| |

Home > Diets > Lifestyle Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 113 reviews

The Leanness Lifestyle

A custom exercise and eating plan to help you live a healthy lifestyle.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Leanness Lifestyle is a book and an online diet and exercise program that was created by David Greenwalt, a Certified Strength & Conditioning Specialist (CSCS). Through his book and website, Greenwalt becomes your personal diet and transformation coach who you can actually call on the telephone, depending upon which program you choose, as he personally tracks your progress and keeps you motivated throughout your weight-loss journey.

Whether you are looking to lose 10 pounds, 50 pounds or get the body you have always dreamed of getting, the Leanness Lifestyle program promises to make your health dreams a reality.

  • Offers personalized coaching and motivation
  • Offers a variety of programs to follow
  • Includes a custom-tailored weight loss plan
  • Does not include any special diet foods, supplements or high tech exercise equipment
  • Promotes a healthy lifestyle that includes proper nutrition and consistent exercise
  • Online diet programs praised for their success rates
  • Vegetarian- and vegan-friendly
  • Online focus of the program may dissuade potential program members

The Leanness Lifestyle program features a customized eating plan that supports your weight loss goals. You will learn how many calories you need to eat and how much you need to exercise in order to lose weight. The eating plan can be customized to meet your dietary needs and preferences whether you have food allergies or are vegan.

In the book, no stone is left unturned as the subjects of nutrition, exercise, food addiction, eating on the road or at parties and holidays, increasing focus and motivation, eating more while exercising less, why you should never give up your favorite foods, how to eliminate false starts once and for all and much much more are discussed.


Since the Leanness Lifestyle program is a lifestyle program, exercise is an important component to the success of the plan. You will be expected to exercise on most days of the week, even though you don’t need a gym membership or have access to special exercise equipment to fulfill this portion of the program. You will create a custom-tailored exercise plan with Greenwalt upon signing up for the Leanness Lifestyle program.


The Leanness Lifestyle program is a personalized weight loss program that gives you the tools and skills you need to develop a long-term healthy lifestyle. Through Greenwalt's book or his online program, he incorporates a personalized touch in all of his weight loss plans and extends his message beyond just the topic of what you can and can't eat.

Common Misspellings

Lean-ness Lifestyle, Leaness Lifestyle, Leanness Life Style, Leanness Life-Style, Leanest Lifestyle

Related Diets: Diet Bug, Spark People, Weight Watchers, 24 Hour Fitness, Global Health and Fitness

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 5, 84 total comments)


Dave Greenwalt aka "the coach" is well know for his arrogance, ridicule and mistreatment of his members. It is sad that this program is not run by one of his assistants. He has charged unexpected fines for non compliance with his program. I would advise to stay away

posted Apr 29th, 2015 12:37 pm

Deb L

I've tried dozens of programs, this is the best one because it isn't just how to diet, it's how to leave in a healthy way. The class includes education not only about nutrition, but education about emotional eating and exercise.

posted Apr 13th, 2015 12:24 pm


Leanness lifestyle could be a good program if one of the assistant coaches ran the program. The head coach has a reputation of treating people disrespectfully and firing people from his program without refund. David Greenwalt oozes arrogance and insists that he be referred to as "the coach". He will charge you fines for using terms like "diet" and has a small but loyal following of groupies who seem to have the capacity to tolerate his arrogance. There are too many reputable sites out there than to deal with and give money to this questionable individual.

posted Apr 10th, 2015 2:14 pm


I found out about Lifestyle 180 from a link my daughter sent me. I am 66 and have always had my weight go up and down. I felt like this program could help me because I needed support to keep weight off. I've been working with David G. for almost a month and have lost all craving by cutting out sugar and wheat. I'll post again after 6 months. The only reason I posted this is that it comes up on a search for Leanness Lifestyle Login on Google. And I wanted to let others know that my experience has been very positive.

posted Feb 15th, 2015 3:56 am


I have just started Lifestyle 180 and am very impressed by the depth of knowledge and skills being taught and the width of support from fellow students, coaches and "friends" (you can give friends and family access to the site so they can see what you're doing).
Excellent program--be ready to commit to change and really put yourself first for a while.

posted Feb 8th, 2015 6:57 pm


I have just started Lifestyle 180 and am very impressed by the depth of knowledge and skills being taught and the width of support from fellow students, coaches and "friends" (you can give friends and family access to the site so they can see what you're doing).
Excellent program--be ready to commit to change and really put yourself first for a while.

posted Feb 8th, 2015 6:51 pm


I've been struggling for years to lose my fat. I've been a student since January of 2014 and this morning I tried on my new slacks and a Tommy Hifiger top I bought. It fits so nice! I can't believe how good (I THINK) I look compared to my first pictures.

I can't say thank you in enough ways for those sweet lady coaches and yeah even Coach Dave. :-)

Thanks for having more confidence in me than I had in myself. Love you all!

posted Feb 4th, 2015 11:10 am


I don't know if it was an accident or divine intervention that brought me to Leanness Lifestyle but whatever it was I'm thankful for it. I lost about 40 pounds in 2008 with David's program and give or take 10 pounds I've kept it off ever since. I was searching Google today for an article David wrote and stumbled on this review site so I just had to post.

posted Feb 4th, 2015 11:06 am


If you want LASTING weight loss success based on your own lifestyle lived more healthy, this is THE program for you. Period.

posted Jan 30th, 2015 8:16 pm


I am a long time member of Leanness Lifestyle. This is an amazing place! And it works! I now have 4 years of maintenance under my belt. Its been 4 years since I binged on food, 4 years since I tasted a trigger food, 4 years since my food-addicted body has tasted sugar. It is so easy to live this way long term. No more struggles with the beast! And new habits are very effective long term... I still weigh the 112 that I weighed 4 years ago when I began maintenance!

posted Jan 28th, 2015 11:34 pm


Lost 32 pounds in 18 weeks! Went from a size 12 to an 8! Made new friends but best of all I found the real me again! Highly recommend! #feelinfabulous

posted Jan 28th, 2015 5:17 am


I graduated from the July through November 2014 cohort. I was supported by Coach David and all of his assistant coaches. They say it takes a village. It did with me. I needed everything Lifestyle 180 provided. I'd tried all the diets. 20 years. Nothing worked. I not only dropped 48 pounds but I have more knowledge than I ever have and know I'm going to keep it off.

posted Jan 28th, 2015 5:12 am


Real simple. I had tried everything before. Nothing worked. David Greenwalt and his Lifestyle 180 course work and it was the best money I've spent since I don't know when.

posted Jan 26th, 2015 3:09 am


I was looking for something on -line and happened in on this site. I was amazed by all of the negative comments and I would really like to know if the people with complaints were actually following the guidelines of the program?

When I was in bootcamp, I found that Coach was very upfront with the "rules" and he stated that there were fines for not following through. That was your choice when you sign up. So to all the complainers, di you follow through with the program?

Leanness Lifestyle was one of the best programs I have ever joined. I would have never joined except my best friend did it and transformed her life. I wanted some of that too. It was not only her weight, but her attitude also.

Over 6 months I learned so much. I became confident in my food choices and changed bad habits. Yes it was hard; homework, weekly on phone classes, exercise to do, logging foods, reading and de-cluttering, but it transformed my life. Coach can be gruff, but he lives in a role where all he hears are excuses from people unwilling to change their habits and beliefs. People who want a miracle cure without the work. He has to be a hardass in order to do his job.

If you are willing to work at it, to trust in the process / system you will be rewarded with a healthier and happier life. I lost 50 pounds and have never felt better. I have gained some back, but that is because of my lack of effort. The best part is, I will always know what to do and how to do it.

The program was amazing and I highly recommend it, but only if you are going to commit!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted Oct 7th, 2014 4:28 pm


David Greenwalt aka "Coach" is probably the most arrogant egotistical businessman on the internet. He has been known to make charges to your credit card for non compliance with his program. He often insults and ridicules clients. He has had some of his grouppies on this site to try to overcome his bad but honest reviews. Some of his assistant coaches are reputable but his abusive style ruins what would otherwise be a good program. It would be great if he would turn the running of the site over to one of his associates but I suspect he is much to arrogant to do that.

posted Jan 21st, 2014 8:43 pm

Not my lifestyle

Debunking another focus of this diet:
1. Timing isn't as important as you think. You don’t need to eat immediately (or even within one hour) after you wake up. Your metabolism won’t be harmed.

2. Eating an early breakfast means you’re creating a bigger eating window (you eat for more total hours during the day), which might lead to more fat storage and more health problems, according to scientists at the Salk Institute for Biological Studies. If you eat your first meal at 7 a.m. and eat a late-night snack at 10 p.m., that’s 15 hours of eating—which might be more than your body wants.

The fad-free truth: No one meal is more important than any other. What matters most is total calorie intake, food selection (think salad versus Big Mac), and then how much time you spend eating each day. So if you don’t love breakfast, skip it. If you do, enjoy your morning meal but keep an eye on your feeding window to make sure you’re not eating more calories than you need. - See more at:

posted Aug 7th, 2013 8:50 pm


When I first began to work with David Greenwalt I thought that he was joking about his fines to my credit card but I discovered that clearly he was not. The man is the most egotistical rude person that I have ever done business with. It would be wonderful if he would turn Leanness Lifestyle over to one of his assistant coaches who have some class and treat clients fairly and with respect but that is highly unlikely as Dave Greenwalt has an ego the size of Texas. He is well know for his abuse of clients. I would strongly suggest staying away from this site as long as he continues to run it.

posted Jul 3rd, 2013 2:47 am


It is apparent that after so many negative reviews reported here by those who have been burned by Dave Greenwalt and leanness lifestyle there is a sudden burst of recent feedback orchestrated by Dave Greenwalt to try to get his horrible ratings up. If you like being insulted, ridiculed and paying $500 fines charged to your credit card then this site is for you. Look at the majority of reviews posted here over the years, not just the recent ones that Greenwalt orchestrated.. Many agree that he is clearly a very rude, arrogant businessman.

posted Jul 1st, 2013 9:39 pm


Wow. Lots of talk here and it seems like we have those who were successful singing Dave's praises, while those who were less so, expressing much more discontent with the program. That's why I'm here - to mix things up a bit.

I've been a back and forth member of LLU for many years. At one time, I was within 10 lbs of my goal weight, ran a half-marathon, followed the plan to a tee and then let things go all haywire and sabotaged myself. Yes, I did that, not Dave.

I returned, did reasonably well, and bam - sabotage again. This time I was part of a BootCamp I didn't finish, and yes, I paid fines. The program didn't fail me; I failed me.

It happened again, and yet again.

When I sought to return earlier this year (2013), Dave and I chatted and he said to me the thing that has inspired me to post this feedback. He suggested that there was something I needed to work on - independent of the program - to learn why I wouldn't let myself succeed. He REFUSED to take any more of my money through fines until I was confident I wasn't going to be my own biggest enemy.

That's not the action of a man who doesn't care about his clients. That's not the action of a man who is in it for the money only, because he could have made a lot more from my failures had he let me continue the way I was. And most importantly, that's not the action of a dictator. That's the action of someone who grows to learn about you as a person and cares for your well-being and success - in the Lifestyle and outside of it.

posted Jun 25th, 2013 4:09 pm


Greetings to all those that are out here reading reviews because you just don't know what to do next. That was me and probably is better to say, still is me. There are times when I just don't know what to do about losing weight. I've been overweight all my life, more than 30 years of knowing that I should be a smaller to be healthy (not counting when I was a small child).

I know what foods are good for me and the ones that are bad. Known that for years too, but what makes me reach for the bad. This is that thing that I believe most of us can't figure out, can't master. Leanness Lifestyle can help you fight that battle.

If you are at a point where you just can't seem to make yourself make the leap from knowing what you should be eating/doing, David, Coach, Mr. Greenwalt can.

What some are calling a dictator, I call a leader. Ask yourself what will it take to make me to choose the right foods and behaviors. It's sad but MONEY is a strong motivator. Ask yourself has anything else seemed to motivate you to make this change in your life? In the beginning a fine was terrifying to me because I was trying to keep on a wedding budget. I paniced, I pled and Coach never threatened. He kept telling me to focus on what I want not what I feared. He gave us chances to get out of the program before fines became possible. Bottom line is that a single consistent approach can be applied and the results are the reviews on this board. It's in how you choose..yes, choose to hear the words, how you respond to them, and frankly how you view the world. I'm tired of fear and making someone else (Coach) the bad guy. Even $500 is a drop in the bucket for the world of costs I'm in store for if I don't find the right tools to battle picking up the fattening foods instead of the healthy foods. And I'll tell you what, when there was even $25 or $50 on the table, it got my butt up early or to the gym. This is online and convenient so LL can't bang on your door at 6 a.m. He can't force you to log on and do what you know you want to do. He can however, have a last resort that happens to be a fine.

I won't be addressing specifically any of the reviews good or bad here because the most important person is you. You, the person who is so worth while at any weight like me. You, the person who knows the right thing to do and maybe doesn't know how to implement it. The verdict here is that this program CAN and WILL work for you if you let it. If you can have the courage to acknowledge that your plan isn't working, that there is more to learn and know. Please take a deep breath and become willing to let go of the negative mindset. Know that Coach will call upon any leverage he can to MAKE YOU SUCCESSFUL and he will do it with respect. If you are taking those negativity goggles off when he is fighting FOR you, not with you, you will see that he has earned the name Coach.

posted Jun 23rd, 2013 12:37 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account