideful ego-maniac who does NOT like to be questioned. After explaining to me that we had the money to pay him, for his "Elite"program (the most expensive plan that would have had me working with him personally), but we just didn't have out priorities strait enough to give it to him, I chose to stop using his services. Who wants to pay top-dollar to work closely with someone who uses ridicule for motivation and draws assumptive conclusions about them? I think he loses a lot of clients by not having a more gentle bench-side manner. Sometimes he's friendly enough, but others he's almost frightening.

If you want to do his excellent program, I would advise laying low and avoid engaging him directly.

His book, however, I still use and refer to frequently. I consider it my fitness information bible.

In short: Great program and information, difficult "Coach" to work with.

posted Nov 23rd, 2010 11:39 pm


Roxy

"Coach" uses insults and taunts to motivate. After a few weeks of not losing weight, in fact gaining weight, he terminated me and refunded.

This was because I objected to being insulted and probably because my case was too hard for him since I was coming out of starvation mode. He had me on 1000 calories a day.

posted Mar 23rd, 2010 8:59 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account