Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

This diet does not have a rating because it does not have enough votes.

Tried it? Rate it!

The 17 Day Diet Cookbook

Dr. Mike Moreno delivers 80 new recipes for those on The 17 Day Diet.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Publish Date: March 27, 2012

  • Established: 2010

  • Founder: Dr. Mike Moreno

  • Headquarters: Beverly Hills, CA

  • Accessibility: Book, Meal Plan

  • Diet Type: Low-Carb, Low-Calorie

  • Gender: Male, Female

  • Celebrity Endorsements: Dr. Phil, The Doctors

BACKGROUND

In November 2010, Dr. Mike Moreno released an overnight success in The 17 Day Diet. His self-published weight loss book debuted with appearances on The Dr. Phil Show and The Doctors, and became a sought-after book for those striving to lose weight. In March 2012, the good doctor follows up with The 17 Day Diet Cookbook with 80 recipes to help support the legion of followers who've successfully lost weight under his guidance.

His methods are fairly simple, basically cut out all the stuff you don't need and get a lot more of the stuff you do. The 17 Day Diet is a cyclical weight loss plan that changes every 17 days for three cycles; at the final cycle, number four, you'll enter a maintenance phase from which you carry on your healthy new habits.

The 17 Day Diet relies on a style of weight loss known as metabolic confusion, which requires you to change things periodically to keep your body from settling in to a routine, thus the cycles.

During each cycle you'll:

  • Cycle 1: Accelerate. Kick start the diet and facilitate rapid weight loss, cleansing, and fat burning. Discourages fat storage.
  • Cycle 2: Activate. During this cycle you will "reset" your metabolism.
  • Cycle 3: Achieve. Develop healthy eating habits, and develop a new understanding of how to eat carbs.
  • Cycle 4: Arrive. Considered the maintenance phase and the culmination of what was learned in the first three cycles. On weekends, you have freedom to enjoy just about anything you like.

The book is organized in such a way that the recipes coordinate with each meal for each cycle of the diet. For instance, you can have Stir-Fried Chicken and Cucumbers for lunch during Cycle 1.

Anyone who wants some new healthy recipes to add to their repertoire can certainly use The 17 Day Diet Cookbook. However, if you want to use the recipes toward your weight loss goal, read The 17 Day Diet review, and get a copy of the book, to really understand how it all works together.

PRO
  • Author is a practicing medical doctor who specializes in weight loss
  • The 17 Day Diet is a healthy and sustainable way to lose weight
  • The 17 Day Diet is accessible via paperback book
  • Recipes are family friendly
  • Can make substitutions based on dietary needs or preference
  • Books offers tips for recipe preparation
  • Ideal for those already following The 17 Day Diet
  • Accessible ingredients
  • Recipes available on the Food on the Table Meal Planning App

CON
  • No nutritional information for recipes
  • No recipes for Cycle 4
  • Minimal overview of The 17 Day Diet
DIET and NUTRITION

Even the most novice of home cooks can use The 17 Day Diet Cookbook to prepare healthful meals that support their weight loss but also satisfy and appeal to their entire family.

The 17 Day Diet Cookbook is divided in to three sections, each reflecting cycles one through three in The 17 Day Diet. Within each cycle the recipes are broken down for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with multiple options for each. Within each cycle there are also side dishes, snacks, and desserts. At the end of each cycle's chapter, Dr. Mike outlines 17 days worth of meal plans so that you can eliminate the planning and focus on the preparing. No guidance is provided for the fourth and final cycle.

If you've been on The 17 Day Diet for a while now and ready for some innovation and variety, Dr. Mike has delivered.

You'll feel hungry just browsing these 80 recipes that not only fall in line with the simple principles of The 17 Day Diet, but also reconfirm that healthy eating can be, and is, varied and delicious.

You won't really see a lot of packaged or processed foods, nor a need for a lot of salt, butter, or other fats that we generally lean on for flavor. Instead, "flavor agents" are used to give depth and taste to each dish. Things like olive oil, balsamic vinegar, onions, peppers, herbs, and even fresh citrus zest bring these dishes to life in a healthy way. All-natural Truvia is used for sweetener, as is agave nectar in some recipes.

A preview of just some of the recipes include:

  • Mushroom Spinach Frittata
  • California Tuna Salad
  • No-Fuss Eggplant Parm

  • Green-Tea-Spiked Applesauce

  • Weekend Morning Grits Casserole

  • Crab Tabouleh
  • Slow Cooker Cuban Ropa Vieja
  • White Bean and Red Pepper Dip
  • Better Breakfast Mijas
  • Banana Chocolate Smoothie

More than 40 17 Day Diet recipes are available on the Food on the Table Meal Planning App

EXERCISE

No fitness guidance is provided or discussed in The 17 Day Diet Cookbook. This book's primary and soul focus is on recipes and cooking.

In general, The 17 Day Diet recommends followers exercise at least 17 minutes each day doing something they enjoy. Full guidance for fitness with the weight loss plan is available in the book.

CONCLUSION

Dr. Mike Moreno has been a bit of a people pleaser since his self-published release of The 17 Day Diet. He's responsive to the questions of his readers and yet still maintains ongoing relationships at his active family medicine practice in California. By selling the rights of the book to Simon & Schuster in 2011, who then ran a second printing, Dr. Mike and company were able to get the book in to the hands of anyone who wanted it.

In 2011, he also had the book reprinted in Spanish, making his straightforward nutrition advice even more readily available.

Now Dr. Mike has penned 80 recipes that would round out the healthy meal plans of any one, whether health conscious or keen on following The 17 Day Diet to the letter. There aren't any bizarre ingredients, and just like the diet, the recipes are flexible and can be revised to accommodate any unique needs.

17 DAY DIET USER REVIEWS

I and my husband have been on this diet since May and I have lost 45lbs, went from a size 16 to a size 8 and my husband has lost 40lbs so far. This is by far the best "diet" I have been on. It is so easy and such a great change in our eating habits. - Tessa Letzinger 12/31/11

I lost 7 lbs in the first week and I feel great. I will continue on until I reach my goal weight. I am really excited and I feel so much in control. Unlike other diets this is very realistic. - Tammy 12/13/11

I've been on this diet for 40 days now, and I've lost a total of 25 lbs! I love this diet, and feel so healthy on it. Its the diet plan I have been waiting for! - Beth 12/8/11

I have lost 60 lbs in 7 months. I feel great am doing things I haven't been able to do in years. My diabetes is under control. - Susan C. 10/9/11

This is the greatest diet there has been and it does WORK if you eat what he tells you to eat and don't cheat. Healthwise, it makes you feel so much better and it is because of what you are putting in your mouth. - Carol 8/15/11

Leave your own review and rating now.

17 DAY DIET FAQ

We interviewed Dr. Mike and he answered your most common 17 Day Diet Questions

Do you have to eat fish on the 17 day diet? - Lisa 8/10/11

Do you have to drink green tea? - Stephenie 3/10/11

Which meats can I eat on the 17 Day Diet? - MRS. ETHERITH 2/24/11

Is the 17 Day Diet right for vegetarians? - Cheryl 5/7/11

Why am I stuck at the same weight on the 17 Day Diet? - Stephanie 5/7/11

Ask and Answer 17 Day Diet Questions now.

17 DAY DIET SLIDESHOW

View What is the 17 Day Diet? Slideshow

CONTACT 17 DAY DIET
  • Phone: 800-464-1384

  • Official Website: 17 Day Diet

  • Address: 17 Day Diet, Inc. 9903 Santa Monica Blvd. Suite 215 Beverly Hills, CA 90212

Common Misspellings

17 Day Diet Recipes, 17 Day Cookbook, 17 Day Recipes, Dr. Mike Moreno Cookbook, Dr. Mike Cookbook, 17 Day Diet Recipe Book


Related Diets: The 17 Day Plan to Stop Aging, South Beach Diet, The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan, The 17 Day Diet Workbook


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 1, 2 total comments)

Lizard

I started today at 149.03 lbs and will keep you posted

posted Mar 19th, 2013 6:39 pm


Karen

I lost ten pounds in the first 9 days. I never felt hungry and the majority of the foods are things I already buy on a regular basis.

posted Jan 27th, 2013 2:22 pm



   
 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account