Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

26%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 31 reviews

The Cooler Cleanse

A juice cleanse co-created by actress and advocate, Salma Hayek.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Cooler Cleanse is a detox diet was created by actress Salma Hayek.

For fifteen years, Salma has used juice cleanses as regular part of her health and beauty maintenance program. In 2008, Salma approached New York City juicing expert Eric Helms to co-create the perfect recipes for her nutritional juice cleanses. Together, they created the Cooler Cleanse, a juice-based detox plan that is packed with nutrients and convenient to follow.

The Cooler Cleanse is a juice-only fast where Cooler Cleanse fresh juices are delivered to your door every day. You simply replace all edible meals and snacks with six Cooler Cleanse juices for three or five days as you give your body a rest from eating and digesting regular food.

There are three Cooler Cleanse plans you can choose from:

  • 3-Day: Short and easy to fit into your busy schedule, the signature cleanse boosts body functioning, increases energy while making you look and feel lighter and brighter.You receive six drinks per day with a combined caloric intake of less than 1,100 daily calories. For information about scheduling a delivery or pick-up

  • 5-Day: This cleanse allows you to go a bit deeper into cleanse-mode. Two deliveries of fresh juices are provided, ensuring that your juices are as fresh as possible.

  • Raw Cooler: Artfully prepared raw-food meals can be delivered daily before and after your Cooler Cleanse, to help you ease into, and transition out of the cleanse to obtain maximum benefit from your commitment. The Raw Coolers can also be ordered on their own as a Raw Food Detox or can be used before or after your Cooler Cleanse.

PRO
  • Juices contain healthy ingredients
  • Juices are very nutrient-dense
  • Will likely result in weight loss
  • Likely to make you feel lighter, cleaner and even more energized
  • Three- or five-day programs aren't too long
  • Home-delivery makes for easy convenience
  • Juices are fresh
  • Cost is comparable to other meal-delivery diets
CON
  • Weight loss probably won't last
  • No scientific data to support detox fasts as a way to improve long-term health
  • May incite a food-fest once cleanse is complete
  • Calorie count is low
DIET and NUTRITION

Here is how The Cooler Cleanse program works:

You replace your three regular meals with six fresh-pressed juices delivered to your door in an easy-to-carry cooler. You cut out the snacks and stimulants like alcohol and caffeine, and drink plenty of water. You take care of yourself and get plenty of rest.

The six drinks per day have a combined caloric intake of less than 1,100 daily calories.

Juices on the three-day or five-day Cooler Cleanse program include the following:

  • Almond Nut Milk made with almonds, dates, vanilla beans and filtered water.
  • Essential Green made with cucumber, celery, parsley, spinach, kale, dandelion greens, watercress, pear, lemon, and ginger.
  • Essential Red made with carrot, beet, fuji apple, lemon.
  • Grapefruit and mint made with ruby-red grapefruit, mint.
  • Young Coconut water made with 100% pure, raw, young thai coconut water.
  • Pineapple and ginger and watermelon and lime are two additional juices.

Each juice is also designed to accomplish certain health benefits. For instance, the Essential Red rejuvenates tired-looking skin and boosts blood oxygenation and the Essential Green offers cleansing functions of the kidneys and liver.

The Raw Cooler is a complete menu of meals that are delivered to your door every day. This includes colorful, nutritious soups, energizing salads and entrees, and two fresh pressed juices, all created by expert raw-food chef using top-quality, organic ingredients. This food is designed to decrease your caloric intake, relieve your body of hard-to-digest food, and boost functioning with vital nutrients, while showing your senses how pleasurable raw food and juices can be.

EXERCISE

Moderate exercise is recommended for each of the days you are on The Cooler Cleanse diet. No specific guidelines are provided, but since your calorie count is much lower than what you are normally used to, it is probably best to stay away from strenuous activity and instead opt for activities like brisk walking, biking, yoga and light weight-lifting.

CONCLUSION

The Cooler Cleanse is an all-juice detox fast that helps you trim down and healthy-up in three or five days. While detox diets are often criticized by those in the health and medical professions, fresh and all-juice diets like The Cooler Cleanse are nutrient-packed and offer a short-term way to take a break from processed foods, while also jump-starting a healthy eating or weight loss plan.

The Cooler Cleanse receives high marks for its abundance of fresh and nutrient-rich fruits, vegetables and nuts, most notably, coconut water, a low-calorie and electrolyte-packed natural drink. While The Cooler Cleanse may not be ideal for those who need to lose 20 pounds or more, it can be used in a safe and effective way to spur quick weight loss or as motivation to healthy up a diet plan.

But just like anything new, if you have a preexisting health condition, talk to your doc first.

Common Misspellings

cooler clean, cooler cleanser, cool cleanse, cooler claense, cooler detox, the cooler cleanz, salma hayek diet, salma hayek detox


Related Diets: Dole Banana Diet, Juice Diet, LemonAid 48-Hour Detox, Liquid Diet, Raw Diet, Slim-Fast, V8 Diet, George Foreman's Life-Shake, Living Lean Smoothie, VF Smoothie, Viv 5 Fusion Energy


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 2, 21 total comments)

Mk

Great cleanse if your moving out of the US. I did this right before I moved out the country and never gained back the weight I lost, about 15 lbs on the 5-day cleanse. It's amazing how more organic unprocessed food, that most of the world eats, does wonders for your body. Get all those nasty toxins from US food with the cleanse and start eating health and organic if you can't bolt for another country

posted Jun 13th, 2013 5:26 am


Caroline

I paid $30 for shipping and didn't even receive it the day I was supposed to so it ended up going to waste. I called customer service and they would not give me any sort of credit even though it was a shipping delay on their part. $89 wasted and horrible customer service, very very disappointed!!

posted Apr 9th, 2013 4:26 pm


Ben

Is Cooler Cleanse helpful with Alcohol abuse? How effective is this against Alcohol abuse. I started yesterday and had "The shakes" earlier today. I am on the 3 day program and would like to know.

posted Jan 11th, 2013 5:35 pm


Gingerbread

I purchase fresh vegetable juices on a regular basis and am gluten free. I decided to try the cleanse for one day and if all worked well then the following week I could do the 3 day cleanse. Never made it that far. On day one around mid day I felt exhausted and developed a headache. By the following morning I had cold sweat. Vommiting, Diarhea, My lips, feet and hands were cold as ice. My body started trembling. I looked like a cracked head having a fit. First time in my life I called an ambulance to pick me up. I could not lay my head down due to the sever headache and could not keep my body still. After filling up with IV and blood work it turns out that lost my electrolytes and had a viral infection. The doctor believe that the bottles may have contained bacteria which caused this reaction. I have had the flu one time in my life and this was worse. I am still recovering but in the end I will stick to my daily freshly pressed juices.

posted Dec 18th, 2012 3:56 am


Cloris

Their juice is just awful! It makes me feel sick and I would rather not eating than drinking the juices. For anybody who is considering buying their plan: please take a careful look at the ingredients and you will know how bad it tastes. For example, they put cayenne pepper and agave into lemonade, which just make my throat burn...Also they mix parsley, celery and dandelion, ginger with other vegetables to make the essential green, you can imagine...
The company does not refund, so I have to bite the bullet and pour the juice down the drain!

posted Dec 1st, 2012 4:22 pm


Linnzi Lou

The bad reviews are surprising. The juices are DELICIOUS! The green juice is not the best I've ever had but it's still good. The raw foods that are for ease-in and ease-out are fantastic and very filling. Great cleanse, great taste!

posted Apr 15th, 2012 6:26 pm


Vanessa

The juices were good. Yeah, the essential green doesn't taste good, but it's not about the taste. It's about fueling your body. It was a nice easy cleanse to do.

posted Feb 11th, 2012 9:27 pm


stephen molloy

its not a magic drink that saves you from being fat .period.its part of a controlled health regime.plus its really afterwards that counts get off the couch put down the fork

posted Jan 18th, 2012 7:29 pm


AT

I am surprised at the amount of negative reviews.
I do Blueprint Cleanse regularly, but liked the Cooler Cleanse a lot when I tried it. A substantial benefit is that the CC juices are less sweet than BP. Less sugars (even from fruit) make for a more effective cleanse.
Also, with Cooler Cleanse, you can also create your own custom mix of daily juices.
Other than that, I think they are quite similar. You need to do these cleanses for cleansing - not weight loss as you will generally gain most back quickly.

posted Nov 11th, 2011 2:11 am


kim

I have done other juice cleanses before and this is redic. The juice is awful! How could they go so wrong? Try the Blue Print Cleanse next time. I finish that one with ease. I only bought this one because it was on Gilt City!

posted Jul 21st, 2011 3:55 pm


Sara

Done several juice cleanses before, this is hands down the worst I've ever done. Several of the juices made me physically ill (the coconut water, especially) due to a medicinal or soapy taste to it. I had to gag down the majority of the juices -- so so so disgusting.

posted Jul 11th, 2011 12:05 am


Borotron

I tried the 3-day cleanse for the first time, and yes the green juice was really nasty tasting! However, other juices were delicious, especially the grapefruit mint one and coconut water. The most difficult part of the cleanse was the green juice- not once but twice a day! I'm a type who always eats at least two meals a day with plenty snacks throughout the day, so i was really surprised that i didn't feel that hungry. First day was the most difficult, and i had some headache and felt tired, but started to feel better after the second day. It's been 5 days since i finished, and i've been feeling great and energized. Most importantly, i've been craving health food and wanting to eat healthy to keep the cleanse effect. I haven't weighed myself, so i cant comment on weight loss. My goal was detoxing rather than weight loss anyway, and i'm happy with results!

posted Jul 5th, 2011 11:22 pm


Amy

Juices are absolutely disgusting, except for grapefruit/mint one. I lost 8 pounds, and gained them right back. What's the point???

posted May 27th, 2011 5:33 pm


Melissa

I would not recommend this cleanse. The juices are disgusting (with the exception of grapefruit mint). The Young Coconut Water is so intolerable that instead of squeezing a lime in the drink I am sucking on the lime before i have to drink it. I agree with Megan, I can't bring myself to finishing them.

posted May 18th, 2011 3:16 pm


gomi

i'm lukewarm on this juice diet. i signed up for the 3 day cleanse, picked it up from a local store to save on shipping and starting drinking on day 1. the essential green juice is disgusting, and it is for breakfast and lunch...gross. surprisingly, i don't feel all that hungry and do feel a bit more alert and energized.

posted May 16th, 2011 12:19 pm


Samantha

The shipping for these Juices cost more than the actual juices themselves. They are pretty basic concoctions and could easily be made at home or purchased though a health food store. I say unless your in NY and can pick them up yourself don't waste your time or money. Also with any juice diet you will eventually gain the weight back this is not a cure all as with anything a healthy diet can not be bought in a 3-5 day package.

posted May 3rd, 2011 9:21 pm


Megan

On the first day, not hungry but the juices don't taste that good. I actually can't bring myself to finish them. We will see how I feel tomorrow. Wish I would not have spent the money- I feel like it was a waste!

posted Apr 7th, 2011 7:03 pm


baily

Super easy to use, no cravings, feel very high energy! Juices much yummier than expected and way easier to follow and not cheat than I had thought.

Will try again!

posted Apr 6th, 2011 6:57 pm


sm

I like it and I don't like it, yes your feel tired and perhaps sick!! I lost weight but gained it back within 2 weeks..so $$ down the drain literary!
So if you want to loose weight fast for a special day, you can do it BUT keep in mind you will gain it back again!

posted Nov 9th, 2010 7:52 pm


Nancy

I did the 3-day cleanse. I found it easy to do since I drank juice about every 2 hours.

It gave me energy. I lost the sluggish, lethargic, and tired feeling I have been battling for several months now. I needed a jump start and a way to break my cravings for sweets and carbs.

The juices are extremely high quality, great tasting, and easy to drink. The numbered bottles make this very easy to follow. Of course, the delivery though expensive, makes this program simple to follow.

posted Sep 25th, 2010 10:28 am



  12
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account